## **SENATE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION & GENERAL GOVERNMENT**

## TAPE LOG

February 20, 2007 Hearing Room B 8:15 A.M. Tapes 31 - 33

MEMBERS PRESENT:	Sen. Vicki Walker, Chair Sen. Jeff Kruse, Vice-Chair
	Sen. Rick Metsger Sen. Frank Morse
	Sen. Ben Westlund
STAFF PRESENT:	Dana Richardson, Committee Administrator Heather Gravelle, Committee Assistant

## **MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD:**

SB 334 – Public Hearing SB 198 – Public Hearing SB 199 – Public Hearing & Work Session SB 516 – Public Hearing & Work Session Introduction of Committee Measures – Work Session

This tape log is in compliance with Senate and House Rules. For complete contents, please refer to the cassette tapes.

TAPE #	COUNTER	BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF SUBJECT MATTER
AND SIDE	NUMBER	OR CHANGE IN SPEAKER
31A	005	Chair Walker calls the meeting to order at 8:17 a.m.
<u>SB 334 – PU</u>	BLIC HEARING	
	010	Chair Walker
	012	Dana Richardson, Committee Administrator
	025	Chair Walker
	028	Governor Ted Kulongoski, Oregon Governor
	155	Chair Walker
	175	Governor Kulongoski
	205	Sen. Westlund
	215	Chair Walker
	225	Governor Kulongoski
	240	Chair Walker
	242	Sen. Kurt Schrader, State Senator, Senate District #20
	308	Chair Walker
	315	Sen. Schrader
	395	Chair Walker
32A	010	Sen. Westlund
	030	Chair Walker
	035	Tim Nesbitt, Member, State Board of Higher Education (EXHIBITS
		A, B)
	100	Chair Walker
	105	Nesbitt
	190	Chair Walker

	200	Nesbitt
	220	Chair Walker
	225	Nesbitt
	270	Nan Poppe, President, Extended Learning Campus, Portland Community College
	330	Chair Walker
	350	Sen. Metsger
	380	Nesbitt
	395	Poppe
31B	020	Jared Axelrod, Student Body President, University of Oregon
510	020	(EXHIBIT C)
	050	Chair Walker
	055	Axelrod
	060	Chair Walker
	065	Rob Wagner, Director of Political and Legislative Affairs, Oregon
	000	American Federation of Teachers (AFT)
	070	Michael Morrow, Representative, Portland Community College
		Faculty Federation
	150	Chair Walker
	152	Gary Andeen, Executive Director, Oregon Independent Colleges Association (EXHIBIT D)
	175	Chair Walker
	180	Marilen Delagado, Student, Lane Community College (EXHIBIT E)
	240	Chair Walker
	242	Sen. Westlund
	245	Wayne Matulich, Director, ITT Technical Institute (EXHIBIT F)
	280	Chair Walker
	282	Jennifer White, President, Western Culinary Institute (EXHIBIT G)
	370	Chair Walker
SB 198 – I	PUBLIC HEARING	J
	380	Chair Walker
	382	Dana Richardson, Committee Administrator
31B	385	Chair Walker
	390	Alan Contreras, Administrator, Oregon Student Assistance
		Commission
32B	030	Chair Walker
	040	Contreras
	055	Chair Walker
	060	Contreras
	065	Vice-Chair Kruse
	072	Chair Walker
	078	Contreras
	090	Vice-Chair Kruse
	095	Contreras
	100	Devon Lyon, Representative, Portland Bible College (EXHIBIT H)
	105	Chair Walker
	108	Lyon
	110	Sen. Westlund
	130	Sen. Metsger
	155	Chair Walker

	158	Vice-Chair Kruse
	162	Chair Walker
	165	Lyon
	172	Chair Walker
	180	Sharon Hale, Director of Finance, Everest College (EXHIBIT I)
	188	Chair Walker
	192	Hale
	195	Chair Walker
SB 199 – P	UBLIC HEARING	J
	200	Chair Walker
	202	Dana Richardson, Committee Administrator
	205	Dennis Johnson, Director, Oregon Student Assistant Commission
	210	Chair Walker
	215	Gary Andeen, Executive Director, Oregon Independent Colleges
		Association
	280	Chair Walker
	282	Andeen
	286	Sen. Westlund
	290	Chair Walker
<u>SB 199 - W</u>	ORK SESSION	
	295	<b>MOTION:</b> Sen. Kruse moves SB 199 to the floor with a
		DO
220	200	PASS recommendation.
32B	300	VOTE: 4-1-0 AVE: 4 Metager Mana Kruse Wellier
		AYE: 4 – Metsger, Morse, Kruse, Walker NAY: 1 – Westlund
		Chair Walker declares the motion CARRIED.
		SEN. WESTLUND will lead discussion on the floor.
	309	Chair Walker
SB 516 – P	UBLIC HEARING	a a
	310	Chair Walker
	355	Martha Pagel, Attorney, Paradise Ranch Resort (EXHIBIT J)
	375	Bill Leep, Owner, Paradise Ranch Resort
33A	030	Pagel
	038	Chair Walker
	042	Vice-Chair Kruse
	048	Sen. Westlund
	052	Chair Walker
	055	Vice-Chair Kruse
	058	Chair Walker
	062	Leep
	068	Chair Walker
	072	Leep
	078	Chair Walker
	082	Leep
<u>SB 516 – V</u>	VORK SESSION	-
	088	MOTION: Sen. Kruse moves SB 516 to the floor with a DO PASS recommendation.
	092	VOTE: 5-0-0
		AYE: In a roll call vote, all members present vote Aye. Chair Walker declares the motion CARRIED.

SEN. ATKINSON will lead discussion on the floor.			
Chair Walker			
INTRODUCTION OF COMMITTEE MEASURES – WORK SESSION			
Chair Walker			
Dana Richardson, Committee Administrator			
MOTION: Sen. Kruse moves LC 3333 to be INTRODUCED as a			
committee bill. (EXHIBIT K)			
VOTE: 5-0-0			
Chair Walker, hearing no objection, declares the motion			
CARRIED.			
Chair Walker adjourns the meeting at 10:17 a.m.			

## **EXHIBIT SUMMARY**

- A. SB 334, written testimony, Tim Nesbitt, 2 pp
- B. SB 334, presentation, Tim Nesbitt, 8 pp
- C. SB 334, written testimony, Jared Axelrod, 2 pp
- D. SB 334, written testimony, Gary Andeen, 1 p
- E. SB 334, written testimony, Marilen Delagado, 2 pp
- F. SB 334, written testimony, Wayne Matulich, 2 pp
- G. SB 334, written testimony, Jennifer White, 2 pp
- H. SB 198, written testimony, Devon Lyon, 1 p
- I. SB 198, written testimony, Sharon Hale, 1 p
- J. SB 516, written testimony, Martha Pagel, 3 pp
- K. Introductions, LC 3333, staff, 2 pp