SENATE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION & GENERAL GOVERNMENT

TAPE LOG

April 24, 2007 Hearing Room B 8:00 A.M. Tapes 80 - 82

MEMBERS PRESENT:	Sen. Vicki Walker, Chair
	Sen. Jeff Kruse, Vice-Chair
	Sen. Rick Metsger
	Sen. Frank Morse
	Sen. Ben Westlund
STAFF PRESENT:	Dana Richardson, Committee Administrator Heather Gravelle, Committee Assistant

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD:

SB 664 – Work Session SB 472 – Public Hearing SB 1042 – Public Hearing & Work Session SB 472 – Public Hearing & Work Session SB 462 – Public Hearing

This tape log is in compliance with Senate and House Rules. For complete contents, please refer to the cassette tapes.

TAPE #	COUNTER	BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF SUBJECT MATTER
AND SIDE	NUMBER	OR CHANGE IN SPEAKER
80A	005	Chair Walker calls the meeting to order at 8:04 a.m.
<u>SB 664 – WOI</u>	<u>RK SESSION</u>	
	010	Dana Richardson, Committee Administrator
	015	Chair Walker
	020	MOTION: Sen. Kruse moves SB 664 be RETURNED to the Senate Presidents desk for re-referral to the Senate Committee on Rules without
	022	recommendation as to passage VOTE: 5-0-0
	022	Chair Walker, hearing no objection, declares the motion CARRIED.
	024	Chair Walker
SB 472 – PUB	LIC HEARING	
	026	Chair Walker
	030	Dana Richardson, Committee Administrator
	035	Sen. Laurie Monnes-Anderson, State Senator, Senate District #25
	065	Chair Walker
	068	Sen. Monnes-Anderson
80A	072	Chair Walker
	075	Sen. Rod Monroe, State Senator, Senate District #24
	118	Chair Walker
	125	Rep. John Lim, State Representative, House District #50
	150	Chair Walker

	155	Sen. Morse
	158	Sen. Monroe
	162	Sen. Morse
	164	Chair Walker
	170	Sen. Monroe
	175	Chair Walker
SR 1042 -	PUBLIC HEARING	
	185	Chair Walker
	188	Dana Richardson, Committee Administrator
	192	Sen. Laurie Monnes-Anderson, State Senator, Senate District #25
	240	Chair Walker
	267	Mike Weatherby, Mayor, City of Fairview (EXHIBIT A)
	320	Chair Walker
	322	Weatherby
	340	Chair Walker
	344	Weatherby
	346	Chair Walker
	352	Vice-Chair Kruse
	355	Chair Walker
	360	Vice-Chair Kruse
	364	Weatherby
	367	Vice-Chair Kruse
	372	Weatherby
	375	Sen. Metsger
01.4	390	Weatherby
81A	015	Chair Walker
	020	Ken Johnson, Chief of Police, City of Fairview
	028	Chair Walker
	032	Johnson Chair Walliam
	034	Chair Walker
	038	Justin Martin, Lobbyist, Confederate Tribes of Grande Ronde (EXHIBIT B)
	085	Chair Walker
	088	Martin
81A	088	Chair Walker
OIA	092	Vice-Chair Kruse
	096	Chair Walker
	098	Martin
	107	Chair Walker
	110	Martin
	120	Sen. Westlund
	120	Chair Walker
SP 1042		Chair walker
<u>5D 1042 –</u>	<u>WORK SESSION</u> 125	MOTION: Sen. Kruse moves to ADOPT SB 1042-1
	140	amendments dated 4/24/2007. (EXHIBIT C)
	128	VOTE: 5-0-0
	-	Chair Walker, hearing no objection, declares the motion
		CARRIED.
	138	MOTION: Sen. Kruse moves to ADOPT SB 1042-2
		amendments dated 4/24/2007. (EXHIBIT D)

	140	VOTE: 5-0-0
		Chair Walker, hearing no objection, declares the motion
		CARRIED.
	145	MOTION: Sen. Kruse moves SB 1042 to the floor with a DO PASS AS AMENDED recommendation
	148	VOTE: 5-0-0
		AYE: In a roll call vote, all members present vote Aye. Chair Walker declares the motion CARRIED.
		SEN. MONNES ANDERSON will lead discussion on the
		floor.
	150	Chair Walker
<u>SB 472 – PU</u>	JBLIC HEARING	
	154	Chair Walker
	158	Robert Silverman, President, Mt. Hood Community College (EXHIBIT E)
	210	Sen. Morse
	215	Silverman
	230	Sen. Morse
	240	Silverman
	245	Sen. Morse
	248	Chair Walker
	252	Silverman
	256	Sen. Westlund
81A	260	Sean Roberson, Student, Mt. Hood Community College
	285	Chair Walker
	288	Ryan Fitzgerald, Student, Mt. Hood Community College
	332	Chair Walker
SB 472 – W	ORK SESSION	
81A	345	MOTION: Sen. Kruse moves SB 472 to the committee on Ways and Means by prior reference without
		recommendation as to passage
	348	VOTE: 5-0-0
		AYE: In a roll call vote, all members present vote Aye.
		Chair Walker declares the motion CARRIED.
	354	Sen. Kruse
	360	Chair Walker
	370	Sen. Morse
	390	Chair Walker
	J BLIC HEARING	
80B	005	Chair Walker
	008	Dana Richardson, Committee Administrator
	015	Vice-Chair Kruse
	030	Chair Walker
	038	Rep. Susan Morgan, State Representative, House District #2 (EXHIBIT F)
	128	Chair Walker
	132	Rep. Morgan
	138	Chair Walker
	145	John Osburn, Member, Canyonville School Committee
	210	Vice-Chair Kruse
	225	Chair Walker

	235	James Siegel, Chair, Canyonville School Committee (EXHIBIT G)
	250	Frank Braudt, Member, Canyonville School Committee (EXHIBIT H)
	260	Chair Walker
	268	Bob Deaton, Member, Canyonville School Committee (EXHIBIT I)
	280	Carol Malmay, Member, Canyonville School Committee (EXHIBIT J)
	360	Chair Walker
	365	Malmay
	375	Chair Walker
	382	Malmay
81B	005	Chair Walker
-	008	Malmay
	010	Chair Walker
	015	Malmay
	018	Chair Walker
	022	Malmay
	025	Chair Walker
81B	030	Malmay
	036	Chair Walker
	042	Sen. Morse
	045	Chair Walker
	052	Alberta Pritchett, Member, Canyonville School Committee (EXHIBIT K)
	072	Chair Walker
	083	Pritchett
	086	Chair Walker
	090	Braudt
	100	Chair Walker
	115	Gloria McGinnis, Member, Canyonville School Committee (EXHIBIT L)
	140	Chair Walker
	148	McGinnis
	152	Vice-Chair Kruse
	155	Rick Richardson, Business Owner, Canyonville (EXHIBIT M)
	175	Sen. Morse
	188	McGinnis
	192	Chair Walker
	200	Richardson
	204	Chair Walker
	206	Richardson
	208	Chair Walker
	215	Richardson
	230	Chair Walker
	235	Beverly Parsons, Superintendent, South Umpqua School District (EXHIBIT N)
	380	Chair Walker
	390	Parsons

	398	Chair Walker
82A	005	Chris Davidson, Director, Fiscal Services, South Umpqua School
		District (EXHIBIT O)
	020	Chair Walker
	030	Davidson
	055	Chair Walker
	060	Davidson
	065	Chair Walker
	068	Jeff Johnson, Vice Chair, Umpqua School Board
82A	105	Chair Walker
	108	Johnson
	110	Chair Walker
	115	Greg Falk, Member, Umpqua School Board
	130	Chair Walker
	140	Falk
	148	Chair Walker
	155	Falk
	168	Chair Walker
	175	Falk
	215	Chair Walker
	220	Jim Proctor, Professor, Lewis & Clark University (EXHIBIT P)
	260	Chair Walker adjourns the meeting at 10:22 a.m.

EXHIBIT SUMMARY

- A. SB 1042, written testimony, Mike Weatherby, 4 pp
- B. SB 1042, written testimony, Justin Martin, 1 p
- C. SB 1042, -1 amendments, staff, 1 p
- D. SB 1042, -2 amendments, staff, 1 p
- E. SB 472, written testimony, Robert Silverman, 3 pp
- F. SB 462, data sheet, Rep. Morgan, 1 p
- G. SB 462, written testimony, James Siegel, 3 pp
- H. SB 462, written testimony, Frank Braudt, 10 pp
- I. SB 462, written testimony, Bob Deaton, 1 p
- J. SB 462, written testimony, Carol Malmay, 4 pp
- K. SB 462, written testimony, Alberta Pritchett, 1 p
- L. SB 462, written testimony, Gloria McGinnis, 1 p
- M. SB 462, written testimony, Rick Richardson, 1 p
- N. SB 462, written testimony, Beverly Parsons, 2 pp
- O. SB 462, written testimony, Chris Davidson, 66 pp
- P. SB 462, written testimony, Jim Proctor, 2 pp