## **SENATE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION & GENERAL GOVERNMENT**

## TAPE LOG

April 3, 2007 Hearing Room B 8:15 A.M. Tapes 63- 65

MEMBERS PRESENT:	Sen. Vicki Walker, Chair
	Sen. Jeff Kruse, Vice-Chair
	Sen. Rick Metsger
	Sen. Frank Morse
	Sen. Ben Westlund
STAFF PRESENT:	Dana Richardson, Committee Administrator Heather Gravelle, Committee Assistant

## **MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD:**

SB 609 – Public Hearing & Work Session SB 800 – Public Hearing SB 774 – Public Hearing SB 824 – Public Hearing SB 621 – Work Session

This tape log is in compliance with Senate and House Rules. For complete contents, please refer to the cassette tapes.

TAPE #	COUNTER	BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF SUBJECT MATTER
AND SIDE	NUMBER	OR CHANGE IN SPEAKER
63A	005	Chair Walker calls the meeting to order at 8:16 a.m.
<u>SB 609 – PUB</u>	LIC HEARING	
	008	Dana Richardson, Committee Administrator
	015	Sen. David Nelson, State Senator, Senate District #29
	055	Chair Walker
	065	Rob Myers, Representative, City of Condon
	105	Chair Walker
	108	Edward Jensen, Superintendent, Molalla School District
	165	Chair Walker
	167	Jensen
	169	Chair Walker
	175	Newell Cleaver, Superintendent, John Day School District
	230	Chair Walker
	232	Sen. Westlund
	235	Chair Walker
63A	240	Sen. Westlund
	242	Anthony Lanni, Superintendent, Grant Education District
	275	Chair Walker
	278	Lanni
	280	Sen. Westlund
	282	Lanni
	285	Chair Walker
	287	Randall Anderson,
		-

	296	Sen. Morse
	325	Anderson
	335	Sen. Morse
	340	Anderson
	342	Chair Walker
	350	Ozzie Rose, Executive Director, Oregon Association of Education Service Districts
	390	Chair Walker
<u>SB 609 – W</u>	ORK SESSION	
	395	MOTION: Sen. Kruse moves SB 609 without recommendation as to passage, to Finance and Revenue by prior reference.
	398	VOTE: 5-0-0
		AYE: In a roll call vote, all members present vote Aye.
		Chair Walker declares the motion CARRIED.
64A	015	Vice-Chair Kruse
	022	Chair Walker
	035	Sen. Westlund
	040	Chair Walker
<u>SB 800 – Pl</u>	U <b>BLIC HEARING</b>	
	042	Chair Walker
	048	Dana Richardson, Committee Administrator
	055	Sen. Doug Whitsett, State Senator, Senate District #27
	152	Chair Walker
	156	Sen. Whitsett
	170	Sen. Morse
	175	Sen. Whitsett
	177	Sen. Morse
	188	Sen. Whitsett
	192	Chair Walker
	205	Chuck Hibner, Director, Secretary of State's Audits Division
	208	Phil Hopkins, Manager, Secretary of State's Audits Division
	265	Sen. Morse

64A	272	Hopkins
	284	Sen. Morse
	287	Hopkins
	290	Sen. Morse
	292	Hopkins
	296	Vice-Chair Kruse
	305	Hopkins
	325	Hibner
	340	Hopkins
	348	Vice-Chair Kruse
	352	Hibner
	358	Chair Walker
	365	Hopkins
	375	Chair Walker
	377	Hopkins
	384	Vice-Chair Kruse
	392	Hopkins
63B	005	Chair Walker
	008	Jim Green, Legislative and Public Affairs Associate Director,
		Oregon School Boards Association
	058	Chair Walker
	060	Green
	062	Chair Walker
	068	Chuck Bennett, Director of Government Relations, Confederation
		of School Administrators
	075	Green
	078	Chair Walker
<u>SB 774 – PUBLIC</u>		
	090	Dana Richardson, Committee Administrator
	094	Ed Wright, Policy Advisor, Office of Sen. Frank Morse (EXHIBIT A)
	148	Morgan Allen, Legislative Director, Oregon Department of
		Education
	152	Chair Walker
	155	Allen
	190	Chair Walker
	195	Sen. Morse
	198	Chair Walker
<u>SB 824 – PUBLIC</u>		
	200	Dana Richardson, Committee Administrator
	204	Chair Walker
	206	Ron Papsdorf, Lobbyist, City of Gresham
	314	Chair Walker
	386	Sen. Laurie Monnes-Anderson, State Senator, Senate District #25
(4)	395	Chair Walker
64B	005	John Powell, Representative, Oregon State Sheriff's Association
	015	Chair Walker
	020	Burton Weast, Representative, Special Districts Association of Oragon (EXHIBIT B)
		Oregon (EXHIBIT B)

	082	Kelly Ross, Representative, Special Districts Association of Oregon
	085	Chair Walker
	090	Ross
	110	Amanda Rich, Representative, Special Districts Association of
		Oregon
	180	Chair Walker
	188	Rich
The follow	ing prepared testimo	ny is submitted for the record without public testimony:
		Diedre Conkling, District Librarian, Lincoln County Library District (EXHIBIT C)
	190	Chair Walker
<u>SB 621 – V</u>	VORK SESSION	
	200	Dana Richardson, Committee Administrator
	215	Chair Walker
	218	Richardson
	222	Chair Walker
	232	Cindy Hunt, Senior Deputy Counsel, Office of Legislative
		Counsel
	260	Chair Walker
	270	Hunt
	308	Chair Walker
	312	Hunt
	318	Chair Walker
	322	Vice-Chair Kruse
	328	Chair Walker
	332	Hunt
	338	Chair Walker
	342	Laurie Wimmer-Whelan, Government Relations Consultant,
		Oregon Education Association
	380	Chair Walker
	382	Randy Harnish, Policy Advisor, Oregon Department of Education
65A	005	Chair Walker
65A	008	Harnish
	012	Chair Walker
	020	Vice-Chair Kruse
	022	Wimmer-Whelan
	030	Vice-Chair Kruse
	034	Chair Walker
	038	Kaaren Heikes, Director, Charter Schools Development Center (EXHIBIT D)
	077	Chair Walker
	080	Stephanie Hinkle, Director, Trillium Charter Schools (EXHIBIT E)
	101	Chair Walker
	108	Hinkle
	120	Rob Kramer, President, Oregon Education Coalition
	128	Chair Walker
	132	Kramer

142 Chair Walker adjourns the meeting at 10:21 a.m.

## **EXHIBIT SUMMARY**

- A. SB 774, written testimony, Ed Wright, 2 pp
- B. SB 824, written testimony, Burton Weast, 3 pp
- C. SB 824, written testimony, Diedre Conkling, 2 pp
- D. SB 621, written testimony, Kaaren Heikes, 4 pp
- E. SB 621 written testimony, Stephanie Hinkle, 2 pp