SENATE COMMITTEE ON ENVIRONMENT AND NATURAL RESOURCES

TAPE LOG

April 12, 2007 Hearing Room B 3:00 P.M. Tapes 54 – 55

MEMBERS PRESENT:	Sen. Brad Avakian, Chair Sen. Jason Atkinson, Vice-Chair Sen. Roger Beyer Sen. Floyd Prozanski
MEMBER EXCUSED:	Sen. Alan Bates
STAFF PRESENT:	Sue Marshall, Committee Administrator Matthew Davis, Committee Assistant
Measures or Issues Heard:	SB 234 – Work Session SB 949 – Public Hearing and Work Session SB 576 – Public Hearing

This tape log is in compliance with Senate and House Rules. For complete contents, please refer to the cassette tapes.

TAPE #	COUNTER	BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF SUBJECT MATTER
AND SIDE	NUMBER	OR CHANGE IN SPEAKER
54A	004	Chair Avakian calls the meeting to order at 3:08 p.m.
<u>SB 234 – WOI</u>	RK SESSION	
	009	Sue Marshall, Committee Administrator
	016	Chair Avakian
	021	Katie Coba, Director Oregon Department of Agriculture
		(EXHIBIT A)
	049	Chair Avakian
	051	Sen. Prozanski
	060	Coba
	089	Sen. Prozanski
	091	Coba
	093	Chair Avakian
	107	MOTION: Sen. Atkinson moves to ADOPT SB 234-1
	amendments dated 3/5/07.	
	109	Chair Avakian
	110	Sen. Bates
		VOTE: 4-0-1
		Chair Avakian hearing no objection, declares the motion
		CARRIED.
	120	MOTION: Sen. Atkinson moves SB 234 to the floor with a
		DO PASS AS AMENDED recommendation.
54A	122	Sen. Prozanski
	128	VOTE: 3-1-1
	AYE: 3 - Atkinson, Beyer, Avakian	
		NAY: 1 - Prozanski
	EXCUSED: 1 - Bates	
		Chair Avakian declares the motion CARRIED.

		SEN. BATES will lead discussion on the floor.
<u>SB 949 – PUBLIC</u>		
	135	Sue Marshall, Committee Administrator
	146	Chair Avakian
	147	Senator Monnes Anderson
	162	Chair Avakian
	164	Hiroshi Morihara, Chair of Oregon Science and Technology Partnership (EXHIBIT B)
	254	Chair Avakian
	255	Sen. Prozanski
	270	Chair Avakian
	281	David Morman, Resources Planning Program Director, Oregon Department of Forestry (EXHIBIT C)
	299	Greg Miller, Weyerhauser Public Affairs Manager (EXHIBIT D)
	327	Chair Avakian
<u>SB 949 – WORK</u>	SESSION	
	333	Sen. Atkinson
	337	Sen. Beyer
	340	MOTION: Sen. Atkinson moves SB 949 to the floor with a DO PASS recommendation and BE REFERRED to the committee on Finance and Revenue by prior reference and
	343	then BE REFERRED to the Joint Committee on Ways and Means by prior reference. VOTE: 4-0-1
		EXCUSED: 1 - Bates
		Chair Avakian hearing no objection, declares the motion CARRIED.
<u>SB 576 – PUBLIC</u>		
	349	Chair Avakian puts committee at ease at 3:37 p.m.
	350	Chair Avakian calls the meeting back to order at 3:42 p.m.
	357	Sue Marshall, Committee Administrator (EXHIBIT E)
	380	Chair Avakian
	385	Cindy Robert, American Institute of Architects (EXHIBIT F)
	427	Tom Pene, President of the Oregon Chapter of the American Institute of Architects
55A	001	Pene (continued)
	043	Chair Avakian
55A	044	Clark Brockman, Board Member, Green Builder's Association
	083	Dennis Wilde, Gerding Edland Development
	138	Sen. Beyer
	143	Wilde
	162	Sen. Beyer
	167	Brockman
	173	Sen. Beyer
	185	Brockman
	196	Wilde
	210	Sen. Beyer
	220	Pene
	234	Wilde
	253	Sen. Beyer
	266	Robert

	279	Chair Avakian
	302	David Morman, Resources Planning Program Director, Oregon
	377	Department of Forestry (EXHIBIT G)
	577	Betty Merrill, on behalf of Michael Carrier, Natural Resources Policy Director, (EXHIBIT H)
54B	001	Merrill (continued)
340	002	Chair Avakian
	003	Sen. Atkinson
	009	Merrill
	010	Sen. Atkinson
	014	Merrill
	017	Chair Avakian
	025	Paul Kosgrove, American Forest and Paper Association
	020	(EXHIBIT I)
	049	Chair Avakian
	048	Chris Jarmer, Oregon Forest Industries Council
	058	Chair Avakian
	060	Jarmer
	061	Bill Kluting, Carpenters Industrial Council
	092	Chair Avakian
	093	Kristina McNitt, Oregon Small Woodlands Association
	115	Chair Avakian
	120	McNitt
	121	Chair Avakian
	123	Sen. Prozanski
	129	Kosgrove
54B	136	Sen. Atkinson
	147	Mike Barsotti, Oregon Tree Farm System (EXHIBIT J)
	167	Richard Courter, Professional Consulting Forester (EXHIBIT K)
	184	John Fletcher, Senior Policy Advisor for the Oregon Housing a
		(EXHIBIT L)
	222	Sen. Atkinson
	225	Fletcher
	230	Sen. Atkinson
	232	Sen. Prozanski
	233	Sen. Atkinson
	248	Stephen Kafoury, Johnson Controls
	284	Duke Shepherd, American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations
	293	Paul Rainey, Association of Oregon Housing Authority
	322	Sen. Atkinson
	335	Julie Livingston, Housing Authority of Portland
	404	Sen. Atkinson
	408	Mark Rossolo, Director of Outreach, the Green Building
	-100	Initiative
		(EXHIBIT M)
	440	Sen. Atkinson
	450	Joanna Brickmann, Director of Sustainable Design, ZGF
55B	001	Brickmann (continued)
	020	Rick Fields, President and Co-Owner Neil Kelly Cabinets

044	Bettina Von Hagen, Eco-Trust (EXHIBIT N)
090	Sen. Atkinson
091	Von Hagen
097	Sen. Beyer
098	Sen. Atkinson
101	Brickmann
105	Sen. Atkinson
111	Jay Coalson, President Green Building Services Inc.
129	Rob Bennet, Clinton Foundation
165	Chair Avakian
169	Chair Avakian adjourns the meeting at 5:01 p.m.

EXHIBIT SUMMARY

- A. SB 234, written testimony, Katie Coba, 6 pp
- B. SB 949, written testimony, Hiroshi Morihara, 1 p
- C. SB 949, written testimony, David Morman, 3 pp
- D. SB 949, written testimony, Greg Miller, 1 p
- E. SB 576, written testimony, Kate Allen, 1 p
- F. SB 576, written testimony and conceptual amendments, Cindy Robert, 11 pp
- G. SB 576, written testimony, David Morman, 4 pp
- H. SB 576, written testimony of Michael Carrier, Betty Merrill, 1 p
- I. SB 576, written testimony, Paul Kosgrove, 5 pp
- J. SB 576, written testimony and informational packet, Mike Barsotti, 9 pp
- K. SB 576, written testimony, Richard Courter, 2 pp
- L. SB 576, written testimony, John Fletcher, 4 pp
- M. SB 576, written testimony and fact sheet, Mark Rossolo, 4 pp
- N. SB 576, written testimony, Bettina Von Hagen, 1 p