### **SENATE COMMITTEE ON RULES**

----

Krista Schuchard, Committee Assistant

February 28, 2007 Hearing Room B 5:00 P.M. Tapes 15-17

\_\_\_\_ \_\_ \_\_ \_\_ \_\_ \_\_ \_\_ \_\_ \_\_ \_\_

(Corrected 5/5/07)

MEMBERS PRESENT:	Sen. Kate Brown, Chair	
	Sen. Ted Ferrioli, Vice-Chair	
	Sen. Betsy Johnson	
	Sen. David Nelson	
MEMBER EXCUSED:	Sen. Laurie Monnes Anderson	
STAFF PRESENT:	Marjorie Taylor, Committee Administrator	

# MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD:

Informational Meeting -Overview of Legislation Proposed by the Oregon Law Commission

## **HOUSE COMMITTEE ON ELECTIONS, ETHICS AND RULES**

MEMBERS PRESENT:	Rep. Diane Rosenbaum, Chair
	Rep. Vicki Berger, Vice-Chair
	Rep. Peter Buckley, Vice-Chair
	Rep. Sal Esquivel
	Rep. Dave Hunt
	Rep. Arnie Roblan
	<b>Rep. Kim Thatcher</b>

#### STAFF PRESENT: Jim Stembridge, Committee Administrator

#### **MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD:**

Informational Meeting -

Overview of Legislation Proposed by the Oregon Law Commission

TAPE #	COUNTER	BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF SUBJECT MATTER
AND SIDE	NUMBER	OR CHANGE IN SPEAKER
15A	004	Co-Chair Rosenbaum calls the House Committee on Elections,
		Ethics and Rules to order at 5:03 p.m.
	009	Vice-Chair Ferrioli calls the Senate Committee on Rules to order
		at 5:03 p.m.
<b>OVERVIEW</b>	OF LEGISLATION PH	ROPOSED BY THE OREGON LAW COMMISSION -
INFORMATI	ONAL MEETING	
15A	020	Vice-Chair Ferrioli
	026	Co-Chair Rosenbaum
	027	Lane Shetterly, Chair, Oregon Law Commission
	094	Co-Chair Rosenbaum
	096	Attorney General Hardy Myers, Member, Government Ethics Work Group

This tape log is in compliance with Senate and House Rules. For complete contents, please refer to the cassette tapes.

156	Sen. Nelson
157	Co-Chair Rosenbaum
159	Meyers
165	Sen. Nelson
166	Meyers
157	Greg Mowe, Member, Government Ethics Work Group
220	Co-Chair Rosenbaum
222	Rep. Thatcher
225	Vice-Chair Ferrioli
229	Shetterly
231	Vice-Chair Ferrioli
232	Shetterly
234	Vice-Chair Ferrioli
236	Shetterly
251	Vice-Chair Ferrioli
263	Shetterly
276	Vice-Chair Ferrioli
284	Sen. Nelson
297	Co-Chair Rosenbaum
305	Myers
310	Sen. Nelson
340	Co-Chair Rosenbaum
343	Shetterly
358	Myers
377	Co-Chair Rosenbaum
349	Rep. Berger
419	Co-Chair Rosenbaum
001	Wendy Johnson, Deputy Director, Oregon Law Commission (EXHIBIT A)
057	Co-Chair Brown
058	Sen. Ferrioli
062	Johnson
080	Co-Chair Brown
081	Sen. Ferrioli
090	Johnson
100	Co-Chair Brown
101	Sen. Ferrioli
128	Co-Chair Brown
129	Johnson
133	Co-Chair Rosenbaum
135	Rep. Esquivel
144	Johnson
197	Sam Sears, Staff Attorney, Oregon Law Commission
272 273	Co-Chair Rosenbaum
	Rep. Thatcher Sears
275	Sears Johnson
284	
329	Co-Chair Rosenbaum
333	Johnson

16A

16A

	334	Co-Chair Rosenbaum
	336	Wendy Johnson
	352	Sen. Nelson
	360	Johnson
	364	Sen. Nelson
	368	Johnson
	378	Sen. Ferrioli
5B	001	Sen. Ferrioli
	011	Wendy Johnson
	020	Co-Chair Brown
	021	Johnson
	035	Co-Chair Brown
	044	Johnson
	065	Co-Chair Brown
	066	Sen. Ferrioli
	069	Co-Chair Rosenbaum
	070	Rep. Roblan
	071	Johnson
	096	Co-Chair Brown
	099	Sears
	103	Johnson
	248	Co-Chair Rosenbaum
	250	Johnson
	311	Sears
6B	019	Johnson
	025	Sears
	033	Johnson
	197	Co-Chair Brown
	199	Sen. Johnson
	202	Co-Chair Brown recesses the meeting at 6:43 p.m.
	203	Co-Chair Brown reconvenes the meeting at 6:49 p.m.
	208	Johnson
	241	Sears
	298	Johnson
	317	Sears
	361	Johnson
	401	Co-Chair Brown
7A	006	Rep. Esquivel
	017	Co-Chair Brown
	020	Johnson
	032	Co-Chair Brown
	039	Johnson
	043	Co-Chair Brown
	044	Rep. Esquivel
	048	Co-Chair Rosenbaum
	050	Co-Chair Brown
	063	Johnson
	064	Co-Chair Rosenbaum
	073	Johnson

080	Co-Chair Rosenbaum
083	Johnson
096	Co-Chair Brown
101	Johnson
113	Co-Chair Brown
118	Johnson
119	Co-Chair Brown
127	Ron Bersin, Executive Director, Government Standards and Practices Commission
131	Co-Chair Brown
134	Bersin
136	Co-Chair Brown
147	Bersin
148	Co-Chair Brown
149	Wendy Johnson
153	Co-Chair Brown
154	Sen. Johnson
193	Co-Chair Brown
195	Sen. Nelson
205	Co-Chair Brown
213	Sen. Nelson
221	Co-Chair Brown
223	Bersin
261	Sen. Berger
286	Co-Chair Rosenbaum
288	Sen. Johnson
300	Co-Chair Brown
301	Sen. Nelson
330	Co-Chair Rosenbaum
331	Rep. Roblan
357	Co-Chair Rosenbaum adjourns the House Committee on Elections, Ethics and Rules at 7:28 p.m.
361	Co-Chair Brown adjourns the Senate Committee on Rules at 7:28 p.m.

# EXHIBIT SUMMARY

A. Oregon Law Commission, informational packet, Wendy Johnson, 92 pp

17A