## HOUSE COMMITTEE ON ENERGY AND ENVIRONMENT

February 20, 2014 3:00 PM **Hearing Room D** 

energy

| MEMBERS PRESENT:       | Rep. Jules Bailey, Chair<br>Rep. Deborah Boone, Vice-Chair<br>Rep. Mark Johnson, Vice-Chair<br>Rep. Cliff Bentz<br>Rep. Ann Lininger<br>Rep. Jeff Reardon<br>Rep. Barbara Smith Warner<br>Rep. Jessica Vega Pederson<br>Rep. Jim Weidner<br>Rep. Gail Whitsett |
|------------------------|--|
| STAFF PRESENT:         | Rick Berkobien, Committee Administrator<br>Ryan Southworth, Committee Assistant  |
| MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: | Informational Meeting<br>Update on educating appraisers to better assess<br>efficient structure improvements (HB 2801, 2013)<br>SB 1578 A – Public Hearing and Work Session  |

## Recording Log

- **3:02:56 PM** Meeting Called to Order by Chair Bailey
- 3:02:57 PM Chair Bailey

3:03:32 PM Update on educating appraisers to better assess energy efficient structure improvements (HB 2801, 2013) - Informational Meeting

- **3:03:58 PM** {Exhibit} 1: Gae Lynne Cooper, Interim Administrator, Appraiser Certification and Licensure Board
- 3:11:50 PM Chair Bailey
- 3:12:00 PM Vice-Chair Johnson
- 3:12:16 PM Cooper
- 3:12:20 PM Vice-Chair Johnson
- 3:13:04 PM Cooper
- 3:13:23 PM Chair Bailey
- 3:13:37 PM Rep. Weidner
- 3:14:45 PM Chair Bailey
- 3:14:48 PM Cooper
- 3:15:39 PM Rep. Bentz

3:15:55 PM Cooper

3:16:39 PM Chair Bailey

|            | SB 1578 A - Public Hearing  |
|------------|---|
|            | {Exhibit} 2: Rick Berkobien, Committee Administrator                                      |
|            | Sen. Tim Knopp, Senate District 27  |
|            | Chair Bailey  |
|            | Sen. Knopp  |
| 3:20:59 PM | <b>,</b>  |
|            | Mark Kendall, Principle, Kendal Energy Consulting   |
|            | {Exhibit} 3: Andrew Haden, President, Wisewood, Inc.                                      |
| 3:29:50 PM | Amanda Rich, The Nature Conservancy   |
| 3:31:01 PM |   |
| 3:32:43 PM | Rep. Bentz  |
| 3:33:26 PM | •   |
|            | Vice-Chair Johnson  |
| 3:34:43 PM |   |
| 3:36:27 PM |   |
|            | Rep. Reardon  |
| 3:38:04 PM |   |
|            | Rep. Reardon  |
| 3:38:44 PM | •   |
|            | Rep. Whitsett   |
| 3:39:25 PM | Haden   |
| 3:40:10 PM | Rep. Lininger   |
| 3:41:24 PM | Chair Bailey  |
| 3:42:01 PM | Rep. Paul Holvey, House District 8  |
| 3:49:04 PM | Rep. Bentz  |
|            | Rep. Holvey   |
| 3:51:37 PM |   |
|            | Rep. Holvey   |
|            | Rep. Weidner  |
|            | Rep. Holvey   |
| 3:58:06 PM | Vice-Chair Johnson  |
|            | Rep. Holvey   |
|            | Chair Bailey  |
| 4:01:51 PW | {Exhibit} 4: Frank Vignola, Director, University of Oregon Solar Radiation Monitoring Lab |
| 1.01.32 DM | Chair Bailey  |
|            | {Exhibit} 5-6: Phil Chang, Central Oregon Intergovernmental Counsel                       |
|            | Chair Bailey  |
|            | {Exhibit} 7: Bill Klunting, Carpenters Industrial Council                                 |
|            | Jeff Bissonnette, Organizing Director, Fair and Clear Energy Coalition                    |
| 4:20:20 PM |   |
| 4:20:37 PM | <b>,</b>  |
|            | g   |

- 4:23:44 PM Chair Bailey
- 4:23:49 PM Rep. Whitsett
- 4:24:57 PM Klunting
- 4:25:39 PM Rep. Reardon
- 4:26:05 PM Bissonnette
- 4:27:27 PM Chair Bailey
- **4:27:55 PM** {Exhibit} 8-9: Mark Nystrom, Policy Manager, Association of Oregon Counties
- 4:28:48 PM Tony DeBone, Deschutes County Commissioner
- **4:30:16 PM** Linc Cannon, Forest Resources and Taxation Director, Oregon Forest Industries Council
- 4:32:14 PM Vice-Chair Boone
- 4:33:13 PM Cannon
- 4:33:37 PM Chair Bailey
- 4:33:38 PM {Exhibit} 10: witness registration
- **4:33:39 PM** The following written testimony is submitted for the record without public testimony:
- 4:33:40 PM {Exhibit} 11: John Fox, Chief Executive Officer, ElectraTherm
- **4:33:41 PM** {Exhibit} 12: Rep. Mark Johnson, House District 52
- **4:33:42 PM** {Exhibit} 13: John Williams, President, Quicksilver Contracting Co.
- **4:33:45 PM** {Exhibit} 14: Doug Decker, Oregon State Forester, Oregon Department of Forestry
- **4:33:46 PM** {Exhibit} 15: Norbert Fuhrmann, Director of Sales, Air Burners Inc.
- **4:33:47 PM** {Exhibit} 16: John Milandin, Chairman, Oakridge Economic Advisory Committee
- 4:33:49 PM {Exhibit} 17: Donald Kordosky, Superintendent, Oakridge School District
- **4:33:50 PM** {Exhibit} 18: Betty Roppe, Mayor, City of Prineville
- 4:33:51 PM {Exhibit} 19: Nils Christoffersen, Executive Director, Wallowa Resources
- 4:33:52 PM {Exhibit} 20: Tim Casey, President and CEO, Bend Chamber
- 4:33:53 PM {Exhibit} 21: John J. Audley, President, Sustainable Northwest
- 4:33:54 PM {Exhibit} 22: Duane Julian, President, American Capital Resources
- 4:33:55 PM <u>SB 1578 A Work Session</u>
- 4:34:13 PM Chair Bailey
- 4:35:43 PM MOTION: VICE-CHAIR JOHNSON MOVES TO ADOPT THE -A9 AMENDMENTS
- 4:36:04 PM VOTE: 10-0-0
- **4:36:05 PM** AYES: BENTZ, LININGER, REARDON, SMITH WARNER, VEGA PEDERSON, WEIDNER, WHITSETT, BOONE, JOHNSON, BAILEY
- 4:36:10 PM Vice-Chair Johnson
- 4:36:15 PM Meeting Recessed
- 4:39:27 PM Meeting Reconvened
- 4:39:37 PM MOTION: VICE-CHAIR BOONE MOVES SB 1578 A DO PASS AS AMENDED AND BE REFERRED TO HOUSE COMMITTEE ON RULES
- 4:39:56 PM Chair Bailey
- 4:40:00 PM Vice-Chair Johnson

- 4:40:15 PM Rep. Weidner
- 4:40:30 PM Rep. Bentz
- 4:41:01 PM Rep. Whitsett
- 4:41:13 PM Chair Bailey
- 4:41:26 PM VOTE: 5-4-1
- 4:41:27 PM AYES: LININGER, REARDON, VEGA PEDERSON, BOONE, BAILEY
- 4:41:28 PM NAYS: BENTZ, WEIDNER, WHITSETT, JOHNSON
- 4:41:29 PM EXCUSED: SMITH WARNER
- 4:42:01 PM Chair Bailey
- 4:42:08 PM Meeting Adjourned by Chair Bailey

## **Exhibit Summary**

| 3:03:58 PM | {Exhibit} 1: Update on educating appraisers to better assess energy efficient structure improvements (HB 2801-B, 2013), report, Gae Lynne Cooper, 2 pp |
|------------|--|
| 3:16:48 PM | {Exhibit} 2: SB 1578 A, -A9 amendments, staff, 1 p   |
| 3:24:39 PM |  |
| 4:01:51 PM | {Exhibit} 4: SB 1578 A, signatures in opposition, Frank Vignola, 3 pp  |
| 4:05:15 PM | {Exhibit} 5: SB 1578 A, written testimony, Phil Chang, 1 p   |
| 4:05:15 PM | {Exhibit} 6: SB 1578 A, coalition letter of support, Phil Chang, 2 pp  |
| 4:11:12 PM | {Exhibit} 7: SB 1578 A , handout, Bill Klunting, 1 p   |
| 4:27:55 PM | {Exhibit} 8: SB 1578 A, written testimony, Mark Nystrom, 1 p   |
| 4:27:55 PM | {Exhibit} 9: SB 1578 A, written testimony of Faye Stewart and Joe  |
|            | Laurence, Mark Nystrom, 1 p  |
| 4:33:38 PM | {Exhibit} 10: SB 1578 A, witness registration, staff, 2 pp   |
| 4:33:40 PM | {Exhibit} 11: SB 1578 A, written testimony, John Fox, 1 p  |
| 4:33:41 PM |  |
| 4:33:42 PM |  |
| 4:33:45 PM | {Exhibit} 14: SB 1578 A, written testimony of Doug Decker and Marcus   |
|            | Kauffman, Doug Decker, 2 pp  |
| 4:33:46 PM | {Exhibit} 15: SB 1578 A, written testimony, Norbert Fuhrmann, 1 p  |
| 4:33:47 PM | {Exhibit} 16: SB 1578 A, written testimony, John Milandin, 2 pp  |
| 4:33:49 PM | {Exhibit} 17: SB 1578 A, written testimony, Donald Kordosky, 1 p   |
| 4:33:50 PM | {Exhibit} 18: SB 1578 A, written testimony, Betty Roppe, 2 pp  |
| 4:33:51 PM |  |
| 4:33:52 PM | {Exhibit} 20: SB 1578 A, written testimony, Tim Casey, 1 p   |
| 4:33:53 PM | {Exhibit} 21: SB 1578 A, written testimony, John J. Audley, 1 p  |
| 4:33:54 PM | {Exhibit} 22: SB 1578 A, written testimony, Duane Julian, 2 pp   |