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Rep. Roger Beyer, District 28

Susan Browning, Oregon Dept. of Revenue

TAPE 077, SIDE A

Called meeting to order at 8:38 a.m. Opened public hearing on HB 2139.

Spoke in opposition to the measure. Problem is policy consideration about how
assessment and taxation program is funded at the county level. Fee applies to 1 million
documents per year. Referred to "Section B, Alphabetical Listing of Instrument Titles
and Fees (Last Revised August 01, 1998)", a 22-page list from Washington County
assessors. (not an exhibit.) It lists what documents would be affected. Under current law,
fee is $5 per page, which more than covers cost of processing documents. Clients get
good service for this fee. Additional money for documents is used for other services.

The $20 surcharge is not related to processing of documents. It is a tax on a limited
number of people who file documents with county clerks. Dept. of Revenue would
distribute most of that money back to counties, but it doesnit go back to the county from
which it was generated.

Countiesi capacity has been limited by M50; many counties have lost timber revenues.
This creates a constriction on county funding. If this process is begun, counties will ask
for more. They will have to compete with one another for more funds.

Suggested, state directly fund a portion of assessment and taxation program.

Spoke in opposition to the measure. Oregon Bankers Association is committed to
helping first-time homebuyers. This bill would cost $13 million, will come out of these
peopleis pockets. An additional $50 or $100 in fees could keep these folks out of homes.

Spoke in opposition to the measure. Greatest concern is impact on borrowers. Banks
donit pay these fees; they pass them onto their customers. Greatest impact will be on
first-time homebuyers. They fill out more documents to cover closing costs. They
struggle to come up with closing costs. Could mean $600 in additional recording fees.

Questions and discussion on impact of fee increases for first-time homebuyers.

Questions concerning $60 million cost to run assessment and taxation program.

This $20 tax would raise about 1/3 of that amount.
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Those figures are in the interim study report.

Asked for a list of 5-10 documents being recorded in a typical new home transaction.
Follow-up questions.

Roughly 30-35% of clients are first-time homebuyers who use special programs that
require additional recording documents.

Residents who use these additional documents can least afford it. Savings and Loans
League also opposes this legislation.

Does not know how Dept. of Revenue will distribute this money, but was told it will be
redistributed based on need of individual countiesi ability to fund their assessment and
taxation program. Most individuals affected by the bill would be in Portland area; the
counties in most need would be elsewhere.

Will provide committee with samples of closing documents from these special income
programs.

TAPE 078, SIDE A

Closed public hearing on HB 2139. Opened public hearing on HB 2516.

Reviewed HB 2516, Revenue Impact of Proposed Legislation (EXHIBIT 1). Creates
subtraction from taxable income for family with non-working spouse and dependent
children age 14 or younger residing at home.

Bill provides $5,000 subtraction for stay-at-home parents. It recognizes the contributions of
non-working spouses.

Referred to letter from Merrily H. Aylett-Ellis who inspired drafting of this bill (EXHIBIT
2).

Supports concept. Asked if bill could be extended to spouse working part-time. Suggested
amendment to phase out credit as stay-at-home parent begin to earn money.

Would include only spouses with no income.
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Does not like phase-out suggestion. Studies show that most juvenile crime is between 3-6
p.m. when children are unsupervised. Governor has proposed spending money to decrease
juvenile crime; this bill would do that.

An example of taxpayers that would be excluded from this tax break is a family business
where one spouse works at home part-time as a bookkeeper in order to receive benefits
while staying home.

Stressed, would like to keep this bill simple.

Noted, revenue impact statement would provide incentive to hide income.

Suggested second amendment, to target lower income families only.

Considered this, but it is not just children of lower income families who can get out of
control and get into trouble. People have a habit of spending what they earn. There could
be just as much pressure on higher income people as lower income.

Closed public hearing on HB 2516. Opened public hearing on SB 256.

Gave overview of SB 256. See Revenue Impact of Proposed Legislation (EXHIBIT 3).
Waives payment of income tax if amount due is less than $1; changes minimum refund of
excess income taxes from $5 to $1.

See Bill Summary for SB 256 (EXHIBIT 6). Dept. of Revenue views this as a taxpayer
equity issue. Currently, Department doesnit refund any amount less than $5; taxpayers are
required to pay amounts less than $5. The $5 limit was originally set due to cost of
processing. Now refund checks can be issued for less than $1. Perception of fairness
among taxpayers. Taxpayers are making a good argument. This would have very little
revenue impact.

Asked approximate cost of mailing refund checks.

Costs less than $1 per check. Amount keeps falling as more processes are automated.
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Closed public hearing SB 256. Opened public hearing on SB 250.

Eliminates meter impression method of paying cigarette taxes (EXHIBIT 7). This
technology is no longer used.

Discussed SB 250-1 amendments from Dept. of Revenue (EXHIBIT 8).

Explained how cigarette stamp program works. Distributors buy stamps to put on
cigarettes, if cigarettes arenit sold, vendors return the stamped cartons for credit. This
prevents smuggling.

Proposed legislation does not change the payment process. It streamlines it to require filing
returns quarterly rather than monthly.

Referred to Bill Summary for SB 250 (EXHIBIT 9).

Closed public hearing on SB 250. Opened public hearing on SB 255.

Bill limits withholding on lottery prizes to prizes paid to individuals (EXHIBIT 10).

See Bill Summary (EXHIBIT 13). This is a tax administration issue, Oregon State Lottery
is neutral on the bill. It clarifies that withholding is designed for individual taxpayers, not
corporations. It also clarifies definition of a prize. There have only been a couple of
instances where a corporation becomes a lottery winner.

Questions and discussion interspersed.

Closed public hearing on SB 255. Adjourned meeting at 9:38 a.m.
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Exhibit Summary:

HB 2516, Waters, Revenue Impact of Proposed Legislation, 1 p.

HB 2516, Rep. Beyer, Letter from Merrily H. Aylett-Ellis, 1 p.

SB 256, Waters, Revenue Impact of Proposed Legislation, 1 p.

SB 256, Waters, Staff Measure Summary, 1 p.

SB 256, Waters, Fiscal Analysis of Proposed Legislation, 1 p.

SB 256, Browning, Oregon Department of Revenue 1999 Legislative Session Bill Summary SB 256, 1 p.
SB 250, Yates, Staff Measure Summary, 1 p.

SB 250, Yates, Proposed Amendments to Senate Bill 250 (SB 250-1), 1 p.

SB 250, Yates, Oregon Department of Revenue 1999 Legislative Session SB 250, 2 pp.

SB 255, Yates, Staff Measure Summary, 1 p.

SB 255, Yates, Legislative Revenue Office no impact statement, 1 p.

SB 255, Yates, Legislative Fiscal Office, no expenditure impact statement, 1 p.

SB 255, Browning, Oregon Department of Revenue 1999 Legislative Session Bill Summary SB 255, 1 p.



