#### Secretary of State Certificate and Order for Filing PERMANENT ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

I certify that the attached copies\* are true, full and correct copies of the PERMANENT Rule(s) adopted on December 7, 2009 by the

Board of Accountancy	٤	801, Division 010		
Agency and Division	Administrative Ru	Administrative Rules Chapter Number		
Kimberly Bennett	3218 Pringle Rd SE #110 Salem OR 97302	503.378.2268		
Rules Coordinator	Address	Telephone		
to become effective January 1, 2010. Rulemaking Notice was published in the November 2009 Oregon Bulletin** Date upon filing or later Month and Year				
RULE CAPTION				
	ostantial equivalency, delete transitional language for exa			
Not more than 15 words	s that reasonably identifies the subject matter of the a	agency's intended action.		
	RULEMAKING ACTION			
	List each rule number separately (000-000-000	0)		
Secure approval of new r ADOPT:	rule numbers (Adopted or Renumbered rules) with the Ad	ministrative Rules Unit prior to filing.		
AMEND:				

801-010-0010, 801-010-0060, 801-010-0075, 801-010-0080, 801-010-0100, 801-010-0120, 801-010-0345

REPEAL:

RENUMBER:

AMEND & RENUMBER:

Stat. Auth: ORS 670.310, 673.410, 673.153, 673.220, 673.160

Other Auth .:

Stats. Implemented: ORS 673.410, 673.050, 673.060, 673.075, 673.040, 673.153, 673.220, 673.160

#### RULE SUMMARY

the preceding workday.

Amendments include the dissolution of substantial equivalency application requirements which was replaced by mobility language due to the passage of SB 867. The fees have also been increased for permit holders and application for firm registration. Deletion of transitional credit I language as it pertains to the written CPA exam. Clarification of public accountant licensees applying for a CPA certificate. Firm requirements amended to include mobility provisions.

Kan Authorized Signer

L. Patrick Hearn Executive Director Printed name 12/11/2009

Date

FILED

DEC 1 5 2009

ARCHIVES DIVISION SECRETARY OF STATE

\*With this original, file one photocopy of certificate, one paper copy of rules listed in Rulemaking Actions, and electronic copy of rules. \*\*The Oregon Bulletin is published the 1st of each month and updates rules found in the OAR Compilation. For publication in Bulletin, rule and notice filings must be submitted by 5:00 pm on the 15th day of the preceding month unless this deadline falls on a weekend or legal holiday, when filings are accepted until 5:00 pm on

#### ARC 930-2005

### CERTIFICATION AND LICENSE FEES APPLICATIONS AND REQUIREMENTS

#### Fees, Civil Penalties and Cost Recovery

**801-010-0010** For the purpose of ORS 673.010 to 673.455 and ORS 297.670 to 297.740, the Board of Accountancy shall charge the following fees:

(1) Application fees. All application fees	are non- refundable.	
(a) CPA Examination:		
(A) Initial Examination		\$100
(B) Re-Examination		\$ 50
(b) CPA Certificate or PA License		
(2) Initial permit and registration fees:		
(a) Initial CPA or PA Permit		\$160
(b) Municipal Auditor		\$100
(c) Firm Registration		\$100
(3) Biennial renewal application fees:		
(a) Active CPA and PA Permits		\$160
(b) Inactive CPA and PA	\$ 50	+···
(c) Municipal Auditor	,	\$100
(d) Firm Registration		\$175
(4) Late renewal penalty fees:		
(a) Active CPA and PA Permits	<u></u>	\$ 50
(b) Inactive CPA and PA	\$ 35	Ψ 00
(c) Firm Registration	Ψ 00	\$ 35
		Ψ 00

### (5) Miscellaneous fees:

(a) Copies of existing mailing lists shall be provided for a fee equal to the amount necessary to prepare each list, including the cost of materials, if any, and the cost of staff time. Staff time shall be calculated at the hourly rates stated in subsection (d) of this section.

(b) Municipal Auditor lists shall be provided at no charge to municipal entities that are subject to audit law.

(c) Copies of records made on a standard office copy machine shall be charged a minimum fee of \$2.50 for five pages or less, and 25 cents per page thereafter. If certified copies of records are requested, there will be a \$2.50 fee for each document certified in addition to the copy cost.

(d) Staff time required to locate, produce, summarize or otherwise provide records shall be charged as follows:

(A) Staff time, \$23 per hour, in quarter hour increments at \$5.75 per quarter hour.

# (6) Civil Penalties assessed for Specific Violations

(a) Failure to provide change of address in 30 days	\$ 100
(b) Failure to renew firm registration by January 31	\$ 500
(c) Failure to respond to Notice of Complaint in 21 days	\$1000
(d) Failure to respond to Notice of CPE audit and all follow-up	·
in 21 days	\$ 250
<ul><li>(e) Failure to respond to Notice of Peer Review Audit in 21 days</li><li>(f) Failure to respond in 21 days to any Board Communication</li></ul>	\$1000
that is not described above	\$ 100

(7) Cost Recovery

(a) The Board may recover costs associated with a contested case hearing in which the Board has prevailed. The following costs may be included in cost recovery:

(A) Attorney General Fees

(B) Administrative Hearing Costs

- (C) Contract Investigator Fees
- (D) Expert Witness Fees
- (E) Costs of Appeal

### (8) Form of Payment:

(a) Checks or money orders shall be made payable to "Oregon Board of Accountancy".

(b) Visa and Mastercard payments may be submitted in person, by mail or by fax. Any Visa or Mastercard that is rejected by the bank and requested to be confiscated will be retained and returned to the bank. All payments by Visa or Mastercard that are rejected must be paid in full by a check or money order within ten days from notification of rejection. All payments received after Board deadlines, including, but not limited to payments for renewals, applications and civil penalties, will be considered late and a late penalty will be assessed.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 670.310, 673.040, 673.060, 673.100, 673.150, 673.160, 197.720 & 673.153 Stats. Implemented: ORS 673, 297 & 192.440

Hist.: 1AB 10, f. 2-7-63; 1AB 14, f. 8-15-68; 1AB 20, f. 10-22-71, ef. 11-15-71; 1AB 34, f. 1-29-74, ef. 2-25-74; 1AB 41, f. & ef. 12-2-76; 1AB 44, f. & ef. 3-31-77; 1AB 48, f. & ef. 7-21-77; 1AB 6-1978, f. & ef. 6-22-78; 1AB 7-1981, f. & ef. 7-27-81; 1AB 2-1983, f. & ef. 9-20-83; AB 3-1988, f. & cert. ef. 6-9-88; AB 2-1989, f. & cert. ef. 1-25-89; AB 4-1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-91; AB 4-1994, f. & cert. ef. 9-27-94; AB 1-1995, f. & cert. ef. 1-25-95; AB 5-1995, f. & cert. ef. 1-25-95; AB 1-1996, f. & cert. ef. 1-29-96; AB 1-1997, f. & cert. ef. 1-28-97; BOA 5-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-9-98; BOA 6-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-29-98; BOA 7-1998(Temp), f. & cert. 7-29-98 thru 1-25-99; BOA 8-1998, f. & cert. ef. 10-22-98; BOA 4-1999, f. & cert. ef. 7-23-99; BOA 6-1999, f. 12-21-99, cert. ef. 1-100; BOA 4-2001, f. 12-28-01, cert. ef. 1-102; BOA 3-2002, f. 12-27-02, cert. ef. 1-103; BOA 4-2003, f. 12-23-03 cert. ef. 1-104; BOA 4-2004, f. 12-30-04, cert. ef. 1-105; BOA 2-2006, f. 12-22-06, cert. ef. 1-107; BOA 2-2008, f. 12-30-08, cert. ef. 1-109

# **CREDIT FOR UNIFORM CPA EXAMINATION SECTIONS**

## 801-010-0060 (1) Exam section requirements.

(a) A candidate may sit for any of the four sections of the computer-based CPA exam individually and in any order. A candidate who fails to pass any section of the exam may retake that section; however, a candidate may not retake a failed section more than once in any testing window.

**(b)** Candidates who were eligible under the provisions of ORS 673.050(2) (1999 Edition) and who sat and received grades for two sections of the CPA exam before January 1, 2002 are required to take and pass the following two sections of the CPA exam: Regulation and Audit & Attestation.

(c) After January 1, 2002, candidates who are eligible under ORS 673.050(2) (2001 Edition) to take the CPA exam as a public accountant candidate are required to take and pass the following three sections of the CPA exam: Financial Accounting and Reporting, Regulation, and Business Environment & Concepts.

#### (2) Credit for CPA exam sections.

(a) The passing grade for all sections of the exam is 75

(b) Credit for Computer Based CPA Exam. Upon implementation of the computer based CPA exam, a candidate may take the required exam sections individually and in any order. Credit for any exam section(s) passed shall be valid for eighteen (18) months from the actual date the candidate took that section(s), without having to attain a minimum score on any failed section(s) and without regard to whether the candidate has taken other exam sections provided that:

(A) Candidates must pass all four sections of the CPA exam within a rolling eighteen (18) month period, which begins on the date of the first section(s) passed;

(B) Upon passing any CPA exam section, the passing date of that section shall be the date the candidate took the section; and

(C) Candidates who do not pass all sections of the CPA exam within the rolling eighteen (18) month period shall lose credit for any section(s) passed outside the eighteen (18) month period and that section(s) must be retaken.

(c) The Board may extend the period for conditional credit for an exam section upon demonstration by the candidate that the credit was lost because of circumstances beyond the candidate's control.

(d) The time limitations for a candidate to complete all sections of the CPA exam may be extended by the Board because of illness, accident or other exigent circumstance, and shall be extended during the time a candidate is in active military service.

(3) Transfer of CPA exam scores from other jurisdictions. The Board may allow the transfer of CPA exam scores and grant credit to a candidate who has successfully completed any section(s) of the CPA exam in another jurisdiction if the Board determines that:

(a) The examination for which credit is requested is the Uniform Certified Public Accountant Examination;

(b) The candidate received a grade of 75 or higher in the section(s) passed; and

(c) The candidate who first sat for the CPA exam in another jurisdiction after January 1, 2000 was qualified under the educational requirement of ORS 673.050(1) at the time the candidate first took the CPA exam in the jurisdiction from which grades are requested to be transferred.

#### Stat. Auth.: ORS 670.310 & 673.410

Stats. Implemented: ORS 673.050, 673.060 & 673.075

Hist.: 1AB 12, f. 3-30-65; 1AB 14, f. 8-15-68; 1AB 16, f. 1-30-70, ef. 2-25-70; 1AB 19, f. 10-22-71, ef. 11-15-71; 1AB 21, f. 3-2-72, ef. 3-15-72; 1AB 30, f. 9-18-73, ef. 10-1-73; 1AB 35, f. 10-29-74, ef. 11-25-74; 1AB 36, f. 1-28-75, ef. 2-25-75; 1AB 40, f. & ef. 5-5-76; 1AB 41, f. & ef. 12-2-76; 1AB 43, f. & ef. 3-31-77; 1AB 2-1978, f. & ef. 3-21-78; 1AB 11-1978, f. & ef. 12-1-78; 1AB 3-1979, f. & ef. 12-21-79; 1AB 2-1980, f. & ef. 4-8-80; 1AB 3-1980, f. 10-23-80, ef. 12-1-80; 1AB 5-1981, f. & ef. 7-27-81; 1AB 6-1981, f. & ef. 7-27-81; 1AB 3-1982, f. & ef. 4-20-82; 1AB 2-1984, f. & ef. 5-21-84; 1AB 3-1984, f. 12-19-84, ef. 1-1-85; AB 4-1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-91; AB 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-21-94; AB 3-1994, f. & cert. ef. 8-10-94; AB 4-1994, f. & cert. ef. 9-27-94; AB 5-1995, f. & cert. ef. 8-22-95; BOA 5-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-9-98; BOA 6-1999, f. 12-21-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; BOA 4-2001, f. 12-28-01, cert. ef. 1-1-02; BOA 3-2002, f. 12-27-02, cert. ef. 1-1-03; BOA 4-2003, f. 12-23-03 cert. ef. 1-1-04; BOA 4-2004, f. 12-30-04, cert. ef. 1-1-05

**801-010-0075 Public Accountants applying for certificate of public accountancy.** A public accountant licensed in Oregon who is applying for a certificate of public accountancy shall:

(1) Hold an active public accountant license issued under ORS 673.100 that is not revoked, suspended, on probation or lapsed;

(2) Present satisfactory evidence that the candidate has successfully completed 150 semester hours or 225 quarter hours, including:

(a) A baccalaureate or higher degree from an accredited college or university as described in ORS 673.050(1)(a)

(b) A minimum of 24 semester hours or 36 quarter hours, or the equivalent thereof, in the study of accounting; and

(c) A minimum of 24 semester hours or 36 quarter hours in accounting and or related subjects. Related subjects are defined as business, finance, economics, and written and oral communication.

(3) Successfully complete all sections of the CPA exam. Credit may be received for sections of the CPA exam previously completed if the requirements of OAR 801-010-0060 are satisfied; and

(4) Satisfy the experience requirements under ORS 673.040 and OAR 801-010-0065.

(5) The experience and examination requirements shall be obtained and completed within eight years immediately preceding the date of application

(6) Licensee must surrender the Public Accountant license issued before the CPA Certificate will be issued.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 670.310; ORS 673.410

Stat. Implemented: ORS 673.040

Hist.: BOA 4-1998, f. & cert. ef. 6-16-98; BOA 2-1999, f. & cert. ef. 2-22-99; BOA 6-1999, f. 12-21-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; BOA 4-2001, f. 12-28-01, cert. ef. 1-1-02; BOA 3-2002, f. 12-27-02, cert. ef. 1-1-03; BOA 4-2003, f. 12-23-03 cert. ef. 1-1-04

## Holders of Certificates in Other States, US Territories or Foreign Countries

**801-010-0080 (1) Substantial equivalency.** An individual whose principal place of business is not in this state, who has an active license in good standing as a certified public accountant issued by another jurisdiction, and who meets the standards of substantial equivalency as defined in ORS 673.010(21), may practice public accountancy in this state.

(5) Applications by reciprocity. Individuals who wish to establish a principal place of business in this state are required to obtain a CPA certificate and permit under this section prior to practicing as a CPA in this state.

(a) Applications based on an active CPA license that is in good standing and was issued by another jurisdiction prior to January 1, 2000 are eligible under this subsection if the issuing jurisdiction required successful completion of the CPA exam, a Baccalaureate degree and two years public accountancy experience or the equivalent for certification at the time the applicant's license was issued;

(b) Applications based on an active CPA license issued by another jurisdiction that is in good standing are eligible under this subsection if the applicant meets the following qualifications:

(A) Successful completion of the CPA exam,

**(B)** 150 semester hours, including a Baccalaureate degree, or the equivalent thereof, and 24 semester (36 quarter) hours in accounting and 24 semester (36 quarter) hours in accounting and/or related subjects which are defined as business, economics, finance and written/oral communication, and

(C) At least one year public accounting experience or the equivalent.

(c) Applications based on an active CPA license that is in good standing, but that do not meet the requirements of subsections (5)(a) or (b) of this rule, are eligible under this subsection if the applicant demonstrates to the satisfaction of the Board that during four of the ten years immediately preceding the application under ORS 673.040, the applicant:

(A) Held an active CPA license issued by another jurisdiction that is in good standing at the time of application;

**(B)** Has four years of public accounting experience or the equivalent thereof, after completing the CPA exam and during the ten year period immediately preceding the application; and

(C) Successfully completed the CPA exam.

(6) Reciprocity application requirements. Applicants under section (5) of this rule shall:

(a) Submit an application on a form provided by the Board;

(b) Pay the fees specified in OAR 801-010-0010;

(c) Provide a written statement from the jurisdiction on which the application is based confirming that the applicant:

(A) Is in good standing in that jurisdiction;

(B) Has not been disciplined for violations of that jurisdiction's standards of conduct or practice;

(C) Has no pending actions alleging violations of that jurisdiction's standards of conduct of practice; and

(D) Is in compliance with continuing education requirements and peer review requirements of the licensing jurisdiction.

(7) Verification of National Qualification Appraisal Service comparable licensing standards. The Board shall review the licensing requirements of other jurisdictions on an annual basis to verify substantial equivalency eligibility. The Board may use information developed by NASBA to make this determination.

1-86; AB 5-1990, f. & cert. ef. 8-16-90; AB 5-1993, f. & cert. ef. 8-16-93; AB 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-21-94; AB 4-1994, f. & cert. ef. 9-27-94; AB 1-1997, f. & cert. ef. 1-28-97; AB 4-1997, f. & cert. ef. 7-25-97; BOA 5-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-9-98; BOA 9-1998, f. & cert. ef. 11-10-98; BOA 6-1999, f. 12-21-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; BOA 4-2001, f. 12-28-01, cert. ef. 1-1-02; BOA 3-2002, f. 12-27-02, cert. ef. 1-1-03; BOA 4-2003, f. 12-23-03 cert. ef. 1-1-04; BOA 7-2005, f. 11-22-05, cert. ef. 1-1-06; BOA 2-2006, f. 12-22-06, cert. ef. 1-1-07

#### Public Accountant Licenses

**801-010-0100 (1) Application requirements.** Applicants for the license of public accountant shall meet the following requirements:

(a) Complete and pass the required sections of the CPA exam as described in ORS 673.100 and OAR 801-010-0060;

(b) Complete and pass an ethics exam that has been adopted by the Board; and

(c) Meet the experience requirements stated in ORS 673.100 as follows:

(A) Obtain one year of experience, which means at least 12 months of full-time employment or a total of 2,080 hours of part-time employment. One hundred seventy-three (173) hours of part-time employment is equivalent to one month. Qualifying part-time employment shall be at least 20 hours per week.

(d) The experience and examination requirements shall be obtained and completed within eight years immediately preceding the date of application for license.

#### (2) Experience requirements.

(a) Applicants shall meet the experience requirements described in OAR 801-010-0065(2)

(b) The experience required under ORS 673.100 shall be as follows:

(A) For applicants who qualified for the CPA exam before January 1, 2002, the experience requirement shall consist solely of experience within activities generally performed by certified public accountants and public accountants, including (but not limited to) financial statement audits, financial statement reviews, financial statement compilations, attestation engagements, financial forecasts and projections, pro forma financial information, compliance attestation, management advisory services, tax advisory services, tax return preparation or personal financial planning and reporting on an entity's internal controls.

(B) For applicants who qualified for the CPA exam after January 1, 2002, the experience requirement shall consist solely of experience within activities generally performed by certified public accountants and public accountants, including (but not limited to) financial statement reviews, financial statement compilations, attestation engagements, financial forecasts and projections, pro forma financial information, compliance attestation, management advisory services, tax advisory services, tax return preparation or personal financial planning and reporting on an entity's internal controls.

(3) Experience portfolio. The applicant's experience portfolio shall meet the requirements stated in OAR 801-010-0065.

#### (4) Public Accountant practice restrictions.

(a) Licensed public accountants who qualified for the CPA exam after January 1, 2002 shall not perform audits.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 670.310, 673.410 & 673.100

Stats. Implemented: ORS 673.100, 673.150 & 673.103

Hist.: 1AB 9, f. 6-24-60; 1AB 41, f. & ef. 12-2-76; 1AB 4-1982, f. & ef. 5-21-82; 1AB 3-1984, f. 12-19-84, ef. 1-1-85; AB 4-1994, f. & cert. ef. 9-27-94; BOA 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 1-26-98; BOA 1-1999, f. & cert. ef. 1-20-99; BOA 6-1999, f. 12-21-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; BOA 4-2001, f. 12-28-01, cert. ef. 1-1-02; BOA 3-2002, f. 12-27-02, cert. ef. 1-1-03; BOA 2-2006, f. 12-22-06, cert. ef. 1-1-07

#### Inactive Status

#### 801-010-0120 (1) Application.

(a) An application for inactive status shall be made on a form provided by the Board and shall be accompanied by a fee prescribed by OAR 801-010-0010.

(b) The licensee applying for inactive status shall certify to the Board that:

(A) The licensee holds a permit issued under ORS 673.150 which is not lapsed, revoked or suspended; and

(B) The licensee will not perform any public accountancy services during the period in which the licensee is granted inactive status

(2) CPE and Peer Review Requirements. A licensee who is granted inactive status shall not be required to complete continuing education under ORS 673.165 and shall not be subject to Peer Review requirements under ORS 673.455 during the period in which inactive status is approved.

(3) Inactive Licensees Use of CPA or PA designation. A licensee who is granted inactive status shall not display the Certified Public Accountant certificate or Public Accountant license and shall not use the CPA or PA designation.

(a) Licensees who are granted inactive status will not receive a permit card from the Board office upon renewal.

**b)** Must include the words "inactive" or "retired" either before or after the CPA or PA designation, and

(c) Does not otherwise violate the provisions of OAR 801-030-0005(5).

(4) Except as provided in this rule, a licensee who is granted inactive status shall not hold out as a CPA or PA and the licensee shall be subject to disciplinary action under ORS Chapter 673 for violations of this provision.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 670.310; ORS 673.220

Stat. Implemented: ORS 673.220

Hist.: 1AB 2-1986, f. & ef. 10-15-86; AB 5-1989, f. & cert. ef. 8-2-89; AB 4-1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-91; AB 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-21-94; AB 4-1994, f. & cert. ef. 9-27-94; AB 2-1995, f. & cert. ef. 3-22-95; AB 2-1996, f. & cert. ef. 9-25-96; BOA 6-1999, f. 12-21-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; BOA 4-2001, f. 12-28-01, cert. ef. 1-1-02

## **Registration of Business Organizations**

**801-010-0345 (1) Requirement to register as a firm.** A business organization organized for the practice of public accountancy shall register with the Board as a firm if the business organization:

(a) Is located in Oregon and

(A) Uses the terms "certified public accountant", "CPA", "public accountant" or "PA", or any derivation of such terms;

(B) Holds out to clients or to the public that the business organization is in any way engaged in the practice of public accountancy; or

(C) Performs attestation or compilation services, as defined by these rules.

(b) Is not located in Oregon and

(A) Uses the terms "certified public accountant", "CPA", "public accountant" or "PA", or any derivation of such terms;

(B) Holds out to clients or to the public that the business organization is in any way engaged in the practice of public accountancy and performs any of the following services:

(i) An audit or other engagement for which performance standards are included in Statements on Auditing Standard (SAS)

(ii) Examination of prospective financial information for which performance standards are included in the Statement on Standards for Attestation Engegements (SSAE)

(iii) Engagements for which performance standards are included in the auditing standards of the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (PCAOB)

(C) Has a person, who meets the substantial equivalency requirements of ORS 673.153, that is responsible for supervising attestation services and signs or authorizes someone to sign the accountant's report on the financial statements on behalf of the business organization.

(2) Registration of sole proprietors. A business organization organized as a sole proprietorship, a professional corporation or a limited liability company, and comprised of a single permit holder under ORS 673.150, is required to register as a firm if the business organization engages in any of the following activities in this state:

(a) Holds out to clients or to the public that it is composed of more than one licensee, or

(b) Performs attestation or compilation services.

### (3) Application requirements.

(a) Firms located in Oregon: Application by a business organization to be registered as a firm to practice as Certified Public Accountant(s) or Public Accountant(s) shall be made to the Board in writing on a form provided by the Board and shall be accompanied by the appropriate fee, stated in OAR 801-010-0010. The application and each renewal application shall provide the following information in writing:

(A) Name of the firm;

(B) Identification by name and by certificate or license number of each CPA and PA in this state who is associated with or employed by the business organization;

(C) The physical address of every office and branch office in this state;

(D) Notice of every denial, revocation, lapse or suspension of authority to perform public accountancy services that is or has been issued by any jurisdiction against any licensee associated with the business organization;

# OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULES CHAPTER 801, DIVISION 010 -- BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY

(E) Notice of the filing of any lawsuit relating to the professional services of the business organization, if an essential element of such lawsuit involves fraud, dishonesty or misrepresentation; and

(F) Notice of any criminal action filed against the business organization or against any owner or manager and notice of any conviction against any owner or manager of the business organization. Notice of a conviction under this rule includes the initial plea, verdict or finding of guilt, pleas of no contest or pronouncement of sentence by a trial court even though that conviction may not be final and sentence may not be actually imposed until appeals are exhausted. The notice provided shall be signed by the person to whom the conviction or criminal action applies, and shall state the facts that constitute the reportable event and identify the event by the name of the agency or court, the title of the matter, the docket number and the date of occurrence of the event.

(G) Provide a letter of completion of the most recent peer review of the applicant or the applicant's firm if the applicant intends to perform attest or compilation services in this state.

#### (b) Firms not located in Oregon

(A) Name of the firm

**(B)** Identification by name and by active certificate or license number, indicating the state in which the certificate or license is issued of each CPA who is associated with or employed by the business organization and is authorized to practice in Oregon under substantial equivalency pursuant to ORS 673.153 who will practice public accounting in Oregon.

(C) Provide a letter of completion of the most recent peer review of the applicant or the applicant's firm if the applicant intends to perform attest or compilation services in this state.

(c) Any out of state firm that is required to register in Oregon and subsequently opens an office in Oregon shall notify the Board of the existence of the new office within 30 days of opening the office.

(C) Provide a letter of completion of the most recent peer review of the applicant or the applicant's firm if the applicant intends to perform attest or compilation services in this state.

(4) Application requirements for firms with non-CPA and non-PA ownership. In addition to the information required under section (3) of this rule for firm registrations, business organizations with non-CPA or non-PA owners that are required to register as a firm shall provide the following information with the application for initial registration and with each registration renewal.

(a) The name of the firm and a list of the states in which the business organization has applied, or is currently authorized to practice public accountancy;

(b) Evidence to the satisfaction of the Board that the business organization satisfies the requirements of OAR 801-010-0340;

(c) The identities of all owners or managers of the business organization who work regularly in this state;

(d) The physical address of every office maintained in this state;

(e) The identity of every person with management responsibility for each office in this state;

(f) Notice of every denial, revocation, lapse, or suspension of authority to perform accounting services or other services issued against any owner or manager of the business organization in any jurisdiction;

# OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULES CHAPTER 801, DIVISION 010 -- BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY

(5) Issuance of firm registration. The Board shall, upon receipt of an application that satisfies all the requirements of these rules and payment of the registration fee, issue a certificate of registration which shall remain in effect until December 31 of the odd-numbered year following the date of such registration. The business organization shall:

(a) Renew the firm registration on or before December 31 of each odd-numbered year by submitting the renewal form provided by the Board, together with the appropriate registration renewal fee. The Board may waive the renewal fee if an initial firm registration is issued in November or December of the year in which the registration is due for renewal. Business organizations that fail to renew a registration by the close of the renewal period are required to pay the renewal fee plus a late fee;

(b) Notify the Board in writing of any change in the firm name within 30 days of such change;

(c) In addition to the notice that is required upon application and for each renewal of the firm registration under section (3) of this rule, business organizations are required to provide written notice to the Board within 45 days of the filing of any lawsuit, settlement or arbitration relating to the professional services of the business organization if an essential element of such lawsuit involves fraud, dishonesty or misrepresentation;

(d) Display the letter of registration issued by the Board in a conspicuous place at the principal office of the firm.

(6) Form of practice. A licensee may practice public accountancy in a business organization as defined in ORS 673.010 that is organized in accordance with statutory provisions.

(a) Non-CPA or non-PA ownership. A licensee may form a business organization with a non-licensee for the purpose of engaging in the practice of public accountancy in accordance with the provisions of ORS 673.160 and OAR 801-010-0340.

(A) Notwithstanding subsection (6)(a) of this rule, any certified public accountant or public accountant previously licensed in any state whose license to practice public accountancy has been revoked by any state, may not participate as a non-licensee owner in a business organization required to be registered under ORS 673.160.

### (b) Branch offices.

(A) Every branch office located in this state shall be managed by a licensee holding a permit issued under ORS 673.150 who shall be in residence at the branch office, on a full-time basis, during the time the branch office is open to the public. A licensee operating a branch office is responsible for managing the office, staff and services rendered to the public.

(B) The Board may, at its discretion, approve the operation of a branch office that does not meet the supervision requirements of paragraph A of this subsection. Licensees seeking approval under this paragraph shall submit in advance a written proposal describing how the licensee will provide adequate supervision of the branch office. The proposal shall specify the minimum number of hours each week that a named licensee will provide physical supervision at the branch office.

**(C)** Any licensee operating a branch office under approval authorized by paragraph (B) of this subsection shall notify the Board in writing of any deviation from an approved plan within 30 days of the deviation.

(D) The location of each branch office in Oregon shall be reported to the Board at the time of application for registration as a firm and with each renewal application, together with a statement that each branch office meets the requirements of OAR 801-010-0345(6)(b)

Division 010 Effective January 1, 2010 (c) Internet Practice. Licensees using the CPA or PA title to perform or solicit services via a website, are required to include information on the website naming the state(s) in which each CPA or PA is licensed to perform public accounting services, or provide a name and contact information for an individual who will respond within seven business days to inquiries regarding individual licensee information. Information required to be posted by this rule must be clearly visible and prominently displayed.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 670.310, 673.410 & 673.160 Stats. Implemented: ; ORS 673.160 Hist.: AB 6-1993(Temp), f. 11-2-93, cert. ef. 11-4-93; AB 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 1-21-94; BOA 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 3-30-98; BOA 6-1999, f. 12-21-99, cert. ef. 1-1-00; BOA 4-2001, f. 12-28-01, cert. ef. 1-102; BOA 4-2003, f. 12-23-03 cert. ef. 1-104; BOA 2-2006, f. 12-22-06, cert. ef. 1-1-07; BOA 2-2008, f. 12-30-08, cert. ef. 1-1-09

#### OAR 801-010-0350 Temporary Practice

is deleted to conform to Or Laws 1999, ch 322, repealing the authority for temporary practice.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 673.080; Or Laws 1999, ch 322 §44 Stat. Implemented: ORS 673.080