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to become effective upon filing. Rulemaking Notice was published in the August 2009 Oregon Bulletin.

RULE CAPTION
Updating fees for public records to reflect legislatively-approved billing rates for 2009-2011
Not more than 15 words that reasonably identifies the subject matter of the agency’s intended action.

RULEMAKING ACTION
List each rule number separately (000-000-0000)
Secure approval of new rule numbers (Adopted or Renumbered rules) with the Administrative Rules Unit prior to filing.
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AMEND: 137-008-0010; 137-008-0020
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AMEND & RENUMBER:

Stat. Auth.: ORS 192.430(2) & 192.440(4)

Other Auth.:

Stats. Implemented: ORS 192.440(4)

RULE SUMMARY

The Department of Justice’s 2009-2011 legislatively-approved budget increased the allowable hourly rates for services, except the
rate for law clerk services, which was decreased. These amendments reflect those changes.

/4’“‘7//“‘%/ Moy Y1l s 7.9 109

Althorized Signer Printed name Date

*With this original, file one photocopy of certificate, one paper copy of rules listed in Rulemaking Actions, and electronic copy of
rules. **The Oregon Bulletin is published the 1st of each month and updates rules found in the OAR Compilation. For publication
in Bulletin, rule and notice filings must be submitted by 5:00 pm on the 15th day of the preceding month unless this deadline falls
on a weekend or legal holiday, when filings are accepted until 5:00 pm on the preceding workday. ARC 930-2005




137-008-0010
Fees for Public Records and Publications

(1)(a) The Department of Justice may charge a fee reasonably calculated to reimburse the
department for costs of providing and conveying copies of public records. The
department shall charge 25¢ per page for the first 20 pages and 15¢ per page thereafter
for black and white copies and 70¢ per page for the first 20 pages and 60¢ per page
thereafter for color copies to recover the costs of photocopying and normal and
reasonable staff time to locate, separate, photocopy and return document(s) to file and to
prepare/mail public record(s) to requestors. If, for operational or other reasons, the
Department uses the services of an outside facility or contractor to photocopy requested
records, the department shall charge the actual costs incurred.

(b) "Page" refers to the number of copies produced, either 8 1/2 x 11 or 8 1/2 x 14. Staff
will not reduce the copy size or otherwise manipulate records in order to fit additional
records on a page, unless staff concludes that it would be the most effective use of their
time. Consistent with ORS 192.240, all copies will be double-sided. A double-sided copy
consists of two pages. Because of the increased staff time involved in double-sided
copying, there is no reduction in the per page fee. '

(c) "Normal and reasonable" staff time is 10 minutes or less per request.

(2) Additional charges for staff time may be made when responding to record requests
that require more than the "normal and reasonable" time for responding to routine record
requests. Staff time shall be charged at the department's hourly billing rate, by position,
as follows:

(a) Assistant Attorney General; $137/hr;

(b) Alternative Dispute Resolution Coordinator; $93/hr;

(¢) Investigator; $108/hr;

(d) Paralegal; $77/hr;

(e) Law Clerk; $39/hr;

(f) General Clerical; $45/hr;

~ (g) These charges are for staff time in excess of 10 minutes spent locating, compiling,
sorting and reviewing records to prepare them for inspection, as well as all time required
to segregate or redact exempt information or to supervise inspection of documents. The

Department shall not charge for time spent by Assistant Attorneys General in determining
the application of the provisions of ORS 192.410 to 192.505.




(3) The Department shall notify a requestor of the estimated costs of making records
available for inspection or providing copies of records to the requestor. If the estimated
costs exceed $25, the Department shall provide written notice and shall not act further to
respond to the request unless and until the requestor confirms that the requestor wants the
Department to proceed with making the public records available. All estimated fees and
charges must be paid before public records will be made available for inspection or
copies provided.

(4) The Department may charge a fee reasonably calculated to reimburse the department
for costs of department publications, Oregon District Attorneys Association publications
prepared by the Department and other Department materials intended for distribution. A
listing of such available publications and materials shall be maintained by the Department
librarian. The Department shall charge the following for its regular publications:

(a) Attorney General's Public Law Conference Papefs ; $65;

(b) Attorney General's Administrative Law Manual and Uniform and Model Rules of
Procedure Under the APA; $65;

(c) Attorney General's Public Contracts Manual; $65;
(d) Attorney General's Public Records and Meetings Manual; $25;
(e) Attorney General Opinions:

(A) Bound Volumes; Volume 20 (1940-42) through Volume 49 (1997-2001) including 2-
volume index; $921;

(B) Future Bound Volumes; $70;

(C) Slip Opinion Service (yearly); $60;

(D) Letters of Advice Index, 1969--83; $20;
(E) Letters of Advice Index, 1983--88; $40;
(F) Letters of Advice Index, 1988--93; $40;
(G) Future Letters of Advice Indices; $40.
® Core Mediation Training Manual; $95.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 192.430(2) & 192.440(4)
Stats. Implemented: ORS 192.440(4)




Hist.: JD 1-1982, f. & ef. 1-7-82; JD 1-1983(Temp), f. & ef. 5-3-83; JD 7-1983, f. & ef.
11-2-83; JD 4-1984(Temp), . & ef. 11-7-84; JD 1-1985, f. & ef. 1-23-85; JD 3-1986, f.
& ef. 1-27-86; JD 2-1990, f. & cert. ef. 2-14-90; JD 6-1994, f. 10-31-94, cert. ef. 11-1-94;
JD 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 2-4-98; DOJ 9-1999, f. & cert. ef. 12-8-99; DOJ 11-2001, f. &
cert. ef. 12-10-01; DOJ 16-2003, f. & cert. ef. 12-9-03; DOJ 18-2003(Temp), f. & cert.
ef. 12-10-03 thru 6-1-04; DOJ 13-2004(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 11-1-04 thru 1-31-05; DOJ
1-2005, f. & cert. ef. 1-13-05; DOJ 2-2005, f. & cert. ef. 2-1-05; DOJ 15-2005(Temp), f.
& cert. ef. 11-2-05 thru 4-29-06; DOJ 21-2005, f. 12-27-05, cert. ef. 1-1-06; DOJ 8-2008,
f. 4-29-08, cert .ef. 5-1-08

137-008-0020

Fees for Electronic Reproduction of Records

(1) The Department of Justice shall charge $45 per hour, with a $15.00 minimum, for the
staff time required to fill public record requests that require electronic reproduction.
Charges include time spent locating, downloading, formatting, copying, scanning, and
transferring records to media.

(2) The department will provide reproduction media at the following rates:

(a) DVDs or CDs: §$1/ea.

(b) Video Cassettes, 2 hours: $6/ea.

(c) Audio Cassettes: $2/ca.

(3) Due to the threat of computer viruses, the department will not permit requestors to
provide flash drives or other electronic media for electronic reproduction of computer
records.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 192.430(2) & 192.440(4)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 192.440(4)
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