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RULE SUMMARY

OAR 845-005-0440 Temporary Sales Licenses: This rule describes the required qualifications for and
privileges associated with the Commission’s issuance of a Temporary Sales License (TSL). The rule was silent -
on the minimum required age for servers at these temporary sales licensed events.

To improve consistency and clarity around the requirements for these temporary events, staff proposed the
addition of a new section (11) which states that alcohol servers must be at least 21 years of age with limited
exceptions for the performance of non-alcohol related duties. These exceptions parallel those currently allowed
for minor permittees (age 18 to 20) on an annually licensed premises.

OAR 845-009-0010 Service Permit Requirements:

This rule describes who is and isn’t required to have a service permit. Because the rule language stated that all
employees at a temporary sales licensed event must be at least 21 years of age without-exception and did not
distinguish between an employee and a volunteer, staff proposed deleting the minimum age requirement from
this rule and instead including it in the Temporary Sales License rule (as stated above). Staff also proposed a
couple of housekeeping amendments. The first deletes subsection (1)(d) since the current requirements for
those who deliver wine, cider & malt beverages are now contained in OAR 845-006-0392 & -0396, which were
amended as part of the implementation of the new Wine Shipper Permits in 2008. And the second creates a. '
new subsection (2)(c) describing the statutory service permit exception for nonprofit or charitable organization
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OREGON LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION
CHAPTER 845
TEMPORARY SALES LICENSES / SERVER AGE
DIVISION 005

845-005-0440
Temporary Sales Licenses

(1) A person must obtain from the Commission a license or authority to sell alcoholic
beverages. ORS 471.405 establishes a prohibition on sale of alcoholic beverages without
a license or authority. ORS 471.406 defines sale of alcoholic beverages. This rule sets the
requirements for obtaining a Temporary Sales License. *
(2) Definitions. For this rule:

(a) "License day" means from 7:00 am until 2:30 am on the succeeding calendar day. The
license fee is $50 per license day or for any part of a license day.

(b) "Nonprofit trade association" means an organization comprised of individual or
business members where the organization represents the interests of the members and is
registered with the state of Oregon as a nonprofit association.

(c) "Serious violation history" means:

(A) Two or more category III or IIla administrative violations of any type, or category IV
violations involving minors. However, if the circumstances of a violation include
aggravation, one violation may be sufficient; or

. (B) One category I, II or IIa administrative violation; or

(C) Two or more crimes or offenses involving liquor laws.

(d) "Bar" means a counter at which the preparation, pouring, serving, sale, or
consumption of alcoholic beverages is the primary activity.

(e) "Food counter" means a counter in an area in which minors are allowed and at which
the primary activity at all times is the preparation, serving, sale, or consumption of food.
(f) "Video lottery game" means a video lottery game terminal authorized by the Oregon
State Lottery. Examples include but are not limited to video poker and video slots. Keno
monitors are not considered a video lottery game.

(g) "Social game" means a game other than a lottery, if authorized by a local county or
city ordinance pursuant to ORS 167.121, between players in a private business, private
club, or place of public accommodation where no house player, house bank, or house
odds exist and there is no house income from the operation of the social game.

(3) ORS 471.190 authorizes the Commission to issue a Temporary Sales License.
Temporary Sales Licenses are issued in increments of one license day. The Commission
will not approve more than seven license days on a single application. The Commission
may limit approval of any application to a single license day or to any number of license
days fewer than seven days. The Commission may issue a Temporary Sales License only
to applicants that qualify under the Commission's licensing standards and that are:

(a) A nonprofit or charitable organization that is registered with the state, including
nonprofit trade associations where at least 51% of the total membership is comprised of
persons that hold winery licenses issued under ORS 471.223 or grower sales privilege

~ licenses issued under 471.227; or
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(b) A political committee that has a current statement of organization filed under ORS
260.039 or 260.042; or

(c) An agency of the State; or

(d) A local government or an agency or department of a local government; or

(e) Any applicant not described in (3)(2)-(3)(d) of this subsection, including licensees of
the Commission.

(4) A Temporary Sales License may authorize the licensee to sell wine, malt beverages
and cider at retail for consumption on the licensed premises and for consumption off the
licensed premises. All alcohol sold for consumption off the licensed premises must be in
a manufacturer-sealed container that does not hold more than two and one-quarter
gallons.

(5) A Temporary Sales License may authorize the licensee to sell distilled liquor by the
drink at retail for consumption on the licensed premises.

(6) The Commission may authorize sales of manufacturer-sealed containers of wine, malt
beverages or cider under a Temporary Sales License for the purpose of a raffle. The
Commission shall issue a Temporary Sales License for the purpose of a raffle only to a
nonprofit or charitable organization that is registered with the state.

(7) Applicants must apply in writing for a Temporary Sales License, using the application
form provided by the Commission. The Commission may require additional forms,
documents, or information as part of the application. The Commission may refuse to
process any application not complete, not accompanied by the documents or disclosures
required by the form or the Commission, or that does not allow the Commission
sufficient time to investigate it. Sufficient time is typically one to three weeks prior to the
event date. The Commission may give applicants the opportunity to be heard if the
Commission refuses to process an application. A hearing under this subsection is not
subject to the requirements for contested case proceedings under ORS 183.310 to
183.550.

(8) The application for a Temporary Sales License under this rule shall include:

(a) A written, dated, and signed plan the Commission determines adequately manages:
(A) The event to prevent problems and violations;

(B) Patronage by minors as set out in subsection (9) of this rule; and

(C) Alcohol consumption by adults.

An application is not complete if this plan is not approved by the Commission. The
Commission may use subsection (7) of this rule to refuse to process any application that
is not complete;

(b) Identification of the individuals to be employed by the licensee to manage events on
the licensed premises;

(c) Identification of the premises proposed to be licensed,;

(d) Menu and proposal showing compliance with the food service standards of OAR 845-
006-0465;

(e) Statement of the type of event to be licensed, type and extent of entertainment to be
offered, expected patronage overall and by minors, type of food service to be offered,
proposed hours of food service, and proposed hours of operation;

(f) The recommendation in writing of the local governing body where the licensed
premises will be located;

(g) License fees as established by ORS 471.311.
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(9) A plan for managing patronage by minors under subsection (8)(a) of this rule must
meet the following requirements:

(a) If the Temporary Sales License will be on any part of a premises, room, or area with a
permanent license issued by the Commission, the Commission must be convinced that
the plan will follow the minor posting and control plan, including any temporary
relaxation of the minor posting, assigned to that premises, room, or area under the
permanent license. The Commission must also be convinced that the plan will prevent
minors from gaining access to alcoholic beverages and any portion of the licensed
premises prohibited to minors.

(b) If the Temporary Sales License will not be on any part of a premises, room, or area
with a permanent license issued by the Commission, the Commission must be convinced
that the plan will prevent minors from gaining access to alcoholic beverages and any
portion of the licensed premises the Commission prohibits to minors.

(10) Minors are prohibited from the licensed premises or portions of the licensed
premises as follows;

(a) Minors may not sit or stand at a bar; however, minors may sit or stand at a food
counter;

(b) Minors may not be in an area where there is video lottery games, social games, or
nude entertainment or where such activities are visible.

(c) Minors may not be in an area where the licensee's approved written plan designates
that minors will be excluded.

(11) Minimum Age of Servers. Alcohol servers at temporary sales licensed locations
must be at least 21 years of age to sell or serve alcoholic beverages, with the following
exceptions:

(a) In areas of the licensed premises not prohibited to minors, persons who are 18, 19,
and 20 years of age may:

(A) Take orders for, serve and sell alcoholic beverages for on-premises consumption if
the activity is incidental to the selling or serving of food in that area of the licensed
premises, and may sell alcoholic beverages in manufacturer-sealed containers for off-
premises consumption; or

(B) Sell tokens/script, including verifying age, to be redeemed for alcoholic beverages or
food at the event.

(b) In areas of the licensed premises prohibited to minors, persons who are 18, 19, and 20
years of age may deliver food, restock non-alcohol supplies and perform other non-
alcohol related duties, however the person shall not remain in the prohibited area longer
than is necessary to perform these duties.

(12) Alcohol servers at locations licensed under subsections (3)(b)-(e) of this rule must
hold valid service permits unless specifically exempted under authority of subsection (13)
of this rule.

(13) The Commission may waive the service permit requirement for the holder of a
Temporary Sales License issued under subsections (3)(b)-(¢) of this rule, and the
licensee's alcohol servers, if:

(a) The license is used only for package sales; or if

(b) The Commission concludes alcohol service by individuals who do not hold a service
permit does not pose a significant risk for public safety problems or non-compliance with
liquor laws; and
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(c) Each alcoholic beverage point-of-sale at the licensed location is staffed, at all times
alcoholic beverages are being sold or served, by an individual who has completed a
Server Education course successfully within 5 years prior to the date of the event.

(14) At events licensed under subsection (3)(a) of this rule, before allowing alcohol
servers to sell or serve alcoholic beverages, the licensee must ensure that all alcohol
servers have met one of the following standards:

(a) The alcohol server has a valid service permit or has successfully completed a Server
Education course within 5 years prior to the date of the event, or

(b) The alcohol server has attended training provided by the licensee, and has read,
signed and dated the Commission-provided brochure, What Every Volunteer Alcohol
Server Needs to Know. The licensee-provided training must address the topics included
in the brochure, including but not limited to: minors and proper checking of
identification, and how to recognize and respond appropriately to visibly intoxicated
persons. At any time while on duty, the alcohol server shall make the signed brochure
available for immediate inspection by any inspector or investigator employed by the
Commission or by any other peace officer.

(15) If there are compliance problems with an operator or an event, the Commission may
add other requirements for the education of servers at events licensed under this rule.

(16) The Commission may deny, cancel or restrict a Temporary Sales License for any
reason for which the Commission may deny, cancel or restrict a regular license.

(17) The Commission may deny or restrict a Temporary Sales License if the applicant has
a serious violation history at events previously licensed with a Temporary Sales License
within the past 36 months.

(18) The Commission shall limit the issuance of Temporary Sales Licenses to the same
applicant at the same location to no more than 31 license days from January 1 to
December 31 of each year, unless the Commission determines that the applicant would be
eligible for an annual license based on the applicant's personal qualifications and the total
number of license days at the same location does not exceed 60 in that calendar year.

(19) The Commission may refund the Temporary Sales License fee if the application is
withdrawn by the applicant or denied by the Commission, if the event does not take place
because of circumstances beyond the applicant's control, or if the Commission
determines the applicant does not need a license for the event proposed in the application.
(20) When the Commission approves a written plan under subsection (8)(a) of this rule,
the licensee must follow that written plan. Failure to follow that written plan is a category
IITI violation. |

(21) If the licensee fails to prevent minors from gaining access to alcoholic beverages or
fails to prevent minors from gaining access to any portion of the licensed premises
prohibited to minors, the Commission may immediately prohibit minors from the
licensed premises or portion(s) of the premises.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 471, including 471.030, 471.040, 471.190 & 471.730(1) & (5)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 471.190, 471.360 & 471.482
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OREGON LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION
CHAPTER 845
TEMPORARY SALES LICENSES / SERVER AGE
PROPOSED AMENDMENT

845-009-0010
Service Permit Requirements

(1) Who Needs a Service Permit. ORS 471.360 requires the following persons to have service
permits:

(a) Any person who mixes, sells or serves alcoholic beverages for consumption on licensed
premises;

(b) Any person who directly supervises persons who mix, sell or serve alcoholic beverages for
consumption on licensed premises;

(c) The individual principals of a licensed corporation or partnership who mix, sell or serve
alcoholic beverages for consumption on licensed premises or who directly supervise those who
do.

(2) Exceptions. The following are exceptions to the service permit requirement:

(a) An individual named on the license as a licensee does not need a service permit;

(b) ORS 471.360 allows the Commission to waive the service permit requirement if the
licensee's primary business is not the sale or service of alcoholic beverages or food. Under this
authority, the Commission waives the service permit requirement for Public Passenger Carriers
whose primary business is transportation (for example airlines, and most trains), and does not
waive the requirement for Public Passenger Carriers whose primary business is touring (for
example tour boats in Oregon waters more than 30 days per calendar year, and small excursion-
type railroads). The Commission waives the service permit requirement for some temporary
licenses (see OAR 845-005-0440(9) (13), Temporary Sales Licenses).

(c) Per ORS 471.190, employees and volunteers serving alcoholic beverages for a nonprofit or
charitable organization with a temporary sales license are not required to have service permits
(see OAR 845-005-0440(14), Temporary Sales Licenses).

(3) Authority to Sell and Serve Based on an Application:

(a) ORS 471.375 allows some service permit applicants to begin selling or serving alcoholic
beverages after the applicant completes an official service permit application and an authorized
person as defined by 471.375 endorses indorses and sends the application to the Commission;
(b) The authority to sell or serve alcoholic beverages based on an application does not apply to
any applicant:

(A) Who has had a service permit denied or cancelled within the three years before the current
application;

(B) Who has had a service permit denied because they failed to complete the required alcohol
server education program. When the applicant completes an alcohol server education course and
passes the exam, the applicant may then sell and serve alcoholic beverages;

(C) Whose service permit application meets the criteria in OAR 845-009-0005, Return of
Applications;

(D) Whose service permit is currently suspended.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 471, 471.030, 471.040, 471.190 & 471.730(1) & (5)

Stats. Implemented: ORS 471.190, 471.360, 471.365(2) & 471.375
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