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STATE OF OREGON
LEGISLATIVE REVENUE OFFICE
140 STATE CAPITOL BUILDING

SALEM, OREGON 97310
378-8873

REVENUE ANALYSIS OF PROPOSED LEGISLATION
1985 REGULAR SESSION

BILL NUMBER TAX AREA ECONOMIST DATE
SB 813 LIQUOR LICENSES FEES YATES 6/12/85
—
Description:

_Creates a bed and breakfast license to permit the sale of beer and

wine. License may be issued to the owner or operator of a private
residence that is not a boarding house but that accommodates
transients for a limited duration. The license fee is $5.00 per
guest unit. '

Creates a Brewery-Public House license for manufacturers producing
less than 25,000 barrels of malt beverage. Allows retail sale.
Licensee is eligible to hold a winery license, a retail malt
beverage license and special one-day beer licenses but not a
brewery license or wholesale malt beverage and wine license. The
license fee is $250 and a $1,000 bond is required.

Revenue Impact:

This revenue impact assumes that motels do not qualify for bed and

. breakfast licenses. There are currently about 100 establishments

which would qualify and offer about 300 guest units. While growth
in the number of bed and breakfast establishments is expected it
is not anticipated that all establishments will serve beer or
wine. Assuming 300 guest units per year the bed and breakfast
license will yield $3,000 for the 1985-87 biennium.

Assuming 100 Brewery-Public House licenses per year, this would
increase liquor revenues for the 1985-87 biennium by $50,000.
This increase could be reduced or become a net revenue loss
through a reduction in the $2.60 per barrel tax on malt liquor.
This offset requires that sales by these breweries, which may
qualify for tax credits against investments in Oregon, replace
sales by major breweries. No net revenue impact is estimated
assuming that each brewery captures about 100 barrels per year in
sales from major manufacturers or importers.




1985 Regular Legislative Session
FISCAL ANALYSIS OF PROPOSED LEGISLATION
Prepared by the Executive and the lLegislative Fiscal Office

MEASURE NUMBER: SB 813

STATUS: A-Engrossed

SUBJECT: Establishes brewery-public house license and allows licensees to
brew and sell malt beverages up to eight percent alcochol.
Establishes "bed and breakfast" wine and beer license.

GOVERNMENT UNIT AFFECTED: Oregon Liquor Control Commission

BUDGET AND MANAGEMENT ANALYST: -—-

LEGISLATIVE FISCAL ANALYST: Kenneth Jones 6-13-85

EFFECT ON EXPENDITURES: 1985-87 1987-89
OLCC Administrative Costs $45,000 OF $92,000 OF
EFFECT ON REVENUES:
License Fees ' $25,000 OF $50,000 OF
Privilege Tax Loss -117,000 OF =234,000 OF
Total ' -$92,000 OF -$184,000 OF
Reduced Distributions
Cities and Counties -$60,000 OF -$121,000 OF
General Fund =-77,000 GF _=154,000 GF-
Total Reduced Distributions -$137,000 -$276,000 @
COMMENTS :

The expenditure and revenue estimates are based upon an assumed number of
"Brew-Pubs" numbering 50 in 1985-~87 and 100 by the end of 1987-89.

The loss in Privilege Tax revenues is for illustration purposes only and
is based upon an assumed number of new "Brew-Pubs" which would be
established and the assumption that patrons purchasing tax exempt beer at
those establishments would have otherwise purchased taxable beer at some
other location. The law currently exempts the first $200,000 of sales by
manufacturers of malt beverages when an equivalent amount of the tax is

used to purchase plant, machinery or equipment used in the manufacture of
malt beverages. '
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OREGON HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
63rd Legislative Assembly

STAFF MEASURE ANALYSIS

MEASURE: SB 813 with amendments. Creates a bed and breakfast license to
permit the sale and consumption of beer & wine to guests for consumption
Committee: only on the premises., The amendments add to the bill the
creation of a new license, "brewery-public house" to allow
Hearing dates: micro breweries to manufacture and sell.their products.,
Consumer & Business Affairs May 30, June 4,
Explanation by: James Jones, Committee Administrator

'PROBLEM‘ADDRESSED:

Under current law, bed and breakfast establishments. cannot sell guests
beer and/or wine or even "give" beer or wine to guests'as:a part.of the
services provided to travelers/tourlsts. Smaller establishments cannot
afford a Retail Malt Beverage Llcense because of low volume and a smaller
scale operation.

For "microbreweries" the problem is that although current law allows
them to brew malt beverages, they cannot sell their products on premises
or at other microbreweries, This is a disadvantage and economic barrier
to providing "tastlng" ‘or- retall operations to familiarize visitors with
their products.

Until prohlbltlon, Oregon (partlcularly the Portland area) had numerous,
locally-owned, small breweries. After prohibition ended, the era of
mergers, acquisitions and growth,prevalled Recently, several of these
small or "micro" breweries have once again begun to brew malt beverages

in small quantities in the early European and Northwestern tradition.
There are currently several of these "microbreweries" in the Portland
area.

NOTE*** Comparatively, these small or tiny breweries produce around 1,000
to 6,000 3l-gallon barrels annually while the yearly output of a brewery
like Anheuser-Bush is over 50 million barrels,

' FUNCTION" OF THE MEASURE: AS® AMENDED:

The bill would accomplish two things:

1. Creation of a bed and breakfast license to permit the sale of wine
and beer to guests of the establishment for consumption only on premises.

2. Creation of a "brewery-public house™ license to allow "microbreweries"
to manufacture and sell their products on their own premlses or at the
premises of other "microbreweries" \

AMENDMENTS :

The amendments were all "friendly" and have the support of sponsors.
There was no testimony in opposition to the bill.

UNANIMOUS "AYE" VOTE: Schoon, Eachus, Sides, Anderson, Lindquist, McTeague.
Excused: Rijken.

CARRIER: ANDERSON

NOTE: This analysis is intended for information purposes only.



63rd OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY--1985 Regular Session

Enrolled
Senate Bill 813

Sponsored by Senators HANNON, BRADBURY, JERNSTEDT, OLSON, Representatives BROGOITTI,
BUNN, BURROWS, CALOURI, CAMPBELL, HOOLEY, JOHNSON, D. E. JONES, MARKHAM,
MILLER, PETERSON, TARZIAN (at the request of Edinburgh Lodge Bed and Breakfast, Ashland)

CHAPTER ......oviiivrnnsinniesinescanisecns

AN ACT

Relating to alcoholic liquor; creating new provisions; amending ORS 471.290; and declaring an emergency.
Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

SECTION 1, A bed and breakfast license may be issued to the owner or operator of a private residence that
is not a boarding house but that accommodates transients for a limited duration and shall allow the sale or service
by the licensee or any employe of malt beverages containing not more than eight percent of alcohol by weight, and
wine containing not more than 21 percent of alcohol by volume to guests for consumption on the licensed
premises only. The license does not permit sale or service to or consumption by the general public or employes of
the premises.

SECTION 2. ORS 471.290 is amended to read:

471.290. (1) Any person desiring a license or renewal of a license shall make application to the commission
upon forms to be furnished by the commission showing the name and address of the applicant, the applicant’s
citizenship, location of the place of business which is to be operated under the license, and such other pertinent
information as the commission may require. No license shall be granted or renewed until the provisions of the
Liquor Control Act and the rules of the commission have been complied with.

(2) Except as provided in this section, the commission shall assess a nonrefundable fee for processing each
application for any license authorized by ORS chapter 471 or 472, in an amount equal to 25 percent of the annual
license fee. The commission shall not begin to process any license application until the application fee is paid. If
the commission allows an applicant to apply at the same time for alternative licenses at one premises, only the
application fee for the most expensive license shall be required. If a license is granted or committed, the
application fee of 25 percent shall be applied against the annual license fee. This subsection shall not apply to an
agent’s license, a salesman’s license, a manufacturer certificate of approval, a druggist’s license, a health care
facility license or to any license which is issued for a period of less than 30 days.

(3) Subject to subsection (4) of this section, the commission shall assess a nonrefundable fee for processing a
renewal application for any license authorized by ORS chapter 471 or 472 only if the renewal application is
received by the commission less than 20 days before expiration of the license. If the renewal application is
received prior to expiration of the license but less than 20 days prior to expiration, this fee shall be 25 percent of
the annual license fee. If a renewal application is received by the commission after expiration of the license but no
more than 30 days after expiration, this fee shall be 40 percent of the annual license fee. This subsection shall not
apply to an agent’s license, a salesman’s license, a manufacturer certificate of approval, a druggist’s license, a
health care facility license, a brewery-public house license or to any license which is issued for a period of less than
30 days.




(4) The commission may waive the fee imposed under subsection (3) of this section if it finds that failure to
submit a timely application was due to unforeseen circumstances or to a delay in processing the application by
the local governing authority that is no fault of the licensee.

(5) The annual license fee is nonrefundable and shall be paid by each applicant upon the granting or
committing of a license. The annual license fee and the minimum bond required of each class of license are as

follows:

Minimum
License Fee Bond
Brewery, including Certificate

OF APPTOVAL ...ceoveeirerenrerecrsserenesessssessesesnsessssscssssesensssesessissassessessssssses $ 500 $ 1,000
WIDEIY .voveerrerererrisnstnsesessesasessenssssssstssssessesssensssssssstssenssserersossassassassossssnnss 250 1,000
DISHIIEY .ovvvvererercereerinenrernessencsesestsieessasssesisessesissssesassesnosssssssssnsensssraans 100 1,000
Wholesale Malt

. Beverage and WIDE ... 275 1,000
BOLEIET ..ooviiiririeenirrereneereressseessesnesesnessseessseenene ereseresteeteesesereesaresanoss 150 None
RESLAUTANT ...cvviivecireriernersenseeseriaessessessnesesssssssaessssssssossassesssesssssessasssasesssssses 200 None
ALENL «oneeceiererearerrnssantsrmsississsssosssssisessastassssasssssessesssssessstesssasnssssnsssssanes 25 None
SALESIMAN ...cvvevereirieeierrreecrenieeeres i setsstssssssssessnssssssssteesssssesstosssasrassanersne 5 None
Certificate of Approval,

ClaSS A .ooviveiererirrtcneeresesesssassssssessssssssessassansssssnes everresaesresaesaaeraerene 15 None
Certificate of Approval,

CHASS B ooeeeevveeeeenrrrcrereeseecseessenssassmssssssssssssesssssesssssosstsssssssassserassnees 50 None
Package StOTE ....ccvvievrreieniiiiiennncstsin s saesstos s snessvasasasases 50 None
DIEUZEISE ..vevvevereerereersimsessssesessemncrssssrnessssesessssessssssssmssssesssnessssssssnssossssossansss 5 None
Railroad System or Public

Passenger Carrier

OF BOAL .ooovvvieieeeriinrirrenieertircreseesseesssesstssstsssasssesssassansssssasssessnsssanssnssns 100 None
Industrial AICOROL ......coceeirevrenecerrirecniessessssssesnsesssissssssesesssssasesessessass 50 None
Retail Malt BEVETAZE .....cocvveerrerrereiitiinceensinssnssiosessissssssssassnssseesssssessnosens 200 None
Health Care FACIIILY ......ccccoccveiiecveriinninsnesisssisnssasnissssssssnsessnsnsssessaisses 5 None

Special retail beer

license may be

issued for any picnic,

convention, fair, civic

OF COMMUNILY ENLEIPIISE AL ..ecvvrrerrerrinriesiiscsnsisrnssnesessossssessessesnaseansne $ 10 per day
Special retail wine

license may be issued

for any picnic,

convention, fair, civic

OF COMMUNILY ENTEIPIISE AL ..ocveevirvecrernresniniisimsiissessisssesessessrsssessnaseons $ 10 per day
Special events winery

license may be

issued to a

WINETY HCENSEE B v.vueerecreerrrerersreseressasrerssersesesnonmsostsessssasssesssesensassonses $ 10 per day
Bed and breakfast

HHCEIISE .vvvvieeesresirreeissseserenessesssessasseseseasesantssssnssessasasssssssertsssssassasssssaes $ 5 per guest unit
Brewery-Public HOUSE, ..........ccocevveerrrirenrerseersessssssesssenessssesenssseessrecssssenes 250 $ 1,000

including Certificate of Approval

Enrolled Senate Bill 813 Page 2



SECTION 3. Section 4 of this Act is added to and made a part of ORS chapter 471.

SECTION 4. (1) A brewery-public house license shall allow the licensee:

(a) To manufacture annually on the licensed premises, store, transport, sell to wholesale malt beverage and
wine licensees of the commission and export no more than 10,000 barrels of malt beverages containing not more
than eight percent of alcohol by weight;

(b) To sell malt beverages manufactured on or off the licensed premises at retail for consumption on the
premises;

(c) To sell malt beverages in brewery-sealed packages at retail directly to the consumer for consumption off
the premises;

(d) To sell on the licensed premises at retail malt beverages manufactured on the licensed premises in
unpasteurized form directly to the consumer for consumption off the premises, delivery of which may be made in
a container supplied by the consumer; and

(e) To conduct the activities described in paragraphs (b) to (d) of this subsection at one location other than
the premises where the manufacturing occurs.

(2) A brewery-public house licensee, or any person having an interest in the licensee, is not eligible for a
brewery license authorized by ORS 471.220 or a wholesale malt beverage and wine license authorized by ORS
471.235.

(3) A brewery-public house licensee, or any person having an interest in the licensee, may also hold a winery
license authorized by ORS 471.223.

(4) A brewery-public house licensee is eligible for a retail malt beverage license and for special one-day retail
beer licenses. All sales and delivery of malt beverage to the retail malt beverage licensed premises must be made
only through a wholesale malt beverage and wine licensee.

(5) For purposes of ORS chapter 473, a brewery-public house licensee shall be considered to be a
manufacturer,

SECTION 5. This Act being necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health and
safety, an emergency is declared to exist, and this Act takes effect on its passage.

Passed by Senate May 22, 1985 Received by Governor:
Repassed by Senate June 18,1985 M, i , 1985
Approved:
Secretary of Senate  tttortieeteoeieees M, , 1985
President of Senate Governor

Secretary of State
Speaker of House

Enrolled Senate Bill 813 Page 3
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63rd OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY--1985 Regutar Session

ERNROLLEDS
A-Engrossed

Senate Bill 813

Ordered by the Speaker June 12
Including House Amendments dated June 12

Sponsored by Senators HANNON, BRADBURY, JERNSTEDT, OLSON, Representatives BROGOITTI, BUNN,
BURROWS, CALOURI, CAMPBELL, HOOLEY, JOHNSON, D. E. JONES, MARKHAM, MILLER, PETERSON,
TARZIAN (at the request of Edinburgh Lodge Bed and Breakfast, Ashland)

SUMMARY

The following summary is not prepared by the sponsors of the measure and is not a part of the body thereof subject to
consideration by the Legislative Assembly. It is an editor’s brief statement of the essential features of the measure. .

Establishes “bed and bredkfast” wine and beer licenses for annual fee of $5 per guest unit. Establishes
“brewery-public house” license to allow “microbrewery” to manufacture and sell product for consumptlon on
premises. Specifies other activities permitted by license.

Declares emergency, effective on passage.

A BILL FOR AN ACT
Relating to alcoholic liquor; creating new provisions; amending ORS 471.290; and declaring an emergency.
Be It Enacted by the People of ‘the State of Oregon:

SECTION 1. A bed and breakfast license may be issued to the owner or operator of a private residence that
is not a boarding house but that accommodates transients for a limited duration and shall allow the sale or service
by the licensee or any employe of malt beverages containing not more than eight percent of alcohol by weight, and
wine containing not more than 21 percent of alcohol by volume to guests for consumption on the licensed
premises only. The license does not permit sale or service to or consumption by the general public or employes of
the premises.

SECTION 2. ORS 471.290 is amended to read:

471.290. (1) Any person desiring a license or renewal of a license shall make application to the commission
upon forms to be furnished by the commission showing the name and address of the applicant, the applicant’s
citizenship, location of the place of business which is to be operated under the license, and such other pertinent
information as the commission may require. No license shall be granted or renewed until the provisions of the
Liquor Control Act and the rules of the commission have been complied with.

(2) Except as provided in this section, the commission shall assess a nonrefundable fee for prpcessing each
application for any license authorized by ORS chapter 471 or 472, in an amount equal to 25 percent of the annual
license fee. The commission shall not begin to process any license application until the application fee is paid. If
the commission allows an applicant to apply at the same time for alternative licenses at one premises, only the
application fee for the most expensive license shall be required. If a license is gramed or committed, the
apphcatxon fee of 25 percent shall be applied against the annual license fee. This subsection shall not apply to an
agent s license, a salesman’s license, a manufacturer certificate of approval, a druggist’s license, a health care

facility license or to any license which is issued for a period of less than 30 days.

NOTE: Matter in bold face in an amended section is new; matter [italic and bracketed] is existing law to be omitted.



N e = ¥ Y

—_ =
—_ o

12

A-Eng. SB 813

(3) Subject to subsection (4) of this section, the commission shall assess a nonrefundable fee for proéessing a
renewal application for any license authorized by ORS chapter 471 or 472 only if the renéwal application is
received by the commission less than 20 days before expiration of the license. If the renewal application is
received pﬁor to expiration of the license but less than 20 days. prior to expiration, this fee shall be 25 percent of
the énnual license fee. If a renewal application is rec‘éived by the commission after expiration of the license but no
more than 30 days after expiration, this fee shall be 40 percent of the annual license fee. This subsection shall not
apply to an agent’s license, a salesman’s license, a manufacturer certificate of approval, a druggist’s license, a
health care facility license, a brewery-public house license or to any license which is issued for a period of less than
30 days. '

(4) The commission may waive the fee imposed under subsection (3) of this section if it finds that failure to
submit a timely application was due to unforeseen circumstances or to a delay in processing the application by
the local governing authority that is no fault of the licensee.

(5) The annual license fee is nonrefundable and shall be paid by each applicant upon the granting or

committing of a license. The ‘annual license fee and the minimum bond required of each class of license are as

follows:

Minimum -
License - : Fee Bond
Brewery, inclhding Certificate -

OF APDIOVAL oot $ 500 $ 1,000
Winery .............. e s reeeieeeeieaeesreeteeeseeneerreeanraenseteeireenas 250 1,000
DASHIIETY +ovveres e seeeeeneeeetesseessessseeoemsessseesssessssssssesiesesssens S 100 . 1,000
Wholesale Malt

Beverage and Wine .......... e eeeeeeeevitresesasereressabtreeeersareeeirrseaaeasranerenanes 275 1,000
BOUET ..ottt ettt eees e s eas s s enn s s reeresrpereens 150 None
Restaurant 200 None
Agent ............ ‘ 25 None
Salesman ' 5 None
Certificate of Approval, _

CCISS A oo ra s e 15 None
Certiﬁcate of Approval,

[STTTY : DO e e erev et st s s aeae it se e e et eera s et sanrarens 50 None
Paékége SEOTE weeeeveeeeer e e ene e - 50 None
Druégist e e e st an s et et s trns st s ene s sen e seeen 5 7 None
Railroad System or Public

Passenger Carrier

OT BOAL oot b s - 100 None
INAUSEEIAl AICORO! ......rvvvvveeeeereeeeesvsssssss s sessssssss s sssssmssssnse 50 ' None
Retail Malt BEVEIAEE .. icvevvieeeeeecieiereeecneeeeeesencretesat s sreessrssressessnesene 200 ' None
Health Care Facility ..o e e 5 None

Special retail beer

~
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license may be

issued for any picnic,

convention, fair, civic

or community enterprise at e e e e eee e s et eet e eee s eseeaeeeens $ 10 per day
Special retail wine

license may be issued

for any picnic,

convention, fair, civic

O COMMUNILY ENLETPIISE AL eevvvrirrerreerierensenseeceeeeeerereesessis s ssesaenes $ 10 per day
Special events winery

license may be

issued to a
WINETY JICENSEE AT 1.vvvirvseeenireiaierereeserescseseressesessseneeseeneneresssassesaessases $ 10 per day
Bed and breakfast | ‘
HCDSE .....ooovverevererecereresos rees it e bbb b '$ 5 per guest unit
Brewery-Public HOUSE, ................rrerrrrererseesensionsrmesrecesssssmmssnesssssssssessenss 250 $ 1,000

including Certificate of Approval

SECTION 3. Section 4 of this Act iS added to and made a part of ORS chapter 471.

SECTION 4. (1) A brewery-public house license shall allow the licensee:

(a) To manufacture annually on the licensed premises, store, transport, sell to wholesale mait beverage and
wine licensees of the commission and eXpon no more than 10,000 barrels of malt beverages containing not more
than eight percent of alcohol by weight;

(b) To sell malt beverages manufactured on or off the licensed premises at retail for consumption on the
premises;

(c) To sell malt beverages in brewery-sealed packages at retail difectly to the consumer for consumption off |
the premises;

(d) To sell on the licensed premises at retail malt beverages manufactured on the licensed premises in

~ unpasteurized form directly to the consumer for consumption off the premises, delivery of which may be made in

a container supplied by the consumer; and »

(e) To conduct the activities described in paragraphs (b) to (d) of this subsection at one location other than
the premises where the manufacturing occurs.

(2) A brewery-public house licensee, or any person having an interest in the licensee, is not eligible for a
brewery license authorized by ORS 471.220 or a wholesale malt beverage and wine license authorized by ORS
471,235,

(3) A brewery-public house licensee, or any person having an interest in the licensee, may also hold a winery
license authorized by ORS 471.223.

(4) A brewery-public house licensee is eligible for a retail malt beverage license and for special one-day retail

beer licenses. All sales and delivery of malt beverage to the retail malt beverage licensed premises must be made

only through a wholesale malt beverage and wine licensee.
(5) For purpo'ses of ORS chapter 473, a brewery-public house licensee shall be considered to be a

manufacturer.

[3]
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1 SECTION 5. This Act being necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health and

2 safety, an emergency is declared to exist, and this Act takes effect on its passage.

[41




63rd OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY--1985 Regular Session

CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT ON
A-ENGROSSED SENATE BILL 813

June 17

Mr. President: :

Your Conference Committee to whom was referred A-engrossed Senate Bill 813, having had the same under
consideration, respectfully reports it back with the recommendation that the Senate concur in the House
amendments dated June 12 and that the bill be repassed.

/s/ L. B. Day
Senator

/s/ Joyce Cohen
Senator

/s/ Tom Mason
Representative

/s/ Andy Anderson
Representative




CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT

Salem, Oregon

()/ﬂ L Bl %2

Your Conference Committee to whom was referred A— 9'4' 813~ having

6/17/85

Mr. President ox:—S-pea-kc;J;: AN )L

had the same under consideration, respectfully epor $it back with the recommendatlon that

IRELN that the H’—/“/“ ”’{
the Senate concur V\I-J_-Eh House amendments dated June 12,——}98-? and W

A/ L £ /,, /

-7’!’

/o) TJoqae Coleo

‘1-‘{““ 1ot ff

/ & / To s Mason
T . / £ e
/ Y -v’/‘?t’ SEICREE - SR

/ //)/,(/z/ /4f / o/ Las
£ \/7.~'/{1L€/r/ /f“'«(

]

Submit 3 copies to each house

Will Lead Discussion (In Senate) (In House



Notification of House Amendments to SB X/ 3 ’:‘A .
j ~
To: Sen. /JVV\/ Date (9,//3 ,/‘}\/‘S

/ N . . o
Chalrman,_ Committee on _, 4 3 L

Principal Sponsor

cc:  Sen.

Message notifying of House passage with amendments read éZ/k% ,/fJ/

Action on amendments governed by Senate Rule 11:01.

To assist in preparation of Agenda, would the Committee Chairman please advise the Secretary of action to be
recommended.

% To concur

Secretary of the Senate

Not to concur

will lead discussion.
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63rd OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY--1985 Regular Session

HOUSE AMENDMENTS TO
SENATE BILL 813

By COMMITTEE ON CONSUMER AND BUSINESS AFFAIRS
June 12

On page 1 of the printed bill, line 2, delete “and” and before the period insert “; and d¢c1aring an emergency”.

On page 2, line 2, after the first “license” insert “, a brewery-public house license”.

On page 3, after line 8, insert:

“Brewery-Public HOUSE, ......c.cocovereevereireereiersersressssnsssssessssssesssssossssorsssnss 250 $ 1,000
including Certificate of Approval”. |

After line 9, insert:

“SECTION 3. Section 4 of this Act is added to and made a part of ORS chapter 471.

“SECTION 4. (1) A brewery-public house license shall allow the licensee:

“(a) To manufacture annually on the licensed premises, store, transport, sell to wholesale malt beverage and
wine licensees of the commission and export no more than 10,000 barrels of malt beverages containing not more
than eight percent of alcohol by weight;

“(b) To sell malt beverages manufactured on or off the licensed premises at retail for consumption on the
premises;

“(c) To sell malt beverages in brewery-sealed packages at retail directly to the consumer for consumption off
the premises;

“(d) To seli on the licensed premises at retail malt beverages mahufactured on the licensed premises in
unpasteurized form directly to the consumer for consumption off the premises, delivery of which may be made in
a container supplied by the consumer; and

" “(e) To conduct the activiﬁes described in paragraphs (b) to (d) of this subsection at one location other than
the premises where the manufacthn'ng occurs.

“(2) A brewery-public house licensee, or any person having an interest in the licensee, is not eligible for a
brewery license authorized by ORS 471.220 or a wholesale malt beverage and wine license authorizéd by ORS
471.235.

“(3) A brewery-public house licensee, or any person having an interest in the licensee, may also hold a winery

license authorized by ORS 471.223.

“(4) A brewery-public house licensee is eligible for a retail malt beverage license and for special one-day retail
beer licenses. All sales and delivery of malt beverage to the retail malt be\}erage licensed premises must be made
only through a wholesale malt beverage and wine licensee.

‘ “(5) For purposes of ORS chapter 473, a brewery-public house licensee shall be considered to be a

manufacturer.



1 “SECTION 5. This Act being necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health and

2 safety, an emergency is declared to exist, and this Act takes effect on its passage.”.

HA to SB 813 _ Page 2
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© 63rd OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY--1985 Regular Session
A- ENGROSSED
Senate Bill 813

Sponsored by Senators HANNON, BRADBURY, JERNSTEDT, OLSON, Representatives BROGOITTI, BUNN, BUR-
ROWS, CALOURI, CAMPBELL, HOOLEY, JOHNSON, D. E. JONES, MARKHAM, MILLERNTARZIAN (at the
request of Edinburgh Lodge Bed and Breakfast, Ashland) Q FPrryow o ol

SUMMARY

The following summary is not prepared by the sponsors of the measure and is not a part of the body thereof subject to
consideration by the Legislative Assembly. Itis an editor’s brief statement of the essential features of the measure as introduced.

Establishes “bed and breakfast” wine and beer licenses for annual fee of $5 per guest unit.

A BILL FOR AN ACT
Relating to alcoholic liquor; creating new provisions; am{ amending ORS 471.2‘9‘9/ 5 2‘?}%’ ?“*ﬁ:@l"‘ ‘”?5 iy
Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon: N R i
SECTION 1. A bed and breakfast license may be issued to the owner or operator of a private residence that

is not a boarding house but that accommodates transients for a limited duration and shall allow the sale or service
by the licensee or any employe of malt beverages containing not more than eight percent of alcohol by weight, and
wine containing not more than 21 percent of alcohol by volume to guests for consumption on the licensed
premises only. The license does not permit sale or service to or consumption by the general public or employes of
the premises. 4

SECTION 2. ORS 471.290 is amended to read:

471.290. (1) Any person desiring a license or renewal of a license shall make application to the commission
upon forms to be furnished by the commission showing the name and address of the applicant, the applicant’s
citizenship, location of the place of business which is to be operated under the license, and such other pertinent
information as the commission may require. No license shall be granted or renewed until the provisions of the
Liquor Control Act and the rules of the commission have been complied with.

(2) Except as provided in this section, the commission shall assess a nonrefundable fee for processing each
application for any license authorized by ORS chapter 471 or 472, in an amount equal to 25 percent of the annual
license fee. The commission shall not begin to process any license application until the application fee is paid. If
the commission allows an applicant to apply at the same time for alternative licenses at one premises, only the
application fee for the most expensive license shall be required. If a license is granted or committed, the
application fee of 25 percent shall be applied against the annual license fee. This subsection shall not apply to an
agent’s license, a salesman’s license, a manufacturer certificate of approval, a druggist’s license, a health care
facility license or to any license which is issued for a period of less than 30 days.

(3) Subject to subsection (4).of this section, the commission shall assess a nonrefundable fee for processing a
renewal application for any license authorized by ORS chapter 471 or 472 only if the renewal application is
geceived by the commission less than 20 days before expiratfon of the license. If the renewal application is
?ieceived prior to expiration of the license but less than 20 days prior to expiration, this fee shall be 25 percent of
the annual license fee. If a renewal application is received by the commission after expiration of the license but no

more than 30 days after expiration, this fee shall be 40 percent of the annual license fee. This subsection shall not

NOTE: Matter in bold face in an amended section is new; matter [italic and bracketed] is existing law to be omitted.
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apply to an agent"sf license, a salesman’s Ul\icense a {nanufacuérer certificate of approval, a druggist’s license, a
Qs e e i v

- £ Z¥

health careTacility 1censeXor 0 any ﬂl.icense which 1s 1ssued for a period of less than 30 days.

(4) The commission may waive the fee imposed under subsection (3) of this section if it finds that failure to
submit a timely application was due to unforeseen circumstances or to a delay in processing the application by
the local goveming authority thét is no fault of the licensee.

(5) The annual license fee is nonrefundable and shall be. paid by each applicant upon the granting or
committing of a license. The annual license fee and the minimum bond required of each class of license are as

follows:

Minimum
License Fee Bond
Brewery, iﬂcluding Certificate

OF ADPDIOVAL ..ot e e e ee s e e esesesessasanesnessessenssessans $ 500 $ 1,000
WINETY oottt ettt s 250 1,000
DASHIETY .o oot ss e re et 100 1,000
Wholesale Malt

Beverage and Wine ............ooeeeeneennnnnene. ettt 275 1,000
Bottler ........ccoeeeec.... et ee et et et s e s he e ar e ne et aesbeenaes 150 . None
RESTAUTANT ...ttt s e et e eees 200 None
AGENL ettt s s ettt st e e s e ee e e ee e et ares 25 None
SAlESIMAN ...ttt et e eeeee 5 None
Certificate of Approval, ‘

ClAaSS A et et e e 15 None
Certificate of Approval,

Class B ...c.ooveieerreeeeeereece e 50 None
Packége Store . 50 None
DIUZEIST ..ieeieteieie et e este e e s s et et a s et sre st s saeseeneasnesn s 5 None
Railroad System or Public

Passenger Carrier

OF BOGL ..ottt ettt 100 None
Industrial AICOROL ....ovieiiieiicei ettt 50 None
Retail Malt BEVETAZE ....c.ceeveeeeeceeecereereeeee ettt seesesane e seeeee e asa s 200 None
Health Care Facility .........ccoococveveiiemvrnerninne ettt s 5 None
Special retail beer

license may be

issued for any picnic,

con\;éntion, fair, civic

or cémmunity ENLErPrise at .......ceveeecenurrcrcnnne. eeerneeneennae e reeraeinans $ 10 per day

Special retail wine
license may be issued

for any picnic,

[2]
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convention, fair, civic

2 OF COMMUNILY ENTETPTISE At .....rveueereeeeeeseeseeenssemsessssensrenssenssnenennneeee $ 10 PET day
3 Special events winery
4 license may be
/“Brewerv Public Housel ....... PP 250 1.000
Cgicludlng certlflcate of gg_ovaﬁ%/ -
: ®m .......................... T T e T T e S e T T o e e i b e e e e s e e e eeen $ 5 per guest unit T @,\(\:« @
&
@) 0 In 5&{*;.

'(d) of thls subsection at one location other than the premlsesv

(ZS)/%ECTION 3. Sectlon 4 of this Act is added to and made a part
-

of ORS chapter 471. | | : N

,/SECTION 4. (1) A brewery-public house license shall allow the 1

licensee:

/(a) To manufacture annually on the licensed premises, store,
transport sell to wholesale malt beverage and wine licensees of

the commission and export no more than 10,000 barrels of malt

beverages containing not more than eight percent of alcohol by
Qeight'”

/#(b) To sell malt beverages manufactured on or off the licensed
premlses at retall for consumption on the premlses |

/Qc) To sell malt beverages in brewery-aealed packages at !
retail directly to the consumer for consumption-off the prenises; -

//(d) To sell on the licensed‘premises at retail’malt-beverages
manufactured on the licensed premises in unpasteurlzed form
directly to the consumer for consumptlon off the premises, delivery

of which may be made in a container supplied by the consumer; and

/?e) To conduct the act1v1t1es descrlbed in paragraphs (b) to

where the manu:acturlng occurs.

’/QZ) A brewery-public house licensee, or any person having an
interest in the licensee, is not eligible for a brewery license )
. - W '
authorized by ORS 471.220 or a wholesale malt beverage and wine

license authorized by ORS 471.255. ' - » W
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transport, sell to wholesale malt beverage and wine licensees of
the cémmission and export no more thén 10,000 bérrels of malt
beverages containing not more than eight percent of alcohol by
wéight;' |

//(b) To sell malt beverages manﬁfactured on or off the licensed
prémises at retaii for consumption on the premises:» | /

/Qc) To sell malt beverages in brewery-éealed packagesfat
fetail diréctly to the consumer for consumption-off the premises;

/x(d) To sell on the licensed‘premises at retail'malt-beverages
manufactured on the licensed premises in unpasteurized form

directly to'the consumer for consumption off the premises, delivery

of which may be made in a container supplied by the consumer; and

/?e) To conduct the activities described in paragraphs (b) to

" (d) of this subsection at one location other than the premises‘

where the manufacturing occurs.

}QZ) A brewery-public house licensee, 6r any person having én
interest in the licensee, is not eligible for a brewery license
authorized by ORS>471.2£b or a wholesale malt beverage and wine
license authorized by ORS 471.235. |

?13) A brewery-public house licensee, or any perSon having an
interest in the licensee, may also hold a winery license authofizéd
by ORS 471.223. | |

/{(4) A brewery-public house licensee is e;igible for a retail
malt beverageblicense and for special 6ne-day retail beer licenses.
All sales and delivery of malt beverage to thebretgil malt beverage
licensed premises must be madé only through a wholesale malt
beverage and wine licensee. .

/‘(5) For purposes of ORS chapter 473, a brewery-public house

licensee shall be considered to be a manufacturer.

J'SECTION 5. This Act being necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public*peéce, health and safety, an emergency

is declared to exist, and this Act takes effect on its passage.
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Special events winery
license may be
issued to a
winery licensee at ........................ et et eseanene
Bed and breakfast .

license ................ [T et sae et as e
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HOUSE COMMITTEE REPORT . @

DATE: JUNE , 19 85

Speaker: KATZ

Your Committee on CONSUMER & BUSINESS AFFAIRS
~ (Name of Committee)
to whom was referred SB 813 » having had the same under consideration,
(Bill # Engrossment)

‘repectfully reports it back

WITHOUT RECOMMENDATION AS TO PASSAGE
WITH RECOMMENDATION THAT IT:

DO PASS

BE ADOPTED

WITH AMENDMENTS

WITH SECOND HOUSE AMENDMENTS

BE PRINTED ENGROSSEDéégaawiszﬂlﬂk é%?“ﬂwv
PLACED ON CONSENT CALENDAR

BE REFERRED TO WAYS & MEANS BY PRIOR REFERENCE
BE REFERRED TO REVENUE BY PRIOR REFERENCE
RESCIND SUBSEQUENT REFERRAL TO COMMITTEE ON
BE REFERRED TO COMMITTEE ON

BE REREFERRED TO COMMITTEE ON

| = |

I B
vvv‘vvv

LA W W T A W W

|

REP. VERNER 'ANDY' ANDERSON /ﬁ“d g/ W

Carrier of Measure ' VICE- Chairperson
REP, JOHN SCHOON

4 copies if no amendments
9 copies if amendments

submi:

retain 1 copy for committee files

FOR INFORMATION ONLY -- NOT PART OF COMMITTEE REPORT

Voting no:

Voting aye: ANDERSON, FACHUS, LINDQUIST, MCTEAGUE, SCHOON, SIDES

Excused: RIJKEN

- FOR OFFICE USE ONLY
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Legislative Counsel
SB 813-3
(LC 2062)
6/5/85 (dy)
PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO SENATE BILL 813
On page 1 of £he printed bill, line 2, delete "and" and before
the periéd insert "; and declaring an emergency".
On page 2, line 2, aftef the first "license" insert " oa
brewery-public house license".
On page 3, after line 8, insert:
"Brewefy-Public HOUSE, .« ivuerennennnn. 250 $1,000 ' @:>><
including -gertificate of __g_pprovalg".
Aftér line 9, insert: A

"SECTION 3. Section 4 of this Act is added to and made a part

of ORS chapter 471.

"SECTION 4. (1) A brewery-public house license shall allow the

licensee:

"(a) To manufacture annually on the licensed premises, store,
transport, sell to wholesale malt beverage and wine licensees of
the commission and export no more than 10,000 barrels of malf
beverages containing not more than eight percent of alcohol by
weight;

"(b) To sell malt beverages manufactured on or off the licensed
premises at retail for consumption on the premises;

"(c) To sell malt beverages in brewery-sealed packages at
retail directly to the consumer for consumption  off the premisés;

"(d) To sell on the licensed premises at retail malt beverages
manufactured on the licensed premises in unpasteurized form
directly to the consumer for consumption off the premises, delivery

of which may be made in a container supplied by the consumer; and
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"(e) To conduct the a

ctivities described in paragraphs (b) to

(d) of this subsection at one location other than the premises

where the manufacturing o

"(2) A brewery-public
interest in the licensee,
authorized by ORS 471.220

license authorized by ORS

"(3) A brewery-public

interest in the licensee,
by ORS 471.223.

"(4) A brewery-public
malt beverage license and
All sales and delivery of
licensed premises must be

beverage and wine license

ccurs.

house licensee, or any person having an
is not eligible for a brewery license
or a wholesale malt beverage and wine
471.235.

house licensee, or any person having an

may also hold a winery license authorized

house licensee is eligible for a retail

for special one-day retail beer licenses.
malt beverage to the retail malt beverage-
made only through a wholesale malt

e.

"(5) For purposes of ORS chapter 473, a brewery-public house

licensee shall be conside

"SECTION 5. This Act

preservation of the publi

is declared to exist, and

Proposed Amendments
SB 813-3 (LC 2062)

red to be a manufacturer.
being necessary for the immediate
¢ peace, health and safety, an emergency

this Act takes effect on its passage.".
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STATE OF OREGON
LEGISLATIVE REVENUE OFFICE
140 STATE CAPITOL BUILDING

SALEM, OREGON 97310
378-8873

REVENUE ANALYSIS OF PROPOSED LEGISLATION
1985 REGUIAR SESSION

BILL NUMBER TAX AREA ECONOMIST DATE
SB 813 LIQUOR LICENSES FEES YATES 5/21/85
Description:

Creates a bed and breakfast license to permit the sale of beer and
wine. License may be issued to the owner or operator of a private
residence that is not a boarding house but that accommodates
transients for a limited duration. The license fee is $5.00 per
guest unit.

Conmment:

The Oregon Liguor Control Commission (OLCC) expressed the concern
that the definition of establishments qualifying may include up to
20% of the 1,270 licensed transient motor hotels. The committee
was advised that hotels, motels and boarding houses are not
included.

Revenue Impact:

This revenue impact assumes that motels do not qualify for bed and
breakfast licenses.

The Department of Economic Development currently lists about 50
bed and breakfast establishments. There are about another 50
establishments separately listed with reservation services in the
Portland area. Assuming an average of 3 beds per establishment,
there are currently about 300 guest units.

While growth in the number of bed and breakfast establishments is
-expected it is not anticipated that all establishments will serve
beer or wine. Assuming 300 guest units per year the bed and
breakfast license will yield $3,000 for the 1985-87 biennium.




1985 Regular Legislative Session
FISCAL ANALYSIS OF PROPOSED LEGISLATION
Prepared by the Executive Department and the Legislative Fiscal Office

MEASURE NUMBER: SB 813

STATUS: Original

SUBJECT: Establishes "bed and breakfast" wine and beer license.
GOVERNMENT UNIT AFFECTED: Oregon Liquor Control Commission
BUDGET AND MANAGEMENT ANALYST: ==

LEGISLATIVE FISCAL ANALYST: Kenneth Jones 5=-21-85

EFFECT ON EXPENDITURES: 1985-87 1987-~89
Oregon Liquor Control '

Commission $900 to $1,800 $941 to $1,881
(assumes 25-50 permits) .

~ EFFECT ON REVENUES:

Fee per bed of $5 per year $1,300 to $2,600 $1,300 to $2,600

COMMENTS:

The estimate is for illustration purposes only and shows the
relationships between revenues and costs as estimated by the Oregon
Liquor Control Commission for up to fifty permits issued annually.




SENATE COMMITTEE REPORT

DATE: May 15; 1985

PRESIDENT KITZHABER:

VOUR COMMITTEEE ON Business, Housing and Finance TO WHOM WAS REFERRED

SB 813 , HAVING HAD THE SAME UNDER CONSIDERATION,

RESPECTFULLY REPORT IT BACK RECOMMENDING:

XX passage. (adoption) that the measure be returned to the
" President’s desk pursuant to
SR 9.05(1). Letter attached requesting:

( passage (adoption) with amendments.
A. subsequent referral to
passage with amendments to the another committee; or
- Engrossed measure.
: B. that subsequent referral

be rescinded.

passage (adoption) with amendments

to resolve conflicts. ‘
' that the measure be printed engross-

) ed and rereferred to committee for
Subsequent referral to Committee on: further consideration.

that ) be substituted
therefor, (SR 9.45)

Other:

NOT CONCURRING (SR 9.15(2)) Senators(s)

Senator will lead floor discussion.

Submit:
2 copies if no amdts.
7 copies if amdts.

Rev. 4-85



OREGON STATE SENATE
63rd Legislative Assémbly

STAFF MEASURE ANALYSIS

MEASURE: Senate Bill 813

Title: Relating to alcoholic liquor; creating new provisions; and
amending ORS 471.290. '

Committee: Senate Business, Housing and Finance
Hearing date:'5/1§

Explanation prepared by: Brad Higbee, Administrator

SB 813 would create a bed and breakfast license to permit the
sale of wine and beer to guests of the establishment, only, for
consumption on the premises. The license would allow operators of
bed and breakfast establishments to provide services contributing to
the enhancement of the experience of travelers staying there.

Increasingly popular, bed and breakfast establishments are
defined as private residences affording accomodations to tourists.
Hotels, -motels and boarding houses are not intended to be eligible
for the bed and breakfast liquor license. The obligations of a bed
and breakfast establishment to obtain a business license and to pay
all hotel taxes are not affected by SB 813.

Under current law, it is not legal to "give away" liquor where a
fee is required for access, as with a bed and breakfast
establishment. Such establishments may not obtain a Class A
"distilled spirits license unless food is served on the premises and
the area quota permits. Similarly, a Retail Malt Beverage license
is often too costly for the smaller scale operations.

The license created by SB 813 would permit the sale of wine and
beer to guests at an annual fee of $5 per unit.

NOTE: This analysis is intended for information purposes only and
has not been adopted or officially endorsed by action of the Senate
Committee on Business, Housing and Finance.
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63rd OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY--1985 Regular Session

Senate Bill 813

Sponsored by Senators HANNON, BRADBURY, JERNSTEDT, OLSON, Representatives BROGOITTI, BUNN, BUR-
ROWS, CALOURI, CAMPBELL, HOOLEY, JOHNSON, D. E. JONES, MARKHAM, MILLER, TARZIAN (at the
request of Edinburgh Lodge Bed and Breakfast, Ashland)

SUMMARY

The following summary is not prepared by the sponsors of the measure and is not a part of the body thereof subject to
consideration by the Legislative Assembly. It is an editor’s brief statement of the essential features of the measure as introduced.

Establishes “bed and breakfast” wine and beer licenses for annual fee of $5 per guest unit.

A BILL FOR AN ACT
Relating to alcoholic liquor; creating new provisions; and amending ORS 471.290.
Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon: |
SECTION 1. A bed and breakfast license may be issuedito the owner or operator of a private residence that |

is not a boarding house but that accommodates transients for a limited duration and shall allow the sale or service

- by the licensee or any employe of malt beverages containing not more than eight percent of alcohol by weight, and

wine containing not more than 21 percent of alcohol by volume to guests for consumption on the licensed
premises only. The license does not permit sale or service to or consumption by the general public or eniployes of
the prenﬁses.

SECTION 2. ORS 471.290 is amended to read:

471.290. (1) Any person desiring a license or renewal of a license shall make application to the commission
upon forms to be furnished by the commission showing the name and address of the applicant, the applicant’s
citizenship, ldcation of the place of business which is to be operated under the license, and such other pertinent
information as the commission may require. No license shall be granted or renewed uhtil the provisions of the
Liquor Control Act and the rules of the commission have been complied with.

(2) Except as provided in this section, the commission shall assess a nonrefundable fee for processing each
application for any license authorized by ORS chapter 471 or 472, in an amount equal to 25 percent of the annual
license fee. The commission shall not begin to process any license application until the application fee is paid. If
the commission allows an applicant to apply at the séme time for alternative licenses at one premises, only the
application fee for the most expensive license shall be required. If a license is granted or committed, the
application fee of 25 percent shall be applied against the annual license fee. This subsection shall not apply to an
agent’s license, a salesman’s license, a manufacturer certificate of approval, a druggist’s license, a health care
facility license or to any license which is issued for a period of less than 30 days..

(3) Subject to subsection (4) of this section; the commission shall assess a nonrefundable fee for processing a
renewal application for any license authorized by ORS chapter 471 or 472 only if the renewal application is
received by the commission less than 20 days before expiration of the license. If the renewal application is
received prior'to expiration of the license but less than 20 days prior to expiration, this fee shall be 25 percent of
the annual license fee. If a renewal application is received‘ by the commission after expiration of the license but no

more than 30 days after expiration, this fee shall be 40 percent of the annual license fee. This subsection shall not

NOTE: Matter in bold face in an arhended section is new; matter [italic and bracketed] is existing law to be omitted.
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apply to an agent’s license, a salesman’s license, a manufacturer certificate of approval, a druggist’s license, a
pply g 1 .

health care facility license or 1o any license which is issued for a period of less than 30 days.

(4) The commission may waive the fee imposed under subsection (3) of this section if it finds that failure to
submit a timely application was due to unforeseen circumstances or to a delay in processing the application by
the local governing authority that is no fault of the licensee.

(5) The annual license fee is nonrefundable and shall be paid by each applicant upon the granting or
committing of a license. The annual license fee and the minimum bond required of each class of license are as

follows:

Minimum
License Fee Bond
Brewery, including Certificate _

OF APPIOVAL ..ttt ettt s se s eeeaeea e $ 500 $ 1,000
WINEery ...occcevveeveeeiiienes e ettt e s e s et et e et e s ne s e e bt e nseebaeereesnrentas 250 1,000
DASHIIEIY  eeeecieteiee ettt et eeee e enesee e eee e vesssaeareesnsssssseseessees 100 1,000
Wholesale Malt

Beverage and WINE ....c..o.voeeeieeoeeieeeeeeee e eeevestesee e sesesssssssseessons 275 1,000
BOTIET .ot ettt et 150 None
RESIAUTANT ...l e et 200 None
AGETIT ottt ettt et e et n e a e en 25 None
SAIESINIAN ...ttt s e sttt es e e e 5 None
Certificate of Approval,

| CLESS A .ottt ettt e st 15 None
Certificate of Approval,

CIASS B ...ttt et 50 None
PaCKALE STOTE ..oeeveeceerceeeeee ettt ee e eveee et es e e e e e 50 None
Druggist .......ccueerennnen. bt e ae e et e et e earteeraaasaeenterreatesreeas 5 None
Railroad System or Pubﬁc

Passenger Carrier ;

O BOAT ..ttt et 100 None
Industrial Alcohol ...........ccoouveveerrencccrenenns. 50 None
Retail Malt Beverage 200 None
Health Care Facility 5 None
Special retail beer -

license may be

issued for any picnic,

cony.ention, fair, civic

or cémmunity ENTETPTISE A .eeeeeeerrrreriiereeeeereseee s esees e e s e e seeeenaes $ 10 per day

Special retail wine
license may be issued

for any picnic,

[2]
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convention, fair, civic
OT COMMUNILY ENTETPTISE AL cvuvoverrrererrreererenriesiseaeeesesetersrsessasessssssesaens
Special events winery ‘
license may be
issued to a
winery licensee at ............... VOV
Bed and bre_akfast

JHCEMSE ...ttt e e s e s e e st e st e s e e e e e e nn

$ 10 per day

$ 10 per day

$ 5 per guest unit

[3]
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MEASURE SUMMARY

Establishes "bed and breakfast" wine and beer licenses for
annual fee of $5 per guest unit.

A BILL FOR AN ACT

v
Relating to alcoholic liquor; creating new provisions; and amending

v
ORS 471.290.

Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

SECTION 1. A bed and breakfast license may be issued to the
owner or operator of a private residence that is not a boarding
house but that accommodates transients for a limited duration and
shall allow the sale or service by the licensee dr any empioye of
malt bevérages containing not more than eight percent of alcohol bj
weight, and wine containing not more than 21 percent of alcohol by
volume to guests for conéumption on the licensed premises only.
The license does not permit sale or service to or consumption by
the general public or employes of the premises.

SECTION 2. ORS 471.290 is amended to read:

471.290. (1) Any person desiring a license or renewal of a
license shall make application to the commission upon forms to be
furnished by the commission showing the name and address of the
applicant, the applicant's citizenship, location of the place of
business which is to be operated under the license, and such other
pertinent information as the commission may require. No license
shall be granted or renewed until the provisions of the Liquor
Control Act and the rules of the commission have been complied
with.

(2) Except as provided in this section, the commission shall

assess a nonrefundable fee for processing each application for any
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license authorized by ORS chapter 471 or 472, in an amount equal to
25 percent of the annual license fee. The commission shall not
begin to process any license application until the application fee
is paid. If the commission allows an applicant to apply at the
same time for alternative licenses at one premises, only the
application fee for the most expensive license shall be required.
If a license is granted or committed, the application fee of 25
percent shall be applied against the annual license fee. This
subsection shall not apply to an agent's license, a salesman's
license, a manufacturer certificate of approval, a druggist's
license, a health care facility license or to any license which is
issued for a period of less than 30 days.

(3) Subject to subsection (4) of this section, the commission
shall assess a nonrefundable fee for processing a renewal
application for any license authorized by ORS chapter 471 or 472
only if the renewal application is received by the commission less
than 20 days before expiration of the license. If the renewal
application is received prior to expiration of the license but less
than 20 days prior to expiration, this fee shall be 25 percent of
the annual license fee. If a renewal application is received by
the commission after expiration of the license but no more than 30
days after expiration, this fee shall be 40 percent of the annual
license fee. This subsection shall not apply to an agent's
license, a salesman's license, a manufacturer certificate of
approval, a druggist's license, a health care facility license or
to any license which is issued for a period of less than 30 days.

(4) The commission may waive the fee imposed under subsection
(3) of this section if it finds that failure to submit a timely
application was due to unforeseen circumstances or to a delay in
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10

12
13
14
15
16
17
i8
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28

29

processing the application by the local governing authority that is

no fault of the licensee.
(5) The annual license
by each applicant upon the

annual license fee and the

license are as follows:

fee is nonrefundable and shall be paid

granting or committing of a license. The

minimum bond required of each class of

License
Brewery, including

Certificate

Wholesale Malt

Beverage and Wine .....

Bottler .......... ...

Certificate of Approval,
Class A .........ccuv..
Certificate of Approval,
Class B ........c0uu.
Package Store ...........
Druggist ................

Railroad System or Public

Passenger Carrier

LC 2062 2/28/85

Fee

......... 275
......... 150
......... 200

......... 25

......... 15

......... 50

......... 50

Minimum

Bond

$1,000
1,000

1,000

1,000
None
None
None

None

None

None

None

None

None




1 Industrial Alcohol ............... 50 None
2 Retail Malt Beverage ............. 200 None
3 Health Care Facility ............. 5 None

4 Special retail beer

5 license may be

6’ issued for any picnic,

7, convention, fair, civic

8 or community enterprise at ..... $ 10 per day

9 Special retail wine

10 license may be issued
('1 for any picnic,
12 convention, fair, civic
13 or community enterprise at ..... $ 10 per day

14 Special events winery

15 license may be
16 issued to a
17 winery licensee at ............. $ 10 per day

18 Bed and breakfast

(‘9 license .....c.iii ittt $ 5 per guest unit

20
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