HOUSE COMMITTEE ON LAND USE

February 3, 2009
3:00 P.M.
Hearing Room E

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rep. Mary Nolan, Chair

Rep. Sal Esquivel, Vice-Chair Rep. Chris Garrett, Vice-Chair

Rep. Brian Clem Rep. Jean Cowan Rep. Mitch Greenlick Rep. Bruce Hanna Rep. Matt Wingard

STAFF PRESENT: Cheyenne Ross, Committee Administrator

Joshua Hoyt, Committee Assistant

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: HB 2229

Relating to recommendations of Oregon Task Force on Land Use Planning; appropriating money; declaring an emergency

- Public Hearing

This recording log is in compliance with Senate and House Rules. For complete contents, refer to the digital audio recording.

HLU

2/3/2009 3:02:39 PM

	Meeting Called to Order HB 2229 Relating to recommendations of Oregon Task Force on Land Use Planning; appropriating money; declaring an emergency - Public Hearing
3:03:48 PM	
	Vice-Chair Garrett
3:07:58 PM	
	Vice-Chair Esquivel
3:08:20 PM	
	Rep. Greenlick
3:08:41 PM	
3:09:18 PM	
	Lolita Carl, Farmer, Marion County
3:11:45 PM	
3:11:50 PM 3:13:41 PM	{Exhibit} 1: Roger Kaye, President, Friends of Marion County
	{Exhibit} 2: Mia Nelson, Lowell OR, Lane County
3:15:41 PM	
	Lyneil Vandermolen, Farmer, Clackamas County
3:17:59 PM	
	{Exhibit} 3: Henry N. Pir, Salem Or, Marion County
3:20:53 PM	
	Katherine Karl, Marion County
3:22:15 PM	
3:22:58 PM	{Exhibit} 4: Susan Hansen, Molalla OR, Clackamas County
3:25:11 PM	Chair Nolan
	{Exhibit} 5: Robert Emmons, President, Land Watch Lane County
3:27:28 PM	
3:27:30 PM	{Exhibit} 6: Sara O'Brien, Private Lands Conservation Associate, Defenders of Wildlife
3:29:48 PM	Chair Nolan
3:30:17 PM	{Exhibit} 7: Jim Gilbert, President, Molalla Community Planning
	Organization
3:32:28 PM	
	{Exhibit} 8: Sarah Deumling, Polk County
3:35:11 PM	
	{Exhibit} 9: Dave Adams, Stafford Hamlet, Portland OR
3:38:22 PM	
3:38:52 PW	{Exhibit} 10: Mona Linstromberg, Tidewater OR

```
3:40:29 PM Chair Nolan
3:40:46 PM Warren Aney, Oregon Chapter The Wild Life Society
3:42:36 PM Chair Nolan
3:42:39 PM Mike Clausen, Bandon City Council Member, Coos County
3:43:34 PM Chair Nolan
3:44:02 PM Rand Dawson, West Linn County
3:47:16 PM Chair Nolan
3:47:18 PM {Exhibit} 11: Jim Just, Executive Director, Goal One Coalition
3:49:13 PM Chair Nolan
3:49:15 PM {Exhibit} 12: Gary Rhinhart, Umatilla County
3:51:37 PM Chair Nolan
3:52:29 PM {Exhibit} 13: Kami Kehoe, Clackamas County
3:56:09 PM Chair Nolan
3:56:19 PM Jack Spitzmessen, Hood River County
3:59:48 PM Chair Nolan
3:59:50 PM {Exhibit} 14: David Engen, Marion County
4:02:05 PM Chair Nolan
4:02:30 PM Kim Kambak, Crook County Planning Commission, Crook County
4:04:20 PM Chair Nolan
4:04:28 PM Richard Ross, Oregon Chapter American Planning Association
4:07:12 PM Chair Nolan
4:07:41 PM Jim Barta, Multnomah County
4:08:37 PM Chair Nolan
4:09:08 PM Ms. Robb Roavill, Deschutes County
4:09:45 PM {Exhibit} 15: Brian Hines, Salem OR, Marion County
4:12:46 PM Chair Nolan
4:12:49 PM {Exhibit} 16: Brock Howell, Environment Oregon
4:15:37 PM Chair Nolan
4:16:06 PM {Exhibit} 17: Ralph Stinton, Multnomah County
4:18:11 PM Vice-Chair Garrett
4:18:14 PM Susan Chapman, Multnomah County
4:19:42 PM Vice-Chair Garrett
4:19:45 PM Richard Harisay, Marion County Democrats
4:22:19 PM Vice-Chair Garrett
4:22:46 PM Kay Petersen, Marion County
4:24:37 PM Vice-Chair Garrett
4:24:39 PM Peter Kenagy, Farmer, Benton County
4:26:00 PM George Forsman, Clackamas County
4:28:53 PM Vice-Chair Garrett
4:29:24 PM Tom Brawley, Marion County
4:32:31 PM Vice-Chair Garrett
4:32:32 PM {Exhibit} 18: Greg Malinowski, Farmer, Malinowski Farms
4:35:12 PM Vice-Chair Garrett
4:35:16 PM {Exhibit} 19: Dr. Peter Walker, Professor of Geography, University
            of Oregon
4:37:39 PM Vice-Chair Garrett
```

```
4:37:58 PM {Exhibit} 20: Joan Zuber, Clackamas County
4:38:52 PM Vice-Chair Garrett
4:39:00 PM The following written testimony was submitted for the record
            without public testimony:
4:39:01 PM {Exhibit} 21: James B. Knight, Salem OR, Marion County
4:39:02 PM {Exhibit} 22: Shelley Wetherell, Umqua OR
4:39:03 PM {Exhibit} 23: Robert & Gretchen Pederson, Deschutes County
4:39:04 PM {Exhibit} 24: C. William Boyd, Deschutes County
4:39:05 PM {Exhibit} 25: Greg Morse, Clackamas County
4:39:06 PM {Exhibit} 26: Mark Tipperman, Union County
4:39:07 PM {Exhibit} 27: Carol Doty, Jackson County
4:39:08 PM {Exhibit} 28: Aileen P Kaye, Marion County
4:39:09 PM {Exhibit} 29: John Brandt, Marion County
4:39:10 PM {Exhibit} 30: Trudy Margules, Marion County
4:39:11 PM {Exhibit} 31: Michelle Rabin, Ph.D., Founder T Ching
4:39:12 PM {Exhibit} 32: David Harrison, President, Salem Audubon Society
4:39:13 PM {Exhibit} 33: Phil Drain, Marion County
4:39:14 PM {Exhibit} 34: Patricia H. Ross, Clackamas County
4:39:20 PM Meeting Adjourned
```

HLU 2/3/2009 3:02:39 PM

```
3:11:50 PM
             {Exhibit} 1: HB 2229, written testimony, Roger Kaye, 4 pp
             {Exhibit} 2: HB 2229, written testimony, Mia Nelson, 2 pp
3:13:44 PM
             {Exhibit} 3: HB 2229, written testimony, Henry N. Pir, 3 pp
3:18:04 PM
             {Exhibit} 4: HB 2229, written testimony, Susan Hansen, 4 pp
3:22:58 PM
             {Exhibit} 5: HB 2229, written testimony, Robert Emmons, 1 p
3:25:17 PM
             {Exhibit} 6: HB 2229, written testimony, Sara O'Brien, 1 p
3:27:30 PM
             {Exhibit} 7: HB 2229, written testimony, Jim Gilbert, 1 p
3:30:17 PM
             {Exhibit} 8: HB 2229, written testimony, Sarah Deumling, 1 p
3:32:33 PM
             {Exhibit} 9: HB 2229, written testimony, Dave Adams, 4 pp
3:35:13 PM
3:38:52 PM
             {Exhibit} 10: HB 2229, written testimony, Mona Linstromberg, 1 p
             {Exhibit} 11: HB 2229, written testimony, Jim Just, 2 pp
3:47:18 PM
             {Exhibit} 12: HB 2229, written testimony, Gary Rhinhart, 1 p
3:49:15 PM
3:52:29 PM
             {Exhibit} 13: HB 2229, written testimony, Kami Kehoe, 7 pp
             {Exhibit} 14: HB 2229, written testimony, David Engen, 2 pp
3:59:50 PM
             {Exhibit} 15: HB 2229, written testimony, Brian Hines, 3 pp
4:09:45 PM
             {Exhibit} 16: HB 2229, written testimony, Brock Howell, 2 pp
4:12:49 PM
             {Exhibit} 17: HB 2229, written testimony, Ralph Stinton, 1 p
4:16:06 PM
             {Exhibit} 18: HB 2229, written testimony, Greg Malinowski, 2 pp
4:32:32 PM
4:35:16 PM
             {Exhibit} 19: HB 2229, written testimony, Dr. Peter Walker, 2 pp
             {Exhibit} 20: HB 2229, written testimony, Joan Zuber 1 p
4:37:58 PM
             {Exhibit} 21: HB 2229, written testimony, James B. Knight, 4 pp
4:39:01 PM
4:39:02 PM
             {Exhibit} 22: HB 2229, written testimony, Shelley Wetherell, 2 pp
4:39:03 PM {Exhibit} 23: HB 2229, written testimony, Robert & Gretchen
             Pederson, 1 p
4:39:04 PM {Exhibit} 24: HB 2229, written testimony, C. William Boyd, 2 pp
             {Exhibit} 25: HB 2229, written testimony, Greg Morse, 1 p
4:39:05 PM
             {Exhibit} 26: HB 2229, written testimony, Mark Tipperman, 2 pp
4:39:06 PM
             {Exhibit} 27: HB 2229, written testimony, Carol Doty, 5 pp
4:39:07 PM
             {Exhibit} 28: HB 2229, written testimony, Aileen P Kaye, 1 p
4:39:08 PM
             {Exhibit} 29: HB 2229, written testimony, John Brandt, 2 pp
4:39:09 PM
4:39:10 PM {Exhibit} 30: HB 2229, written testimony, Trudy Margules, 1 p
4:39:11 PM
             {Exhibit} 31: HB 2229, written testimony, Michelle Rabin, 1 p
             {Exhibit} 32: HB 2229, written testimony, David Harrison, 1 p
4:39:12 PM
             {Exhibit} 33: HB 2229, written testimony, Phil Drain, 2 pp
4:39:13 PM
4:39:14 PM {Exhibit} 34: HB 2229, written testimony, Patricia H. Ross, 1 p
```