HOUSE COMMITTEE ON LAND USE

February 12, 2009
3:00 P.M.
Hearing Room E

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rep. Mary Nolan, Chair

Rep. Chris Garrett, Vice-Chair Rep. Sal Esquivel, Vice-Chair

Rep. Brian Clem Rep. Jean Cowan Rep. Mitch Greenlick Rep. Bruce Hanna Rep. Matt Wingard

STAFF PRESENT: Cheyenne Ross, Committee Administrator

Joshua Hoyt, Committee Assistant

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: HB 2375 - Work Session

HB 2229 - Work Session

This recording log is in compliance with Senate and House Rules. For complete contents, refer to the digital audio recording.

HLU 2/12/2009 3:06:34 PM

```
3:06:55 PM Meeting Called to Order
3:07:03 PM HB 2375 - Work Session
3:07:18 PM Cheyenne Ross, Committee Administrator
3:07:42 PM Chair Nolan
3:08:12 PM MOTION: Vice-Chair Garrett moves -3 amendments
3:08:13 PM {Exhibit} 1
3:08:19 PM Chair Nolan
3:08:56 PM Jon Delarenzo, lawyer, Davis- Wright-Tremaine, LLC
3:11:50 PM Chair Nolan
3:11:58 PM Rep. Hanna
3:12:30 PM Delarenzo
3:12:57 PM Rep. Hanna
3:13:13 PM Delarenzo
3:13:38 PM Rep. Hanna
3:14:06 PM Delarenzo
3:14:29 PM Chair Nolan
3:14:31 PM Rep. Greenlick
3:14:47 PM Delarenzo
3:16:08 PM Chair Nolan
3:16:22 PM Rep. Greenlick
3:16:37 PM Delarenzo
3:16:55 PM Rep. Greenlick
3:17:06 PM Delarenzo
3:17:33 PM Chair Nolan
3:17:40 PM Vice-Chair Esquivel
3:17:51 PM Delarenzo
3:17:59 PM Vice-Chair Esquivel
3:18:19 PM Delarenzo
3:18:34 PM Chair Nolan
3:18:39 PM Rep. Wingard
3:18:48 PM Delarenzo
3:19:15 PM Chair Nolan
3:19:35 PM Rep. Hanna
3:20:50 PM Chair Nolan
3:20:53 PM Rep. Clem
3:22:47 PM Chair Nolan
3:22:49 PM Rep. Greenlick
3:23:44 PM Chair Nolan
```

3:23:47 PM Vice-Chair Esquivel

```
3:25:04 PM Rep. Wingard
3:26:16 PM Chair Nolan
3:26:19 PM Rep. Hanna
3:26:26 PM Chair Nolan
3:34:06 PM VOTE: 5-3-0
3:34:27 PM Ayes: Reps: Clem, Cowan, Greenlick, Garrett, Nolan; Nays: Hanna,
            Esquivel, Wingard
3:34:30 PM Chair Nolan
3:34:43 PM Vice-Chair Esquivel
3:35:13 PM MOTION: Vice-Chair Esquivel moves -4 amendments
3:35:14 PM {Exhibit} 2
3:35:15 PM Chair Nolan
3:35:30 PM Rep. Hanna
3:37:48 PM Vice-Chair Esquivel
3:39:14 PM Chair Nolan
3:39:18 PM Rep. Clem
3:39:30 PM Chair Nolan
3:39:37 PM VOTE: 3-5-0
3:39:38 PM Ayes: Reps: Hanna, Esquivel, Wingard; Nays: Clem, Cowan,
            Greenlick, Garrett, Nolan
3:40:08 PM MOTION: Vice-Chair Garrett moves HB 2375 DO PASS as
            AMENDED
3:40:14 PM Chair Nolan
3:40:23 PM Rep. Greenlick
3:43:02 PM Chair Nolan
3:43:20 PM Rep. Clem
3:45:40 PM Chair Nolan
3:45:45 PM Rep. Hanna
3:47:27 PM Rep. Wingard
3:47:48 PM Chair Nolan
3:47:58 PM Ross
3:48:00 PM Chair Nolan
3:48:13 PM VOTE: 5-3-0
3:48:14 PM Ayes: Clem, Cowan, Greenlick, Garrett, Nolan; Nays: Hanna,
            Esquivel, Wingard
3:48:43 PM CARRIER: Rep. Clem will lead discussion on the floor
3:48:50 PM Chair Nolan
3:48:53 PM HB 2229 Work Session
3:51:11 PM {Exhibit} 3: John Charles, Jr., President and CEO, Cascade Policy
            Institute
3:55:07 PM Chair Nolan
3:55:42 PM {Exhibit} 4: Mike Jordan, Chief Operating Officer, Metro
4:04:27 PM Chair Nolan
4:04:34 PM Jordan
4:04:47 PM Chair Nolan
4:04:51 PM Vice-Chair Esquivel
```

```
4:05:23 PM Chair Nolan
```

- 4:06:59 PM Todd Cornett, Wasco County Planning Director
- 4:09:58 PM Chair Nolan
- 4:10:02 PM Kent Howe, Lane County Planning Director
- 4:14:14 PM Chair Nolan
- 4:14:18 PM Doug McClain, Clackamas County Planning Director
- **4:17:35 PM** Chair Nolan
- **4:17:41 PM** Matt Spengler, Lincoln County Planning Director
- **4:20:22 PM** Chair Nolan
- 4:20:25 PM Bill Zelenka, Crook County Planning Director
- **4:23:49 PM** Chair Nolan
- **4:24:00 PM** Vice-Chair Esquivel
- **4:24:37 PM** McClain
- **4:24:39 PM** Vice-Chair Esquivel
- 4:24:49 PM Chair Nolan
- 4:25:10 PM Cornett
- **4:25:53 PM** Chair Nolan
- 4:25:57 PM Rep. Greenlick
- 4:26:25 PM Zelenska
- 4:28:32 PM Rep. Greenlick
- 4:29:01 PM McClain
- 4:31:21 PM Zelenska
- **4:33:42 PM** Chair Nolan
- 4:33:46 PM Rep. Cowan
- 4:36:03 PM McClain
- **4:37:43 PM** Chair Nolan
- 4:38:16 PM Rep. Cowan
- 4:38:21 PM Chair Nolan
- 4:38:23 PM Zelenska
- 4:40:22 PM Chair Nolan
- **4:41:13 PM** Spengler
- 4:43:27 PM Rep. Hanna
- **4:45:10 PM** McClain
- 4:45:17 PM Rep. Hanna
- 4:45:51 PM Cornett
- 4:49:43 PM Zelenka
- **4:50:57 PM** Rep. Clem
- **4:51:01 PM** McClain
- 4:52:04 PM Chair Nolan
- 4:52:09 PM Rep. Hanna
- 4:52:59 PM Rep. Clem
- 4:53:32 PM Zelenka
- 4:54:07 PM Rep. Clem
- 4:54:41 PM Zelenka
- 4:55:04 PM Rep. Clem
- **4:55:14 PM** Chair Nolan

```
4:55:18 PM Rep. Greenlick
4:56:52 PM Howe
4:57:18 PM Chair Nolan
4:59:18 PM Vice-Chair Esquivel
4:59:33 PM Chair Nolan
5:00:18 PM Rep. Cowan
5:01:01 PM Chair Nolan
5:01:02 PM The following written testimony was submitted for the record
            without public testimony:
5:01:03 PM {Exhibit} 5: Linda Ludwig, Deputy Legislative Director, League of
            Oregon Cities
5:01:03 PM {Exhibit} 6: Mike Hryekewicz, Portland OR
5:01:03 PM {Exhibit} 7: Jessica Adine, Benton County
5:01:03 PM {Exhibit} 8: Kristin Anderson, Benton County
5:01:03 PM {Exhibit} 9: Lisa Hamiliton-Treick, Portland OR
5:01:03 PM {Exhibit} 10: Debra Higbee, Benton County
5:01:03 PM {Exhibit} 11: Kathryn Jernstedt, Clackamas County
5:01:03 PM {Exhibit} 12: Will Koenitzer, Benton County
5:01:03 PM {Exhibit} 13: Becky Riley, Lane County
5:01:03 PM {Exhibit} 14: Kathy Sayles, City & County not provided
5:01:03 PM {Exhibit} 15: Ralph Chantry, Portland OR
5:01:03 PM {Exhibit} 16: Jerry Diethelm, Lane County
5:01:03 PM {Exhibit} 17: Jake Gibbs, Douglas County
5:01:03 PM {Exhibit} 18: Ken Henschel, Portland OR
5:01:03 PM {Exhibit} 19: Richard Holcomb, Douglas County
5:01:03 PM {Exhibit} 20: Stephen Klein, President, EnviroEye of Oregon,
            Portland OR
5:01:03 PM {Exhibit} 21: Bill Merchant, Beavercreek OR
5:01:03 PM {Exhibit} 22: Julie Russell, Washington County
5:01:03 PM {Exhibit} 23: Duane Weeks, Clackamas County
5:01:06 PM Meeting Adjourned
```

HLU 2/12/2009 3:06:34 PM

```
3:08:13 PM {Exhibit} 1: HB 2375, -3 amendments, staff, 2 pp
3:35:14 PM {Exhibit} 2: HB 2375, -4 amendments, staff, 1 p
3:51:11 PM {Exhibit} 3: HB 2229, written testimony, John Charles, Jr., 3 pp
             {Exhibit} 4: HB 2229, written testimony, Mike Jordan, 5 pp
3:55:42 PM
5:01:03 PM {Exhibit} 5: HB 2229, written testimony, Linda Ludwig, 7 pp
             {Exhibit} 6: HB 2229, written testimony, Mike Hryekewicz, 1 p
5:01:03 PM
             {Exhibit} 7: HB 2229, written testimony, Jessica Adine, 1 p
5:01:03 PM
5:01:03 PM {Exhibit} 8: HB 2229, written testimony, Kristin Anderson, 1 p
            {Exhibit} 9: HB 2229, written testimony, Lisa Hamiliton-Treick, 15 pp
5:01:03 PM
5:01:03 PM {Exhibit} 10: HB 2229, written testimony, Debra Higbee, 1 p
            {Exhibit} 11: HB 2229, written testimony, Kathryn Jernstedt, 2 pp
5:01:03 PM
            {Exhibit} 12: HB 2229, written testimony, Will Koenitzer, 3 pp
5:01:03 PM
5:01:03 PM {Exhibit} 13: HB 2229, written testimony, Becky Riley, 1 p
             {Exhibit} 14: HB 2229, written testimony, Kathy Sayles, 1 p
5:01:03 PM
5:01:03 PM {Exhibit} 15: HB 2229, written testimony, Ralph Chantry, 1 p
5:01:03 PM {Exhibit} 16: HB 2229, written testimony, Jerry Diethelm, 3 pp
             {Exhibit} 17: HB 2229, written testimony, Jake Gibbs, 2 pp
5:01:03 PM
5:01:03 PM {Exhibit} 18: HB 2229, written testimony, Ken Henschel, 2 pp
5:01:03 PM {Exhibit} 19: HB 2229, written testimony, Richard Holcomb, 2 pp
5:01:03 PM {Exhibit} 20: HB 2229, written testimony, Stephen Klein, 4 pp
5:01:03 PM {Exhibit} 21: HB 2229, written testimony, Bill Merchant, 2 pp
5:01:03 PM {Exhibit} 22: HB 2229, written testimony, Julie Russell, 6 pp
5:01:03 PM {Exhibit} 23: HB 2229, written testimony, Duane Weeks, 3 pp
5:01:03 PM {Exhibit} 24: HB 2229, written testimony, staff, 2 pp
```
