## SENATE COMMITTEE ON ENVIRONMENT AND NATURAL RESOURCES

March 10, 2009
3:00 P.M.
Hearing Room C

MEMBERS PRESENT: Sen. Jackie Dingfelder, Chair

Sen. Jason Atkinson, Vice-Chair

Sen. Floyd Prozanski Sen. Mark Hass Sen. Brian Boquist

STAFF PRESENT: Beth Herzog, Committee Administrator

Natalie Worley, Committee Assistant

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: SB 631 – Public Hearing

SB 325 – Public Hearing SB 629 – Public Hearing

This recording log is in compliance with Senate and House Rules. For complete contents, refer to the digital audio recording.

## **SENR**

## 3/10/2009 3:05:26 PM

3:05:26 PM 3:05:28 PM 3:06:08 PM 3:06:09 PM 3:06:17 PM	Chair Dingfelder SB 631 - Public Hearing Chair Dingfelder
3:06:34 PM 3:09:31 PM	Chair Dingfelder Christine Svetkovich, Water Quality Administration, Oregon
0.00.011	Department of Environmental Quality
3:09:54 PM	Jennifer Wigal, Standards & Assesments Manager, Oregon
	Department of Environmental Quality
3:11:19 PM	·
3:11:20 PM	{Exhibit} 1: Svetkovich
3:12:19 PM	Chair Dingfelder
3:12:32 PM	, 1
	Detergent Association
	{Exhibit} 2: Griesing
3:15:17 PM	•
3:15:35 PM	3
	Chair Dingfelder
3:16:13 PM	•
3:17:06 PM	
3:17:44 PM	, 1
3:17:45 PM 3:20:42 PM	{Exhibit} 3: Marshall Andrea Salinas, Legislative Director, Oregon Environmental
3.20.42 F W	Council
3:20:43 PM	{Exhibit} 4: Salinas
3:22:33 PM	Chair Dingfelder
3:22:52 PM	SB 325 - Public Hearing
3:22:53 PM	•
3:22:55 PM	<b>ο</b> ,
3:22:56 PM	{Exhibit} 5: Herzog
3:23:16 PM	3
3:23:47 PM	Sen. Rick Metsger, Senate District 26
3:23:48 PM	{Exhibit} 6: Sen. Metsger
3:26:39 PM	
3:26:40 PM	
3:33:05 PM	Chair Dingfelder
3:33:30 PM	Michael Morrissey, Policy Analyst, Department of Land Conservation and Development

```
3:35:13 PM Chair Dingfelder
3:35:20 PM Morrissey
3:36:27 PM Chair Dingfelder
3:36:38 PM Sen. Prozanski
3:36:46 PM Chair Dingfelder
3:36:49 PM Sen. Boquist
3:37:04 PM Morrissey
3:37:19 PM Chair Dingfelder
3:37:45 PM Sen. Prozanski
3:37:55 PM Chair Dingfelder
3:39:02 PM James Gindlesperger, Deschutes County Oregon
3:39:03 PM {Exhibit} 8: Gindlesperger
3:42:42 PM Harry Ketrenos, Deschutes County Oregon
3:42:43 PM {Exhibit} 9: Ketrenos
3:45:15 PM Leslie Ketrenos, Deschutes County Oregon
3:45:16 PM {Exhibit} 10: Ketrenos
3:45:17 PM {Exhibit} 11: Ketrenos
3:49:02 PM Nicole Stephens, Deschutes County Oregon
3:49:03 PM {Exhibit} 12: Stephens
3:51:05 PM Ed Whitelaw, Deschutes County Oregon
3:51:06 PM {Exhibit} 13: Whitelaw
3:54:10 PM Chair Dingfelder
3:54:20 PM Bob Horning, Horning's Hideout, North Plains Oregon
3:54:21 PM {Exhibit} 14: Horning
3:57:23 PM Chair Dingfelder
3:57:27 PM Vice-Chair Atkinson
3:57:59 PM Whitelaw
3:58:01 PM Vice-Chair Atkinson
3:58:29 PM Whitelaw
3:58:33 PM Vice-Chair Atkinson
3:58:43 PM Chair Dingfelder
3:59:31 PM Jim Kessinger, Farmer, Multomah County Oregon
4:02:47 PM Chair Dingfelder
4:02:59 PM Art Schlack, representing Association Oregon Counties
4:06:04 PM Shawn Cleave, representative, Oregon Farm Bureau
4:06:05 PM {Exhibit} 15: Cleave
4:08:13 PM Chair Dingfelder
4:08:45 PM Alec Jensen, Executive Assistant, Tualatin Valley Fire Department
4:10:04 PM Eric McMullen, representative, Oregon Fire Marshall Association,
            McMinnville Fire Department
4:10:23 PM Sen. Boquist
4:10:34 PM Chair Dingfelder
4:10:40 PM Danielle Welliever, Legislative Affairs Director, 1000 Friends of
            Oregon
4:10:41 PM {Exhibit} 16: Welliever
4:12:20 PM Chair Dingfelder
```

```
4:12:49 PM Andrew Stamp, Land Use Attorney, Grower Direct and Aurora
            Colonies Vineyard
4:12:50 PM {Exhibit} 17: Stamp
4:16:38 PM Chair Dingfelder
4:16:44 PM Stamp
4:17:06 PM Jennifer Sturm, Aurora Oregon
4:18:08 PM John Moore, Owner, Grower Direct
4:18:09 PM {Exhibit} 18: Moore
4:20:36 PM Chair Dingfelder
4:20:58 PM Peter Kenagy, Farmer, Benton County Oregon
4:22:07 PM Chair Dingfelder
4:22:21 PM SB 629 - Public Hearing
4:22:22 PM Chair Dingfelder
4:22:29 PM Beth Herzog, Committee Administrator
4:22:51 PM Chair Dingfelder
4:23:20 PM Don Farrar, Weed Control Specialist, Gilliam County
4:23:21 PM {Exhibit} 19: Farrar
4:25:29 PM Herzog
4:25:37 PM Farrar
4:27:35 PM Lisa Hanson, Deputy Director, Oregon Department of Agriculture
4:27:57 PM Tim Buttler, Manager, Noxious Weed Program, Department of
            Agriculture
4:30:09 PM Chair Dingfelder
4:32:05 PM Farrar
4:32:42 PM Chair Dingfelder
4:32:46 PM Farrar
4:32:52 PM Chair Dingfelder
4:32:55 PM Hanson
4:33:34 PM Chair Dingfelder
4:34:08 PM Buttler
4:35:07 PM Chair Dingfelder
4:35:35 PM Hanson
4:36:02 PM Farrar
4:36:44 PM Chair Dingfelder
4:37:04 PM Farrar
4:37:18 PM Chair Dingfelder
4:37:56 PM Dave Pranger, County Weed Control Supervison, Morrow County
4:41:22 PM Allen Schnetzky, Wallowa County Vegetation Manager
4:43:48 PM Gil Riddell, representing Association Oregon Counties
4:44:08 PM Chair Dingfelder
4:45:01 PM Schnetzky
4:45:20 PM Chair Dingfelder
4:46:00 PM Dan Sherwin, Deschutes County Vegetation Manager
4:48:35 PM Tanya Beard, Marion County Weed Control District
4:48:36 PM {Exhibit} 20: Beard
4:51:26 PM Vern Holm, Coordinator, Northwest Weed Management Partnership
```

```
4:51:27 PM {Exhibit} 21: Holm
4:53:18 PM Chair Dingfelder
4:53:26 PM Vice-Chair Atkinson
4:53:32 PM Holm
4:54:10 PM Vice-Chair Atkinson
4:54:17 PM Chair Dingfelder
4:54:22 PM Holm
4:54:29 PM Chair Dingfelder
4:54:32 PM Holm
4:54:35 PM Chair Dingfelder
4:54:55 PM Lisa DeBruycker, Coordinator, Oregon Invasive Species Council
4:54:56 PM {Exhibit} 22: DeBruycker
4:56:16 PM Chair Dingfelder
4:56:31 PM Terry Witt, representative, American Colony Weed Advisory Board
4:59:06 PM Jim Welsh, representative, Oregon Cattleman, Oregon State
            Grange, Wallowa County Livestock Association
4:59:39 PM Chair Dingfelder
4:59:41 PM Sen. Boquist
4:59:50 PM DeBruycker
5:00:00 PM Chair Dingfelder
5:00:01 PM The following written testimony was submitted for the record
            without public testimony:
5:00:02 PM {Exhibit} 23: Dean Marriott, City of Portland, Environmental
            Services
5:00:03 PM {Exhibit} 24: Trevor Steele, Legislative Analyst, City of Eugene
```

5:00:20 PM Meeting Adjourned

## SENR 3/10/2009 3:05:26 PM

```
3:11:20 PM {Exhibit} 1: SB 631, testimony, Christine Svetkovich, 2 pp
3:12:33 PM {Exhibit} 2: SB 631, testimony, Dennis Griesing, 5 pp
3:17:45 PM {Exhibit} 3: SB 631, testimony, Sue Marshall, 25 pp
3:20:43 PM
            {Exhibit} 4: SB 631, testimony, Andrea Salinas, 1 p
3:22:56 PM {Exhibit} 5: SB 325, email testimony packet, staff, 21 pp
            {Exhibit} 6: SB 325, amendment, Sen. Metsger, 1 p
3:23:48 PM
            {Exhibit} 7: SB 325, testimony, Shirley Wilson, 5 pp
3:26:40 PM
3:39:03 PM {Exhibit} 8: SB 325, testimony, James Gindlesperger, 4 pp
            {Exhibit} 9: SB 325, testimony, Harry Ketrenos, 1 p
3:42:43 PM
3:45:16 PM {Exhibit} 10: SB 325, testimony, Leslie Ketrenos, 2 p
3:45:17 PM {Exhibit} 11: SB 325, picture board, Leslie Ketrenos, oversized
            {Exhibit} 12: SB 325, testimony, Nicole Stephens, 1 p
3:49:03 PM
3:51:06 PM {Exhibit} 13: SB 325, testimony, Ed Whitelaw, 4 pp
3:54:21 PM
            {Exhibit} 14: SB 325, testimony, Bob Horning, 3 pp
4:06:05 PM {Exhibit} 15: SB 325, testimony, Shawn Cleave, 5 pp
4:10:41 PM {Exhibit} 16: SB 325, testimony, Danielle Welliever, 1 p
            {Exhibit} 17: SB 325, testimony, Andrew Stamp, 15 pp
4:12:50 PM
4:18:09 PM {Exhibit} 18: SB 325, testimony, John Moore, 18 pp
4:23:21 PM {Exhibit} 19: SB 629, testimony, Don Farrar, 25 pp
4:48:36 PM {Exhibit} 20: SB 629, testimony, Tanya Beard, 1 p
4:51:27 PM {Exhibit} 21: SB 629, testimony, Vern Holm, 4 pp
4:54:56 PM {Exhibit} 22: SB 629, testimony, Lisa DeBruycker, 1 p
5:00:02 PM {Exhibit} 23: SB 629, testimony, Dean Marriott, 1 p
5:00:03 PM {Exhibit} 24: SB 629, testimony, Trevor Steele, 1 p
```

\_\_\_\_\_