SENATE COMMITTEE ON ENVIRONMENT AND NATURAL RESOURCES

April 09, 2009 3:00 P.M. Hearing Room C

MEMBERS PRESENT:	Sen. Jackie Dingfelder, Chair Sen. Jason Atkinson, Vice-Chair Sen. Floyd Prozanski Sen. Mark Hass Sen. Brian Boquist
STAFF PRESENT:	Beth Herzog, Committee Administrator Natalie Worley, Committee Assistant

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: SB 80 – Public Hearing

This recording log is in compliance with Senate and House Rules. For complete contents, refer to the digital audio recording.

SENR 4/9/2009 3:08:07 PM

3:08:10 PM 3:08:40 PM 3:08:41 PM 3:10:07 PM 3:10:15 PM	Meeting Called to Order Chair Dingfelder SB 80 - Public Hearing Chair Dingfelder Doug Tookey, Legislative Council {Exhibit} 1: Tookey Chair Dingfelder
3:15:42 PM	Bill Bradbury, citizen, Bandon, Oregon
	Chair Dingfelder
	Sen. David Nelson, Senate District 29
	{Exhibit} 2: Sen. Nelson
	Chair Dingfelder
	Andrea Durbin, Executive Director, Oregon Environmental Council
3:24:29 PM 3:24:40 PM	Dennis Wilde, Senior Project Manager, Gerding Edlen {Exhibit} 3: Wilde
	David Van't Hof, Sustainability Advisor, Governor's Office
	Mike Grainey, Director, Oregon Department of Energy
	Chair Dingfelder
	Sen. Boquist
3:29:20 PM	•
3:30:20 PM	Chair Dingfelder
3:31:00 PM	John Morris, Director, Fluid Market Strategies
	{Exhibit} 4: Morris
	Kelly Hoell, Associate, Good Company
3:32:50 PM	{Exhibit} 5: Hoell
	Brock Howell, Transportation Advocate, Environment Oregon
3:34:50 PM	
3:36:29 PM 3:37:28 PM	Chair Dingfelder Bob Russell, President, Oregon Trucking Association
	{Exhibit} 7: Russell
3:39:55 PM	
3:40:17 PM	•
	Russell
3:40:44 PM	Chair Dingfelder
3:41:05 PM	Tim Miller, President, Green Lite Motors Corporation
	{Exhibit} 8: Miller
	Chair Dingfelder
3:43:28 PM	Craig Campbell, American Automobile Association
3:45:33 PM	Chair Dingfelder

3:45:36 PM	Sen. Prozanski
3:45:51 PM	Campbell
	Chair Dingfelder
	Jennifer Hudson, Ash Grove Cement Company
	Fred Warner, Commission Chair, Baker County
	Chair Dingfelder
	Sen. Prozanski
3:50:10 PM	
	Chair Dingfelder
3:50:50 PM	
	Chair Dingfelder
	{Exhibit} 9: Chair Dingfelder
	Chair Dingfelder
3:52:05 PW	Marcy Putman, Political Affairs Representative, International
2.52.06 DM	Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local 125
	{Exhibit} 10: Putman
	Scott Bolton, Governmental Affairs Director, PacifiCorp Chair Dingfelder
3:55:27 PM	0
	Dave Robertson, Government Affairs Director, Portland General
5.57.25 T M	Electric
3:59:42 PM	Chair Dingfelder
4:00:31 PM	•
	Chair Dingfelder
4:01:33 PM	
	Chair Dingfelder
4:02:05 PM	
4:02:57 PM	Chair Dingfelder
4:03:36 PM	Robertson
4:04:15 PM	Bolton
4:05:14 PM	Chair Dingfelder
4:05:53 PM	
	Chair Dingfelder
	Sen. Prozanski
4:07:34 PM	
	Sen. Prozanski
4:08:33 PM	
4:09:39 PM	
-	Vice-Chair Atkinson
4:13:05 PM	
	Chair Dingfelder
	Sen. Prozanski
4:16:08 PM	Bolton Sen. Prozanski
4:16:56 PM 4:17:05 PM	
4:17:05 PM	
→. <i>\/</i> .4 F1VI	

4-40-45 DM	North Obsethers, sitistic di Diver, Orenser
	North Cheatham, citizen, Hood River, Oregon
	{Exhibit} 11: Cheatham
4:21:19 PW	Paul Cathcart, Executive Director, Association of Northwest
4 04 00 DI	Steelheaders
	{Exhibit} 12: Cathcart
	Chair Dingfelder
4:23:18 PM	Stewart Liebowitz, member, Douglas County Global Warming
	Coalition
	{Exhibit} 13: Liebowitz
	Catherine Thomasson, Oregon Physicians for Social Responsibility
	{Exhibit} 14: Thomasson
	Chair Dingfelder
	Bob Jenks, Executive Director, Citizen's Utility Board
4:30:12 PW	Rachel Shimshak, Executive Director, Renewable Northwest
4.21.00 DM	Project {Exhibit} 15: Shimshak
	Ivan Maluski, Conservation Coordinator, Oregon Chapter Sierra
4.32.27 FIVI	Club
1.32.57 DM	{Exhibit} 16: Maluski
	Jeff Stone, Director of Government Relations, Oregon Association
4.04.0111	of Nurseries
4:36:50 PM	Vice-Chair Atkinson
4:38:20 PM	
	Vice-Chair Atkinson
4:39:00 PM	Maluski
4:41:05 PM	Chair Dingfelder
4:41:09 PM	Vice-Chair Atkinson
4:41:14 PM	Shimshak
4:42:11 PM	Vice-Chair Atkinson
4:43:09 PM	Jenks
4:44:43 PM	Sen. Boquist
4:45:59 PM	Jenks
	Sen. Boquist
4:46:59 PM	Chair Dingfelder
4:48:50 PM	Richard Owen, citizen, Albany, Oregon
	Gary Graunke, citizen, Hillsboro, Oregon
4:50:45 PM	
4:53:10 PM	Kevin Owens, Chair, Oregon People's Utility District Association
4:53:17 PM	{Exhibit} 18: Owens
4:55:55 PM	Barry Bushue, President, Oregon Farm Bureau Association
4:57:59 PM	Chair Dingfelder
4:58:04 PM	Sen. Boquist
4:58:55 PM	
4:59:31 PM	6
5:00:12 PM	Steve Gutmann, Senior Commercialization Manager, EcoSecurities Mike Siebers, President, Blue Heron Paper Company
J.UJ.UZ FIVI	WING DIEDERS, FIESINEIIL, DINE HEIVIT FAPEL CUITPAILY

5:03:02 PM Mike Siebers, President, Blue Heron Paper Company

5:03:30 PM	{Exhibit} 19: Siebers
	Gordon Faulks, physicist
	{Exhibit} 20: Faulks
	Neil Nelson, President, Siltronic
	Chair Dingfelder
	Mike Gaudern, President, Woodlands Carbon Company
	{Exhibit} 21: Gaudern
	Tom O'Connor, Oregon Municipal Electric Utilities Association
	{Exhibit} 22: O'Connor
	Sandy Flicker, Oregon Rural Electric Cooperative Association
	Chair Dingfelder
5:18:55 PM	The following written testimony was submitted for the record
	without public testimony:
5:18:56 PM	{Exhibit} 23: Marianne Fitzgerald, citizen, Portland, Oregon
5:18:57 PM	{Exhibit} 24: Jenna Kaluza, National Federation of Independent
	Business
5:18:58 PM	{Exhibit} 25: Eric Fruits, President, Economics International
	Corporation
5:18:59 PM	{Exhibit} 26: Brian Konen, General Manager, West Linn Paper
	Company
5:19:00 PM	{Exhibit} 27: Chuck Hill, citizen, Bend, Oregon
5:19:02 PM	{Exhibit} 28: Tom Bender, Sustainable Architecture and Economics
5:19:04 PM	{Exhibit} 29: Jeff Thomas, Director, Site Services and Facilities
	Management, Microchip Technology Incorporated
5:19:20 PM	Meeting Adjourned

SENR 4/9/2009 3:08:07 PM

3:10:15 PM 3:18:50 PM 3:24:40 PM 3:31:05 PM 3:32:50 PM 3:32:50 PM 3:34:50 PM 3:37:47 PM 3:51:10 PM 3:51:10 PM 3:51:10 PM 4:21:30 PM 4:23:29 PM 4:23:29 PM 4:25:24 PM 4:31:09 PM 4:32:57 PM 4:50:45 PM 4:50:45 PM 5:03:30 PM 5:06:19 PM 5:13:50 PM 5:18:56 PM 5:18:57 PM 5:18:57 PM 5:18:58 PM 5:18:58 PM 5:19:00 PM 5:19:00 PM	{Exhibit} 1: SB 80, -3 amendments, staff, 25 pp {Exhibit} 2: SB 80, written testimony, Sen. Nelson, 7 pp {Exhibit} 3: SB 80, written testimony, John Morris, 1 p {Exhibit} 4: SB 80, written testimony, John Morris, 1 p {Exhibit} 5: SB 80, written testimony, Kelly Hoell, 1 p {Exhibit} 6: SB 80, written testimony, Brock Howell, 2 pp {Exhibit} 7: SB 80, written testimony, Bob Russell, 1 p {Exhibit} 8: SB 80, written testimony, Trevor Steele, 1 p {Exhibit} 9: SB 80, written testimony, Marcy Putman, 1 p {Exhibit} 10: SB 80, written testimony, North Cheatham, 1 p {Exhibit} 11: SB 80, written testimony, North Cheatham, 1 p {Exhibit} 12: SB 80, written testimony, Stuart Liebowitz, 1 p {Exhibit} 13: SB 80, written testimony, Catherine Thomasson, 1 p {Exhibit} 14: SB 80, written testimony, Rachel Shimshak, 2 pp {Exhibit} 15: SB 80, written testimony, Rachel Shimshak, 2 pp {Exhibit} 16: SB 80, written testimony, Gary Graunke, 5 pp {Exhibit} 17: SB 80, written testimony, Gordon Faulks, 1 p {Exhibit} 19: SB 80, written testimony, Mike Siebers, 1 p {Exhibit} 20: SB 80, written testimony, Mike Gaudern, 3 pp {Exhibit} 21: SB 80, written testimony, Marianne Fitzgerald, 1 p {Exhibit} 22: SB 80, written testimony, Marianne Fitzgerald, 1 p {Exhibit} 24: SB 80, written testimony, Jenna Kaluza, 1 p {Exhibit} 25: SB 80, written testimony, Jenna Kaluza, 1 p {Exhibit} 26: SB 80, written testimony, Brian Konen, 1 p {Exhibit} 27: SB 80, written testimony, Brian Konen, 1 p {Exhibit} 27: SB 80, written testimony, Chuck Hill, 5 pp {Exhibit} 27: SB 80, written testimony, Tom Dender 1 p
5:19:00 PM 5:19:02 PM 5:19:04 PM	{Exhibit} 28: SB 80, written testimony, Tom Bender, 1 p {Exhibit} 29: SB 80, written testimony, Jeff Thomas, 10 pp