SENATE COMMITTEE ON ENVIRONMENT AND NATURAL RESOURCES

April 23, 2009 3:00 P.M.	
MEMBERS PRESENT:	Sen. Jackie Dingfelder, Chair Sen. Jason Atkinson, Vice-Chair Sen. Floyd Prozanski Sen. Mark Hass Sen. Brian Boquist
STAFF PRESENT:	Beth Herzog, Committee Administrator Natalie Worley, Committee Assistant
MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD:	SB 741 – Public Hearing SB 740 – Work Session SB 38 – Work Session SB 763 – Work Session SB 528 – Work Session

This recording log is in compliance with Senate and House Rules. For complete contents, refer to the digital audio recording.

Hearing Room C

SENR 4/23/2009 3:06:00 PM

2.0C.04 DM	Masting Colled to Order
	Meeting Called to Order
3:06:03 PM	0
	SB 741 - Public Hearing Chair Dingfelder
3:07:35 PM	
3:07:52 PM	
3:09:00 PM	
3:11:18 PM	
3:11:47 PM	
	{Exhibit} 2: Hatfield
	Wayne Fording, Commissioner, Jefferson County
3:15:57 PM	
	Sen. Boquist
	Vice-Chair Atkinson
3:17:05 PM	
3:17:45 PM	
3:18:21 PM	0
3:18:41 PM	Sen. Boquist
3:18:58 PM	
3:19:13 PM	Jeff Rasmussen, County Administrative Officer, Jefferson County
3:19:22 PM	{Exhibit} 3: Rasmussen
3:22:30 PM	Chair Dingfelder
3:22:36 PM	Rasmussen
3:23:42 PM	Chair Dingfelder
3:23:48 PM	Rasmussen
	David Allen, Jefferson County
	{Exhibit} 4: Allen
3:32:00 PM	0
3:32:07 PM	
	Chair Dingfelder
	Vice-Chair Atkinson
3:33:51 PM	
	Vice-Chair Atkinson
3:34:40 PM	-
	Vice-Chair Atkinson
3:35:52 PM	
	Chair Dingfelder
3:36:15 PM	Sen. Boquist

3:36:40 PM Rasmussen

3:36:52 PM	Chair Dingfelder
	Greg Macpherson, member, Land Conservation and Development
	Commission
2.40.20 DM	Chair Dingfelder
	5
	{Exhibit} 5: Chair Dingfelder
	Richard Whitman, Director, Land Conservation and Development
3:40:59 PM	
4:00:03 PM	5
4:00:07 PM	Vice-Chair Atkinson
4:00:26 PM	Whitman
4:02:18 PM	Vice-Chair Atkinson
4:02:23 PM	Whitman
4:03:48 PM	Vice-Chair Atkinson
4:04:03 PM	
	Vice-Chair Atkinson
4:04:34 PM	
	Vice-Chair Atkinson
4:04:54 PM	
	Macpherson
	Vice-Chair Atkinson
4:07:10 PM	
	Sen. Boquist
4:10:31 PM	
	Chair Dingfelder
4:13:06 PM	
	Sen. Prozanski
4:13:45 PM	
4:13:49 PM	
4:13:59 PM	
4:14:03 PM	Sen. Boquist
4:14:22 PM	Whitman
4:14:27 PM	Chair Dingfelder
4:15:28 PM	
4:16:32 PM	Chair Dingfelder
4:17:31 PM	Whitman
4:18:12 PM	Chair Dingfelder
4:19:06 PM	SB 740 - Work Session
4:19:14 PM	Beth Herzog, Committee Administrator
	{Exhibit} 7: Herzog
4:19:44 PM	
	RECOMMENDATION & REFER to Ways & Means by prior
	reference
4·20·14 PM	VOTE: 3-2-0
	Ayes: Hass, Prozanski, Dingfelder; Nays: Atkinson, Boquist
	SB 38 - Work Session
	Both Herzeg Committee Administrator

4:20:37 PM Beth Herzog, Committee Administrator

4:21:00 PM	{Exhibit} 8: Herzog
4:21:25 PM	{Exhibit} 9: Herzog
4:21:33 PM	MOTION: Sen. Prozanski moves -1 amendments
4:21:50 PM	VOTE: 5-0-0
4:21:51 PM	Ayes: Atkinson, Boquist, Hass, Prozanski, Dingfelder
4:21:52 PM	
4:22:07 PM	Vice-Chair Atkinson
4:22:12 PM	Chair Dingfelder
4:22:20 PM	VOTE: 5-0-0
4:22:25 PM	Ayes: Atkinson, Boquist, Hass, Prozanski, Dingfelder
4:22:30 PM	CARRIER: SEN. DINGFELDER will lead discussion on the floor
4:22:42 PM	SB 763 - Work Session
4:22:44 PM	Beth Herzog, Committee Administrator
4:22:59 PM	{Exhibit} 10: Herzog
4:23:05 PM	{Exhibit} 11: Herzog
4:23:22 PM	Chair Dingfelder
4:23:30 PM	MOTION: Sen. Prozanski moves -2 amendments
4:23:46 PM	Sen. Boquist
4:24:04 PM	5
4:24:08 PM	VOTE: 5-0-0
4:24:09 PM	Ayes: Atkinson, Boquist, Hass, Prozanski, Dingfelder
4:24:10 PM	
	VOTE: 5-0-0
	Ayes: Atkinson, Boquist, Hass, Prozanski, Dingfelder
	CARRIER: SEN. SCHRADER will lead discussion on the floor
4:24:52 PM	
	Beth Herzog, Committee Administrator
	{Exhibit} 12: Herzog
	{Exhibit} 13: Herzog
	MOTION: Sen. Prozanski moves -7 amendments
	VOTE: 3-2-0
4:26:08 PM	
	SB 741 - Public Hearing
	Chair Dingfelder
	Hasina Squires, Dutch Pacific Resources
	{Exhibit} 14: Squires
	Stephen Pfeiffer, Land Use Attorney, Perkins Coie
	{Exhibit} 15: Pfeiffer
4:35:20 PM	
	Chair Dingfelder
4:39:05 PM	•
4:40:44 PM	5
4:40:59 PM	
	Chair Dingfelder
	Vice-Chair Atkinson
4:41:54 PM	Lunagren

	Vice-Chair Atkinson
4:42:13 PM	
	Vice-Chair Atkinson
	Chair Dingfelder
4:43:41 PM	Michael Mason, Confederated Tribes of the Warm Springs
4-44-55 DM	Reservation of Oregon
	{Exhibit} 16: Mason
4:47:19 PM 4:47:29 PM	Vice-Chair Atkinson
-	Vice-Chair Atkinson
	Doug Hancock, citizen, Camp Sherman, Oregon
	{Exhibit} 17: Hancock
	Sen. Prozanski
4:51:06 PM	
	Dennis Chapman, citizen, Portland, Oregon
	{Exhibit} 18: Chapman
	Chair Dingfelder
	Sam Pfeiffer, citizen, Portland, Oregon
4:54:18 PM	{Exhibit} 19: Pfeiffer
4:55:28 PM	Jon Skidmore, Land Use Consultant, Skidmore Land Use Services
4:56:22 PM	{Exhibit} 20: Skidmore
	Chair Dingfelder
	Mike Eliason, Policy Manager, Association of Oregon Counties
	Tom Wolf, Executive Director, Trout Unlimited
	Gergory McClarren, President, Friends of the Metolius
	{Exhibit} 21: McClarren
	Chair Dingfelder
5:05:54 PM	Sen. Boquist McClarren
5:06:07 PM 5:06:13 PM	
5:06:21 PM	
5:06:33 PM	
	McClarren
	Sen. Boquist
	Chair Dingfelder
5:08:30 PM	Erik Kancler, Executive Director, Central Oregon Landwatch
5:10:10 PM	Brock Howell, Land Use Advocate, Environment Oregon
5:13:29 PM	
5:17:05 PM	Vice-Chair Atkinson
5:18:00 PM	
	Vice-Chair Atkinson
5:18:33 PM	
	Vice-Chair Atkinson
5:18:46 PM	
5:18:51 PM 5:19:54 PM	
5.19.54 FIVI	Nailuei

- 5:20:26 PM Moskowitz
- 5:20:56 PM Howell
- 5:21:54 PM Sen. Boquist
- 5:22:07 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 5:22:39 PM Wayne Fording, Commissioner, Jefferson County
- 5:23:30 PM Chair Dingfelder
- **5:24:01 PM** Douglas Woodcock, Manager, Ground Water Hydrology Section, Oregon Water Resources Department
- 5:28:05 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 5:28:52 PM Woodcock
- 5:29:37 PM Sen. Boquist
- 5:31:11 PM Woodcock
- 5:32:40 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 5:33:07 PM Woodcock
- 5:33:21 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 5:33:30 PM Woodcock
- 5:34:00 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 5:34:13 PM Woodcock
- 5:35:42 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 5:35:53 PM Sen. Boquist
- 5:36:08 PM Woodcock
- 5:36:30 PM Chair Dingfelder
- **5:36:33 PM** The following written testimony was submitted for the record without public testimony:
- **5:36:35 PM** {Exhibit} 22: Carol Macbeth, Central Oregon Advocate, 1000 Friends of Oregon
- 5:36:37 PM {Exhibit} 23: Theodore Kulongoski, Governor, State of Oregon
- 5:36:54 PM Meeting Adjourned

SENR 4/23/2009 3:06:00 PM

3:11:18 PM	{Exhibit} 1: SB 741, written testimony, Mike Ahern, 95 pp
3:11:56 PM	{Exhibit} 2: SB 741, written testimony, John Hatfield, 3 pp
3:19:22 PM	{Exhibit} 3: SB 741, maps, Jeff Rasmussen, 5 pp
3:26:18 PM	{Exhibit} 4: SB 741, written testimony, David Allen, 8 pp
3:40:39 PM	{Exhibit} 5: SB 741, -2 amendment, staff, 2 pp
3:40:59 PM	{Exhibit} 6: SB 741, written testimony, Richard Whitman, 20 pp
4:19:41 PM	{Exhibit} 7: SB 740, emailed testimony packet, staff, 6 pp
4:21:00 PM	{Exhibit} 8: SB 38, -1 amendment, staff, 1 p
4:21:25 PM	{Exhibit} 9: SB 38, written testimony, Scott Bolton, 1 p
4:22:59 PM	{Exhibit} 10: SB 763, -2 amendment, staff, 8 pp
4:22:59 PM	{Exhibit} 11: SB 763, emailed testimony packet, staff, 10 pp
4:25:16 PM	{Exhibit} 12: SB 528, -7 amendment, staff, 14 pp
4:25:16 PM	{Exhibit} 13: SB 528, emailed testimony packet, staff, 4 pp
4:31:07 PM	{Exhibit} 14: SB 741, written testimony, Hasina Squires, 5 pp
4:31:45 PM	{Exhibit} 15: SB 741, -1 amendment, Stephen Pfeiffer, 4 pp
4:44:55 PM	{Exhibit} 16: SB 741, written testimony, Michael Mason, 7 pp
4:49:00 PM	{Exhibit} 17: SB 741, written testimony, Doug Hancock, 2 pp
4:52:24 PM	{Exhibit} 18: SB 741, written testimony, Dennis Chapman, 2 pp
4:52:24 PM	{Exhibit} 18: SB 741, written testimony, Dennis Chapman, 2 pp
4:54:18 PM	{Exhibit} 19: SB 741, written testimony, Sam Pfeiffer, 1 p
4:56:22 PM	{Exhibit} 20: SB 741, written testimony, Jon Skidmore, 2 pp
5:04:10 PM	{Exhibit} 21: SB 741, written testimony, Gregory McClarren, 1 p
5:36:35 PM	{Exhibit} 22: SB 741, written testimony, Carol Macbeth, 1 p
5:36:35 PM	{Exhibit} 22: SB 741, written testimony, Carol Macbeth, 1 p
5:36:37 PM	{Exhibit} 23: SB 741, written testimony, Theodore Kulongoski, 4 pp