## SENATE COMMITTEE ON RULES

January 22, 2009 10:30 A.M. Hearing Room C

MEMBERS PRESENT:	Sen. Richard Devlin, Chair Sen. Ted Ferrioli, Vice-Chair Sen. Jason Atkinson Sen. Ginny Burdick Sen. Rick Metsger
STAFF PRESENT:	Lisa Nuss, Committee Administrator Brian Worley, Committee Assistant
MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD:	SB 61 – Public Hearing SB 29 – Public Hearing

This recording log is in compliance with Senate and House Rules. For complete contents, refer to the digital audio recording.

SRULES 1/22/2009 10:36:34 AM

10:36:39 AM Meeting Called to Order

10:36:44 AM Chair Devlin

10:38:07 AM Lisa Nuss, Committee Administrator

10:38:08 AM SB 61- Public Hearing

**10:38:28 AM** Bob Estabrook, Legislative & Communications Aide, Oregon Bureau of Labor & Industries

10:38:30 AM {Exhibit} 1: Estabrook

10:40:54 AM Sen. Burdick

10:41:03 AM Estabrook

10:41:23 AM Sen. Burdick

10:41:58 AM Estabrook

10:42:22 AM Chair Devlin

10:42:42 AM Bruce Bishop, Past President, Capitol Club

10:42:43 AM {Exhibit} 2: Bishop

10:50:16 AM Chair Devlin

10:50:20 AM Sen. Metsger

10:51:10 AM Bishop

10:51:54 AM Sen. Metsger

10:52:15 AM Bishop

10:56:23 AM Chair Devlin

10:56:37 AM Sen. Metsger

10:57:00 AM Bishop

10:58:03 AM Chair Devlin

10:58:25 AM SB 29 - Public Hearing

10:58:55 AM Lisa Nuss, Committee Administrator

10:59:20 AM Chair Devlin

**11:00:25 AM** Blair Bobier, Deputy Director, New America Foundation

11:00:26 AM {Exhibit} 3: Bobier

11:03:05 AM Chair Devlin

11:04:00 AM Ken Tollenaar, Committee Member, IRV-Lane County

11:04:01 AM {Exhibit} 4: Tollenaar

**11:07:40 AM** Judith Barnes, Vice-Chair, Election Integrity Caucus of the Democratic Party of Oregon

**11:08:02 AM** {Exhibit} 5: Barnes

11:08:04 AM Barnes

11:12:50 AM Chair Devlin

11:12:59 AM Vice-Chair Ferrioli

11:13:31 AM Chair Devlin

11:13:49 AM Tollenaar

- 11:16:12 AM Chair Devlin
- 11:16:23 AM Vice-Chair Ferrioli
- 11:16:54 AM Chair Devlin
- 11:17:03 AM Vice-Chair Ferrioli
- 11:17:15 AM Chair Devlin
- 11:17:38 AM Nuss
- 11:17:42 AM Chair Devlin
- 11:17:52 AM Ethan Scarl, Member, Alliance for Democracy
- 11:21:08 AM Chair Devlin
- 11:21:14 AM Seth Woolley, Election Activist, Pacific Green Party
- 11:24:18 AM Pamela Vavra, Chief Petitioner, IRV-Ashland
- 11:24:19 AM {Exhibit} 6: Vavra
- 11:28:22 AM Chair Devlin
- 11:28:31 AM Vice-Chair Ferrioli
- 11:29:43 AM Vavra
- 11:30:02 AM Sen. Atkinson
- 11:30:03 AM Chair Devlin
- 11:30:10 AM Georgette Brown, Josephine County Clerk, Oregon Association of County Clerks
- 11:34:35 AM Jan Coleman, Yamhill County Clerk, Oregon Association of County Clerks
- 11:34:36 AM {Exhibit} 7: Coleman
- 11:35:05 AM Jan Coleman
- 11:36:01 AM Chair Devlin
- 11:36:03 AM Sen. Metsger
- 11:36:59 AM Brown
- 11:37:21 AM Sen. Metsger
- 11:38:09 AM Coleman
- 11:38:29 AM Chair Devlin
- 11:38:57 AM Vice-Chair Ferrioli
- 11:39:29 AM Brown
- 11:39:51 AM Vice-Chair Ferrioli
- 11:40:34 AM Chair Devlin
- 11:40:53 AM Sen. Burdick
- 11:41:59 AM Brown
- 11:42:19 AM Sen. Burdick
- 11:42:33 AM Brown
- 11:42:42 AM Sen. Burdick
- 11:42:58 AM Brown
- 11:43:02 AM Sen. Burdick
- 11:43:10 AM Chair Devlin
- 11:43:42 AM Sen. Atkinson
- 11:44:35 AM Chair Devlin
- 11:44:59 AM Brown
- 11:45:00 AM Chair Devlin
- 11:45:39 AM Coleman

- 11:45:46 AM Chair Devlin
- 11:46:14 AM John Gear, Citizen, Salem
- 11:50:28 AM Fillard Rhyne, Citizen, Portland
- 11:53:17 AM Chair Devlin
- 11:53:55 AM Chair Devlin
- 11:54:07 AM Vice-Chair Ferrioli
- **11:54:17 AM** The following written testimony was submitted for the record without public testimony:
- 11:54:18 AM {Exhibit} 8: Maria Iturriaga, County Clerk, Harney County
- 11:54:19 AM {Exhibit} 9: Sen. Jackie Dingfelder
- 11:54:19 AM {Exhibit} 10: David Delk, Co-Chair, Alliance for Democracy
- 11:54:19 AM {Exhibit} 11: Roger Bates, Citizen, Beaverton
- 11:54:19 AM {Exhibit} 12: David Bragdon, President, Metro Council
- 11:54:19 AM {Exhibit} 13: Alan Zundel, President, IRV-Lane County
- 11:54:19 AM {Exhibit} 14: James Nicita, City Commissioner, Oregon City
- 11:54:19 AM {Exhibit} 15: Deborah Whitcomb, Chair, Election Integrity Caucus of the Democratic Party of Oregon
- 11:54:19 AM {Exhibit} 16: Tim Kijoo Nam, Citizen, Corvallis
- 11:54:20 AM Meeting Adjourned

## SRULES 1/22/2009 10:36:34 AM

10:38:30 AM {Exhibit} 1: SB 61, Written Testimony, Bob Estabrook, 1 p 10:42:43 AM {Exhibit} 2: SB 61, Written Testimony, Bruce Bishop, 2 pp **11:00:26 AM** {Exhibit} 3: SB 29, Written Testimony, Blair Bobier, 14 pp 11:04:01 AM {Exhibit} 4: SB 29, Written Testimony, Ken Tollenaar, 1 p 11:08:02 AM {Exhibit} 5: SB 29, Written Testimony, Judith Barnes, 9 pp **11:24:19 AM** {Exhibit} 6: SB 29, Written Testimony, Pam Vavra, 7 pp 11:34:36 AM {Exhibit} 7: SB 29, Written Testimony, Jan Coleman, 1 p 11:54:18 AM {Exhibit} 8: SB 29, Written Testimony, Maria Iturriaga, 2 pp 11:54:19 AM {Exhibit} 9: SB 29, Written Testimony, Sen. Jackie Dingfelder, 1 p 11:54:19 AM {Exhibit} 10: SB 29, Written Testimony, David Delk, 1 p 11:54:19 AM {Exhibit} 11: SB 29, Written Testimony, Roger Bates, 1 p 11:54:19 AM {Exhibit} 12: SB 29, Written Testimony, David Bragdon, 2 pp **11:54:19 AM** {Exhibit} 13: SB 29, Written Testimony, Alan Zundel, 1p 11:54:19 AM {Exhibit} 14: SB 29, Written Testimony, James Nicita, 2 pp 11:54:19 AM {Exhibit} 15: SB 29, Written Testimony, Deborah Whitcomb, 2 pp 11:54:19 AM {Exhibit} 16: SB 29, Written Testimony, Tim Kijoo Nam, 1 p