SENATE COMMITTEE ON RULES

April 3, 2009 Hearing Room C 10:00 A.M.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Sen. Richard Devlin, Chair

Sen. Ted Ferrioli, Vice-Chair

Sen. Jason Atkinson Sen. Ginny Burdick Sen. Rick Metsger

STAFF PRESENT: Lisa Nuss, Committee Administrator

Brian Worley, Committee Assistant

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: SCR 7 – Public Hearing and Work Session

SB 625 – Public Hearing and Work Session SCR 8 – Public Hearing and Work Session

SB 378 – Work Session SB 656 – Public Hearing SJR 11 – Public Hearing

This recording log is in compliance with Senate and House Rules. For complete contents, refer to the digital audio recording.

SRULES

4/3/2009 10:04:34 AM

10:04:34 AM Chair Devlin **10:04:36 AM** Meeting Call

10:04:36 AM Meeting Called to Order

10:04:43 AM SCR 7 - Public Hearing

10:05:00 AM Lisa Nuss, Committee Administrator

10:05:08 AM Chair Devlin

10:05:09 AM Sen. Rod Monroe, Senate District 24

10:07:55 AM Marc Lucca, Citizen, Stayton

10:12:47 AM Chair Devlin

10:13:06 AM SCR 7 - Work Session

10:13:10 AM MOTION: Sen. Atkinson moves SCR 7 BE ADOPTED

10:13:16 AM Chair Devlin

10:13:22 AM Sen. Atkinson

10:13:55 AM VOTE: 5-0-0

10:13:55 AM Ayes: Atkinson, Burdick, Metsger, Ferrioli, Devlin

10:13:56 AM Chair Devlin

10:13:59 AM CARRIER: SEN. MONROE will lead discussion on the floor

10:14:02 AM Chair Devlin

10:14:14 AM SB 625 - Public Hearing

10:14:28 AM Lisa Nuss, Committee Administrator

10:14:38 AM Sen. Larry George, Senate District 13

10:18:20 AM Chair Devlin

10:18:25 AM Rep. Kim Thatcher, House District 25

10:19:27 AM Chair Devlin

10:19:44 AM Greg Leo, President, Friends of Historic Champoeg

10:19:45 AM {Exhibit} 1: Leo

10:21:05 AM Kevin Purcell, Principal, Ewing Young Elementary School

10:21:07 AM {Exhibit} 2: Purcell

10:23:50 AM Chair Devlin

10:23:56 AM Leo

10:24:11 AM Chair Devlin

10:24:15 AM Leo

10:24:52 AM Chair Devlin

10:24:56 AM Sen. Metsger

10:25:18 AM Sen. Burdick

10:25:26 AM Chair Devlin

10:25:50 AM SB 625 - Work Session

10:26:01 AM MOTION: Sen. Atkinson moves SB 625 DO PASS

10:26:04 AM Chair Devlin

10:26:12 AM VOTE: 5-0-0

```
10:26:12 AM Ayes: Atkinson, Burdick, Metsger, Ferrioli, Devlin
```

10:26:15 AM CARRIER: SEN. GEORGE will lead discussion on the floor

10:26:20 AM Chair Devlin

10:26:20 AM SCR 8 - Public Hearing

10:26:35 AM Lisa Nuss, Committee Administrator

10:26:43 AM Vice-Chair Ferrioli

10:29:03 AM Chair Devlin

10:29:06 AM Sen. Atkinson

10:29:14 AM Vice-Chair Ferrioli

10:29:32 AM Chair Devlin

10:30:03 AM Sen. Burdick

10:30:13 AM Chair Devlin

10:30:19 AM SCR 8 - Work Session

10:30:23 AM MOTION: Sen. Ferrioli moves SCR 8 BE ADOPTED

10:30:27 AM Chair Devlin

10:30:35 AM VOTE: 5-0-0

10:30:35 AM Ayes: Atkinson, Burdick, Metsger, Ferrioli, Devlin

10:30:37 AM CARRIER: SEN. FERRIOLI and SEN. BURDICK will lead discussion on the floor

10:31:01 AM Chair Devlin

10:31:10 AM SB 378 - Work Session

10:31:37 AM Lisa Nuss, Committee Administrator

10:31:38 AM {Exhibit} 3: Nuss

10:32:15 AM Chair Devlin

10:32:18 AM MOTION: Sen. Ferrioli moves -1 amendments

10:32:27 AM Chair Devlin **10:32:30 AM** VOTE: 5-0-0

10:32:30 AM Ayes: Atkinson, Burdick, Metsger, Ferrioli, Devlin

10:32:35 AM Chair Devlin

10:32:36 AM MOTION: Sen. Ferrioli moves SB 378 DO PASS as AMENDED

10:32:42 AM Chair Devlin

10:32:49 AM VOTE: 5-0-0

10:32:49 AM Ayes: Atkinson, Burdick, Metsger, Ferrioli, Devlin

10:32:55 AM CARRIER: SEN. METSGER will lead discussion on the floor

10:32:59 AM Chair Devlin

10:33:19 AM Meeting Recessed

10:35:45 AM Meeting Reconvened

10:35:49 AM Chair Devlin

10:35:56 AM SB 656/SJR 11 - Public Hearing

10:36:19 AM Lisa Nuss, Committee Administrator

10:36:20 AM {Exhibit} 4: Nuss

10:36:20 AM {Exhibit} 5: Nuss

10:37:05 AM Sen. Frank Morse, Senate District 8

10:37:06 AM {Exhibit} 6: Sen. Morse

10:47:19 AM Chair Devlin

10:48:23 AM Rep. Larry Galizio, House District 35

```
10:48:24 AM {Exhibit} 7: Rep. Galizio
```

10:52:02 AM Sen. Burdick

10:53:10 AM Chair Devlin

10:53:13 AM Rep. Galizio

10:55:33 AM Chair Devlin

10:55:37 AM Rep. Sal Esquivel, House District 6

10:56:55 AM Chair Devlin

10:57:18 AM Sen. Morse

10:57:19 AM Chair Devlin

10:57:22 AM Vice-Chair Ferrioli

10:57:45 AM Sen. Morse

10:57:54 AM Vice-Chair Ferrioli

10:58:08 AM Sen. Morse

10:58:19 AM Vice-Chair Ferrioli

10:58:49 AM Sen. Morse

11:00:06 AM Vice-Chair Ferrioli

11:00:56 AM Sen. Morse

11:02:19 AM Chair Devlin

11:02:20 AM Rep. Galizio

11:03:35 AM Vice-Chair Ferrioli

11:03:51 AM Rep. Galizio

11:03:57 AM Vice-Chair Ferrioli

11:04:15 AM Sen. Morse

11:04:44 AM Vice-Chair Ferrioli

11:06:41 AM Chair Devlin

11:07:17 AM Sen. Morse

11:08:28 AM Chair Devlin

11:08:35 AM Sen. Atkinson

11:10:25 AM Sen. Morse

11:10:58 AM Rep. Galizio

11:11:57 AM Sen. Atkinson

11:14:23 AM Rep. Galizio

11:14:46 AM Sen. Atkinson

11:14:50 AM Vice-Chair Ferrioli

11:14:54 AM Rep. Galizio

11:15:41 AM Sen. Atkinson

11:16:10 AM Chair Devlin

11:16:35 AM Sen. Morse

11:17:24 AM Vice-Chair Ferrioli

11:17:40 AM Sen. Morse

11:17:54 AM Vice-Chair Ferrioli

11:18:33 AM Chair Devlin

11:19:33 AM Georgette Brown, Retired Josephine County Clerk, Oregon Association of County Clerks

11:19:34 AM {Exhibit} 8: Brown

11:22:11 AM Chair Devlin

```
11:23:15 AM Andi Miller, Lobbyist, Oregon Business Association
11:23:16 AM {Exhibit} 9: Miller
11:26:00 AM Chair Devlin
11:26:03 AM Kappy Eaton, Governance Coordinator, League of Women Voters
            of Oregon
11:26:04 AM {Exhibit} 10: Eaton
11:30:35 AM Chair Devlin
11:30:39 AM Vice-Chair Ferrioli
11:30:51 AM Miller
11:31:12 AM Vice-Chair Ferrioli
11:31:27 AM Miller
11:31:35 AM Vice-Chair Ferrioli
11:31:51 AM Miller
11:33:11 AM Vice-Chair Ferrioli
11:35:11 AM Miller
11:36:10 AM Eaton
11:37:54 AM Chair Devlin
11:39:27 AM Vice-Chair Ferrioli
11:40:36 AM Miller
11:41:21 AM Chair Devlin
11:42:04 AM Miller
11:42:07 AM Eaton
11:42:14 AM Chair Devlin
11:42:36 AM Alice Bartelt, Public Policy Co-Chair, American Association of
            University Women of Oregon
11:42:37 AM {Exhibit} 11: Bartelt
11:42:37 AM {Exhibit} 12: Eaton
11:42:37 AM {Exhibit} 13: Bartelt
11:44:01 AM Chair Devlin
11:44:03 AM Daniel Meek, Attorney, Portland
11:59:20 AM Chair Devlin
11:59:22 AM Sen. Metsger
12:00:49 PM Meek
12:00:52 PM Chair Devlin
12:01:38 PM Meek
12:01:50 PM Chair Devlin
12:02:04 PM Vice-Chair Ferrioli
12:02:13 PM Chair Devlin
12:02:19 PM Meeting Adjourned
```

SRULES 4/3/2009 10:04:34 AM

```
10:19:45 AM {Exhibit} 1: SB 625, written testimony, Greg Leo, 2 pp
10:21:07 AM {Exhibit} 2: SB 625, written testimony, Kevin Purcell, 6 pp
10:31:38 AM {Exhibit} 3: SB 378, -1 amendments, staff, 1 p
10:36:20 AM {Exhibit} 4: SB 656, -1 amendments, staff, 1 p
10:36:20 AM {Exhibit} 5: SJR 11, -3 amendments, staff, 6 pp
10:37:06 AM {Exhibit} 6: SJR 11, written testimony, Sen. Frank Morse, 2 pp
10:48:24 AM {Exhibit} 7: SJR 11, written testimony, Rep. Larry Galizio, 4 pp
11:19:34 AM {Exhibit} 8: SB 656/SJR 11, written testimony, Georgette Brown, 1 p
11:23:16 AM {Exhibit} 9: SB 656/SJR 11, written testimony, Andi Miller, 46 pp
11:26:04 AM {Exhibit} 10: SB 656, written testimony, Kappy Eaton, 1 p
11:42:37 AM {Exhibit} 12: SJR 11, written testimony, Kappy Eaton, 1 p
11:42:37 AM {Exhibit} 13: SJR 11, written testimony, Alice Bartelt, 1 p
```