SENATE SPECIAL SESSION COMMITTEE ON RULES

February 19, 2010 Hearing Room B

2:00 P.M.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Sen. Richard Devlin, Chair

Sen. Ted Ferrioli, Vice-Chair

Sen. Jason Atkinson Sen. Ginny Burdick Sen. Rick Metsger

STAFF PRESENT: Erin Seiler, Committee Administrator

Mike Reiley, Committee Assistant

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: HB 3657 A - Public Hearing

SB 1064 – Public Hearing and Work Session HB 3700 A – Public Hearing and Work Session

HB 3704 A – Public Hearing

This recording log is in compliance with Senate and House Rules. For complete contents, refer to the digital audio recording.

SRULES 2/19/2010 2:17:55 PM

2:17:59 PM Meeting Called to Order by Chair Devlin

2:18:22 PM	HB 3657 A – Public Hearing
2:19:01 PM	Rep. Lew Frederick, House District 43
2:21:37 PM	Sen. Metsger
2:22:04 PM	Rep. Frederick
2:22:51 PM	Sen. Atkinson
2:22:56 PM	Rep. Frederick
2:23:22 PM	Sen. Atkinson
2:23:45 PM	Rep. Frederick
2:24:31 PM	Vice-Chair Ferrioli
2:25:42 PM	Rep. Frederick
2:26:36 PM	Sen. Atkinson
2:26:59 PM	Rep. Frederick
2:27:31 PM	Sen. Atkinson
2:28:09 PM	Rep. Frederick
2:28:12 PM	The following prepared testimony is submitted for the record
	without public testimony:
2:28:14 PM	{Exhibit} 1: Angela Martin, Our Oregon
2:28:15 PM	{Exhibit} 2: Scott Winkels, Intergovernmental Relations Associate,
	League of Oregon Cities
2:29:15 PM	SB 1064 – Public Hearing

2:29:22 PM Erin Seiler, Committee Administrator

2:29:51 PM {Exhibit} 3: Sen. Floyd Prozanski, Senate District 4

2:35:58 PM Kevin Starrett, Oregon Firearms Federation

2:41:20 PM Paul Phillips, Oregon Gun Owners

2:42:24 PM Chair Devlin

2:43:07 PM HB 3700 A - Public Hearing

2:43:39 PM Chair Devlin

2:43:48 PM {Exhibit} 4: Pamela Leavitt, Credit Union Association of Oregon (CUAO)

2:45:14 PM Hal Scoggins, Attorney, CUAO

2:49:10 PM {Exhibit} 4: Richard Hein, President & Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Oregon State University (OSU) Federal Credit Union

2:53:39 PM {Exhibit} 5, 6, 7: Leavitt

2:54:05 PM Sen. Metsger

```
2:54:54 PM Leavitt
2:55:58 PM Sen. Atkinson
2:56:45 PM Hein
2:57:23 PM Sen. Atkinson
2:57:32 PM Hein
2:58:55 PM Sen. Atkinson
2:59:01 PM Leavitt
2:59:18 PM Scoggins
2:59:38 PM Sen. Atkinson
2:59:40 PM Scoggins
3:00:01 PM Sen. Atkinson
3:00:10 PM Scoggins
3:00:19 PM Sen. Atkinson
3:00:28 PM Scoggins
3:00:38 PM Sen. Atkinson
3:00:59 PM Scoggins
3:01:55 PM Sen. Atkinson
3:02:07 PM Scoggins
3:03:14 PM Sen. Metsger
3:03:40 PM Scoggins
3:03:50 PM Sen. Metsger
3:05:54 PM Leavitt
3:06:50 PM {Exhibit} 8: Linda Navarro, Oregon Bankers Association,
            Independent Community Banks of Oregon
3:15:46 PM Ray Davis, President and CEO, Umpqua Bank
3:23:08 PM Sen. Atkinson
3:24:18 PM Davis
3:25:33 PM Sen. Atkinson
3:27:09 PM Davis
3:29:38 PM Sen. Atkinson
3:30:43 PM Davis
3:31:04 PM Sen. Atkinson
3:31:10 PM Davis
3:31:22 PM Sen. Atkinson
3:31:30 PM Davis
3:31:31 PM Navarro
3:33:33 PM Sen. Metsger
3:35:06 PM Davis
3:37:45 PM Sen. Metsger
3:38:18 PM Davis
3:39:02 PM Hasina Squires, Special Districts Association of Oregon
3:41:03 PM HB 3704 A - Public Hearing
3:41:18 PM Erin Seiler, Committee Administrator
3:42:37 PM {Exhibit} 9: Joe Gilliam, Northwest Grocery Association
```

```
3:51:43 PM Paul Romain, Oregon Beer and Wine Distributors Association
4:01:36 PM Chair Devlin
4:01:41 PM Romain
4:01:48 PM Gilliam
4:02:45 PM Barry Featherstone, Director, Oregon Beverage Recycle
            Cooperative
4:15:50 PM {Exhibit} 10: Jim Markee, Hodgen Distributing
4:20:57 PM Ken Pastega, Pepsi-Cola distributor
4:25:49 PM Vice-Chair Ferrioli
4:25:55 PM Pastega
4:26:17 PM Chair Devlin
4:26:32 PM Jim Gardner, Wal-Mart Stores, Inc.
4:30:40 PM Chair Devlin
4:30:44 PM Doug Tookey, Office of Legislative Counsel
4:33:18 PM Mark Mayer, Office of Legislative Counsel
4:37:14 PM Vice-Chair Ferrioli
4:37:40 PM Mayer
4:38:15 PM Tookey
4:38:45 PM Gardner
4:42:01 PM Romain
4:47:36 PM Gardner
4:49:12 PM Romain
4:50:35 PM Chair Devlin
4:51:03 PM Gilliam
4:51:16 PM Chair Devlin
4:51:27 PM Sen. Metsger
4:52:10 PM SB 1064 – Work Session
4:52:24 PM MOTION: Sen. Burdick moves SB 1064 DO PASS
4:52:47 PM VOTE: 3-2-0
4:52:47 PM Ayes: Burdick, Metsger, Devlin; Nays: Atkinson, Ferrioli
4:52:48 PM CARRIER: SEN. PROZANSKI will lead discussion on the floor
4:52:49 PM Sen. Atkinson
4:53:05 PM Vice-Chair Ferrioli serves notice of possible Minority Report
4:53:30 PM Sen. Atkinson
4:53:35 PM Chair Devlin
4:53:57 PM Sen. Atkinson
4:54:23 PM HB 3700 A – Work Session
4:54:29 PM MOTION: Vice-Chair Ferrioli moves -A4 amendments
4:54:42 PM VOTE: 5-0-0
4:54:42 PM Ayes: Atkinson, Burdick, Metsger, Ferrioli, Devlin
4:54:50 PM Chair Devlin
4:55:12 PM Sen. Metsger
4:55:30 PM Chair Devlin
```

4:55:36 PM Sen. Atkinson
4:55:56 PM Vice-Chair Ferrioli
4:55:57 PM Sen. Atkinson
4:56:03 PM Chair Devlin
4:56:51 PM Erin Seiler, Committee Administrator
4:57:20 PM Meeting Adjourned by Chair Devlin

SRULES 2/19/2010 2:17:55 PM

2:28:15 PM	{Exhibit} 1: HB 3657 A, prepared testimony, Angela Martin, 1 p {Exhibit} 2: HB 3657 A, prepared testimony, Scott Winkels, 1 p {Exhibit} 3: SB 1064, prepared testimony of Vern Wigley, Sen. Floyd Prozanski, 1 p
2:43:48 PM	{Exhibit} 4: HB 3700 A, prepared testimony of Pamela Leavitt, Harold Scoggins III, Richard Hein, Harvey D. Barnes, Nancy Gritta, Roger Dawes, Stewart Taylor; Pamela Leavitt, 14 pp
2:53:39 PM	{Exhibit} 5: HB 3700 A, -A4 amendments, staff, 1 p
2:53:39 PM	{Exhibit} 6: HB 3700 A, -A5 amendments, staff, 1 p
2:53:39 PM	{Exhibit} 7: HB 3700 A, -A6 amendments, staff, 1 p
3:06:50 PM	{Exhibit} 8: HB 3700 A, prepared testimony of Linda Navarro & Lark
	Wysham; Linda Navarro, 5 pp
3:42:37 PM	{Exhibit} 9: HB 3704 A, prepared information & prepared testimony of Joe Gilliam, Stacey Whitaker, Mike Clawson, Lynn Gust, Tim
4:15:50 PM	LaMarche & Michael J. Read; Joe Gilliam, 10 pp {Exhibit} 10: HB 3704 A, Legislative Counsel letter, Jim Markee, 5 pp