SENATE SPECIAL SESSION COMMITTEE ON BUSINESS AND TRANSPORTATION

February 10, 2010 Hearing Room B

1:00 pm

MEMBERS PRESENT: Sen. Rick Metsger, Chair

Sen. Bruce Starr, Vice-Chair

Sen. Larry George Sen. Martha Schrader Sen. Joanne Verger

STAFF PRESENT: Jim Stembridge, Committee Administrator

Laura Brokaw, Committee Assistant

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: SJR 47 – Public Hearing and Work Session

SJR 42 - Public Hearing and Work Session

SB 1050 – Public Hearing SB 1026 – Public Hearing

This recording log is in compliance with Senate and House Rules. For complete contents, refer to the digital audio recording.

SBT

2/10/2010 1:04:43 PM

1:04:51 PM Meeting Called to Order by Chair Metsger

1:05:27 PM SJR 47 - Public Hearin	earing	Public	7 -	SJR 4	PM	1:05:27
-----------------------------------	--------	--------	-----	-------	----	---------

1:05:34 PM {Exhibit} 1: Jim Stembridge, Committee Administrator

1:06:08 PM Chair Metsger

1:06:25 PM Al Elkins, representing Oregon Hunters Association

1:07:21 PM Chair Metsger

1:07:24 PM Glenn Palmer, Sheriff, John Day

1:11:40 PM Chair Metsger

1:11:58 PM Sen. Ted Ferrioli, District 30

1:17:45 PM Chair Metsger

1:18:13 PM Sen. Verger

1:19:26 PM Sen. Ferrioli

1:19:39 PM Chair Metsger

1:19:55 PM Sen. Ferrioli

1:20:00 PM Chair Metsger

1:20:23 PM {Exhibit} 2: Amy Joyce, Director, Oregon Department of Transportation

1:21:23 PM {Exhibit} 3: Curt Melcher, Deputy Director, Department of Fish and Wildlife

1:22:45 PM Vice-Chair Starr

1:23:01 PM Joyce

1:23:06 PM Chair Metsger

1:23:11 PM SJR 47 - Work Session

1:23:15 PM MOTION: Sen. Starr moves the -1 amendments

1:23:21 PM VOTE: 5-0-0

1:23:23 PM AYES: George, Schrader, Verger, Starr, Metsger

1:23:24 PM MOTION: Sen. Starr moves SJR 47 BE ADOPTED as AMENDED

1:23:31 PM VOTE: 5-0-0

1:23:33 PM AYES: George, Schrader, Verger, Starr, Metsger

1:23:35 PM CARRIER: SEN. FERRIOLI will lead discussion on the floor

1:23:42 PM SJR 42 - Public Hearing

1:23:52 PM Jim Stembridge, Committee Administrator

1:24:00 PM Chair Metsger

1:24:12 PM Sen. Schrader

1:24:44 PM {Exhibit} 4: Dalton Hellman, President Oregon FBLA, Canby High

School

- 1:27:01 PM Tanya Boustead, Canby High School Faculty
- 1:27:54 PM Sen. Schrader
- 1:29:09 PM Hellman
- **1:29:11 PM** Sen. Schrader
- 1:29:12 PM Hellman
- 1:29:16 PM Sen. Schrader
- 1:30:13 PM Chair Metsger
- **1:30:16 PM** Sen. George
- 1:31:37 PM Chair Metsger
- 1:31:48 PM Hellman
- **1:31:53 PM** Sen. Schrader
- 1:32:17 PM SJR 42 Work Session
- 1:32:22 PM MOTION: Sen. Starr moves SJR 42 BE ADOPTED
- **1:32:29 PM** VOTE: 5-0-0
- **1:32:30 PM** AYES: George, Schrader, Verger, Starr, Metsger
- 1:32:32 PM CARRIER: SEN. SCHRADER will lead discussion on the floor
- 1:32:41 PM SB 1050 Public Hearing
- 1:32:48 PM {Exhibit} 5: Jim Stembridge, Committee Administrator
- 1:33:13 PM Chair Metsger
- **1:34:11 PM** Ryan Tribbett, representing Ironworkers Local 29 and Building Trades Council
- 1:37:42 PM Chair Metsger
- **1:37:47 PM** Bob Shiprack, Oregon State Building & Construction Trades Council
- 1:39:52 PM Chair Metsger
- **1:40:30 PM** {Exhibit} 6: Dianne Lancaster, State Procurement Office, State Services Division
- 1:41:14 PM Chair Metsger
- **1:41:36 PM** Lancaster
- **1:41:41 PM** {Exhibit} 7: Ann Hanus, representing Association of Oregon Counties
- **1:44:20 PM** Tom O'Conner, representing Oregon Municipal Electric Utilities Association
- 1:47:18 PM Chair Metsger
- **1:47:46 PM** {Exhibit} 8: Ken Armstrong, representing Oregon Public Ports Association
- **1:49:27 PM** Drew Hagedorn, representing Associated General Contractors
- **1:52:59 PM** Jon Ledger, representing Associated Oregon Industries
- 1:56:07 PM Chair Metsger
- 1:56:09 PM Sen. Verger
- **1:56:45 PM** Hagedorn
- **1:57:09 PM** Sen. Verger

1:57:12 PM 1:57:23 PM 1:57:30 PM 1:57:31 PM 1:57:43 PM 1:58:23 PM 1:58:47 PM 2:01:49 PM 2:05:16 PM 2:05:22 PM 2:05:25 PM 2:05:36 PM	Stembridge Chair Metsger Sen. Verger Hagedorn Chair Metsger {Exhibit} 9: Scott Winkels, representing League of Oregon Cities Mark Landauer, representing Special Districts Association of Oregon Chair Metsger Vice-Chair Starr Chair Metsger Rich Angstrom, President, Construction Materials Industries of Oregon
2:11:54 PM	SB 1026 - Public Hearing
2:11:57 PM	<u>U</u>
2:12:54 PM	
2:14:55 PM	{Exhibit} 12: Cindy Robert, City of Medford, submitted by Sen.
	Dingfelder
2:14:56 PM	The following written testimony was submitted for the record
0-44-E7 DM	without public testimony:
2:14:57 PM	{Exhibit} 13: Rep. Tina Kotek, District 44
2:17:37 PM 2:17:41 PM	3
2:17:41 PM 2:18:08 PM	Sen. Dingfelder Maria Pellegrino, representing City of Portland
2:19:48 PM	Officer Mark Friedman, Portland Police Bureau
2:23:51 PM	•
2:23:56 PM	Theresa Marchetti, Coordinator, City of Portland Liquor Control
2:25:43 PM	Chair Metsger
2:26:21 PM	Friedman
2:26:26 PM	Chair Metsger
2:26:36 PM	Officer Friedman
2:27:37 PM	Chair Metsger
2:27:45 PM	, , , , ,
2:28:49 PM	Chair Metsger
2:29:46 PM	Sen. Verger
2:31:21 PM	Pellegrino Son Verger
2:32:36 PM 2:32:51 PM	Sen. Verger Officer Friedman
2:34:48 PM	
2:35:17 PM	Sen. George
2:36:20 PM	Pellegrino
2:38:09 PM	
	•

	Sen. Dingfelder
	Chair Metsger
2:40:43 PM	{Exhibit} 14: Linda Ignowski, Regulatory Services Director, Oregon
	Liquor Control Commission
2:40:50 PM	Thomas Erwin, Government Affairs Director, Oregon Liquor Control
0.44.04 DM	Commission
2:41:24 PM	
2:44:49 PM	, , ,
2:49:49 PM 2:49:50 PM	9
2:49:30 PM 2:51:13 PM	
2:56:10 PM	-
2:57:05 PM	9
2:57:54 PM	
2:59:12 PM	
3:00:14 PM	•
	Mary Ellen Glynn, Citizen
3:06:00 PM	
3:07:50 PM	
3:08:22 PM	Chair Metsger
3:08:31 PM	Sen. Verger
3:08:36 PM	Chair Metsger
3:08:40 PM	•
3:08:46 PM	
3:08:55 PM	•
3:08:56 PM	
3:09:06 PM	
3:09:49 PM	Chair Metsger
3:10:10 PM	Ignowski
	Chair Metsger
3:10:46 PM 3:11:20 PM	Ignowski Sen. Verger
	Ignowski
	Sen. Verger
3:12:16 PM	
	The following written testimony was submitted for the record
	without public testimony:
3:14:18 PM	
3:14:19 PM	
3:14:36 PM	
	Neighborhood Development Association
3:14:54 PM	{Exhibit} 19: Brenda Wilson, Intergovernmental Relation Manager,
	City of Eugene
3:15:00 PM	Meeting Adjourned

SBT 2/10/2010 1:04:43 PM

```
1:05:34 PM {Exhibit} 1: SJR 47, -1 amendments, staff, 2 pp
1:20:23 PM {Exhibit} 2: SJR 47, written testimony, Amy Joyce, 1 p
1:21:23 PM {Exhibit} 3: SJR 47, written testimony, Curt Melcher, 1 p
1:24:44 PM {Exhibit} 4: SJR 42, Government Promotion Project, Dalton
             Hellman, 2 pp
1:32:48 PM {Exhibit} 5: SB 1050, conceptual amendment, staff, 3 pp
1:40:30 PM {Exhibit} 6: SB 1050, written testimony, Dianne Lancaster, 3 pp
1:41:41 PM {Exhibit} 7: SB 1050, written testimony, Ann Hanus, 2 pp
1:47:46 PM {Exhibit} 8: SB 1050, written testimony, Ken Armstrong, 1 p
1:58:47 PM {Exhibit} 9: SB 1050, written testimony, Scott Winkels, 2 pp
2:11:57 PM {Exhibit} 10: SB 1026, -1 amendments, staff, 1 p
2:12:54 PM {Exhibit} 11: SB 1026, written testimony, Sen. J. Dingfelder, 1 p
2:14:55 PM {Exhibit} 12: SB 1026, written testimony, Cindy Robert submitted by
             Sen. Dingfelder, 1 p
2:14:57 PM {Exhibit} 13: SB 1026, written testimony, Rep. Tina Kotek, 1 p.
2:40:43 PM {Exhibit} 14: SB 1026, written testimony, Linda Ignowski, 1 p
2:44:49 PM {Exhibit} 15: SB 1026, written testimony, Bill Perry, 8 pp
3:14:18 PM {Exhibit} 16: SB 1026, written testimony, Amanda Fritz, 1 p
3:14:19 PM {Exhibit} 17: SB 1026, written testimony, Elizabeth Callicott, 2 pp
3:14:36 PM {Exhibit} 18: SB 1026, written testimony, Linda Nettekoven, 1 p
3:14:54 PM {Exhibit} 19: SB 1026, written testimony, Brenda Wilson, 1 p.
```