SENATE COMMITTEE ON BUSINESS, TRANSPORTATION & ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

February 02, 2012 Hearing Room B

3:00 PM

MEMBERS PRESENT: Sen. Lee Beyer, Chair

Sen. Jason Atkinson, Vice-Chair

Sen. Chris Edwards Sen. Ginny Burdick Sen. Bruce Starr Sen. Fred Girod

STAFF PRESENT: Patrick Brennan, Committee Administrator

Debbie Malone, Committee Assistant

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: Adoption of Committee Rules - Organizational Meeting

SB 1558 - Public Hearing and Work Session

SB 1544 - Public Hearing

SB 1546 – Public Hearing and Work Session SB 1547 – Public Hearing and Work Session

Recording Log

3:09:25 PM Meeting Called to Order by Chair Beyer

3:09:34 PM Chair Beyer

3:09:51 PM Adoption of Committee Rules-Organizational Meeting

3:09:57 PM {Exhibit} 1: Chair Beyer

3:10:07 PM MOTION: CHAIR BEYER MOVES ADOPTION OF COMMITTEE RULES

3:10:17 PM VOTE: 6-0-0

3:10:18 PM AYES: BURDICK, EDWARDS, GIROD, STARR, ATKINSON, BEYER

3:10:24 PM SB 1558-Public Hearing

3:10:29 PM Patrick Brennan, Committee Administrator

3:11:06 PM Chair Beyer

3:11:09 PM Sen. Chris Telfer, District 27

3:14:11 PM Chair Beyer

3:14:41 PM {Exhibit} 2: Roger Lee, Executive Director, Economic Development for

Central Oregon

3:16:12 PM {Exhibit} 3: Jon Stark, Economic Development for Central Oregon

3:17:56 PM {Exhibit} 4: Linda Nelson, Smith Rock Resources, Redmond, Oregon

3:20:13 PM Chair Beyer

3:20:49 PM Michael Selvaggio, Policy Director, Office of Oregon State Treasurer **3:21:47 PM** Paul Grove, Manager, Government Relations, Business Oregon 3:22:25 PM Chair Bever 3:22:35 PM Grove 3:22:47 PM Chair Beyer 3:23:02 PM John Saris, Manager, Business Services, Business Oregon 3:25:03 PM Chair Beyer 3:25:13 PM Saris 3:25:29 PM Chair Beyer 3:25:43 PM Saris **3:25:48 PM** Chair Bever **3:26:37 PM** Sen. Burdick **3:26:41 PM** Chair Bever 3:26:48 PM SB 1558-Work Session 3:26:51 PM MOTION: CHAIR BEYER MOVES SB 1558 DO PASS AND REFER TO SENATE FINANCE AND REVENUE COMMITTEE **3:26:55 PM** Chair Bever 3:27:01 PM VOTE: 6-0-0 3:27:02 PM AYES: BURDICK, EDWARDS, GIROD, STARR, ATKINSON, BEYER **3:27:04 PM** Chair Beyer 3:27:14 PM SB 1544-Public Hearing 3:27:21 PM Patrick Brennan, Committee Administrator **3:27:22 PM** Chair Bever 3:27:26 PM Brennan 3:28:10 PM Chair Bever 3:28:53 PM Sen. Chris Telfer, District 27 3:29:50 PM {Exhibit} 5: George Endicott, Mayor, City of Redmond 3:31:18 PM Roger Lee, Executive Director, Economic Development for Central Oregon 3:32:26 PM Chair Beyer 3:33:03 PM Jerri Bohard, Interim Deputy Director, Operations, Oregon Department of **Transportation 3:33:25 PM** Rob Hallyburton, Manager, Planning Services Division, Oregon Department of Land Conservation and Development 3:33:32 PM Chair Beyer 3:34:31 PM Brian Krieg, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers 3:34:49 PM Jonathan Manton, Central Oregon Land Watch 3:35:37 PM Chair Bever **3:35:40 PM** {Exhibit} 6: Sen. Burdick **3:35:58 PM** Manton **3:36:13 PM** Sen. Burdick 3:36:16 PM Manton **3:36:20 PM** Chair Bever **3:37:16 PM** Sen. Burdick

3:38:10 PM SB 1546-Public Hearing 3:38:15 PM {Exhibit} 7: Patrick Brennan, Committee Administrator 3:39:02 PM Sen. Betsy Johnson, District 16 3:40:54 PM Tom Bergin, Sheriff, Clatsop County **3:41:06 PM** Chair Beyer **3:41:13 PM** Sen. Johnson 3:41:25 PM Bergin 3:43:20 PM Sen. Johnson 3:44:50 PM Bergin 3:45:38 PM J.R. Gonzalez, Manager, Oregon Public Utility Commission 3:46:29 PM Chair Bever 3:46:47 PM {Exhibit} 8 & 13: Paul Mather, Oregon Department of Transportation **3:49:43 PM** {Exhibit} 9: Chair Beyer 3:49:51 PM Mather 3:50:20 PM Peter Daugherty, Chief, Private Forest Division, Oregon Department of Forestry **3:51:06 PM** Chair Beyer **3:51:25 PM** Roger Beyer, Oregon Small Woodlands Association 3:53:33 PM Chair Beyer **3:53:50 PM** Ted Case, Executive Director, Oregon Rural Electric Cooperatives **3:54:42 PM** Sen. Edwards 3:56:29 PM Beyer **3:57:08 PM** Chair Bever 3:57:57 PM Vice-Chair Atkinson 3:58:38 PM Chair Beyer **3:58:44 PM** Vice-Chair Atkinson **3:58:56 PM** Ron Papsdorf, City of Gresham 4:01:05 PM Chair Bever 4:01:46 PM Craig Honeyman, Legislative Director, League of Oregon Cities **4:04:09 PM** Chair Beyer **4:04:25 PM** Mather **4:05:01 PM** Chair Bever 4:05:18 PM SB 1546-Work Session **4:05:20 PM** Chair Beyer 4:05:29 PM MOTION: VICE-CHAIR ATKINSON MOVES SB 1546-1 AMENDMENT **4:05:30 PM** Chair Beyer 4:05:37 PM VOTE: 6-0-0 4:05:38 PM AYES: BURDICK, EDWARDS, GIROD, STARR, ATKINSON, BEYER **4:05:40 PM** Chair Bever 4:05:50 PM SB 1547-Public Hearing 4:05:59 PM {Exhibit} 10: Patrick Brennan, Committee Administrator **4:07:03 PM** Chair Beyer

3:37:44 PM Chair Beyer

```
4:07:05 PM Sen. Starr
4:07:14 PM Brennan
4:07:34 PM Sen. Starr
4:07:37 PM Chair Beyer
4:07:42 PM Sen. Girod
4:07:52 PM Chair Beyer
4:08:24 PM {Exhibit} 11: Gary Hargis, Washington County
4:08:36 PM Chair Beyer
4:08:39 PM Hargis
4:08:57 PM Chair Beyer
4:09:01 PM Hargis
4:11:12 PM Chair Beyer
4:11:26 PM J.L. Wilson, Associated Oregon Industries
4:11:47 PM Chair Beyer
4:12:04 PM Jeannette Holman, Senior Policy Analyst, Department of Consumer and
            Business Services
4:12:40 PM Chair Beyer
4:12:44 PM Holman
4:13:04 PM Chair Beyer
4:13:08 PM Holman
4:13:25 PM Chair Beyer
4:13:29 PM Holman
4:13:31 PM Chair Bever
4:13:49 PM Robin Lamonte, Legislative Analyst, Legislative Counsel
4:14:09 PM Sen. Girod
4:14:41 PM Lamonte
4:14:51 PM Sen. Girod
4:15:15 PM Chair Bever
4:15:18 PM Sen. Starr
4:15:37 PM Chair Bever
4:15:40 PM Sen. Starr
4:15:43 PM Sen. Girod
4:15:56 PM Sen. Starr
4:15:58 PM Chair Beyer
4:15:59 PM Sen. Starr
4:16:16 PM Chair Bever
4:16:50 PM {Exhibit} 12: Jody Wiser, Tax Fairness Oregon
4:25:23 PM Chair Bever
4:25:45 PM Holman
4:28:04 PM Chair Bever
4:28:09 PM Holman
4:28:31 PM Chair Bever
4:28:40 PM Holman
4:28:43 PM Chair Beyer
4:29:07 PM Wiser
4:29:17 PM Hargis
```

4:32:07 PM Chair Bever **4:32:25 PM** Hargis **4:32:53 PM** Chair Bever 4:33:07 PM Hargis **4:33:24 PM** Chair Bever 4:33:46 PM SB 1547-Work Session 4:33:50 PM MOTION: VICE-CHAIR ATKINSON MOVES SB 1547-1 AMENDMENT **4:33:53 PM** Chair Bever 4:34:00 PM VOTE: 6-0-0 4:34:00 PM AYES: BURDICK, EDWARDS, GIROD, STARR, ATKINSON, BEYER 4:34:05 PM MOTION: VICE-CHAIR ATKINSON MOVES SB 1547 DO PASS AS AMENDED & REFER TO JOINT WAYS & MEANS BY PRIOR REFERENCE **4:34:24 PM** Chair Bever **4:34:37 PM** VOTE: 6-0-0 4:34:37 PM AYES: BURDICK, EDWARDS, GIROD, STARR, ATKINSON, BEYER **4:34:39 PM** Chair Bever **4:34:57 PM** Meeting Adjourned by Chair Beyer

Exhibit Summary

3:09:57 PM {Exhibit} 1: Adoption of Committee Rules, Rules, staff, 3 pp
3:14:41 PM {Exhibit} 2: SB 1558, written testimony, Roger Lee, 3 pp
3:16:12 PM {Exhibit} 3: SB 1558, written testimony, Jon Stark, 3 pp
3:17:56 PM {Exhibit} 4: SB 1558, written testimony, Linda Nelson, 3 pp
3:29:50 PM {Exhibit} 5: SB 1544, written testimony, George Endicott, 1 p
3:35:40 PM {Exhibit} 6: SB 1544, written testimony, Mary Kyle McCurdy, 2 pp
3:38:15 PM {Exhibit} 7: SB 1546, -1 amendment, staff, 1 p
3:46:47 PM {Exhibit} 8: SB 1546 written testimony, Paul Mather, 8 pp
3:46:47 PM {Exhibit} 13: SB 1546 written testimony, Paul Mather, 1 p
3:49:43 PM {Exhibit} 9: SB 1546 written testimony, Jonathan Burchell, 2 pp
4:05:59 PM {Exhibit} 10: SB 1547 -1 amendment, staff, 2 pp
4:08:24 PM {Exhibit} 11: SB 1547, informational packet, Gary Hargis, 15 pp
4:16:50 PM {Exhibit} 12: SB 1547 written testimony, Jody Wiser, 7 pp