SENATE COMMITTEE ON BUSINESS, TRANSPORTATION & ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

February 07, 2012 Hearing Room B

3:00 PM

MEMBERS PRESENT: Sen. Lee Beyer, Chair

Sen. Jason Atkinson, Vice-Chair

Sen. Chris Edwards Sen. Ginny Burdick Sen. Bruce Starr Sen. Fred Girod

STAFF PRESENT: Patrick Brennan, Committee Administrator

Debbie Malone, Committee Assistant

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: SB 1544 - Work Session

SB 1543 – Public Hearing SB 1545 – Public Hearing SJM 201 – Public Hearing

Recording Log

3:05:37 PM Meeting Called to Order by Chair Beyer

3:05:38 PM Chair Beyer

3:06:34 PM SB 1544-Work Session

3:06:35 PM MOTION: VICE-CHAIR ATKINSON MOVES SB 1544

3:06:47 PM {Exhibit} 1: Sen. Burdick

3:06:54 PM Vice-Chair Atkinson withdraws prior motion

3:06:58 PM MOTION: VICE-CHAIR ATKINSON MOVES -2 AMENDMENTS

3:07:01 PM Chair Beyer **3:07:10 PM** VOTE: 5-0-1

3:07:12 PM AYES: BURDICK, GIROD, STARR, ATKINSON, BEYER

3:07:13 PM EXCUSED: EDWARDS

3:07:16 PM MOTION: VICE-CHAIR ATKINSON MOVES SB 1544 DO PASS AS

AMENDED

3:07:19 PM Chair Bever

3:07:27 PM Sen. Burdick

3:08:15 PM Chair Beyer

3:08:54 PM VOTE: 6-0-0

3:08:59 PM AYES: BURDICK, EDWARDS, GIROD, STARR, ATKINSON, BEYER

3:09:15 PM CARRIER: SEN. TELFER AND CHAIR BEYER WILL LEAD DISCUSSION

ON THE FLOOR

- 3:09:23 PM Chair Beyer
- **3:09:26 PM** Vice-Chair Atkinson
- 3:09:29 PM Sen. Girod
- 3:09:31 PM Chair Beyer
- **3:09:34 PM** The following written testimony was submitted for the record without public testimony:
- 3:09:34 PM {Exhibit} 2: Mary Kyle McCurdy, Policy Director, 1000 friends of Oregon
- 3:09:36 PM SB 1543-Public Hearing
- 3:09:42 PM {Exhibit} 3-7: Patrick Brennan, Committee Administrator
- **3:11:01 PM** Chair Beyer
- 3:11:37 PM {Exhibit} 8: Kim Duncan, Chair, Oregon Board of Maritime Pilots
- 3:18:19 PM Chair Beyer
- 3:18:48 PM Duncan
- 3:18:59 PM Chair Beyer
- 3:19:02 PM Duncan
- **3:19:19 PM** Chair Beyer
- **3:19:24 PM** Sen. Edwards
- 3:19:41 PM Duncan
- 3:20:06 PM Vice-Chair Atkinson
- 3:20:13 PM Duncan
- 3:20:22 PM Vice-Chair Atkinson
- 3:20:35 PM Duncan
- 3:20:49 PM Vice-Chair Atkinson
- 3:20:54 PM Duncan
- 3:21:11 PM Vice-Chair Atkinson
- 3:21:16 PM Duncan
- **3:21:23 PM** Chair Bever
- 3:21:27 PM Duncan
- **3:21:29 PM** Chair Beyer
- 3:22:08 PM John DiLorenzo, Davis Wright Tremaine LLP
- 3:24:25 PM {Exhibit} 9: John Knutson, Knutson Towboat Company
- 3:29:18 PM Drew Hagedorn, Greenbrier Companies
- 3:30:00 PM Chair Beyer
- 3:30:24 PM Jim Geisinger, Executive Vice-President, Associated Oregon Loggers
- 3:31:43 PM Chair Bever
- 3:31:47 PM Sen. Starr
- 3:32:04 PM Geisinger
- 3:32:25 PM Sen. Starr
- 3:32:36 PM Geisinger
- 3:32:46 PM Chair Beyer
- 3:33:08 PM Dave Fiskum, Coos Bay and Yaquina Bay Pilot Association
- 3:36:48 PM Steve Woods, State License Pilot, Coos Bay and Yaquina Bay
- 3:42:35 PM Chair Bever
- 3:42:45 PM Woods
- 3:43:45 PM Chair Beyer

3:43:52 PM Woods **3:46:44 PM** Chair Beyer **3:47:03 PM** Woods **3:47:09 PM** Chair Beyer 3:47:12 PM {Exhibit} 10: Charles Yates, Pilot, Coos Bay and Yaquina Bay 3:55:35 PM Chair Beyer 3:55:45 PM Yates 3:56:27 PM Chair Beyer 3:56:40 PM Yates 3:56:54 PM Sen. Starr 3:57:26 PM Yates 3:58:09 PM Sen. Starr **3:58:16 PM** Yates 3:58:46 PM Chair Beyer 3:58:51 PM Marvin Caldera, President, International Longshore and Warehouse Union Local 12 4:00:50 PM Fiskum 4:00:58 PM Sen. Girod 4:01:18 PM Yates 4:02:18 PM Sen. Girod 4:03:26 PM Yates 4:04:06 PM Sen. Girod 4:04:10 PM Yates 4:04:12 PM Sen. Girod 4:04:16 PM Yates 4:04:55 PM Sen. Girod 4:05:03 PM Yates 4:06:02 PM Sen. Girod 4:06:53 PM Yates 4:07:02 PM Sen. Girod 4:07:06 PM Yates 4:09:07 PM Sen. Girod 4:09:14 PM Fiskum 4:10:34 PM Chair Beyer 4:10:36 PM Sen. Starr 4:10:44 PM Chair Beyer **4:10:55 PM** Yates 4:10:56 PM Chair Beyer **4:10:57 PM** Yates **4:10:59 PM** Chair Bever **4:11:07 PM** Yates **4:11:56 PM** Chair Bever **4:11:57 PM** Sen. Girod 4:12:12 PM Yates **4:13:20 PM** Chair Beyer

4:13:40 PM Yates

4:14:47 PM Chair Beyer **4:14:49 PM** Vice-Chair Atkinson 4:16:11 PM Caldera **4:17:16 PM** Fiskum **4:17:40 PM** Chair Beyer 4:17:50 PM SB 1545-Public Hearing 4:18:14 PM Sen. Alan Olson, District 20 **4:19:08 PM** Sen. Edwards 4:19:17 PM Sen. Olson 4:19:22 PM Chair Beyer 4:19:23 PM Sen. Burdick 4:19:30 PM Chair Bever 4:19:40 PM SB 1543-Public Hearing 4:19:51 PM Chair Beyer 4:20:24 PM Dale Sause, Chairman of the Board, The American Waterways Operators 4:26:17 PM Chair Bever 4:26:35 PM Sause 4:27:00 PM Chair Beyer 4:27:01 PM Sause 4:28:08 PM Chair Beyer 4:28:10 PM Sen. Burdick 4:28:18 PM Sause **4:28:23 PM** Sen. Burdick 4:28:32 PM Sause 4:28:58 PM Sen. Burdick 4:29:08 PM Sause **4:29:30 PM** Sen. Burdick 4:29:45 PM Sause **4:30:25 PM** Sen. Burdick 4:30:28 PM Sause 4:30:45 PM Sen. Girod 4:30:58 PM Sause **4:31:19 PM** Chair Beyer **4:32:27 PM** {Exhibit} 11: Bob Russell, Vice President, Government Affairs, Oregon **Trucking Associations** 4:41:25 PM Craig Campbell, AAA Oregon 4:42:51 PM John Rakowitz, Associated General Contractors 4:44:02 PM Chair Bever **4:44:03 PM** Sen. Edwards 4:44:37 PM Russell

4:45:01 PM Chair Beyer

4:46:17 PM Chair Beyer

4:45:22 PM Yates

```
4:47:10 PM SJM 201-Public Hearing
4:47:20 PM Roger Hyguist, Linn County Board of Commissioners
4:48:17 PM {Exhibit} 12-13: Sam Brentano, Commissioner, Marion County
4:49:28 PM Patti Milne, Commissioner, Marion County
4:49:58 PM Sen. Girod
4:50:11 PM Chair Beyer
4:50:12 PM Vice-Chair Atkinson
4:50:31 PM Chair Beyer
4:50:56 PM {Exhibit} 14: Christina Hubbard, Project Director, Forest Web of Cottage
4:55:14 PM {Exhibit} 15: Mora Dewey, resident, Lane County
5:00:17 PM Hubbard
5:00:23 PM Sen. Burdick
5:00:33 PM Chair Beyer
5:01:07 PM SB 1545-Public Hearing
5:01:18 PM {Exhibit} 16: Bob Russell, Vice-President, Government Affairs, Oregon
            Trucking Associations
5:02:39 PM Alex Crider, Truck Owner and Operator
5:04:01 PM Allen Peterson, Truck Owner and Operator
5:05:45 PM Chair Beyer
5:05:49 PM Peterson
5:06:15 PM Sen. Burdick
5:06:27 PM Chair Beyer
5:06:31 PM Russell
5:06:56 PM {Exhibit} 17: Lynn Lehrbach, Joint Council of Teamsters No. 37
5:11:20 PM Chair Bever
5:11:26 PM Lehrbach
5:11:57 PM Chair Beyer
5:11:28 PM The following written testimony was submitted for the record without public
            testimony:
5:11:29 PM {Exhibit} 18: Genice Rabe, Legislative Counsel, Northwest Workers'
            Justice Project
5:12:30 PM Meeting Adjourned by Chair Beyer
```

Exhibit Summary

```
3:06:47 PM {Exhibit} 1: SB 1544, -2amendment, staff, 5 pp
3:09:34 PM {Exhibit} 2: SB 1544, written testimony, Mary Kyle McCurdy, 3 pp
3:09:42 PM {Exhibit} 3: SB 1543, -1amendment, staff, 1 p
3:09:42 PM {Exhibit} 4: SB 1543, -2 amendment, staff, 1 p
3:09:42 PM {Exhibit} 5: SB 1543, -4 amendment, staff, 1 p
3:09:42 PM {Exhibit} 6: SB 1543, -5 amendment, staff, 5 pp
3:09:42 PM {Exhibit} 7: SB 1543, -6 amendment, staff, 1 p
3:11:37 PM {Exhibit} 8: SB 1543, written testimony, Kim Duncan, 2 pp
```

```
3:24:25 PM {Exhibit} 9: SB 1543, written testimony, John Knutson, 2 pp
3:47:12 PM {Exhibit} 10: SB 1543, fact sheet, Charles Yates, 1 p
4:32:27 PM {Exhibit} 11: SB 1543, informational packet, Bob Russell, 13 pp
4:48:17 PM {Exhibit} 12; SJM 201, -1 amendment, staff, 2 pp
4:48:17 PM {Exhibit} 13: SJM 201, written testimony, Sam Brentano, 1 p
4:50:56 PM {Exhibit} 14: SJM 201, written testimony, Christina Hubbard, 59 pp
4:55:14 PM {Exhibit} 15: SJM 201, written testimony, Mora Dewey, 13 pp
5:01:18 PM {Exhibit} 16: SB 1545, written testimony, Bob Russell, 3 pp
5:06:56 PM {Exhibit} 17: SB 1545, written testimony, Lynn Lehrbach, 2 pp
5:11:29 PM {Exhibit} 18: SB 1545, written testimony, Genice Rabe, 1 p
```