SENATE COMMITTEE ON ENVIRONMENT & NATURAL RESOURCES

February 07, 2012 1:00 PM

Hearing Room C

MEMBERS PRESENT:	Sen. Jackie Dingfelder, Chair Sen. Alan Olsen, Vice-Chair Sen. Mark Hass Sen. Floyd Prozanski Sen. Chuck Thomsen
STAFF PRESENT:	Beth Patrino, Committee Administrator Sue Hampton, Committee Assistant
MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD:	SCR 207 – Public Hearing and Work Session SB 1513 – Public Hearing SB 1508 – Public Hearing

Recording Log

1:05:58 PM Meeting Called to Order by Chair Dingfelder

1:06:04 PM SCR 207-Public Hearing

- 1:06:05 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 1:06:12 PM Beth Patrino, Committee Administrator
- 1:06:25 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 1:06:54 PM Governor John Kitzhaber, State of Oregon
- 1:11:30 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 1:12:42 PM Sen. Betsy Johnson, Senate District 10
- **1:14:27 PM** {Exhibit} 1: Matthew Garrett, Director, Oregon Department of Transportation
- 1:17:24 PM Lynne Peterson, Policy Advisor, Transportation, Office of the Governor
- 1:20:10 PM {Exhibit} 2: Ann Hanus, Association of Oregon Counties
- **1:21:27 PM** Lisa Gaines, Interim Director, Institute for Natural Resources, Oregon University System
- 1:26:17 PM Lynn Partin, Portland, Oregon
- 1:29:46 PM Chair Dingfelder
- **1:29:52 PM** The following written testimony was submitted for the record without public testimony:
- **1:29:54 PM** {Exhibit} 3: Russell Hoeflich, The Nature Conservancy
- **1:29:56 PM** {Exhibit} 4: Tom Hughes, President, Metro Council

1:30:01 PM SCR 207 - Work Session

- 1:30:18 PM {Exhibit} 5: Beth Patrino, Committee Administrator
- 1:30:33 PM MOTION: VICE CHAIR OLSEN MOVES TO ADOPT THE -1

AMENDMENTS

- 1:30:44 PM VOTE: 5-0-0
- 1:30:47 PM AYES: HASS, PROZANSKI, THOMSEN, OLSEN, DINGFELDER
- 1:30:55 PM MOTION: VICE CHAIR OLSEN MOVES SCR 207 BE ADOPTED AS AMENDED
- 1:31:10 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 1:32:20 PM VOTE: 5-0-0
- **1:32:22 PM** AYES: HASS, PROZANSKI, THOMSEN, OLSEN, DINGFELDER
- **1:32:24 PM** CARRIER: CHAIR DINGFELDER WILL LEAD THE DISCUSSION ON THE FLOOR

1:33:02 PM SB 1513 - Public Hearing

- 1:33:04 PM Chair Dingfelder
- **1:34:36 PM** Brenda Bateman, Senior Policy Coordinator, Water Resources Department
- 1:35:49 PM Tom Paul, Deputy Director, Water Resources Department
- 1:35:50 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 1:36:20 PM Bateman
- 1:36:24 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 1:36:28 PM Bateman
- 1:36:32 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 1:36:46 PM Paul
- 1:37:23 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 1:38:05 PM Paul
- 1:38:38 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 1:38:49 PM Paul
- 1:39:14 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 1:39:55 PM Paul
- 1:41:41 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 1:41:45 PM Sen. Thomsen
- 1:42:01 PM Bateman
- 1:42:14 PM Sen. Thomsen
- 1:42:17 PM Bateman
- 1:42:23 PM Sen. Thomsen
- 1:42:40 PM Bateman
- 1:42:55 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 1:43:13 PM Sen. Thomsen
- 1:43:31 PM Bateman
- 1:43:34 PM Sen. Thomsen
- 1:43:41 PM Bateman
- 1:43:56 PM Sen. Thomsen
- 1:44:33 PM Bateman
- 1:44:45 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 1:44:59 PM Vice-Chair Olsen
- 1:45:27 PM Paul
- 1:46:10 PM Vice-Chair Olsen

1:46:36 PM	
	Vice-Chair Olsen
	Chair Dingfelder
	Vice-Chair Olsen
1:50:30 PM	Chair Dingfelder
1:50:40 PM	Vice-Chair Olsen
1:51:12 PM	Bateman
1:52:13 PM	Chair Dingfelder
1:53:38 PM	{Exhibit} 6: Teresa Huntsinger, Clean & Healthy Rivers Program Director,
	Oregon Environmental Council
	Sen. Thomsen
1:57:07 PM	Chair Dingfelder
1:57:12 PM	Sen. Thomsen
	Chair Dingfelder
	<pre>{Exhibit} 7: Joe Whitworth, President, Freshwater Trust</pre>
	Chair Dingfelder
	Vice-Chair Olsen
2:04:06 PM	
	Vice-Chair Olsen
2:04:19 PM	
	Vice-Chair Olsen
	Chair Dingfelder
	Vice-Chair Olsen
	Chair Dingfelder
	Vice-Chair Olsen
2:05:17 PM	
	Vice-Chair Olsen
2:06:55 PM	
	Vice-Chair Olsen
2:09:52 PM	
	Chair Dingfelder
2:11:02 PM	{Exhibit} 8 - 9: Richard Kosesan, Water for Life
2:14:50 PM 2:15:17 PM	Chair Dingfelder
	Chair Dingfelder
2:16:12 PM	5
	Chair Dingfelder
	Erik Kancler, Executive Director, Network of Oregon Watershed Councils
	Chair Dingfelder
2:20:13 PM	0
	Chair Dingfelder
2:21:17 PM	5
2:21:21 PM	Vice-Chair Olsen
2:22:17 PM	
	Chair Dingfelder
	Jim Myron, WaterWatch

2:22:52 PM Jim Myron, WaterWatch

2:23:20 PM Chair Dingfelder

- **2:23:22 PM** The following written testimony was submitted for the record without public testimony:
- 2:23:23 PM {Exhibit} 10: Gordon J. Larson, Berry Creek Ranch, John Day, Oregon
- 2:23:24 PM {Exhibit} 11: Mark R. Webb, Grant County Judge

2:23:28 PM SB 1508 - Public Hearing

- 2:23:36 PM {Exhibit} 12 13: Beth Patrino, Committee Administrator
- 2:24:39 PM Joe Gilliam, President, Northwest Grocery Association
- 2:27:15 PM Paul Romain, Oregon Beer and Wine Distributors Association
- 2:29:03 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 2:29:05 PM Sen. Prozanski
- 2:29:27 PM Gilliam
- 2:30:33 PM Sen. Hass
- 2:30:56 PM Gilliam
- 2:32:14 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 2:32:17 PM Vice-Chair Olsen
- 2:32:33 PM Gilliam
- 2:33:40 PM Vice-Chair Olsen
- 2:34:01 PM Gilliam
- 2:35:23 PM Sen. Thomsen
- 2:35:40 PM Gilliam
- 2:37:37 PM Romain
- 2:38:12 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 2:39:41 PM {Exhibit} 14: Russell Strandholm, Hodgen Distributing
- 2:40:45 PM Gary Prasil, President and Owner, Pendleton Bottling Company
- 2:46:02 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 2:46:05 PM Ron Bruce, Pepsi Bottler, Eastern Oregon
- 2:48:58 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 2:49:48 PM Sen. Prozanski
- 2:49:59 PM Prasil
- 2:50:08 PM Sen. Prozanski
- 2:50:40 PM Prasil
- 2:50:46 PM Sen. Prozanski
- 2:51:06 PM Strandholm
- 2:51:32 PM Sen. Prozanski
- 2:51:39 PM Bruce
- 2:51:59 PM Sen. Prozanski
- **2:52:01 PM** The following written testimony was submitted for the record without public testimony:
- 2:52:05 PM {Exhibit} 15: Rick Winterhalter, Association of Oregon Recyclers
- **2:52:15 PM** Meeting Adjourned by Chair Dingfelder

Exhibit Summary

1:14:27 PM {Exhibit} 1: SCR 207, written testimony, Matthew Garrett, 2 pp

1:20:10 PM	{Exhibit} 2: SCR 207, written testimony, Ann Hanus, 1 p
1:29:54 PM	{Exhibit} 3: SCR 207, written testimony, Russell Hoeflich, 1 p
1:29:56 PM	{Exhibit} 4: SCR 207, written testimony, Tom Hughes, 1 p
1:30:18 PM	{Exhibit} 5: SCR 207, -1 amendments, staff, 1 p
1:53:38 PM	{Exhibit} 6: SB 1513, written testimony, Teresa Huntsinger, 1 p
1:57:25 PM	{Exhibit} 7: SB 1513, written testimony, Joe Whitworth, 1 p
2:11:02 PM	{Exhibit} 8: SB 1513, - 1 amendments, staff, 2 pp
2:11:02 PM	{Exhibit} 9: SB 1513, - 2 amendments, staff, 3 pp
2:23:23 PM	{Exhibit} 10: SB 1513, written testimony, Gordon J. Larson, 1 p
2:23:24 PM	{Exhibit} 11: SB 1513, written testimony, Mark R. Webb, 1 p
2:23:36 PM	{Exhibit} 12: SB 1508, - 2 amendments, staff, 2 pp
2:23:36 PM	{Exhibit} 13: SB 1508, - 3 amendments, staff, 2 pp
2:39:41 PM	{Exhibit} 14: SB 1508, written testimony, Russell Strandholm, 6 pp
2:52:05 PM	{Exhibit} 15: SB 1508, written testimony, Rick Winterhalter, 1 p