HOUSE COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE AND NATURAL RESOURCES

February 14, 2013 Hearing Room D

8:00 am

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rep. Brad Witt, Chair

Rep. Caddy McKeown, Vice Chair Rep. Sal Esquivel, Vice Chair

Rep. Brian Clem Rep. Wayne Krieger Rep. Jeff Reardon Rep. Jim Thompson Rep. Ben Unger Rep. Gail Whitsett

STAFF PRESENT: Beth Patrino, Committee Administrator

Maria Kelly, Committee Assistant

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: HB 2257 - Public Hearing

HB 2031 – Public Hearing and Work Session

HB 2233 – Public Hearing

Recording Log

8:04:51 AM Meeting Called to Order by Chair Witt

8:05:11 AM HB 2257 - Public Hearing

8:05:24 AM {Exhibit} 1: Beth Patrino, Committee Administrator

8:05:40 AM Chair Witt

8:06:12 AM {Exhibit} 2: Brenda Bateman, Oregon Water Resources Department

8:12:37 AM Chair Witt

8:12:43 AM Rep. Krieger

8:12:48 AM Bateman

8:13:26 AM Chair Witt

8:13:28 AM Rep. Krieger

8:13:41 AM Tom Paul, Deputy Director, Oregon Water Resources Department

8:14:28 AM Chair Witt

8:14:29 AM Vice-Chair Esquivel

8:14:52 AM Paul

8:15:52 AM Chair Witt

8:15:54 AM Vice-Chair Esquivel

8:16:11 AM Paul

8:16:56 AM Vice-Chair Esquivel

8:17:18 AM Paul

8:17:52 AM Chair Witt

- 8:17:56 AM Rep. Thompson
- 8:18:29 AM Paul
- 8:20:10 AM Rep. Thompson
- 8:20:25 AM Paul
- 8:20:54 AM Chair Witt
- **8:20:59 AM** Rep. Whitsett
- 8:21:13 AM Paul
- **8:21:58 AM** Rep. Whitsett
- 8:22:07 AM Paul
- 8:22:16 AM Rep. Whitsett
- 8:22:18 AM Paul
- **8:22:37 AM** Rep. Whitsett
- 8:22:53 AM Paul
- 8:23:19 AM Rep. Whitsett
- **8:23:43 AM** Paul
- 8:23:53 AM Rep. Whitsett
- 8:23:59 AM Chair Witt
- **8:24:01 AM** Rep. Krieger
- 8:24:22 AM Bateman
- 8:24:41 AM Chair Witt
- 8:24:45 AM Rep. Krieger
- 8:25:15 AM Chair Witt
- 8:25:51 AM Paul
- 8:25:53 AM Chair Witt
- 8:26:01 AM Rep. Krieger
- 8:26:04 AM Rep. Clem
- 8:26:10 AM Chair Witt
- 8:27:12 AM Meeting Recessed
- 8:28:02 AM Meeting Reconvened
- 8:28:10 AM {Exhibit} 3: Tracy Rutten, League of Oregon Cities
- 8:29:04 AM Niki Iverson, League of Oregon Cities Member
- 8:30:40 AM Chair Witt
- **8:31:15 AM** Rep. Reardon
- 8:32:05 AM Chair Witt
- 8:32:21 AM Rep. Unger
- 8:32:33 AM Iverson
- 8:33:59 AM Rep. Unger
- 8:34:13 AM Iverson
- 8:34:37 AM Chair Witt
- 8:34:38 AM Rep. Unger
- 8:34:47 AM Vice-Chair McKeown
- 8:35:15 AM Iverson
- 8:35:56 AM Rep. Whitsett
- 8:36:28 AM Iverson
- 8:37:11 AM Chair Witt
- 8:37:56 AM Jerry Schmidt, Oregon Ground Water Association

8:39:31 AM Greg Kupallis, President, Oregon Ground Water Association; Port Pacific Hydro Geology 8:41:09 AM Chair Witt 8:41:54 AM Jim Myron, Water Watch of Oregon 8:42:29 AM Chair Witt 8:42:35 AM Vice-Chair Esquivel **8:42:50 AM** Chair Witt 8:42:51 AM Vice-Chair Esquivel 8:43:15 AM Myron 8:43:42 AM Chair Witt **8:44:06 AM** {Exhibit} 4: Peggy Lynch, League of Women Voters for Oregon 8:45:54 AM Chair Witt 8:46:12 AM Rep. Whitsett 8:46:18 AM Lynch **8:46:26 AM** Rep. Whitsett **8:46:33 AM** Lynch **8:46:36 AM** Rep. Whitsett 8:46:39 AM Lynch **8:47:26 AM** Chair Witt 8:47:57 AM HB 2031 - Public Hearing 8:48:12 AM Beth Patrino, Committee Administrator **8:48:41 AM** Chair Witt 8:49:05 AM {Exhibit} 5: Mary Abrams, Department of State Lands 8:53:09 AM Chair Witt 8:53:22 AM Abrams 8:53:23 AM Chair Witt 8:53:55 AM <u>HB 2031 - Work Session</u> 8:54:55 AM MOTION: VICE-CHAIR McKEOWN MOVES HB 2031 DO PASS & BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR 8:55:03 AM Chair Witt **8:55:21 AM** VOTE: 9-0-0 8:55:21 AM AYES: WITT, ESQUIVEL, McKEOWN, CLEM, KRIEGER, REARDON, THOMPSON, UNGER, WHITSETT 8:56:04 AM HB 2233 - Public Hearing 8:56:11 AM {Exhibit} 6: Beth Patrino, Committee Administrator **8:56:22 AM** Chair Witt 8:57:03 AM {Exhibit} 7: Scott Brewen, Director, Oregon State Marine Board **9:03:19 AM** {Exhibit} 8: Rachel Bullene, Abandoned Vessels Removal Coordinator, **Oregon State Marine Board** 9:12:12 AM Chair Witt 9:12:31 AM Rep. Krieger **9:13:05 AM** Brewen **9:13:13 AM** Rep. Krieger

- 9:13:22 AM Chair Witt 9:13:24 AM Vice-Chair McKeown 9:14:03 AM Chair Witt **9:14:23 AM** Rep. Krieger 9:14:29 AM Chair Witt 9:15:24 AM Palmer Mason, Department of Environmental Quality 9:16:28 AM Scott Smith, Department of Environmental Quality 9:20:24 AM Mason 9:21:49 AM Chair Witt 9:22:00 AM Mason 9:22:06 AM Chair Witt 9:22:17 AM Vice-Chair McKeown 9:22:51 AM Smith 9:23:03 AM Vice-Chair McKeown 9:23:04 AM Mason 9:23:33 AM Chair Witt **9:23:34 AM** Rep. Krieger 9:23:49 AM Smith 9:24:09 AM Chair Witt 9:24:13 AM Patrino **9:24:27 AM** Chair Witt **9:24:28 AM** Rep. Whitsett **9:25:02 AM** Mason 9:26:01 AM Chair Witt 9:26:16 AM Vice-Chair Esquivel 9:26:32 AM Smith 9:26:45 AM Vice-Chair Esquivel **9:27:06 AM** Smith 9:27:24 AM Chair Witt 9:27:44 AM Rep. Krieger 9:27:50 AM Chair Witt 9:28:37 AM Smith 9:29:40 AM Chair Witt 9:31:01 AM {Exhibit} 9: Justin Patterson, Parks and Properties Stewardship Program Director, Metro 9:33:39 AM Chair Witt 9:33:41 AM Vice-Chair McKeown **9:34:07 AM** Patterson 9:34:58 AM Vice-Chair McKeown 9:35:04 AM Patterson **9:35:06 AM** Chair Witt 9:35:32 AM Rep. Krieger

9:36:12 AM Jason Gates Multnomah County Sheriffs Office

9:35:38 AM Vice-Chair McKeown

9:36:43 AM Vice-Chair Esquivel

9:35:42 AM Chair Witt

9:36:45 AM Gates **9:38:32 AM** Chair Witt 9:38:35 AM Travis Gullberg, Lieutenant, Multnomah County Sheriff's Office **9:38:50 AM** Chair Witt 9:38:52 AM {Exhibit} 10: Darrell Fuller, Oregon State Sheriff's Association 9:39:18 AM Chair Witt 9:39:27 AM Rep. Thompson 9:39:59 AM Gates 9:40:05 AM Rep. Thompson 9:41:10 AM Gullberg 9:41:23 AM Chair Witt **9:41:26 AM** Rep. Whitsett 9:41:53 AM Gates 9:43:15 AM Chair Witt 9:43:42 AM Mark Landauer, Oregon Public Ports Association **9:45:04 AM** Chair Witt 9:46:34 AM Emily Ackland, Environmental Policy Manager, Association of Oregon Counties **9:47:08 AM** Chair Witt 9:47:30 AM Brian Carroll, Vice-Chair, Oregon State Marine Board **9:47:58 AM** Chair Witt 9:48:10 AM Carroll **9:48:18 AM** Chair Witt **9:49:17 AM** Patrino 9:49:20 AM The following written testimony is submitted for the record without public testimony: 9:49:40 AM {Exhibit} 11: Steve Lambert, President, Oregon Parks Association 9:49:47 AM Meeting Adjourned by Chair Witt

Exhibit Summary

```
8:05:24 AM {Exhibit} 1: HB 2257, -2 amendments, staff, 2 pp
8:06:12 AM {Exhibit} 2: HB 2257, written testimony, Brenda Bateman, 6 pp
8:28:10 AM {Exhibit} 3: HB 2257, written testimony, Tracy Rutten, 1 p
8:44:06 AM {Exhibit} 4: HB 2257, written testimony, Peggy Lynch, 1 p
8:49:05 AM {Exhibit} 5: HB 2031, written testimony, Mary Abrams, 2 pp
8:56:11 AM {Exhibit} 6: HB 2233, -1 amendments, staff, 1 p
8:57:03 AM {Exhibit} 7: HB 2233, written testimony, Scott Brewen, 6 pp
9:03:19 AM {Exhibit} 8: HB 2233, PowerPoint presentation, Rachel Bullene, 8 pp
9:31:01 AM {Exhibit} 9: HB 2233, written testimony, Justin Patterson, 1 p
9:38:52 AM {Exhibit} 10: HB 2233, written testimony, Darrell Fuller, 2 pp
9:49:40 AM {Exhibit} 11: HB 2233, written testimony, Steve Lambert, 1 p
```