## HOUSE COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE AND NATURAL RESOURCES

February 19, 2013 Hearing Room D 8:00 AM

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rep. Brad Witt, Chair

Rep. Caddy McKeown, Vice Chair Rep. Sal Esquivel, Vice Chair

Rep. Brian Clem Rep. Wayne Krieger Rep. Jeff Reardon Rep. Jim Thompson Rep. Ben Unger Rep. Gail Whitsett

STAFF PRESENT: Beth Patrino, Committee Administrator

**Maria Kelly, Committee Assistant** 

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: HB 2039 - Public Hearing

HB 2247 – Public Hearing and Work Session HB 2616 – Public Hearing and Work Session

**Introduction of Committee Measures – Work Session** 

## **Recording Log**

8:03:19 AM Meeting Called to Order by Chair Witt

8:03:50 AM HB 2039 - Public Hearing

8:04:01 AM Beth Patrino, Committee Administrator

8:04:18 AM Chair Witt

**8:05:09 AM** {Exhibit} 1: Scott Brewen, Director, Oregon State Marine Board **8:11:57 AM** Randy Henry, Boat Safety Manager, Oregon State Marine Board

8:18:29 AM Chair Witt

8:18:39 AM Brian Carroll, Vice-Chair, Oregon State Marine Board

8:19:01 AM Chair Witt

**8:19:07 AM** Rep. Whitsett

**8:19:58 AM** Henry

8:21:29 AM Rep. Whitsett

8:21:49 AM Henry

8:22:15 AM Rep. Krieger

8:22:15 AM Chair Witt

8:24:33 AM Henry

8:26:27 AM Rep. Krieger

**8:27:05 AM** Henry

8:28:12 AM Rep. Krieger

- 8:28:14 AM Chair Witt 8:28:24 AM Vice-Chair Esquivel **8:28:45 AM** Brewen 8:30:04 AM Vice-Chair Esquivel 8:30:41 AM Brewen 8:31:10 AM Vice-Chair Esquivel 8:31:16 AM Brewen 8:31:34 AM Vice-Chair Esquivel **8:31:37 AM** Chair Witt 8:31:39 AM Rep. Whitsett **8:32:21 AM** Henry **8:32:55 AM** Rep. Whitsett **8:32:59 AM** Chair Witt 8:34:05 AM David Anderson, Lieutenant, Oregon State Police, Fish and Wildlife Division 8:40:44 AM Chair Witt 8:40:49 AM Vice-Chair Esquivel **8:41:22 AM** Anderson 8:41:34 AM Vice-Chair Esquivel 8:41:36 AM Anderson 8:41:41 AM Vice-Chair Esquivel **8:41:57 AM** Anderson **8:41:59 AM** Vice-Chair Esquivel 8:42:00 AM Anderson **8:42:35 AM** Vice-Chair Esquivel 8:42:41 AM Anderson 8:42:47 AM Vice-Chair Esquivel **8:43:18 AM** Anderson **8:43:42 AM** Vice-Chair Esquivel 8:44:10 AM Anderson 8:44:22 AM Vice-Chair Esquivel 8:44:34 AM Anderson **8:44:52 AM** Vice-Chair Esquivel 8:44:58 AM Anderson **8:45:13 AM** Vice-Chair Esquivel 8:45:16 AM Anderson **8:45:20 AM** Vice-Chair Esquivel **8:45:26 AM** Anderson **8:45:29 AM** Vice-Chair Esquivel
- 8:45:26 AM Anderson
  8:45:29 AM Vice-Chair Esqu
  8:45:32 AM Chair Witt
  8:45:36 AM Rep. Clem
  8:46:53 AM Anderson
  8:47:04 AM Chair Witt
  8:47:05 AM Rep. Clem
  8:47:12 AM Chair Witt
  8:47:13 AM Rep. Krieger

8:47:41 AM Chair Witt 8:47:48 AM Vice-Chair Esquivel **8:47:57 AM** Anderson 8:47:59 AM Chair Witt 8:48:19 AM Doug Caven, President, McKenzie River Guides Association 8:48:29 AM Chair Witt 8:49:31 AM Stan Steele. Retired Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Officer 8:53:14 AM Chair Witt 8:54:00 AM Rep. Clem 8:54:05 AM Chair Witt 8:54:14 AM Vice-Chair Esquivel 8:54:24 AM Chair Witt 8:54:28 AM Rep. Krieger 8:55:09 AM Steele **8:56:21 AM** Chair Witt 8:56:22 AM Vice-Chair McKeown 8:56:34 AM Steele 8:56:57 AM Vice-Chair McKeown 8:57:06 AM Chair Witt 8:57:58 AM {Exhibit} 2: Gary Early, Licensed Guide; Advisory Guide Committee Member 9:03:36 AM Chair Witt 9:03:54 AM Al Elkins, Oregon Hunters Association **9:04:50 AM** Chair Witt 9:05:18 AM Bob Rees, President, Northwest Guides and Anglers Association 9:07:16 AM Chair Witt 9:07:21 AM Rees **9:07:27 AM** Chair Witt 9:07:31 AM Joe Rohleder, McKenzie River Guides Association; Advisory Guide Committee Member 9:08:43 AM Chair Witt 9:08:49 AM Rep. Whitsett 9:09:09 AM Rees 9:09:28 AM Rep. Whitsett 9:09:35 AM Rees 9:09:45 AM Chair Witt 9:10:43 AM Tom Wolf, Chair, Trout Unlimited 9:12:16 AM Chair Witt **9:12:19 AM** Sue Marshall, Audubon Society of Portland; Tualatin River Keepers; Willamette River Keepers 9:13:09 AM Chair Witt 9:14:04 AM Rep. Clem 9:14:08 AM Chair Witt 9:14:25 AM Brewen 9:16:28 AM Chair Witt

9:16:47 AM Vice-Chair Esquivel

9:16:56 AM Brewen 9:17:11 AM Chair Witt 9:17:49 AM HB 2247- Public Hearing 9:17:57 AM Beth Patrino, Committee Administrator 9:18:32 AM Chair Witt 9:18:46 AM Vice-Chair Esquivel 9:18:48 AM Chair Witt 9:18:53 AM {Exhibit} 3: Lisa Hanson, Deputy Director, Department of Agriculture 9:20:16 AM Chair Witt 9:20:18 AM Dan Hilburn, Director of Plant Programs, Department of Agriculture 9:22:17 AM Chair Witt 9:22:22 AM Rep. Krieger 9:22:40 AM Hanson **9:23:10 AM** Rep. Krieger 9:23:55 AM Chair Witt 9:23:59 AM Vice-Chair McKeown 9:24:38 AM Chair Witt 9:24:45 AM Vice-Chair McKeown **9:25:05 AM** Rep. Krieger 9:25:06 AM Vice-Chair McKeown 9:25:30 AM Chair Witt 9:25:36 AM Vice-Chair Esquivel 9:25:51 AM Vice-Chair McKeown 9:25:56 AM Vice-Chair Esquivel 9:25:57 AM Chair Witt 9:26:00 AM Rep. Clem 9:26:08 AM Vice-Chair McKeown **9:26:20 AM** Chair Witt **9:26:22 AM** Rep. Whitsett 9:26:51 AM Hilburn 9:28:21 AM Chair Witt **9:28:23 AM** Rep. Krieger 9:29:22 AM Hilburn 9:30:24 AM Chair Witt 9:31:16 AM HB 2247 - Work Session 9:31:23 AM MOTION: REP McKEOWN MOVES HB 2247 DO PASS **9:31:28 AM** Chair Witt 9:32:30 AM Roll Call **9:32:31 AM** VOTE: 9-0-0 9:32:31 AM AYES: CLEM, ESQUIVEL, KRIEGER, McKEOWN, REARDON, THOMPSON, UNGER, WHITSETT, WITT 9:33:15 AM CARRIER: VICE-CHAIR McKEOWN WILL LEAD DISCUSSION ON THE

**FLOOR** 

9:33:30 AM Chair Witt

9:33:43 AM HB 2616 - Public Hearing 9:33:48 AM Beth Patrino, Committee Administrator **9:34:14 AM** Chair Witt 9:34:29 AM {Exhibit} 4: Jana Jarvis, Oregon Wheat Commission 9:37:50 AM Chair Witt **9:37:58 AM** Rep. Thompson 9:39:11 AM Jarvis 9:40:00 AM Rep. Thompson 9:40:04 AM Chair Witt 9:40:06 AM Rep. Whitsett 9:40:14 AM Jarvis **9:40:21 AM** Rep. Whitsett 9:40:49 AM Jarvis **9:41:08 AM** Chair Witt 9:41:11 AM Rep. Thompson **9:41:22 AM** Chair Witt 9:42:10 AM Jarvis 9:42:15 AM Chair Witt 9:42:39 AM HB 2616 - Work Session 9:42:51 AM MOTION: VICE-CHAIR McKEOWN MOVES HB 2616 DO PASS AND THE SUBSEQUENT REFERRAL TO JOINT WAYS AND MEANS BE RESCINDED AND BE PLACED ON THE CONSENT CALENDAR 9:43:03 AM Chair Witt 9:43:28 AM VOTE: 9-0-0 9:43:29 AM AYES: CLEM, ESQUIVEL, KRIEGER, McKEOWN, REARDON, THOMPSON, UNGER, WHITSETT, WITT 9:43:53 AM Introduction of Committee Measures – Work Session **9:44:11 AM** {Exhibit} 6: Beth Patrino, Committee Administrator 9:44:40 AM Chair Witt 9:44:44 AM Vice-Chair Esquivel 9:45:09 AM Chair Witt 9:45:29 AM Vice-Chair McKeown **9:45:30 AM** Chair Witt 9:45:38 AM MOTION: VICE-CHAIR McKEOWN MOVES LC 1006 BE INTRODUCED AS A COMMITTEE BILL **9:45:47 AM** Chair Witt 9:46:10 AM VOTE: 9-0-0 9:46:10 AM AYES: CLEM, ESQUIVEL, KRIEGER, McKEOWN, REARDON, THOMPSON, UNGER, WHITSETT, WITT **9:46:19 AM** Patrino 9:46:51 AM Chair Witt **9:46:58 AM** Meeting Adjourned by Chair Witt

## **Exhibit Summary**

8:05:09 AM {Exhibit} 1: HB 2039, written testimony, Scott Brewen, 8 pp
8:57:58 AM {Exhibit} 2: HB 2039, written testimony, Gary Early, 3 pp
9:18:53 AM {Exhibit} 3: HB 2247, written testimony, Lisa Hanson, 1 p
9:34:29 AM {Exhibit} 4: HB 2616, written testimony, Jana Jarvis, 1 p
9:44:11 AM {Exhibit} 5: Introduction of Committee Measures, LC 1006, staff, 2 pp