HOUSE COMMITTEE ON BUSINESS AND LABOR

February 06, 2013 8:30 AM **Hearing Room E**

MEMBERS PRESENT:	Rep. Margaret Doherty, Chair Rep. Brent Barton, Vice Chair Rep. Bill Kennemer, Vice Chair Rep. Shemia Fagan Rep. Tim Freeman Rep. Paul Holvey Rep. Greg Matthews Rep. Kim Thatcher Rep. Brad Witt
MEMBER EXCUSED:	Rep. Jim Thompson
STAFF PRESENT:	Jan Nordlund, Committee Administrator Kate Coy, Committee Policy Analyst Branden Pursinger, Committee Assistant
MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD	 Organizational Meeting Adoption of Committee Rules Introduction of Committee Measures – Work Session LC 758 LC 1324 LC 1325 LC 1405 LC 1640 LC 1761 HB 2111 – Public Hearing HB 2112 – Public Hearing HB 2057 – Public Hearing and Work Session HB 2268 – Public Hearing and Work Session

Recording Log

8:32:00 AM Meeting Called to Order by Chair Doherty

8:32:19 AM Adoption of the Committee Rules - Organizational Meeting

- 8:32:32 AM Vice-Chair Barton
- 8:32:35 AM MOTION: VICE-CHAIR BARTON MOVES ADOPTION OF COMMITTEE RULES
- 8:32:36 AM Chair Doherty
- 8:32:44 AM VOTE: 9-0-1
- 8:32:44 AM AYES: FAGAN, FREEMAN, BARTON, DOHERTY, THATCHER, KENNEMER,

MATTHEWS, HOLVEY, WITT

- 8:32:44 AM EXCUSED: THOMPSON
- 8:33:02 AM Introduction of Committee Measures Work Session
- 8:33:02 AM {Exhibit} 1 6: Chair Doherty
- 8:33:25 AM Vice-Chair Barton
- 8:33:30 AM MOTION: VICE-CHAIR BARTON MOVES LC 758, 1324, 1325, 1405, 1640, and 1761 BE INTRODUCED AS COMMITTEE BILLS
- 8:34:21 AM Chair Doherty
- 8:34:49 AM VOTE: 9-0-1
- 8:34:49 AM AYES: FAGAN, FREEMAN, BARTON, DOHERTY, THATCHER, KENNEMER, MATTHEWS, HOLVEY, WITT
- 8:34:49 AM EXCUSED: THOMPSON

8:34:58 AM HB 2111 - Public Hearing

- 8:35:12 AM Jan Nordlund, Committee Administrator
- 8:35:32 AM Chair Doherty
- 8:36:09 AM {Exhibit} 7: Elizabeth Cushwa, Legislative Director, The Bureau of Labor and Industries
- 8:37:44 AM Bob Joondeph, Executive Director, Disabilities Rights Oregon
- 8:41:11 AM Chair Doherty
- 8:41:16 AM Vice-Chair Barton
- 8:41:41 AM Joondeph
- 8:41:47 AM Cushwa
- 8:42:15 AM Chair Doherty
- 8:42:18 AM Rep. Freeman
- 8:42:46 AM Cushwa
- 8:42:54 AM Joondeph
- 8:43:35 AM Cushwa
- 8:43:50 AM Rep. Freeman
- 8:44:18 AM Chair Doherty
- 8:44:21 AM Rep. Holvey
- 8:44:47 AM Chair Doherty
- 8:44:52 AM Rep. Fagan
- 8:45:49 AM Chair Doherty
- 8:46:18 AM {Exhibit} 8: J.L. Wilson, Associated Oregon Industries
- 8:49:51 AM Chair Doherty
- 8:49:56 AM {Exhibit} 9: Jan Meekcoms, Oregon State Director, National Federation of Independent Business
- 8:51:44 AM Chair Doherty
- 8:52:12 AM {Exhibit} 10: Curt Arthur, Oregon State Chamber of Commerce, Oregon
- 8:54:09 AM Chair Doherty
- 8:54:11 AM Jim Geisinger, Association of Oregon Loggers
- 8:56:35 AM Chair Doherty
- 8:56:39 AM Vice-Chair Barton
- 8:57:23 AM Geisinger
- 8:58:11 AM Chair Doherty
- 8:58:14 AM Rep. Fagan
- 8:58:42 AM Arthur
- 8:59:14 AM Chair Doherty

8:59:27 AM HB 2112-Public Hearing

- 8:59:31 AM Jan Nordlund, Committee Administrator
- 8:59:46 AM Chair Doherty
- 9:00:22 AM Elizabeth Cushwa, Legislative Director, The Bureau of Labor and Industries
- **9:02:24 AM** Gerhard Taeubel, Administrator of the Wage and Hour Division, Bureau of Labor Industries
- 9:04:33 AM Chair Doherty
- 9:04:35 AM Rep. Freeman
- 9:05:33 AM Taeubel
- 9:05:53 AM Chair Doherty
- 9:06:20 AM {Exhibit} 11: J.L. Wilson, Associated Oregon Industries
- 9:08:43 AM Chair Doherty
- **9:08:44 AM** {Exhibit} 12: Jan Meekcoms, State Director, National Federation of Independent Business (Oregon)
- 9:10:11 AM Ian Tolleson, Oregon Farm Bureau
- 9:10:37 AM Chair Doherty
- 9:10:56 AM Carl Harbaugh, small business owner, Salem
- 9:12:35 AM Chair Doherty

9:12:53 AM HB 2057-Public Hearing

- 9:13:22 AM Kate Coy, Committee Policy Analyst
- **9:13:53 AM** {Exhibit} 13: Tom Erwin, Government Affairs Director, Oregon Liquor Control Commission
- 9:17:51 AM Chair Doherty
- 9:17:55 AM Rep. Thatcher
- 9:18:37 AM Erwin
- 9:19:41 AM Chair Doherty

9:20:00 AM HB 2057- Work Session

- 9:20:06 AM Vice-Chair Barton
- 9:20:07 AM MOTION: VICE-CHAIR BARTON MOVES HB 2057 DO PASS
- 9:20:18 AM Rep. Thatcher
- 9:20:23 AM Coy
- 9:20:36 AM Chair Doherty
- 9:20:57 AM VOTE: 9-0-1
- **9:21:00 AM** AYES: FREEMAN, MATTHEWS, HOLVEY, FAGAN, WITT, THACHER, KENNEMER, BARTON, DOHERTY
- 9:21:17 AM EXCUSED: THOMPSON
- 9:21:30 AM Chair Doherty
- 9:21:37 AM Rep. Kennemer
- 9:21:40 AM Chair Doherty
- 9:21:45 AM Rep. Fagan
- 9:21:48 AM Chair Doherty
- 9:21:56 AM Rep. Kennemer
- 9:21:58 AM CARRIER: KENNERMER WILL LEAD DISCUSSION ON THE FLOOR

9:22:07 AM HB 2268 - Public Hearing

- 9:22:42 AM Chair Doherty
- **9:22:44 AM** Jan Nordlund, Committee Administrator
- **9:23:18 AM** James Denno, Administrator, Board of Architect Examiners
- 9:24:32 AM Chair Doherty

- 9:24:37 AM Leonard Lodder, President, American Institute of Architects - Oregon
- Chair Doherty 9:25:16 AM
- Rep. Freeman 9:25:19 AM
- 9:25:52 AM Denno
- Rep. Freeman 9:27:14 AM
- 9:27:30 AM Denno
- 9:28:01 AM Lodder
- Rep. Freeman 9:28:44 AM
- 9:28:51 AM Chair Doherty
- Vice-Chair Barton 9:28:53 AM
- 9:28:54 AM Chair Doherty
- 9:28:55 AM Rep. Fagan
- 9:29:35 AM Denno
- 9:30:12 AM Lodder
- 9:31:20 AM Chair Doherty
- 9:31:26 AM Rep. Fagan
- 9:31:30 AM Chair Doherty
- 9:31:33 AM Rep. Holvey
- Denno 9:31:55 AM
- 9:31:57 AM Rep. Holvey
- 9:32:02 AM
- Chair Doherty

9:32:08 AM HB 2268 - Work Session

- Chair Doherty 9:32:12 AM
- 9:32:13 AM Vice-Chair Barton
- MOTION: VICE-CHAIR BARTON MOVES HB 2268 DO PASS 9:32:18 AM
- 9:32:29 AM Chair Doherty
- 9:32:53 AM VOTE: 9-0-1
- AYES: FAGAN, MATTHEWS, WITT, THATCHER, FREEMAN, HOLVEY, 9:32:53 AM KENNEMER, BARTON, DOHERTY
- 9:33:06 AM **EXCUSED: THOMPSON**
- 9:33:28 AM Chair Doherty
- 9:33:36 AM Rep. Fagan
- Chair Doherty 9:33:44 AM
- CARRIER: REP. FAGAN WILL LEAD DISCUSSION ON THE FLOOR 9:33:46 AM
- 9:33:55 AM Rep. Witt
- 9:34:19 AM Chair Doherty
- Rep. Witt 9:34:27 AM
- Chair Doherty 9:35:26 AM
- Rep. Witt 9:35:40 AM
- Chair Doherty 9:35:42 AM
- 9:35:44 AM Rep. Matthews
- Chair Doherty 9:36:38 AM
- 9:36:40 AM Rep. Thatcher
- Nordlund 9:36:51 AM
- 9:37:06 AM Chair Doherty
- 9:37:18 AM Meeting Adjourned by Chair Doherty

Exhibit Summary

8:33:02 AM	{Exhibit} 1: Introduction of Committee Measures, LC 758, staff, 17 pp
8:33:02 AM	{Exhibit} 2: Introduction of Committee Measures, LC 1324, staff, 3 pp
8:33:02 AM	{Exhibit} 3: Introduction of Committee Measures, LC 1325, staff, 3 pp
8:33:02 AM	{Exhibit} 4: Introduction of Committee Measures, LC 1405, staff, 10 pp
8:33:02 AM	{Exhibit} 5: Introduction of Committee Measures, LC 1640, staff, 6 pp
8:33:02 AM	{Exhibit} 6: Introduction of Committee Measures, LC 1761, staff, 2 pp
8:36:09 AM	{Exhibit} 7: HB 2111, written testimony, Elizabeth Cushwa, 1 p
8:46:18 AM	{Exhibit} 8: HB 2111, written testimony, J.L. Wilson, 2 pp
8:49:56 AM	{Exhibit} 9: HB 2111, written testimony, Jan Meekcoms, 1 p
8:52:12 AM	{Exhibit} 10: HB 2111, written testimony, Curt Arthur, 1 p
9:06:20 AM	{Exhibit} 11: HB 2112, written testimony, J.L. Wilson, 1 p
9:08:44 AM	{Exhibit} 12: HB 2112, written testimony, Jan Meekcoms, 1 p
9:13:53 AM	{Exhibit} 13: HB 2057, written testimony, Tom Erwin, 2 pp
9:23:18 AM	{Exhibit} 14: HB 2268, written testimony, James Denno, 2 pp
9:24:37 AM	{Exhibit} 15: HB 2268, written testimony, Leonard Lodder, 1 p