HOUSE COMMITTEE ON JUDICIARY

May 28, 2013 1:00 P.M. Hearing Room 343

- MEMBERS PRESENT: Rep. Jeff Barker, Chair Rep. Chris Garrett, Vice-Chair Rep. Wayne Krieger, Vice-Chair Rep. Brent Barton Rep. Kevin Cameron Rep. Wally Hicks Rep. Andy Olson Rep. Carolyn Tomei Rep. Jennifer Williamson
- STAFF PRESENT: Michael Schmidt, Committee Counsel Pam Marshall, Committee Assistant
- MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: Oregon Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision Informational Meeting

Recording Log

- **1:05:31 PM** Meeting Called to Order by Chair Barker
- 1:05:33 PM Chair Barker
- 1:05:35 PM <u>Oregon Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision Informational</u> <u>Meeting</u>
- 1:06:01 PM Rep. Olson
- **1:06:10 PM** Vice-Chair Krieger
- **1:06:27 PM** Scott Russell, Chief of Police, City of Woodburn, Oregon Association of Chiefs of Police (OACP), First Vice-President
- **1:10:04 PM** {Exhibit} 1: Jason Myers, Marion County Sheriff, Oregon State Sheriffs Association (OSSA), President
- **1:12:49 PM** Tim Colahan, Harney County District Attorney, Oregon District Attorneys Association (ODAA), President
- 1:15:21 PM Chair Barker
- 1:15:55 PM Sen. Ted Ferrioli, Senate District 30
- **1:21:01 PM** {Exhibit} 2: Ryan Joslin, District Attorney, Grant County
- 1:25:05 PM Richard Tirico, Chief of Police, John Day
- 1:28:19 PM Rep. Tomei
- 1:28:32 PM Joslin
- 1:29:23 PM Rep. Tomei
- 1:29:38 PM Joslin

1:30:34 PM	•
1:30:44 PM	
	Vice-Chair Krieger
1:30:56 PM	
	Vice-Chair Krieger
	Sen. Ferrioli
	Vice-Chair Krieger
	Sen. Ferrioli
	Rep. Barton
	Sen. Ferrioli
	Rep. Barton
1:38:16 PM	
	Rep. Barton
	Chair Barker
	Wyn Lohner, Chief of Police, Baker City
	Exhibit 3: Ben Ward, brother of Frank Ward
	Chair Barker
	Brian Harvey, Chief of Police, La Grande (by phone)
1:59:40 PM	•
2:00:07 PM	•
	Lt. Derrick Reddington, La Grande Police Department
	Chair Barker
2:09:54 PM	•
2:10:11 PM	
	Chair Barker
2:10:59 PM	
2:11:21 PM	
	Rep. Sherrie Sprenger, House District 17
	{Exhibit} 4: Jay Scroggin, Executive Director, Oregon Board of Parole
2:21:32 PM	
2:21:40 PM	00
2:21:44 PM 2:21:49 PM	
	Scroggin Rep. Williamson
2:22:32 PM	•
2:22:43 PM	
2:22:56 PM	Scroggin
2:23:04 PM	Kristin Winges-Yanez, Board Chairperson, Oregon Board of Parole
2:24:10 PM	
2:24:31 PM	
	Rep. Cameron
	Winges-Yanez
2:25:24 PM	•
2:25:33 PM	Winges-Yanez
2:27:57 PM	-
2:28:24 PM	Winges-Yanez

2:28:42 PM Chair Barker 2:29:30 PM Winges-Yanez 2:30:26 PM Chair Barker 2:30:36 PM Winges-Yanez 2:31:02 PM Vice-Chair Garrett 2:31:19 PM Winges-Yanez 2:31:27 PM Scroggin 2:33:08 PM Vice-Chair Garrett 2:33:20 PM Scroggin 2:33:33 PM Rep. Tomei 2:33:46 PM Winges-Yanez 2:34:31 PM Rep. Tomei 2:34:52 PM Winges-Yanez 2:35:57 PM Rep. Tomei 2:36:19 PM Winges-Yanez 2:36:28 PM Rep. Tomei 2:36:38 PM Scroggin 2:36:56 PM Rep. Tomei 2:37:08 PM Scroggin 2:37:14 PM Rep. Williamson 2:37:41 PM Winges-Yanez 2:38:14 PM Chair Barker 2:38:58 PM Winges-Yanez 2:39:28 PM Chair Barker 2:39:56 PM Rep. Barton 2:40:14 PM Winges-Yanez 2:40:39 PM Rep. Barton 2:41:21 PM Winges-Yanez 2:41:52 PM Rep. Barton 2:43:16 PM Rep. Sprenger 2:44:19 PM Winges-Yanez 2:44:32 PM Rep. Sprenger 2:44:35 PM Winges-Yanez 2:44:55 PM Rep. Sprenger 2:45:06 PM Chair Barker 2:45:09 PM Rep. Cameron 2:45:37 PM Scroggin 2:45:47 PM Chair Barker **2:46:15 PM** Joshua Marguis, District Attorney, Clatsop County 2:50:54 PM Bob Hermann, District Attorney, Washington County 2:58:27 PM Rep. Sprenger 2:58:58 PM Marguis 2:59:41 PM Rep. Sprenger 3:00:31 PM Marquis 3:01:04 PM Vice-Chair Krieger 3:02:07 PM Rep. Hicks

- 3:02:08 PM Chair Barker
- 3:02:14 PM Rep. Hicks
- 3:04:01 PM Chair Barker
- 3:04:13 PM Sen. Ferrioli
- **3:05:39 PM** The following written testimony is submitted for the record without public testimony:
- **3:05:40 PM** {Exhibit} 5: Glenn Palmer, Sheriff, Grant County
- **3:05:40 PM** {Exhibit} 6: Susan Cederholm, Chair, Union County Local Public Safety Coordinating Council
- 3:05:40 PM {Exhibit} 7: David White, President, Oregon Peace Officers Association
- **3:05:40 PM** {Exhibit} 8: Eric Bunday, Sergeant, Hillsboro Police Department
- 3:05:42 PM Chair Barker
- 3:05:49 PM Meeting Adjourned by Chair Barker

Exhibit Summary

- **1:10:04 PM** {Exhibit} 1: Oregon Board of Parole, written testimony, Jason Myers, 1 p
- **1:21:01 PM** {Exhibit} 2: Oregon Board of Parole, written testimony, Ryan Joslin, 23 pp
- **1:42:11 PM** {Exhibit} 3: Oregon Board of Parole, written testimony of Ron Schafer, Ben Ward, 1 p
- **2:16:55 PM** {Exhibit} 4: Oregon Board of Parole, hearings process document, Jay Scroggin, 43 pp
- **3:05:40 PM** {Exhibit} 5: Oregon Board of Parole, Glenn Palmer, 1 p
- **3:05:40 PM** {Exhibit} 6: Oregon Board of Parole, written testimony, Susan Cederholm, 2 pp
- 3:05:40 PM {Exhibit} 7: Oregon Board of Parole, written testimony, David White, 2 pp
- **3:05:40 PM** {Exhibit} 8:Oregon Board of Parole, written testimony, Eric Bunday, 3 pp