JOINT COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC SAFETY

March 27, 2013 5:30 PM **Hearing Room C**

MEMBERS PRESENT: Sen. Floyd Prozanski, Co-Chair Sen. Jackie Winters, Co-Chair Rep. Chris Garrett, Co-Chair Rep. Andy Olson, Co-Chair Sen. Betsy Close Sen. Arnie Roblan Rep. Jeff Barker Rep. Wally Hicks Rep. Wayne Krieger Rep. Greg Matthews

STAFF PRESENT:

Josh Nasbe, Committee Counsel Andra Tom, Committee Assistant

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: HB 3194 – Informational Meeting

Recording Log

- **5:45:40 PM** Meeting Called to Order by Co-Chair Olson
- 5:46:39 PM HB 3194 Informational Meeting
- 5:46:51 PM Ellen Rosenblum, Oregon Attorney General
- 6:00:04 PM Co-Chair Olson
- 6:00:34 PM Kevin Campbell, Executive Director, Oregon Association Chiefs of Police
- 6:04:18 PM {Exhibit} 1: Chief John Teague, Dallas Police Department
- 6:08:43 PM Steve Winegar, Department of Public Safety Standards and Training
- 6:09:33 PM Co-Chair Olson
- 6:09:43 PM Co-Chair Winters
- 6:09:55 PM Campbell
- 6:10:01 PM Co-Chair Olson
- **6:10:31 PM** Jim Bernard, Clackamas County Commissioner; Co-Chair, Association of Oregon Counties
- 6:13:49 PM {Exhibit} 2: Craig Prins, Director, Oregon Criminal Justice Commission
- 6:22:30 PM Rep. Hicks
- 6:22:50 PM Prins
- 6:24:17 PM Rep. Hicks
- 6:24:29 PM Prins
- 6:25:20 PM Rep. Matthews

- 6:25:56 PM Prins 6:27:07 PM Rep. Hicks
- 6:27:25 PM Prins
- 6:27:58 PM Jay Dixon, Benton County Commissioner; Co-Chair, Association of Oregon Counties
- 6:29:28 PM Co-Chair Olson
- 6:29:58 PM Co-Chair Prozanski
- 6:30:30 PM Rod Underhill, District Attorney, Multnomah County
- 6:45:10 PM Larry Matasar, member, 2012 Governor's Public Safety Commission
- 6:55:40 PM {Exhibit} 3: Judge Darryl Larson, retired, Lane County Circuit Court
- 7:05:30 PM Rep. Barker
- 7:06:51 PM Matasar
- 7:08:06 PM Underhill
- 7:11:38 PM Sen. Close
- 7:13:10 PM Larson
- 7:13:13 PM Co-Chair Olson
- 7:13:22 PM Larson
- 7:16:39 PM Rep. Hicks
- 7:17:04 PM Underhill
- 7:21:06 PM Matasar
- 7:22:15 PM Co-Chair Garrett
- 7:23:26 PM Prins
- 7:24:32 PM Co-Chair Olson
- 7:24:38 PM Underhill
- 7:25:03 PM Co-Chair Prozanski
- 7:27:32 PM Underhill
- 7:33:28 PM Co-Chair Winters
- 7:36:25 PM Co-Chair Olson
- 7:36:35 PM Larson
- 7:39:00 PM Underhill
- 7:42:02 PM Matasar
- 7:43:31 PM Underhill
- 7:43:38 PM Co-Chair Olson
- 7:43:47 PM Meeting Adjourned by Co-Chair Olson

Exhibit Summary

- 6:04:18 PM {Exhibit} 1: HB 3194, written testimony, John Teague, 2 pp
- **6:13:49 PM** {Exhibit} 2: HB 3194, report, "General Fund Allocation Using 11-13 Allocation Percentages and 2012 Actual Cost Study Budget", Craig Prins, 1 p
- 6:55:40 PM {Exhibit} 3: HB 3194, written testimony, Darryl Larson, 5 pp