## SENATE COMMITTEE ON RURAL COMMUNITIES & ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

March 14, 2013 Hearing Room C

3:00 PM

MEMBERS PRESENT: Sen. Arnie Roblan, Chair

Sen. Herman Baertschiger, Vice-Chair

Sen. Ginny Burdick Sen. Betsy Close Sen. Floyd Prozanski

STAFF PRESENT: Racquel Rancier, Committee Administrator

**Shelley Raszka, Committee Assistant** 

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: SB 578 - Public Hearing

SB 715 – Public Hearing

## **Recording Log**

3:03:28 PM Meeting Called to Order by Chair Roblan

3:03:47 PM SB 578-Public Hearing

3:03:58 PM {Exhibit} 1: Racquel Rancier, Committee Administrator

3:05:52 PM Sen. Prozanski

3:05:59 PM Chair Roblan

3:06:02 PM Sen. Prozanski

3:06:04 PM Chair Roblan

3:06:49 PM Sen. Prozanski

3:06:59 PM Al King, former Oregon State Representative, Springfield

3:07:04 PM Sen. Prozanski

3:07:12 PM Chair Roblan

3:07:16 PM Jack Czarnecki, founder, Joel Palmer House; author

3:09:10 PM Chair Roblan

3:09:19 PM Czarnecki

3:11:43 PM King

3:14:45 PM {Exhibit} 2-3: John Getz, President, Oregon Wild Mushroom and Truffle

Association

3:21:10 PM Chair Roblan

3:21:16 PM Vice-Chair Baertschiger

**3:21:36 PM** Getz

**3:22:35 PM** Vice-Chair Baertschiger

**3:22:46 PM** King

3:23:56 PM Getz

3:25:10 PM King 3:25:50 PM Czarnecki 3:26:41 PM Sen. Prozanski 3:27:21 PM Getz 3:28:17 PM King 3:29:01 PM Sen. Prozanski 3:30:45 PM King **3:30:57 PM** Sen. Burdick **3:31:35 PM** Czarnecki 3:34:21 PM Sen. Burdick 3:34:35 PM Czarnecki **3:34:43 PM** Sen. Burdick 3:34:47 PM Chair Roblan 3:35:29 PM {Exhibit} 4: Carl Wilmsen, Executive Director, North West Forest Workers Center 3:42:02 PM Chair Roblan 3:42:07 PM {Exhibit} 5: Ralph Siegfried, mushroom picker **3:45:23 PM** Rick Pine, mushroom harvester, Washington 3:53:48 PM Sen. Prozanski 3:54:07 PM Pine 3:55:02 PM Siegfried 3:55:44 PM Chair Roblan **3:55:51 PM** Signature **3:55:51 PM** 3:56:06 PM Sen. Prozanski 3:56:12 PM Siegfried 3:56:13 PM Sen. Prozanski 3:56:19 PM Sieafried 3:56:22 PM Pine 3:57:48 PM Chair Roblan 3:57:51 PM Siegfried 3:58:04 PM Chair Roblan 3:58:44 PM {Exhibit} 6: Fred Shipley, President, Oregon Mycologist Society **4:04:52 PM** Chair Roblan 4:05:08 PM {Exhibit} 7: Ron Exeter, Bureau of Land Management (BLM), Salem 4:07:36 PM Chair Roblan 4:07:47 PM Exeter 4:08:47 PM Chair Roblan 4:08:53 PM Vice-Chair Baertschiger 4:09:03 PM Exeter **4:09:10 PM** Vice-Chair Baertschiger 4:09:20 PM Chair Roblan 4:09:45 PM Liz Dent, Deputy Division Chief, State Forest Division, Oregon Department of Forestry

4:11:22 PM Vice-Chair Baertschiger

**4:11:30 PM** Vice-Chair Baertschiger

4:11:26 PM Dent

4:11:35 PM Dent 4:11:58 PM Chair Roblan 4:12:22 PM Jim Wells, controller, Southern Oregon Select Fruit and Vegetable Company 4:23:01 PM Chair Roblan 4:23:42 PM Rex Swartzentruber, commercial mushroom and truffle collector **4:29:33 PM** Arley Smith, mushroom company owner, Portland 4:39:44 PM Mike Dykzeul, Director of Forest Protection, Oregon Forest Industries Council (OFIC) 4:40:46 PM Chair Roblan 4:41:15 PM {Exhibit} 8: Lars Norgren, timber land owner, Forest Grove 4:48:53 PM Matt Briggs, wild mushroom business owner 4:54:20 PM Roger Beyer, Oregon Small Woodlands Association 4:55:16 PM Chair Roblan 4:55:20 PM Sen. Prozanski 4:55:25 PM Chair Roblan **4:55:27 PM** {Exhibit} 9: witness registration 4:55:28 PM The following testimony is submitted for the record without public testimony: 4:55:29 PM {Exhibit} 10-11: Thomas Mysiewicz, commercial mushroom picker 4:55:30 PM {Exhibit} 12: Perry Bergman, North Bend 4:55:31 PM {Exhibit} 13: Hannah Hill, North Bend 4:55:32 PM {Exhibit} 14: Peter Chelico, President, Belmont Trading Company 4:56:05 PM SB 715-Public Hearing 4:56:28 PM Racquel Rancier, Committee Administrator 4:56:59 PM {Exhibit} 15: Doug Decker, Oregon State Forester 4:58:32 PM Liz Dent, Deputy Division Chief, State Forest Division, Oregon Department of Forestry 5:02:53 PM Vice-Chair Baertschiger **5:03:28 PM** Decker 5:04:10 PM Sen. Prozanski 5:04:54 PM Dent 5:05:49 PM Sen. Prozanski 5:06:09 PM Chair Roblan **5:06:41 PM** Decker 5:08:00 PM Chair Roblan 5:08:32 PM {Exhibit} 16: witness registration **5:08:34 PM** Meeting Adjourned by Chair Roblan

## **Exhibit Summary**

| 3:03:58 PM | {Exhibit} 1: SB 578, -2 amendments, staff, 9 pp                           |
|------------|---|
| 3:14:45 PM | {Exhibit} 2: SB 578, written testimony, John Getz, 2 pp                   |
| 3:14:45 PM | {Exhibit} 3: SB 578, written testimony of Charles Lefevre, John Getz, 1 p |
| 3:35:29 PM | {Exhibit} 4: SB 578, written testimony, Carl Wilmsen, 3 pp                |

```
3:42:07 PM {Exhibit} 5: SB 578, written testimony, Ralph Siegfried, 1 p
3:58:44 PM {Exhibit} 6: SB 578, written testimony, Fred Shipley, 1 p
4:05:08 PM {Exhibit} 7: SB 578, written information, Ron Exeter, 4 pp
4:41:15 PM {Exhibit} 8: SB 578, written testimony, Lars Norgren, 4 pp
4:55:27 PM {Exhibit} 9: SB 578, witness registration, staff, 3 pp
4:55:29 PM {Exhibit} 10: SB 578, written testimony, Thomas Mysiewicz, 4 pp
4:55:30 PM {Exhibit} 11: SB 578, written testimony, Thomas Mysiewicz, 1 p
4:55:31 PM {Exhibit} 12: SB 578, written testimony, Perry Bergman, 1 p
4:55:32 PM {Exhibit} 13: SB 578, written testimony, Hannah Hill, 1 p
4:55:32 PM {Exhibit} 14: SB 578, written testimony, Peter Chelico, 1 p
4:56:59 PM {Exhibit} 15: SB 715, written testimony, Doug Decker, 1 p
5:08:32 PM {Exhibit} 16: SB 715, witness registration, staff, 1 p
```