HOUSE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION SUBCOMMITTEE ON HIGHER EDUCATION

April 07, 2011 Hearing Room E

1:00 PM

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rep. Michael Dembrow, Co-Chair

Rep. Mark Johnson, Co-Chair Rep. Val Hoyle, Co-Vice Chair

Rep. Sherrie Sprenger, Co-Vice Chair

Rep. Shawn Lindsay

MEMBER EXCUSED: Rep. Chris Harker

STAFF PRESENT: Anna Teske, Committee Administrator

Cynthia Scott, Committee Assistant

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: HB 3521 - Work Session

SB 559 & SJR 20 – Informational Meeting

Recording Log

1:10:29 PM Meeting Called to Order by Co-Chair Johnson

1:10:55 PM HB 3521 Work Session

1:11:15 PM Co-Chair Dembrow

1:11:26 PM Co-Chair Johnson

1:14:44 PM Rep. Lindsay

1:15:54 PM Co-Chair Dembrow

1:16:12 PM Rep. Lindsav

1:16:13 PM Co-Chair Dembrow

1:16:21 PM Co-Chair Johnson

1:16:33 PM MOTION: Co-Chair Dembrow moves to adopt -2 amendments

1:16:41 PM Co-Chair Johnson

1:16:54 PM VOTE: 5-0-1

1:16:55 PM AYES: Harker, Lindsay, Sprenger, Johnson, Dembrow; EXCUSED:

HOYLE

1:17:00 PM MOTION: Co-Chair Dembrow moves HB 3521 Do Pass and be referred to

House Committee on Education

1:17:14 PM Co-Chair Johnson

1:17:28 PM VOTE: 5-0-1

1:17:45 PM AYES: Harker, Hoyle, Lindsay, Sprenger, Johnson, Dembrow

1:17:58PM Overview of SB 559 and SJR 20 - Informational Meeting

1:18:32 PM {Exhibit} 1: Richard Lariviere, President, University of Oregon

1:30:08 PM Co-Chair Johnson

1:30:09 PM Rep. Lindsay

1:30:55 PM Lariviere

1:33:51 PM Rep. Lindsay

1:34:32 PM Lariviere

1:38:06 PM Co-Chair Johnson

1:38:08 PM Co-Chair Dembrow

1:39:04 PM Lariviere

1:41:05 PM Co-Chair Dembrow

1:41:30 PM Lariviere

1:41:33 PM Co-Chair Dembrow

1:41:50 PM Lariviere

1:42:30 PM Co-Chair Dembrow

1:42:35 PM Lariviere

1:42:38 PM Co-Chair Dembrow

1:43:25 PM Lariviere

1:44:56 PM Co-Chair Dembrow

1:45:05 PM Lariviere

1:45:34 PM Co-Chair Dembrow

1:46:33 PM Lariviere

1:48:07 PM Co-Chair Johnson

1:48:19 PM Rep. Harker

1:49:31 PM Co-Chair Johnson

1:50:30 PM {Exhibit} 2: Larry Bruton, business partner, Zimmer-Gunsul-Frasca Architects, Trustee, UO Foundation

1:58:33 PM Co-Chair Johnson

1:58:37 PM {Exhibit} 3: Chris A. Smith, business owner, CAS Properties and Design Systems Northwest, resident, Lake Oswego

2:03:07 PM Co-Chair Johnson

2:03:57 PM Smith

2:04:01 PM Bruton

2:04:48 PM Co-Chair Johnson

2:05:36 PM {Exhibit} 4: Cyndi Astley, resident, Salem, Oregon

2:11:27 PM Bruce Waltz, resident, McMinnville, retired teacher

2:15:19 PM {Exhibit} 5: Zachary Taylor, student, University of Oregon

2:18:17 PM Co-Chair Johnson

2:18:50 PM Taylor

2:19:18 PM Co-Chair Johnson

2:19:20 PM Rep. Lindsay

2:20:09 PM Taylor

2:21:04 PM Co-Chair Johnson

2:21:26 PM Taylor

2:21:49 PM Co-Chair Johnson 2:21:51 PM Co-Chair Dembrow **2:22:40 PM** Taylor 2:23:39 PM Co-Chair Dembrow 2:23:48 PM Taylor 2:23:53 PM Co-Chair Johnson 2:24:29 PM {Exhibit} 6: Hill Walker, member, University of Oregon Alumni Board 2:31:56 PM Co-Chair Johnson 2:32:00 PM {Exhibit} 7: Dr. Ian F. McNeely, resident, Eugene, Oregon, associate professor of history, University of Oregon 2:35:40 PM {Exhibit} 8: John Chalmers, finance department head, University of Oregon 2:39:26 PM Co-Chair Johnson **2:39:32 PM** Rep. Lindsay 2:39:43 PM Chalmers 2:39:44 PM Co-Chair Johnson 2:40:24 PM Co-Chair Dembrow 2:41:09 PM Chalmers 2:41:32 PM Co-Chair Dembrow **2:42:27 PM** McNeeley 2:43:30 PM Co-Chair Dembrow 2:44:10 PM Chaimers 2:45:27 PM Co-Chair Johnson 2:45:28 PM Co-Chair Dembrow **2:45:50 PM** McNeelev 2:46:04 PM Co-Chair Dembrow 2:46:06 PM McNeeley 2:46:57 PM Co-Chair Dembrow 2:47:23 PM Chalmers 2:47:48 PM Co-Chair Johnson 2:47:57 PM Co-Chair Dembrow 2:47:59 PM Co-Chair Johnson 2:49:25 PM Emma Kallaway, OSA 2:50:04 PM Tyler Hogan, OSA 2:55:49 PM Co-Chair Johnson 2:56:14 PM Co-Chair Dembrow

2:58:01 PM Meeting Adjourned by Co-Chair Johnson

Exhibit Summary

1:18:32 PM {Exhibit} 1: HB 3521, written testimony, Richard Lariviere,
1:50:30 PM {Exhibit} 2: SB 559/SJR 20, written testimony, Larry Bruton, business partner,
1:58:37 PM {Exhibit} 3: SB 559/SJR 20, written testimony, Chris A. Smith,

2:05:36 PM {Exhibit} 4: SB 559/SJR 20, written testimony, Cyndi Astley
2:15:19 PM {Exhibit} 5: SB 559/SJR 20, written testimony, Zachary Taylor
2:24:29 PM {Exhibit} 6: Hill Walker
2:32:00 PM {Exhibit} 7: SB 559/SJR 20, written testimony, Dr. Ian F. McNeely
2:35:40 PM {Exhibit} 8: SB 559/SJR 20, written testimony, John Chaimers,