HOUSE COMMITTEE ON ENERGY, ENVIRONMENT AND WATER

May 10, 2011 Hearing Room D 3:00 PM

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rep. Ben Cannon, Co-Chair

Rep. Vic Gilliam, Co-Chair

Rep. Deborah Boone, Co-Vice Chair Rep. Wayne Krieger, Co-Vice Chair

Rep. Jules Bailey Rep. Cliff Bentz Rep. Jim Thompson Rep. Brad Witt

STAFF PRESENT: Liz Puskar, Committee Administrator

Sue Hampton, Committee Assistant

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: SB 695 A - Public Hearing

Recording Log

3:11:14 PM Meeting Called to Order by Co-Chair Gilliam

3:11:17 PM Co-Chair Gilliam

3:11:39 PM SB 695 A - Public Hearing

3:11:42 PM Co-Chair Gilliam

3:11:54 PM Liz Puskar, Committee Administrator

3:13:40 PM Co-Chair Gilliam

3:13:50 PM {Exhibit} 1: Sen. Brain Boquist, Senate District 12

3:16:57 PM Co-Vice Chair Boone

3:17:00 PM Sen. Boguist

3:17:05 PM Co-Chair Cannon

3:17:10 PM Sen. Boquist

3:24:35 PM Co-Vice Chair Krieger

3:24:52 PM Sen. Boquist

3:25:27 PM Co-Vice Chair Krieger

3:25:40 PM Sen. Boquist

3:26:02 PM Co-Chair Gilliam

3:26:07 PM Co-Vice Chair Boone

3:26:44 PM Sen. Boquist

3:27:49 PM Co-Vice Chair Boone

3:28:29 PM Co-Chair Gilliam

3:28:33 PM Sen. Boquist

- 3:29:15 PM {Exhibit} 2: Wayne Brady, Taxpayer Association of Oregon
- **3:30:44 PM** {Exhibit} 3: Lewis Pitt, Jr., Government Affairs & Planning Director, Confederated Tribes of the Warm Springs Reservation of Oregon
- **3:35:12 PM** Penelope Jones-Vaughn, American Federation of State County and Municipal Employees Local 132
- 3:37:36 PM Co-Chair Gilliam
- **3:38:29 PM** {Exhibit} 4: Dr. Renee Hackenmiller-Paradis, Oregon Environmental Council
- 3:45:01 PM Co-Chair Gilliam
- **3:45:52 PM** {Exhibit} 5 6: Gail Shibley, J.D., Administrator, Office of Environmental Public Health, Public Health Division, Oregon Health Authority
- 3:50:46 PM {Exhibit} 7: Maye Thompson, Oregon Physicians for Social Responsibility
- 3:57:37 PM Co-Vice Chair Krieger
- 3:57:48 PM Hackenmiller-Paradis
- 3:58:32 PM Co-Vice Chair Krieger
- 3:58:42 PM Hackenmiller-Paradis
- 3:59:32 PM Co-Vice Chair Krieger
- 3:59:43 PM Hackenmiller-Paradis
- 4:00:05 PM Co-Vice Chair Krieger
- 4:00:08 PM Hackenmiller-Paradis
- 4:00:31 PM Co-Vice Chair Krieger
- 4:00:54 PM Hackenmiller-Paradis
- 4:01:04 PM Rep. Thompson
- **4:01:53 PM** Thompson
- 4:03:37 PM Co-Chair Gilliam
- **4:04:19 PM** Thompson
- 4:05:19 PM Co-Chair Gilliam
- 4:05:42 PM Shibley
- 4:07:49 PM Rep. Bentz
- 4:08:25 PM Shibley
- **4:10:11 PM** Rep. Bentz
- 4:10:57 PM Co-Chair Gilliam
- **4:12:12 PM** {Exhibit} 8: Tim Shestek, Senior Director, State Affairs, American Chemistry Council
- **4:16:33 PM** {Exhibit} 9: John Hewitt, Western Region, State Affairs, Grocery Manufacturers Association
- 4:18:40 PM {Exhibit} 10: Dr. William Hoyle, Western Chemistry Council
- 4:31:01 PM Co-Chair Cannon
- 4:31:50 PM Hoyle
- 4:32:00 PM Co-Chair Cannon
- **4:32:55 PM** Hovle
- 4:33:31 PM Co-Chair Cannon
- **4:33:38 PM** Hoyle
- 4:34:10 PM Co-Chair Cannon
- **4:35:06 PM** Rep. Witt
- 4:35:25 PM Shestek

- 4:35:26 PM Rep. Witt 4:35:35 PM Shestek 4:36:29 PM Rep. Witt 4:37:23 PM Shestek 4:37:55 PM Rep. Witt 4:38:04 PM Shestek 4:38:18 PM Hoyle 4:39:36 PM Rep. Witt 4:39:52 PM Hoyle
- **4:39:53 PM** Rep. Witt
- **4:40:13 PM** Hoyle
- 4:41:30 PM Co-Chair Gilliam
- 4:42:21 PM Rep. Witt
- 4:42:32 PM Co-Chair Gilliam
- 4:42:47 PM Rep. Witt
- 4:43:14 PM Hoyle
- 4:44:37 PM Rep. Witt
- **4:44:52 PM** Hoyle
- 4:45:47 PM Co-Vice Chair Boone
- **4:48:25 PM** Hoyle
- 4:48:27 PM Co-Vice Chair Boone
- 4:48:35 PM Hoyle
- 4:48:36 PM Co-Vice Chair Boone
- 4:49:07 PM Hoyle
- 4:50:31 PM Rep. Thompson
- 4:51:12 PM Co-Chair Gilliam
- 4:51:13 PM Rep. Thompson
- 4:51:14 PM Co-Vice Chair Krieger
- **4:51:17 PM** Hoyle
- 4:52:50 PM Rep. Thompson
- 4:53:15 PM Co-Vice Chair Krieger
- **4:53:22 PM** Rep. Bailey
- **4:55:09 PM** Hoyle
- 4:55:59 PM Co-Chair Gilliam
- 4:57:05 PM {Exhibit} 11: Stacey Michaelson, Children First
- 4:58:38 PM Holly Fifield, Stand for Children
- 4:59:49 PM {Exhibit} 12: Andrea Paluso, Family Forward Oregon
- 5:03:08 PM {Exhibit} 13: Co-Chair Gilliam
- **5:03:26 PM** {Exhibit} 14: Brian Boehringer, Oregon Medical Association
- 5:04:38 PM {Exhibit} 15: Lisa Frack, Environmental Working Group
- 5:09:34 PM Co-Chair Gilliam
- 5:09:46 PM Rep. Bailey
- **5:10:20 PM** The following written testimony was submitted for the record without public testimony:
- 5:10:21 PM {Exhibit} 16: Anna Stiefvater, Oregon Nurses Association
- 5:10:22 PM {Exhibit} 17: Susan Beal, Oregon

5:10:23 PM {Exhibit} 18: Morgan Cowling, Coalition of Local Health Officials
5:10:24 PM {Exhibit} 19: Tom Chamberlain, Oregon AFL-CIO
5:10:25 PM {Exhibit} 20: Sarah Janssen, Natural Resources Defense Council
5:10:26 PM {Exhibit} 21: Rosalyn Greene, Chair, American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees Green
5:10:27 PM {Exhibit} 22: Grant Swanson, American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees Green
5:10:28 PM {Exhibit} 23: Francesca Yvonne, Local 132 Child Care Providers Together
5:10:29 PM {Exhibit} 24: Jeff Cogan, Multnomah County Chair and Dan Saltzman, Portland City Commissioner
5:10:55 PM Meeting Adjourned by Co-Chair Gilliam

Exhibit Summary

```
3:13:50 PM {Exhibit} 1: SB 695 A, written testimony, Sen. Brain Boquist, 2 pp
3:29:15 PM {Exhibit} 2: SB 695 A, written testimony, Wayne Brady, 1 p
3:30:44 PM {Exhibit} 3: SB 695 A, written testimony, Lewis Pitt, Jr., 1 p
3:38:29 PM {Exhibit} 4: SB 695 A, written testimony, Dr. Renee Hackenmiller-Paradis,
             6 pp
3:45:52 PM {Exhibit} 5: SB 695 A, written testimony, Gail Shibley, 2 pp
3:45:52 PM {Exhibit} 6: SB 695 A, written testimony of Dick Pedersen, Gail Shibley, 1
3:50:46 PM {Exhibit} 7: SB 695 A, written testimony, Maye Thompson, 2 pp
4:12:12 PM {Exhibit} 8: SB 695 A, written testimony, Tim Shestek, 10 pp
4:16:33 PM {Exhibit} 9: SB 695 A, written testimony, John Hewitt, 5 pp
4:18:40 PM {Exhibit} 10: SB 695 A, written testimony, Dr. William Hoyle, 9 pp
4:57:05 PM {Exhibit} 11: SB 695 A, written testimony, Stacey Michaelson, 1 p
4:59:49 PM {Exhibit} 12: SB 695 A, written testimony, Andrea Paluso, 2 pp
5:03:08 PM {Exhibit} 13: SB 695 A, written testimony of Alex Franco, staff, 3 pp
5:03:26 PM {Exhibit} 14: SB 695 A, written testimony, Brian Boehringer, 4 pp
5:04:38 PM {Exhibit} 15: SB 695 A, written testimony, Lisa Frack, 9 pp
5:10:21 PM {Exhibit} 16: SB 695 A, written testimony, Anna Stiefvater, 2 pp
5:10:22 PM {Exhibit} 17: SB 695 A, written testimony, Susan Beal, 2 pp
5:10:23 PM {Exhibit} 18: SB 695 A, written testimony, Morgan Cowling, 1 p
5:10:24 PM {Exhibit} 19: SB 695 A, written testimony, Tom Chamberlain, 1 p
5:10:25 PM {Exhibit} 20: SB 695 A, written testimony, Sarah Janssen, 4 pp
5:10:26 PM {Exhibit} 21: SB 695 A, written testimony, Rosalyn Greene, 2 pp
5:10:27 PM {Exhibit} 22: SB 695 A, written testimony, Grant Swanson, 2 pp
5:10:28 PM {Exhibit} 23: SB 695 A, written testimony, Francesca Yvonne, 3 pp
5:10:29 PM {Exhibit} 24: SB 695 A, written testimony, Jeff Cogan and Dan Saltzman,
             1 p
```