HOUSE COMMITTEE ON GENERAL GOVERNMENT AND CONSUMER PROTECTION

February 22, 2011 8:00 AM Hearing Room E

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rep. Paul Holvey, Co-Chair Rep. Gene Whisnant, Co-Chair Rep. Patrick Sheehan, Co-Vice Chair Rep. Jefferson Smith, Co-Vice Chair Rep. Kevin Cameron Rep. Brian Clem Rep. Jason Conger Rep. Greg Matthews

STAFF PRESENT: Jan Nordlund, Committee Administrator Tamara Sullivan, Committee Assistant

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: HB 2855 Public Hearing HB 2958 Public Hearing HB 3032 Public Hearing and Work Session HB 2322 Public Hearing HB 2218 Public Hearing

Recording Log

- 8:08:14 AM Meeting Called to Order by Co-Chair Holvey
- 8:08:15 AM Co-Chair Holvey

8:08:32 AM HB 2855 - Public Hearing

- 8:08:45 AM Jan Nordlund, Committee Administrator
- 8:09:21 AM Co-Chair Holvey
- 8:09:42 AM Rep. Nancy Nathanson, District 13
- 8:09:50 AM Co-Chair Holvey
- 8:09:54 AM Rep. Nathanson
- 8:15:21 AM Co-Chair Holvey
- 8:15:26 AM Sarah Miller, Governor's Efficiency Task Force
- 8:17:13 AM Co-Chair Holvey
- 8:17:18 AM Co-Chair Whisnant
- 8:18:05 AM Rep. Nathanson
- 8:18:07 AM Co-Chair Holvey

8·18·08 AM	Co-Vice Chair Sheehan
	Rep. Nathanson
8:22:15 AM	•
8:22:55 AM	
	Co-Vice Chair Sheehan
	Co-Chair Holvey
	Co-Chair Whisnant
8:23:36 AM	
	Co-Chair Whisnant
	Rep. Nathanson
8:23:56 AM	
	Rep. Nathanson
	Co-Chair Whisnant
8:24:13 AM	
8:24:14 AM	•
	Rep. Nathanson
	Co-Chair Whisnant
	Rep. Nathanson
	Co-Chair Whisnant
8:25:30 AM	Co-Chair Holvey
	Co-Chair Whisnant
8:25:42 AM	Co-Chair Holvey
8:25:50 AM	Co-Vice Chair Smith
8:26:17 AM	Co-Chair Holvey
8:26:39 AM	Rep. Clem
8:27:37 AM	Miller
8:28:00 AM	Co-Chair Holvey
8:28:19 AM	Rep. Nathanson
8:28:21 AM	
	<pre>{Exhibit} 1: Denny Doyle, Mayor, Beaverton</pre>
8:30:31 AM	
8:30:34 AM	Brenda Wilson, Intergovernmental Relations Manager, City of Eugene
	Co-Chair Holvey
	Co-Chair Whisnant
	Co-Chair Holvey
8:32:13 AM	{Exhibit} 2: Kappy Eaton, Governor's Coordinator, League of Women
	Voters of Oregon
	{Exhibit} 3: Linda Modrell, Commissioner, Benton County
	Co-Chair Holvey
8:39:00 AM	
8:39:05 AM	Co-Chair Holvey
8-30-11 AM	HB 2058 - Public Hearing
	<u>HB 2958 - Public Hearing</u> Co-Chair Holvey
	Lon Nordlund, Committee Administrator

- 8:39:56 AM Jan Nordlund, Committee Administrator
- 8:40:36 AM Co-Chair Holvey

8:40:56 AM	Rep. Lew Frederick, District 43
	{Exhibit} 4: Maurice Rahming, O'Neil Electric, National Association of
	Minority Contractors
8:44:33 AM	Co-Chair Holvey
	Co-Vice Chair Smith
	Rep. Frederick
	Co-Vice Chair Smith
	Co-Chair Holvey
	Co-Vice Chair Sheehan
	Rep. Frederick
	Co-Vice Chair Sheehan
	Rep. Frederick
8:48:48 AM	•
	Co-Chair Holvey
	Rep. Conger
	Rep. Frederick
	Co-Chair Holvey
8:51:33 AM	Rep. Frederick
8:51:59 AM	Co-Chair Holvey
8:52:10 AM	Rahming
8:52:13 AM	Rep. Holvey
8:53:11 AM	Paul Grove, Government Relations Manager, Business Oregon
8:55:27 AM	Gerald Floyd, Director, Recovery Act Management, Economic Recovery
	Executive Team
8:59:29 AM	Co-Chair Holvey
8:59:49 AM	Floyd
9:00:17 AM	Co-Chair Holvey
9:00:22 AM	Co-Vice Chair Sheehan
9:00:30 AM	•
	Co-Vice Chair Sheehan
9:01:16 AM	•
9:01:18 AM	Co-Vice Chair Sheehan
9:01:22 AM	,
	Co-Chair Holvey
	Co-Vice Chair Smith
9:02:29 AM	
	Co-Vice Chair Smith
9:02:47 AM	
	Co-Vice Chair Smith
9:03:46 AM	
	Co-Vice Chair Smith
9:05:30 AM	
9:05:55 AM	Co-Chair Holvey

9:06:07 AM HB 3032 - Public Hearing 9:06:08 AM Co-Chair Holvey

- 9:06:23 AM Jan Nordlund, Committee Administrator
- 9:06:41 AM Co-Chair Holvey
- 9:06:48 AM Rep. Vicki Berger, District 20
- 9:08:29 AM {Exhibit} 5: Janet Carlson, Commissioner, Marion County
- 9:11:53 AM Co-Chair Holvey
- 9:12:11 AM Carlson
- 9:12:29 AM Co-Chair Holvey
- 9:12:40 AM Rep. Berger
- 9:12:50 AM Co-Chair Holvey

9:13:06 AM HB 3032 - Work Session

- 9:13:09 AM Co-Chair Whisnant
- 9:13:10 AM Co-Chair Holvey
- 9:13:11 AM MOTION: Co-Chair Whisnant moves HB 3032 DO PASS
- 9:13:17 AM Co-Chair Holvey
- 9:13:28 AM VOTE: 8-0-0
- **9:13:28 AM** AYES: Cameron, Clem, Conger, Matthews, Sheehan, Smith, Holvey, Whisnant
- 9:13:47 AM Co-Chair Holvey
- 9:13:59 AM Rep. Berger
- 9:14:02 AM Co-Chair Holvey
- 9:14:11 AM Rep. Berger
- 9:14:18 AM Co-Chair Holvey
- 9:14:22 AM CARRIER: REP. BERGER will lead discussion on the floor
- 9:14:26 AM Co-Chair Holvey
- 9:14:38 AM Meeting Recessed
- 9:17:03 AM Meeting Reconvened

9:17:09 AM HB 2322 - Public Hearing

- 9:17:12 AM Co-Chair Holvey
- 9:17:18 AM Rep. Phil Barnhart, House District 11
- 9:21:26 AM Co-Chair Holvey
- 9:21:46 AM Rep. Barnhart
- 9:22:04 AM Co-Chair Holvey
- 9:22:06 AM Rep. Clem
- 9:22:10 AM Rep. Barnhart
- 9:22:11 AM Rep. Clem
- 9:22:16 AM Co-Chair Holvey
- 9:22:17 AM Co-Vice Chair Smith
- 9:22:22 AM Rep. Barnhart
- 9:22:28 AM Co-Vice Chair Smith
- 9:22:32 AM Rep. Barnhart
- 9:22:56 AM Co-Chair Holvey
- 9:23:19 AM Debra Buchanan, Rules Coordinator, Department of Revenue
- 9:23:34 AM Co-Chair Holvey
- 9:23:42 AM Buchanan

- 9:23:57 AM Co-Chair Holvey
- **9:24:07 AM** Ken Ross, Manager, Finance Section, Department of Administrative Services
- 9:24:36 AM Co-Chair Whisnant
- 9:24:42 AM Co-Chair Holvey
- 9:24:44 AM Meeting Recessed
- 9:25:57 AM Meeting Reconvened
- 9:26:01 AM Co-Chair Holvey

9:26:03 AM HB 2218 - Public Hearing

- 9:26:14 AM Jan Nordlund, Committee Administrator
- 9:26:46 AM Co-Chair Holvey
- 9:27:05 AM Andrew Ainsworth, Representative for Rep. Buckley
- 9:28:43 AM Co-Chair Holvey
- 9:28:48 AM Co-Chair Whisnant
- 9:28:52 AM Co-Chair Holvey
- 9:28:55 AM Ainsworth
- 9:28:59 AM Co-Chair Whisnant
- 9:29:06 AM Co-Chair Holvey
- 9:29:24 AM Ainsworth
- 9:29:45 AM Co-Chair Holvey
- **9:29:50 AM** Robin Harpster, Administrator, Facilities Division, Department of Administrative Services
- 9:29:58 AM Co-Chair Holvey
- 9:30:12 AM Harpster
- 9:30:57 AM Co-Chair Holvey
- 9:31:01 AM Rep. Conger
- 9:31:40 AM Ainsworth
- 9:32:54 AM Rep. Conger
- 9:33:36 AM Co-Vice Chair Smith
- 9:33:38 AM Co-Chair Holvey
- 9:33:40 AM Co-Vice Chair Smith
- 9:34:23 AM Harpster
- 9:34:36 AM Co-Vice Chair Smith
- 9:34:56 AM Harpster
- 9:35:11 AM Co-Chair Holvev
- 9:35:47 AM Harpster
- 9:36:54 AM Co-Chair Holvey
- 9:37:10 AM Harpster
- 9:37:51 AM Co-Chair Holvey
- 9:37:53 AM Co-Vice Chair Sheehan
- 9:37:57 AM Ainsworth
- 9:38:55 AM Co-Vice Chair Sheehan
- 9:39:34 AM Co-Chair Holvey
- 9:39:41 AM Co-Chair Whisnant
- 9:40:02 AM Ainsworth

9:40:06 AM Co-Chair Whisnant
9:40:07 AM Harpster
9:40:56 AM Co-Chair Whisnant
9:41:36 AM Co-Chair Holvey
9:42:03 AM Meeting Adjourned by Co-Chair Holvey

Exhibit Summary

8:28:52 AM {Exhibit} 1: HB 2855, written testimony, Denny Doyle, 1 p
8:32:13 AM {Exhibit} 2: HB 2855, written testimony, Kippy Eaton, 1 p
8:35:22 AM {Exhibit} 3: HB 2855, written testimony, Linda Modrell, 1 p
8:43:50 AM {Exhibit} 4: HB 2958, written testimony, Maurice Rahming, 1 p
9:08:29 AM {Exhibit} 5: HB 3032, written testimony of Jo Stonecipher, Janet Carlson, 10 pp