HOUSE COMMITTEE ON JUDICIARY

February 22, 2011 Hearing Room 343 1:00 P.M.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Co-Chair Jeff Barker

Co-Chair Wayne Krieger Co-Vice Chair Chris Garrett Co-Vice Chair Wally Hicks

Rep. Mary Nolan Rep. Andy Olson Rep. Mike Schaufler Rep. Carolyn Tomei Rep. Matt Wand Rep. Gene Whisnant

STAFF PRESENT: Cheyenne Ross, Committee Counsel

Kristi Hauck, Committee Assistant

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: HB 2712 - Public Hearing

Recording Log

1:05:30 PM Meeting Called to Order by Co-Chair Krieger

1:05:31 PM HB 2712 - Public Hearing

1:05:32 PM Cheyenne Ross, Committee Counsel

1:08:57 PM Co-Chair Krieger

1:09:19 PM {Exhibit} 1: Steven R. Powers, Deputy Legal Counsel, Office of the

Governor

1:11:30 PM Co-Chair Krieger

1:11:57 PM Leah Craft, Addictions and Mental Health, Oregon Health Authority

1:13:04 PM Jonathan Eames, Eames Consulting

1:14:03 PM Co-Chair Krieger

1:14:06 PM Rep. Olson

1:14:09 PM Craft

1:14:11 PM Rep. Olson

1:14:13 PM Craft

1:14:41 PM Rep. Olson

1:14:52 PM Craft

1:14:57 PM Rep. Olson

1:14:59 PM Co-Chair Krieger

1:15:37 PM {Exhibit} 2: Marc Adams, Oregon Association Chiefs of Police

1:21:50 PM Scott Winkels, League of Oregon Cities

1:24:48 PM {Exhibit} 3: Carl Myers, Presiding Municipal Court Judge, Keizer and

Jefferson

- 1:27:54 PM Co-Chair Krieger
- 1:29:34 PM Rep. Wand
- 1:29:59 PM Winkels
- 1:30:08 PM Adams
- **1:30:10 PM** Rep. Olson
- 1:30:22 PM Adams
- 1:30:27 PM Rep. Olson
- 1:30:39 PM Adams
- **1:31:21 PM** Rep. Olson
- 1:31:38 PM Adams
- 1:32:45 PM Rep. Olson
- **1:33:04 PM** C. Myers
- 1:36:04 PM Co-Chair Krieger
- 1:36:05 PM Rep. Tomei
- 1:36:36 PM Co-Chair Krieger
- 1:36:47 PM Rep. Tomei
- 1:36:49 PM Co-Chair Krieger
- 1:36:50 PM Co-Vice Chair Garrett
- 1:36:58 PM Rep. Olson
- 1:36:59 PM Co-Vice Chair Garrett
- 1:38:47 PM Co-Chair Krieger
- 1:38:50 PM Rep. Nolan
- 1:39:19 PM Myers
- 1:39:54 PM Winkels
- 1:40:00 PM Adams
- **1:40:05 PM** Rep. Nolan
- 1:40:07 PM Adams
- **1:40:22 PM** Rep. Nolan
- 1:40:23 PM Co-Chair Krieger
- 1:40:26 PM Rep. Nolan
- 1:40:29 PM Co-Chair Krieger
- 1:40:35 PM Rep. Nolan
- **1:40:36 PM** Co-Chair Krieger
- 1:40:41 PM Rep. Nolan
- 1:40:42 PM Co-Chair Krieger
- 1:41:26 PM {Exhibit} 4: Kim Larson, Victim Assistance Director, Marion County
- 1:46:11 PM {Exhibit} 5: Sybil Hebb, Oregon Law Center
- 1:51:09 PM Co-Chair Krieger
- **1:51:13 PM** Cynthia Stinson, Director, Crime Victim Services Division, Oregon Department of Justice
- 1:57:29 PM Rep. Olson
- 1:58:24 PM Stinson
- 1:58:59 PM Rep. Olson
- 1:59:00 PM Co-Vice Chair Garrett
- 2:00:54 PM Hebb
- 2:01:44 PM Co-Chair Krieger

- 2:02:14 PM {Exhibit} 6: John Foote, District Attorney, Clackamas County
 2:04:49 PM Rep. Schaufler
 2:04:54 PM Foote
 2:05:54 PM {Exhibit} 7: Jayne Downing, Executive Director, Mid Valley Women's Crisis Center
 2:10:37 PM Jason Myers, Sheriff, Marion County, Oregon
 2:13:41 PM Co-Chair Krieger
 2:13:54 PM Foote
 2:15:56 PM Co-Chair Krieger
 2:16:00 PM Foote
 2:16:04 PM Rep. Schaufler
 2:17:18 PM Co-Chair Krieger
- 2:17:18 PM Co-Chair Krieger
 2:17:27 PM Foote
 2:17:28 PM Co-Chair Krieger
 2:18:01 PM (Exhibit) 8: Poul Spide
- 2:18:01 PM {Exhibit} 8: Paul Snider, Legal Counsel, Association of Oregon Cities
 2:21:03 PM Gail Meyer, Oregon Criminal Defense Lawyers' Association
 2:24:55 PM Co-Chair Krieger
 2:25:08 PM Max Williams, Director of the Oregon Department of Corrections
- 2:25:18 PM Co-Chair Krieger2:25:42 PM {Exhibit} 9: Gretchen Bennett, Liberty House, Network of Child Abuse Centers
- **2:29:01 PM** Nicholina Terzieff, Oregon Coalition Against Domestic and Sexual Violence
- **2:30:01 PM** Co-Chair Krieger **2:30:16 PM** Rep. Tomei
- 2:30:39 PM Rep. Schaufler
- 2:30:43 PM Alex Cuyler, Intergovernmental Relations Manager, Lane County
- 2:31:34 PM Rep. Schaufler2:31:48 PM Co-Vice Chair Hicks
- 2:31:54 PM Co-Chair Krieger 2:31:55 PM Co-Vice Chair Hicks
- 2:33:12 PM Co-Chair Krieger2:33:17 PM Co-Vice Chair Garrett
- 2:33:26 PM Co-Chair Krieger
- 2:34:07 PM Rep. Tomei
- 2:34:29 PM Co-Vice Chair Garrett
- 2:35:52 PM Co-Chair Krieger 2:36:01 PM Rep. Nolan
- 2:37:20 PM Rep. Wand
- **2:38:22 PM** The following written testimony was submitted for the record without public testimony:
- 2:38:22 PM {Exhibit} 10: Christine Herrman, Executive Director, The Oregon Sexual Assault Task Force
- 2:38:23 PM Meeting Adjourned by Co-Chair Krieger

Exhibit Summary

```
1:09:19 PM {Exhibit} 1: HB 2712, written testimony, Steven R. Powers, 2 pp
1:15:37 PM {Exhibit} 2: HB 2712, written testimony, Marc Adams, 4 pp
1:24:48 PM {Exhibit} 3: HB 2712, written testimony, Carl Myers, 4 pp
1:41:26 PM {Exhibit} 4: HB 2712, written testimony, Kim Larson, 2 pp
1:46:11 PM {Exhibit} 5: HB 2712, written testimony, Sybil Hebb, 4 pp
2:02:14 PM {Exhibit} 6: HB 2712, written testimony, John Foote, 10 pp
2:05:54 PM {Exhibit} 7: HB 2712, written testimony, Jayne Downing, 2 pp
2:18:01 PM {Exhibit} 8: HB 2712, written testimony, Paul Snider, 1 p
2:25:42 PM {Exhibit} 9: HB 2712, written testimony, Gretchen Bennett, 1 p
2:38:22 PM {Exhibit} 10: HB 2712, written testimony, Christine Herrman, 2 pp
```