## HOUSE COMMITTEE ON RULES

June 24, 2011 Hearing Room E 10:00 a.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rep. Dave Hunt, Co-Chair

Rep. Andy Olson, Co-Chair Rep. Vicki Berger, Co-Vice Chair Rep. Paul Holvey, Co-Vice Chair

Rep. Phil Barnhart Rep. Tim Freeman Rep. Matt Wingard

MEMBER EXCUSED: Rep. Chris Garrett

STAFF PRESENT: Jim Stembridge, Committee Administrator

Aimee Steketee, Committee Assistant

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: Introduction of Committee Measures – Work Session

SB 395B - Work Session SB 412B - Work Session

## **Recording Log**

10:06:41 AM Meeting Called to Order by Co-Chair Hunt

10:06:46 AM Co-Chair Hunt

10:07:25 AM Introduction of Committee Measures - Work Session

10:07:28 AM Jim Stembridge, Committee Administrator

10:07:31 AM {Exhibit} 1: Stembridge

**10:07:35 AM** Co-Chair Hunt

10:07:37 AM Co-Chair Olson

10:07:45 AM Co-Chair Hunt

10:07:47 AM Co-Vice Chair Berger

10:07:48 AM Co-Vice Chair Berger moves LC 4260 be introduced as a Committee

Measure

**10:07:59 AM** Co-Chair Hunt

10:08:07 AM Co-Vice Chair Berger

10:08:25 AM Rep. Garrett

10:08:26 AM Co-Vice Chair Berger

10:08:32 AM Co-Chair Hunt

**10:08:35 AM** VOTE: 7-0-1

**10:08:36 AM** AYES: Barnhart, Berger, Holvey, Wingard, Co-Chair Hunt, Co-Chair Olson; EXCUSED: Freeman, Garrett

10:08:40 AM SB 395B-Work Session

10:08:43 AM Jim Stembridge, Committee Administrator

**10:09:30 AM** Co-Chair Hunt

**10:09:39 AM** Stembridge

10:09:44 AM Co-Chair Olson

10:09:50 AM Co-Chair Hunt

10:10:01 AM Craig Prins, Executive Director, Criminal Justice Commission

**10:10:33 AM** Co-Chair Olson

**10:10:38 AM** Stembridge

10:10:44 AM Co-Chair Hunt

**10:10:56 AM** Rep. Barnhart

**10:11:27 AM** Co-Chair Hunt

10:11:32 AM Prins

**10:14:03 AM** Co-Chair Hunt

10:14:20 AM Prins

10:15:10 AM Co-Chair Hunt

**10:15:20 AM** Prins

**10:15:31 AM** Co-Chair Hunt

**10:15:52 AM** Rep. Barnhart

**10:16:14 AM** Prins

10:17:04 AM Rep. Barnhart

10:17:18 AM Prins

**10:17:33 AM** Rep. Barnhart

10:17:36 AM Prins

**10:17:37 AM** Rep. Barnhart

**10:17:40 AM** Co-Chair Hunt

10:17:43 AM Prins

**10:17:53 AM** Rep. Barnhart

10:18:02 AM Co-Chair Hunt

**10:18:12 AM** Rep. Barnhart

10:18:15 AM Co-Chair Hunt

10:18:20 AM Rep. Barnhart

10:18:23 AM Co-Chair Hunt

10:18:52 AM Meeting Recessed by Co-Chair Hunt

10:20:15 AM Meeting Reconvened by Co-Chair Hunt

10:20:25 AM Doug Wilson, Legislative Fiscal Office

10:20:33 AM Co-Chair Hunt

**10:21:01 AM** Wilson

10:21:56 AM Co-Chair Hunt

10:22:03 AM Wilson

**10:22:04 AM** Co-Chair Hunt

10:22:08 AM Co-Vice Chair Holvey

**10:22:14 AM** Co-Chair Hunt

- 10:22:21 AM Wilson
- 10:22:28 AM Co-Chair Hunt
- 10:22:46 AM Co-Chair Olson
- 10:22:46 AM MOTION: Co-Chair Olson moves SB 395 B Do Pass
- 10:22:54 AM Co-Chair Hunt
- **10:23:10 AM** VOTE: 6-0-1 (See time stamp 10:54:57)
- 10:23:11 AM AYES: Barnhart, Berger, Holvey, Wingard, Co-Chair Hunt, Co-Chair
  - Olson; EXCUSED: Freeman, Garrett
- 10:23:38 AM CARRIER: CO-CHAIR OLSON will lead discussion on the floor
- 10:23:48 AM SB 412B-Work Session
- 10:24:02 AM Jim Stembridge, Committee Administrator
- 10:24:12 AM Chevenne Ross, Committee Staff
- 10:24:17 AM Stembridge
- 10:24:25 AM Co-Chair Hunt
- 10:25:04 AM Ross
- **10:26:43 AM** Co-Chair Hunt
- **10:26:50 AM** Co-Chair Olson
- **10:26:51 AM** Co-Chair Hunt
- **10:26:56 AM** Co-Chair Olson
- 10:27:12 AM Co-Chair Hunt
- 10:27:22 AM Pete Shepard, Confederated Tribes of Coos, Lower Umpqua, and Suislaw
- **10:27:58 AM** Co-Chair Hunt
- 10:28:11 AM Shepard
- 10:28:13 AM Co-Chair Hunt
- 10:28:19 AM Jim Stembridge, Committee Administrator
- 10:28:36 AM Shepard
- 10:34:40 AM Co-Chair Hunt
- 10:34:44 AM Co-Vice Chair Berger
- **10:34:59 AM** Shepard
- 10:35:23 AM Co-Vice Chair Berger
- **10:35:40 AM** Shepard
- 10:35:54 AM Michael Mason, Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs and Siletz
- 10:36:29 AM Co-Vice Chair Berger
- **10:36:32 AM** Co-Chair Hunt
- 10:36:39 AM Mason
- **10:37:17 AM** Co-Chair Hunt
- 10:37:19 AM Rep. Freeman
- **10:38:20 AM** Mason
- **10:39:18 AM** Rep. Freeman
- **10:39:25 AM** Co-Chair Hunt
- 10:39:50 AM Paul Snider, Association of Oregon Counties
- 10:41:13 AM Brian DeLashmutt, Oregon State Council of Police/Sheriffs Associations
- 10:44:10 AM John C. Powell, Oregon State Sheriffs Association
- **10:45:29 AM** Co-Chair Hunt
- 10:46:05 AM Powell

10:47:03 AM Co-Chair Hunt

10:47:05 AM Rep. Wingard

10:47:57 AM Snider

10:48:23 AM Rep. Wingard

**10:49:13 AM** Co-Chair Hunt

**10:49:15 AM** Rep. Wingard

**10:49:18 AM** Co-Chair Hunt

**10:49:21 AM** Rep. Wingard

10:49:30 AM Co-Chair Hunt

10:49:31 AM Co-Vice Chair Berger

**10:49:42 AM** Co-Chair Olson

10:49:58 AM Co-Vice Chair Berger

10:50:02 AM Co-Chair Hunt

10:50:22 AM Shepard

10:53:10 AM Rep. Wingard

10:53:27 AM Shepard

10:54:09 AM Co-Chair Hunt

10:54:52 AM SB 395B-Work Session

**10:54:57 AM MOTION:** Co-Chair Hunt moves to suspend the rules and allow Rep.

Freeman to vote on SB 395B

**10:55:01 AM**VOTE: 7-0-1

10:55:01:AMAYES: Barnhart, Berger, Freeman, Holvey, Wingard, Co-Chair Hunt, Co-

Chair Olson; EXCUSED: Garrett

10:55:22 AM Meeting Adjourned by Co-Chair Hunt

## **Exhibit Summary**

10:07:31 AM {Exhibit} 1: Introduction of Committee Measures, LC 4260, staff, 1p