## HOUSE COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

February 16, 2011 Hearing Room D

1:00 PM

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rep. Cliff Bentz, Co-Chair

Rep. Tobias Read, Co-Chair

Rep. E. Terry Beyer Co-Vice Chair Rep. Patrick Sheehan Co-Vice Chair

Rep. Shawn Lindsay Rep. Nancy Nathanson Rep. Jefferson Smith Rep. Jim Weidner

STAFF PRESENT: Zachary Rothmier, Committee Administrator

**Debbie Nealy, Committee Assistant** 

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: HB 2208-Public Hearing

HB 2414-Public Hearing HB 2523-Public Hearing HB 2524-Public Hearing

## **Recording Log**

1:04:42 PM Meeting Called to Order by Co-Chair Bentz

1:05:04 PM HB 2208-Public Hearing

1:05:36 PM Zach Rothmier, Committee Administrator

1:05:54 PM Co-Chair Bentz

1:06:11 PM {Exhibit} 1-2: Sue Marshall, Audubon Society of Portland, and Oregon

**Natural Desert Association** 

1:09:32 PM Co-Chair Bentz

1:09:39 PM {Exhibit} 3-4: Liz Nysson, Energy Policy Coordinator, Oregon Natural

**Desert Association** 

1:12:19 PM Co-Chair Bentz

**1:12:27 PM** Rep. Lindsay

1:12:42 PM Nysson

1:14:29 PM Rep. Lindsay

**1:14:30 PM** Nysson

**1:14:31 PM** Rep. Lindsay

**1:14:32 PM** Nysson

1:14:34 PM Co-Chair Bentz

1:14:35 PM Co-Vice Chair Sheehan

- 1:14:48 PM Nysson
- 1:15:17 PM Marshall
- 1:15:46 PM Co-Vice Chair Sheehan
- **1:16:07 PM** Marshall
- 1:16:09 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:17:01 PM Nysson
- 1:18:17 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:18:18 PM Marshall
- 1:18:37 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:19:21 PM {Exhibit} 5: David Brown, Obsidian Renewables
- 1:22:27 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:22:32 PM {Exhibit} 6-7: Art Schlack, Association of Oregon Counties
- 1:28:22 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- **1:28:28 PM** Rep. Smith J.
- **1:28:57 PM** Schlack
- 1:30:56 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- **1:31:15 PM** Schlack
- 1:31:35 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:31:58 PM Schlack
- 1:31:59 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:32:09 PM Schlack
- 1:32:33 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- **1:32:36 PM** Rep. Weidner
- 1:33:32 PM Schlack
- 1:35:02 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- **1:35:06 PM** Rep. Smith J.
- 1:36:21 PM Schlack
- **1:37:52 PM** Rep. Smith J.
- 1:38:00 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:38:03 PM Schlack
- 1:38:05 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:38:31 PM Bob Sallinger, Audubon Trillium Consulting
- 1:43:09 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:43:12 PM Joe Esmonde, IBEW Local #48
- 1:45:35 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- **1:45:40 PM** The following written testimony is submitted for the record without public testimony:
- **1:45:40 PM** {Exhibit} 8: Paul Woodin, Executive Director, Community Renewable Energy Association
- 1:45:41 PM Esmonde
- 1:45:42 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:45:46 PM Zach Rothmier, Committee Administrator
- 1:45:47 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:45:57 PM HB 2414-Public Hearing
- 1:45:57 PM HB 2523-Public Hearing

1:45:57 PM HB 2524-Public Hearing 1:46:19 PM Co-Chair Read 1:46:57 PM Co-Chair Bentz **1:47:22 PM** Bob Repine, Director, Oregon Department of Energy 1:51:44 PM Co-Chair Bentz 1:51:47 PM Tim McCabe, Director, Oregon Business Development 1:51:47 PM {Exhibit} 9-10: Tim McCabe, Director, Oregon Business Development 1:53:58 PM Co-Chair Bentz 1:54:01 PM Co-Chair Read 1:54:51 PM McCabe 1:55:45 PM Co-Chair Bentz 1:56:07 PM Repine 1:56:47 PM McCabe 1:56:50 PM Repine 1:56:53 PM McCabe 1:57:01 PM Co-Chair Bentz **1:57:04 PM** McCabe 1:57:05 PM Repine 1:57:08 PM Co-Chair Bentz 1:57:11 PM Rep. Smith J. 1:59:22 PM Repine 1:59:50 PM McCabe 2:00:35 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:00:37 PM Rep. Weidner 2:01:24 PM Repine 2:03:08 PM Rep. Weidner 2:04:04 PM Repine 2:05:43 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:05:45 PM Rep. Nathanson 2:08:28 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:08:47 PM Co-Chair Read 2:10:21 PM McCabe 2:10:54 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:11:00 PM Rep. Weidner 2:11:50 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:12:25 PM Co-Chair Read 2:12:42 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:12:44 PM Co-Chair Read 2:12:45 PM Zach Rothmier. Committee Administrator 2:12:47 PM Co-Chair Read 2:12:49 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:12:55 PM {Exhibit} 11-12: Glenn Montgomery, Executive Director, Oregon Solar Energy Industries Association (OSEIA) 2:16:25 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:16:30 PM Montgomery 2:16:31 PM Co-Chair Bentz

2:16:35 PM David Brown, Obsidian Renewables 2:17:36 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:17:46 PM {Exhibit} 13-14: Doris Penwell, Association of Oregon Counties, and Community Renewable Energy Association 2:21:20 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:21:23 PM Rep. Lindsay 2:21:43 PM Penwell 2:22:23 PM Montgomery 2:23:27 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:23:28 PM Rep. Lindsay 2:23:46 PM Brown **2:24:23 PM** Rep. Lindsay 2:24:30 PM Brown 2:24:31 PM Rep. Lindsay 2:24:35 PM Brown 2:25:19 PM Co-Chair Bentz **2:25:21 PM** Rep. Lindsay 2:25:25 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:25:27 PM Rep. Lindsay **2:25:39 PM** Brown 2:26:23 PM Rep. Lindsay 2:26:27 PM Brown **2:26:35 PM** Rep. Lindsay 2:26:36 PM Brown 2:26:50 PM Penwell 2:26:51 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:26:52 PM Penwell 2:27:13 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:27:19 PM Rep. Weidner 2:27:36 PM Montgomery 2:28:25 PM Rep. Weidner 2:28:26 PM Montgomery 2:28:28 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:29:12 PM {Exhibit} 15-18: Larry Scruggs, Tax Fairness Oregon 2:32:55 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:32:56 PM Scruggs 2:32:57 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:33:00 PM Scruggs 2:33:16 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:33:24 PM {Exhibit} 19-21: Dan Bates, Ecotality/Revolt 2:36:07 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:36:10 PM Linc Cannon, Oregon Forest Industries Council (OFIC) 2:40:02 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:40:08 PM Rep. Smith J. 2:40:18 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:40:49 PM Marion Haynes, Portland General Electric

2:42:41 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:42:44 PM Mike Dewey, Waste Management, Think Green 2:44:36 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:44:38 PM Joe Esmonde, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) #48 2:45:32 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:45:38 PM Rep. Weidner 2:45:49 PM Haynes 2:46:13 PM Rep. Weidner 2:46:31 PM Havnes 2:46:39 PM Esmonde 2:47:02 PM Rep. Weidner 2:47:08 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:47:22 PM Dewey 2:48:35 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:48:39 PM Rep. Weidner 2:49:06 PM Dewey 2:50:25 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:50:30 PM Jody Wiser, Tax Fairness Oregon 2:50:30 PM {Exhibit} 22: Wiser 2:53:18 PM Rothmier 2:53:20 PM Wiser 2:54:55 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:55:06 PM Co-Chair Read 2:55:26 PM Meeting Adjourned by Co-Chair Bentz

## **Exhibit Summary**

```
1:06:11 PM {Exhibit} 1: HB 2208, written testimony, Sue Marshall, 1 p
1:06:11 PM {Exhibit} 2: HB 2208, Questions for determining when energy
                          projects are separate projects. Sue Marshall, 2 pp
1:09:39 PM {Exhibit} 3: HB 2208, written testimony, Liz Nysson, 1 p
1:09:39 PM {Exhibit} 4: HB 2208, written testimony, Liz Nysson, 2 pp
1:19:21 PM {Exhibit} 5: HB 2208, packet of comments, David Brown, 11 pp
1:22:32 PM {Exhibit} 6: HB 2208, letter, Art Schlack, 2 pp
1:22:32 PM {Exhibit} 7: HB 2008, Report and Recommendations, "Wind
                          Energy Task Force", Art Schlack, 12 pp
1:45:40 PM {Exhibit} 8: HB 2208, written testimony, Paul Woodin, 2 pp
1:51:47 PM {Exhibit} 9: HB 2414, written testimony, Tim McCabe, 8 pp
1:51:47 PM {Exhibit} 10: HB 2523, written testimony, Tim McCabe, 8 pp
2:12:55 PM {Exhibit} 11: HB 2414, written testimony, Glenn Montgomery, 2 pp
2:12:55 PM {Exhibit} 12: HB 2523, written testimony, Glenn Montgomery, 2 pp
2:17:46 PM {Exhibit} 13: HB 2414, written testimony, Doris Penwell, 2 pp
2:17:46 PM {Exhibit} 14: HB 2414, written testimony, Doris Penwell, 2 pp
2:29:12 PM {Exhibit} 15: HB 2414, Solo Power Fact Sheet, Larry Scruggs, 2 pp
```

```
2:29:12 PM {Exhibit} 16: HB 2414, written testimony, Larry Scruggs, 2 pp
2:29:12 PM {Exhibit} 17: HB 2523, Solo Power Fact Sheet, Larry Scruggs, 2 pp
2:29:12 PM {Exhibit} 18: HB 2523, written testimony, Larry Scruggs, 2 pp
2:33:24 PM {Exhibit} 19: HB 2414, written testimony, Dan Bates, 2 pp
2:33:24 PM {Exhibit} 20: HB 2523, written testimony, Dan Bates, 2 pp
2:33:24 PM {Exhibit} 21: HB 2424, written testimony, Dan Bates, 2 pp
2:50:30 PM {Exhibit} 22: HB 2524, written testimony, Jody Wiser, 3 pp
```