## HOUSE COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

February 23, 2011 Hearing Room D

1:00 PM

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rep. Cliff Bentz, Co-Chair

Rep. Tobias Read, Co-Chair

Rep. E. Terry Beyer Co-Vice Chair Rep. Patrick Sheehan Co-Vice Chair

Rep. Shawn Lindsay Rep. Nancy Nathanson Rep. Jefferson Smith Rep. Jim Weidner

STAFF PRESENT: Zachary Rothmier, Committee Administrator

**Debbie Nealy, Committee Assistant** 

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: HB 3029-Public Hearing

HB 2352-Public Hearing HB 2339-Public Hearing HB 2192-Work Session

## **Recording Log**

1:04:20 PM Meeting Called to Order by Co-Chair Bentz

1:04:31 PM HB 3029-Public Hearing

1:04:35 PM HB 2352-Public Hearing

1:04:36 PM HB 2339-Public Hearing

1:04:44 PM Zach Rothmier, Committee Administrator

1:04:55 PM Co-Chair Bentz

1:05:02 PM Rep. John Huffman, House District 59

1:06:37 PM Co-Chair Bentz

1:06:48 PM Rep. Huffman

1:07:15 PM Co-Chair Bentz

**1:07:19 PM** Rep. Huffman

1:07:21 PM Co-Chair Bentz

1:07:43 PM ({Exhibit} 1: Doug Riggs, Central Oregon Cities Organization

1:14:17 PM Co-Chair Bentz

1:14:20 PM Nick Snead, Community Development Director, Madras

1:14:27 PM Co-Chair Bentz

1:14:28 PM Snead

1:18:08 PM Co-Chair Bentz

1:18:12 PM {Exhibit} 2: Linda Ludwig, League of Oregon Cities 1:21:28 PM Co-Chair Bentz 1:21:33 PM Rep. Smith J. 1:22:01 PM Snead **1:22:36 PM** Rep. Smith J. 1:22:37 PM Co-Chair Bentz 1:22:38 PM Rep. Smith J. 1:23:35 PM Snead **1:24:38 PM** Rep. Smith J. 1:24:39 PM Snead 1:24:40 PM Rep. Smith J. **1:25:18 PM** Ludwig **1:26:56 PM** Rep. Smith J. 1:27:01 PM Riggs **1:28:15 PM** Rep. Smith J. 1:28:16 PM Co-Chair Bentz 1:28:43 PM Erica Hagedorn, Public Affairs Council, Deschutes County 1:29:29 PM Co-Chair Bentz 1:29:33 PM Jon Chandler, Homebuilders Association 1:31:09 PM Co-Chair Bentz 1:31:14 PM Shaun Jillians, Oregon Association of Realtors 1:32:05 PM Co-Chair Bentz 1:32:10 PM Rep. Smith J. 1:32:57 PM Jillians 1:33:19 PM Rep. Smith J. 1:33:21 PM Chandler 1:34:28 PM Rep. Smith J. 1:34:29 PM Chandler **1:34:46 PM** Rep. Smith J. 1:34:50 PM Co-Chair Bentz **1:34:52 PM** Rep. Weidner 1:35:00 PM Chandler 1:35:03 PM Co-Chair Bentz 1:35:47 PM Chandler 1:36:44 PM Co-Chair Bentz **1:36:47 PM** Jillians 1:37:16 PM Co-Chair Bentz 1:37:37 PM Bob Rindy, Legislative Coordinator, Department of Land Conservation and Development 1:40:56 PM Co-Chair Bentz **1:41:11 PM** Matt Crawl, Oregon Department of Land Conservation and Development 1:41:12 PM Co-Chair Bentz **1:41:16 PM** Rep. Weidner **1:41:44 PM** Rindv

**1:41:57 PM** Crawl **1:41:58 PM** Rindy

1:42:17 PM Crawl **1:42:18 PM** Rindy 1:42:20 PM Co-Chair Bentz 1:42:22 PM Crawl 1:42:27 PM Co-Chair Bentz 1:42:30 PM Rindy 1:42:46 PM Co-Chair Bentz **1:42:47 PM** Rep. Weidner 1:43:03 PM Co-Chair Bentz **1:43:53 PM** Rindy 1:44:21 PM Co-Chair Bentz **1:44:26 PM** Rindy 1:44:40 PM Co-Chair Bentz 1:44:41 PM Rindy 1:45:39 PM Co-Chair Bentz 1:45:43 PM Crawl 1:46:29 PM Co-Chair Bentz **1:46:36 PM** Rindy 1:46:45 PM Co-Chair Bentz 1:47:09 PM Riggs 1:48:32 PM Co-Chair Bentz 1:48:50 PM HB 2352-Public Hearing 1:48:56 PM Zach Rothmier, Committee Administrator 1:49:10 PM Co-Chair Bentz 1:49:23 PM Elana Guiney, Oregon AFL-CIO 1:49:27 PM Co-Chair Bentz **1:49:30 PM** Guinev 1:52:13 PM Co-Chair Bentz 1:52:17 PM Jeremy Rogers, Project Director, Oregon Business Council 1:55:45 PM Co-Chair Bentz 1:55:49 PM Tom Gallagher, Portland Business Alliance 1:59:14 PM Co-Chair Bentz **1:59:21 PM** Rep. Lindsay 2:00:04 PM Gallagher 2:01:34 PM Rep. Lindsay 2:01:49 PM Gallagher 2:02:51 PM Rep. Lindsay 2:03:21 PM Gallagher 2:05:02 PM Guiney 2:05:03 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:05:04 PM Guinev 2:05:09 PM Co-Chair Bentz **2:05:11 PM** Guiney

**2:06:12 PM** Co-Chair Bentz **2:06:14 PM** Co-Chair Read

2:06:47 PM Guiney 2:07:30 PM Co-Chair Read 2:07:58 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:07:59 PM Rep. Smith J. 2:08:09 PM Guiney 2:08:14 PM Rep. Smith J. 2:09:41 PM Guiney 2:11:09 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:11:44 PM Brian Krieg, Sheet Metals Workers Local 16, and Sheet Metal Air Conditioning Contractor's Association 2:13:41 PM Randy Tucker, Legislative Affairs Manager for Metro 2:17:12 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:17:16 PM {Exhibit} 3: Daniel Eisenbeis, City of Portland 2:18:53 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:19:26 PM Shawn Jillions, Association of Oregon Realtors 2:19:45 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:19:46 PM Jon Chandler, Oregon Homebuilders Association 2:20:08 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:20:10 PM {Exhibit} 4: Linda Ludwig, League of Oregon Cities 2:23:55 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:24:01 PM Rep. Nathanson 2:25:11 PM Ludwig 2:26:15 PM Rep. Nathanson 2:26:16 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:26:17 PM Rep. Nathanson 2:26:36 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:26:39 PM Chandler 2:27:24 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:27:32 PM Chandler 2:27:33 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:27:42 PM Chandler 2:28:16 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:28:18 PM Chandler 2:28:19 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:28:35 PM HB 2339-Public Hearing 2:28:40 PM Zach Rothmier, Committee Administrator 2:29:41 PM Rep. Lindsay 2:30:04 PM Rothmier 2:30:11 PM Rep. Lindsay 2:30:15 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:30:17 PM Jack Isselmann, City of Hillsboro 2:30:33 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:30:43 PM {Exhibit} 5: Shawn Cleave, Oregon Farm Bureau 2:33:22 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:33:28 PM Patrick Capper, Oregon Association of Nurseries

2:34:35 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:35:26 PM [Exhibit] 6: Randy Tucker, Legislative Affairs Manager for Metro 2:39:26 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:39:34 PM Isselmann 2:40:21 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:40:23 PM Jim McCauley, Washington County 2:42:22 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:42:45 PM Shaun Jillions, Oregon Association of Realtors 2:43:17 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:43:18 PM Jon Chandler, Oregon Homebuilders Association **2:43:47 PM** The following written testimony is submitted for the record without public testimony: 2:43:50 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:43:51 PM {Exhibit} 7: Marge Easley, Oregon League of Women Voters 2:43:51 PM {Exhibit} 8: Mary McCurdy, 1000 Friends of Oregon 2:44:02 PM HB 2192-Work Session 2:44:12 PM Co-Chair Read 2:44:14 PM Zach Rothmier, Committee Administrator 2:44:22 PM MOTION: Rep. Beyer moves HB 2192 Do Pass 2:44:29 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:44:40 PM Rep. Lindsay 2:44:54 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:44:59 PM Rep. Lindsay 2:45:01 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:45:08 PM Brant Wolfe, Oregon Telecommunications Association **2:45:55 PM** Rep. Lindsay 2:46:02 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:46:03 PM Wolfe 2:46:04 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:46:13 PM Rep. Lindsay 2:46:14 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:46:17 PM VOTE: 8-0-0 2:46:17 PM AYES: Beyer, Lindsay, Nathanson, Read, Sheehan, J. Smith, Weidner, Bentz 2:46:25 PM CARRIER: REP. J. SMITH will lead discussion on the floor

## **Exhibit Summary**

2:46:33 PM Rothmier

2:46:36 PM Meeting Adjourned by Co-Chair Bentz

1:07:43 PM {Exhibit} 1: HB 3029, written testimony, Doug Riggs, 2 pp 1:18:12 PM {Exhibit} 2: HB 3029, report, TPR 0060 & OHP Policy 1F, Framework of Issues and Options, Linda Ludwig, 8 pp

```
2:17:16 PM {Exhibit} 3: HB 2352, letter, Daniel Eisenbeis, 1 p
2:20:10 PM {Exhibit} 4: HB 2352, written testimony, Linda Ludwig, 2 pp
2:30:43 PM {Exhibit} 5: HB 2339, written testimony, Shawn Cleave, 1 p
2:35:26 PM {Exhibit} 6: HB 2339, written testimony, Randy Tucker, 5 pp
2:43:51 PM {Exhibit} 7: HB 2352, written testimony, Marge Easley, 1 p
2:43:51 PM {Exhibit} 8: HB 2352, written testimony, Mary McCurdy, 1 p
```