## HOUSE COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

March 23, 2011 Hearing Room D

1:00 PM

MEMBERS PRESENT: Rep. Cliff Bentz, Co-Chair

Rep. Tobias Read, Co-Chair

Rep. E. Terry Beyer, Co-Vice Chair Rep. Patrick Sheehan, Co-Vice Chair

Rep. Shawn Lindsay Rep. Nancy Nathanson Rep. Jefferson Smith

MEMBER EXCUSED: Rep. Jim Weidner

STAFF PRESENT: Zachary Rothmier, Committee Administrator

**Debbie Nealy, Committee Assistant** 

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: HB 2140-Work Session

HB 2081-Public Hearing HB 2356-Public Hearing

## **Recording Log**

1:09:14 PM Meeting Called to Order by Co-Chair Bentz

1:09:14 PM Co-Chair Bentz

1:09:26 PM HB 2140-Work Session

1:09:30 PM Zach Rothmier, Committee Administrator

1:09:41 PM Co-Chair Bentz

1:10:01 PM Layla Simon, senior, Wilson High School

1:10:07 PM Co-Chair Bentz

1:10:15 PM Simon

1:10:16 PM Co-Chair Bentz

1:10:21 PM Simon

1:10:51 PM Co-Chair Bentz

1:10:53 PM Simon

1:11:26 PM Co-Chair Bentz

**1:11:35 PM** Simon

1:11:35 PM Co-Chair Bentz

1:11:41 PM Simon

- 1:11:42 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:11:44 PM Simon
- 1:13:09 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- **1:13:19 PM** Rep. Smith J.
- 1:13:20 PM Simon
- **1:13:27 PM** Rep. Smith J.
- 1:13:29 PM Simon
- 1:13:31 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:13:33 PM Co-Chair Read
- 1:14:36 PM Simon
- 1:14:52 PM Co-Chair Read
- 1:14:56 PM Simon
- 1:14:59 PM Co-Chair Read
- 1:15:06 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:15:09 PM Rep. Nathanson
- 1:15:37 PM Simon
- 1:15:40 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:15:44 PM Rep. Smith J.
- 1:15:55 PM Simon
- 1:16:34 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- **1:16:36 PM** Rep. Smith J.
- 1:16:54 PM Simon
- 1:17:01 PM Rep. Smith J.
- 1:17:04 PM Simon
- 1:17:40 PM Rep. Smith J.
- 1:17:42 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:17:54 PM Simon
- 1:18:18 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:18:52 PM MOTION: Rep. Beyer moves HB 2140 DO PASS
- 1:19:12 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- **1:19:14 PM** Rep. Beyer
- 1:19:17 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:19:37 PM Co-Vice Chair Sheehan
- 1:19:44 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- **1:19:46 PM** Rep. Sheehan
- **1:20:12 PM** Troy Costales, Administrator, Safety Division, Oregon Department of Transportation
- 1:20:57 PM Co-Vice Chair Sheehan
- **1:21:02 PM** Costales
- 1:21:10 PM Co-Vice Chair Sheehan
- 1:21:12 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:21:14 PM Rep. Smith J.
- 1:21:40 PM Costales
- 1:22:58 PM Rep. Smith J.
- 1:23:09 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- **1:23:10 PM** Rep. Lindsay

- 1:25:16 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- **1:26:33 PM** Rep. Lindsay
- 1:27:02 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:27:05 PM Co-Vice Chair Beyer
- 1:27:19 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:27:20 PM Rep. Smith J.
- 1:28:22 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- **1:28:28 PM** VOTE: 5-2-1
- **1:28:28 PM** AYES: Reps. Beyer, Nathanson, Sheehan, Read; Bentz; NAYES: Reps. Lindsay, Smith; EXCUSED: Rep. Weidner
- 1:28:59 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:29:07 PM Debbie Nealy, Committee Assistant
- 1:29:08 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:29:22 PM Rep. Smith J.
- 1:29:29 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- **1:29:31 PM** Rep. Sheehan
- 1:29:32 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:29:32 PM CARRIER: REP. SHEEHAN will lead discussion on the floor
- **1:29:33 PM** The following written testimony was submitted for the record without public testimony:
- **1:29:33 PM** {Exhibit} 1: Sandra Bishop, Legislative Liaison, Driving School Association of Oregon
- 1:29:41 PM HB 2081-Public Hearing
- 1:29:50 PM {Exhibit} 2: Zach Rothmier, Committee Administrator
- 1:30:50 PM {Exhibit} 3: Dick Pedersen, Director, Department of Environmental Quality
- 1:33:45 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:33:50 PM Co-Chair Read
- **1:34:16 PM** Pedersen
- 1:34:56 PM Co-Chair Read
- 1:35:04 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:35:07 PM Co-Vice Chair Sheehan
- **1:35:18 PM** Pedersen
- 1:36:00 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:36:02 PM Co-Vice Chair Sheehan
- **1:36:14 PM** Pedersen
- 1:36:28 PM Co-Vice Chair Sheehan
- **1:36:30 PM** Pedersen
- **1:36:35 PM** Andy Ginsberg, Air Quality Administrator, Department of Environmental Quality
- 1:37:05 PM Co-Vice Chair Sheehan
- 1:37:06 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:37:53 PM Ginsberg
- 1:38:48 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:38:56 PM Ginsberg
- 1:39:58 PM Co-Chair Bentz

- 1:40:02 PM Ginsberg
- 1:40:06 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- **1:40:08 PM** Ginsberg
- 1:41:03 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- **1:41:06 PM** Ginsberg
- 1:41:08 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:41:18 PM Ginsberg
- 1:41:33 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:42:08 PM Ginsberg
- 1:42:17 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:42:29 PM Pedersen
- 1:42:46 PM Ginsberg
- 1:42:56 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:43:04 PM Ginsberg
- 1:43:26 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- **1:43:32 PM** Ginsberg
- 1:43:38 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- **1:43:40 PM** Ginsberg
- 1:43:44 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:44:36 PM Ginsberg
- 1:45:29 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:45:57 PM Ginsberg
- **1:46:01 PM** Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:46:05 PM Rep. Nathanson
- **1:46:57 PM** Ginsberg
- 1:48:01 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:48:14 PM Pedersen
- 1:48:16 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:48:20 PM Pedersen
- 1:48:22 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 1:48:48 PM {Exhibit} 4: Bob Russell, Vice-President, Government Affairs
- 2:04:42 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 2:04:43 PM Don Emerson, owner, FMI Truck Sales and Service
- 2:07:27 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 2:07:32 PM Rep. Nathanson
- 2:08:09 PM Russell
- 2:10:07 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 2:10:08 PM Rep. Nathanson
- 2:10:29 PM Russell
- 2:10:30 PM Rep. Nathanson
- 2:11:22 PM Russell
- 2:13:01 PM Rep. Nathanson
- 2:13:03 PM Co-Chair Bentz
- 2:13:05 PM Co-Chair Read
- 2:13:19 PM Russell
- 2:14:14 PM Co-Chair Bentz

2:14:15 PM Co-Chair Read 2:14:40 PM Russell **2:16:03 PM** Co-Chair Read 2:16:06 PM Rep. Smith J. 2:16:06 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:16:08 PM Rep. Smith J. 2:16:27 PM Russell 2:17:07 PM Rep. Smith J. 2:17:08 PM Russell 2:18:29 PM Rep. Smith J. 2:18:53 PM Russell 2:18:54 PM Rep. Smith J. 2:19:10 PM Russell 2:19:19 PM Rep. Smith J. 2:19:20 PM Russell 2:19:22 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:19:48 PM Russell 2:21:06 PM Emerson 2:22:17 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:22:57 PM {Exhibit} 5-6: Chris Hagerbaumer, Deputy Director, Oregon Environmental Council 2:28:07 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:28:11 PM {Exhibit} 7: Craig Honeyman, Legislative Director, League of Oregon Cities 2:31:26 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:31:27 PM {Exhibit} 8: CatherineThomasson, MD, Oregon Physicians for Social Responsibility 2:36:37 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:36:46 PM Co-Chair Read 2:37:07 PM Hagerbaumer 2:37:30 PM Co-Chair Read 2:37:31 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:37:45 PM HB 2356-Public Hearing 2:38:16 PM Zach Rothmier, Committee Administrator 2:38:27 PM Bob Russell, Oregon Trucking Associations, Inc. 2:40:33 PM {Exhibit} 9-10: Vicki Handy, President, Workforce Dynamics 2:45:25 PM Chris Rice, Director, Driver Services, Sherman Brothers Trucking 2:47:38 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:47:45 PM Rep. Lindsay 2:48:33 PM Russell 2:50:12 PM Rep. Lindsay 2:50:13 PM Co-Chair Bentz 2:50:14 PM Rep. Lindsay

2:51:02 PM Russell

2:52:05 PM Co-Chair Bentz

2:52:12 PM Handy
2:52:15 PM Co-Chair Bentz
2:52:17 PM Handy
2:52:18 PM Co-Chair Bentz
2:52:21 PM Handy
2:54:42 PM Co-Chair Bentz
2:54:45 PM Rep. Nathanson
2:55:06 PM Co-Chair Bentz
2:55:11 PM Handy
2:55:13 PM Co-Chair Bentz
2:55:19 PM Russell
2:56:12 PM Co-Chair Bentz

2:56:21 PM Meeting Adjourned by Co-Chair Bentz

## **Exhibit Summary**

	{Exhibit} 1: HB 2140, written response, Sandra Bishop, 1 p {Exhibit} 2: HB 2081, -1 amendment, staff, 4 pp
1:30:50 PM	{Exhibit} 3: HB 2081, written testimony, Dick Pedersen, 3 pp
	{Exhibit} 4: HB 2081, written testimony and informational packet, Bob
	Russell, 14 pp
2:22:57 PM	{Exhibit} 5: HB 2081, written testimony, Chris Hagerbaumer, 2 pp
2:22:57 PM	{Exhibit} 6: HB 2081, informational packet, Anti-idle Toolkit, Chris
	Hagerbaumer, 8 pp
2:28:11 PM	{Exhibit} 7: HB 2081, written testimony, Craig Honeyman, 1 p
2:31:27 PM	{Exhibit} 8: HB 2081, written testimony, CatherineThomasson, 1 p
2:40:33 PM	{Exhibit} 9: HB 2356, informational packet, Trucking Solutions Consortium,
	Vicki Handy, 3 pp
2:40:33 PM	{Exhibit} 10: HB 2356, PowerPoint, Trucking Solutions Consortium,
	Working in the Trucking Industry, Vicki Handy, 15 pp