SENATE COMMITTEE ON BUSINESS, TRANSPORTATION & ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

March 15, 2011 Hearing Room B

3:00PM

MEMBERS PRESENT: Sen. Lee Beyer, Chair

Sen. Chris Edwards Sen. Ginny Burdick Sen. Bruce Starr Sen. Fred Girod

MEMBER EXCUSED: Sen. Jason Atkinson, Vice-Chair

STAFF PRESENT: Richard Berger, Committee Administrator

Carolyn Stoffregen, Committee Assistant

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: SB 219 - Public Hearing

SB 217 – Public Hearing SB 930 – Public Hearing Informational Meeting

Highway Cost Allocation Study

SB 673 - Public Hearing

Recording Log

3:04:48 PM Meeting Called to Order by Chair Beyer

3:04:51 PM Chair Beyer

3:05:14 PM SB 219 - Public Hearing

3:05:17 PM Chair Beyer

3:05:32 PM Sen. Richard Devlin, Senate District 19

3:10:07 PM Chair Beyer

3:10:16 PM Rep. Tobias Read, House District 27

3:11:57 PM Chair Beyer

3:11:59 PM Sen. Girod

3:12:32 PM Rep. Read

3:13:35 PM Sen. Devlin

3:14:13 PM Chair Beyer

3:14:19 PM Sen. Girod

3:14:24 PM Chair Beyer

3:14:35 PM SB 217 - Public Hearing

3:14:36 PM Chair Beyer

3:14:46 PM {Exhibit} 1: Sen. Rod Monroe, Senate District 24

3:14:52 PM Chair Beyer

3:15:05 PM Sen. Monroe

```
3:19:33 PM Chair Bever
3:19:51 PM Sen. Monroe
3:19:55 PM Chair Bever
3:19:57 PM Sen. Monroe
3:20:17 PM Chair Bever
3:20:20 PM Sen. Monroe
3:20:40 PM Chair Beyer
3:20:42 PM Sen. Monroe
3:20:48 PM Rep. Mike Schaufler, House District 48
3:21:38 PM Chair Bever
3:21:44 PM Sen. Girod
3:21:49 PM Chair Beyer
3:21:50 PM Rep. Schaufler
3:21:52 PM Chair Beyer
3:21:54 PM Barbara Rommel, Former Superintendent, David Douglas School District,
            Portland, OR
3:23:43 PM Chair Beyer
3:23:47 PM Rep. Jefferson Smith, House District 47
3:24:57 PM Chair Beyer
3:25:16 PM SB 219 - Public Hearing
3:25:23 PM Chair Beyer
3:25:24 PM Richard Berger, Committee Administrator
3:25:25 PM Chair Beyer
3:25:30 PM Rep. Jefferson Smith, House District 47
3:25:33 PM Chair Beyer
3:26:04 PM {Exhibit} 2: Tim McCabe, Director, Business Oregon
3:26:48 PM Chair Bever
3:26:49 PM McCabe
3:26:57 PM Chair Beyer
3:26:58 PM Sen. Girod
3:27:28 PM Chair Bever
3:27:29 PM Sen. Girod
3:27:31 PM Chair Bever
3:27:34 PM McCabe
3:29:03 PM Chair Bever
3:29:14 PM McCabe
3:30:14 PM Chair Bever
3:30:16 PM Sen. Girod
3:30:42 PM Chair Bever
3:30:52 PM McCabe
3:31:04 PM Udo Reider, CEO, Erickson Air Crane
3:35:10 PM Chair Beyer
3:35:23 PM Reider
3:35:26 PM Chair Beyer
3:35:49 PM J.L. Wilson, Associated Oregon Industries
```

3:36:29 PM Jeremy Rodgers, Oregon Business Council 3:38:00 PM Chair Beyer 3:38:28 PM Jack Isselman, Oregon Economic Development Association 3:39:56 PM Sarah Garrison, Economic Development Manager, City of Hillsboro 3:42:22 PM Chair Bever **3:42:36 PM** Sen. Edwards **3:42:42 PM** Chair Beyer 3:42:54 PM SB 930 - Public Hearing **3:42:55 PM** Chair Beyer 3:43:06 PM Rep. Jefferson Smith, House District 47 3:43:20 PM Chair Beyer 3:43:27 PM Sen. Chris Edwards, Senate District 7 3:47:23 PM Chair Beyer 3:47:26 PM Rep. J. Smith 3:51:44 PM Chair Beyer 3:51:47 PM Rep. Bob Jenson, House District 58 3:52:34 PM Chair Beyer 3:52:38 PM Rep. Jenson 3:52:42 PM Chair Beyer 3:52:46 PM Rep. Jenson **3:55:51 PM** Chair Beyer 3:55:57 PM Sen. Burdick 3:56:00 PM Rep. Jenson **3:56:13 PM** Sen. Burdick 3:56:14 PM Chair Bever 3:56:15 PM Sen. Burdick **3:56:20 PM** Chair Beyer 3:56:58 PM {Exhibit} 3: Valerie Plummer, Executive Director, Oregon Microenterprise Network, Chair, Oregon Economic Gardening Task Force **3:59:41 PM** {Exhibit} 4: Michael Gurton, Oregon Microenterprise Network 4:03:52 PM {Exhibit} 5: David Beam, Economic Development Planner, City of Newberg, Chair, Portland/Vancouver Regional Economic Gardening Program 4:09:15 PM Toni Thom, CEO, Strategic Printing & Manufacturing Solutions 4:16:00 PM Chair Bever **4:16:43 PM** Sen. Burdick **4:16:58 PM** Finance & Revenue Committee Called to Order as a subcommittee by Chair Burdick 4:17:06 PM Highway Cost Allocation Study - Informational Meeting **4:17:11 PM** Sen. Burdick **4:17:12 PM** Chair Beyer 4:17:13 PM Chair Burdick

```
4:17:20 PM Finance & Revenue Committee Adjourned by Chair Burdick
4:17:22 PM Chair Bever
4:17:26 PM Sen. Morse
4:17:31 PM Chair Bever
4:17:38 PM SB 930 - Public Hearing
4:17:51 PM Caroline Bauman, Executive Director, Economic Development Alliance of
            Lincoln County
4:20:12 PM Chair Beyer
4:20:20 PM Paul Grove, Business Oregon
4:21:03 PM Chair Beyer
4:21:15 PM SB 673 - Public Hearing
4:21:24 PM Richard Berger, Committee Administrator
4:21:55 PM Chair Beyer
4:22:20 PM {Exhibit} 6: Fred Heuitte, Northwest Energy Coalition
4:25:04 PM Chair Beyer
4:25:17 PM Mark Kendall, Kendall Energy Consulting
4:29:05 PM Chair Beyer
4:29:07 PM Sen. Burdick
4:29:10 PM Chair Beyer
4:29:11 PM Sen. Burdick
4:29:17 PM Kendall
4:29:20 PM Sen. Burdick
4:29:22 PM Kendall
4:29:24 PM Chair Beyer
4:29:28 PM Kendall
4:29:44 PM Chair Beyer
4:30:14 PM Sen. Burdick
4:30:16 PM Chair Bever
4:30:22 PM Sen. Burdick
4:30:24 PM Chair Beyer
4:30:26 PM Sen. Burdick
4:30:30 PM Chair Beyer
4:31:11 PM Margie Harris, Executive Director, Energy Trust of Oregon
4:34:09 PM Chair Beyer
4:34:15 PM Marion Haynes, Portland General Electric
4:36:04 PM Chair Beyer
4:36:05 PM {Exhibit} 7: Michael Early, Executive Director, Industrial Customers of
            Northwest Utilities
4:39:50 PM Chair Bever
4:40:14 PM Jeff Bissonnette, Citizens Utility Board of Oregon
4:43:03 PM Chair Beyer
4:43:20 PM SB 217 - Public Hearing
```

- 4:43:24 PM Chair Beyer
 4:43:34 PM Ann Hanus, Association of Oregon Counties
 4:43:40 PM {Exhibit} 8: Chair Beyer
 4:43:47 PM Hanus
 4:43:51 PM Chair Beyer
- **4:44:02 PM** Kyle Gorman, Executive Officer, Clackamas County Fire District #1, Special Districts Association of Oregon
- **4:47:18 PM** Chair Beyer **4:47:21 PM** Gorman
- **4:50:29 PM** {Exhibit} 9: Barbara Cartmill, President, Association of Oregon Redevelopment Agencies
- 4:52:47 PM Chair Beyer
- 4:52:50 PM Hanus
- 4:53:17 PM Chair Beyer
- 4:53:33 PM Meeting Adjourned by Chair Beyer

Exhibit Summary

3:14:46 PM {Exhibit} 1: SB 217, written testimony, Sen. Rod Monroe 3:26:04 PM {Exhibit} 2: SB 219, written testimony, Tim McCabe, 1p 3:56:58 PM {Exhibit} 3: SB 930, written testimony, Valerie Plummer 3:59:41 PM {Exhibit} 4: SB 930, written testimony, Michael Gurton, 4:03:52 PM {Exhibit} 5: SB 930, written testimony, David Beam, 9pp 4:22:20 PM {Exhibit} 6: SB 673, written testimony, Fred Heuitte, 5p 4:36:05 PM {Exhibit} 7: SB 673, written testimony, Michael Early, 10 4:43:40 PM {Exhibit} 8: SB 217, -1 amendment, staff, 1p {Exhibit} 9: SB 217, written testimony, Barbara Cartmill,	3pp 7pp
--	------------