SENATE COMMITTEE ON BUSINESS, TRANSPORTATION & ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

April 05, 2011 Hearing Room B

3:00PM

MEMBERS PRESENT: Sen. Lee Beyer, Chair

Sen. Jason Atkinson, Vice-Chair

Sen. Chris Edwards Sen. Ginny Burdick Sen. Bruce Starr Sen. Fred Girod

STAFF PRESENT: Richard Berger, Committee Administrator

Carolyn Stoffregen, Committee Assistant

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: SB 967 - Public Hearing

SB 955 – Public Hearing SB 863 – Public Hearing SB 264 – Public Hearing

Recording Log

3:07:53 PM Meeting Called to Order by Chair Beyer

3:07:57 PM Chair Beyer

3:08:18 PM SB 967 - Public Hearing

3:08:22 PM Richard Berger, Committee Administrator

3:08:41 PM The following written testimony was submitted for the record without public testimony:

3:08:41 PM {Exhibit} 1: Marcy Putnam, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers

3:08:51 PM Chair Beyer

3:09:12 PM Sen. Jason Atkinson, Senate District 2

3:13:03 PM {Exhibit} 2: Susan Ackerman, Commissioner, Oregon Public Utility

Commission

3:16:44 PM Vice-Chair Atkinson

3:16:49 PM Ackerman

3:16:51 PM Vice-Chair Atkinson

3:16:52 PM Ackerman

3:16:57 PM Chair Beyer

3:17:05 PM Vice-Chair Atkinson

3:17:16 PM Chair Bever

3:17:52 PM Sen. Burdick

3:18:49 PM Chair Beyer

3:18:51 PM Sen. Girod

3:18:53 PM Vice-Chair Atkinson

3:18:54 PM Sen. Girod

- 3:20:20 PM Ackerman 3:20:54 PM Sen. Girod **3:21:18 PM** Ackerman 3:21:20 PM Sen. Girod **3:22:17 PM** Ackerman 3:22:19 PM Sen. Girod **3:22:23 PM** Ackerman 3:23:24 PM Sen. Girod 3:23:27 PM Chair Bever 3:23:28 PM Sen. Girod 3:23:30 PM Chair Beyer 3:23:51 PM Jim Anderson, Avista Corporation **3:25:22 PM** Chair Beyer 3:25:24 PM Michael Early, Executive Director, Industrial Customers of Northwest Utilities 3:26:22 PM Chair Beyer 3:26:25 PM Marion Haynes, Portland General Electric 3:26:32 PM Chair Beyer 3:26:33 PM Haynes 3:26:57 PM Chair Beyer 3:27:19 PM Bob Jenks, Executive Director, Citizens Utility Board 3:29:37 PM Scott Bolton, PacifiCorp **3:30:24 PM** Chair Beyer 3:30:26 PM Paula Pyron, Executive Director, Northwest Industrial Gas Users **3:31:33 PM** Chair Bever **3:31:35 PM** Sen. Girod 3:32:00 PM Bolton **3:32:31 PM** Sen. Girod **3:32:43 PM** Bolton **3:32:59 PM** Sen. Girod 3:33:07 PM Chair Bever 3:33:08 PM Sen. Girod 3:33:12 PM Chair Bever 3:33:14 PM Vice-Chair Atkinson **3:33:15 PM** Chair Beyer 3:33:17 PM Vice-Chair Atkinson 3:33:24 PM Bolton **3:33:29 PM** Sen. Edwards 3:33:32 PM Chair Beyer 3:33:35 PM Vice-Chair Atkinson **3:33:37 PM** Sen. Starr 3:33:38 PM Chair Bever 3:33:40 PM Vice-Chair Atkinson 3:33:45 PM Chair Beyer
- 3:34:14 PM SB 955 Public Hearing

3:34:16 PM {Exhibit} 3: Chair Beyer 3:34:22 PM Sen. David Nelson, Senate District 29 3:36:24 PM Chair Beyer 3:36:25 PM {Exhibit} 4: John DiLorenzo, attorney, Davis, Wright, Tremaine, LLP 3:43:04 PM Chair Bever **3:43:07 PM** DiLorenzo 3:43:56 PM Chair Beyer **3:43:58 PM** Steve Eldrige, General Manager and CEO, Umatilla Electric Cooperative **3:51:52 PM** Chair Bever 3:52:20 PM Brendan McCarthy, Portland General Electric 3:55:02 PM Chair Beyer **3:55:03 PM** McCarthy 3:55:05 PM Chair Bever **3:55:06 PM** McCarthy **3:55:18 PM** Chair Beyer **3:55:20 PM** McCarthy 3:56:00 PM Chair Beyer 3:56:30 PM Jeff Bissonette, Fair & Clean Energy Coalition 4:02:06 PM Chair Beyer **4:02:08 PM** Alan Tresidder, Iberdrola Renewables **4:04:19 PM** Chair Beyer 4:04:24 PM Vice-Chair Atkinson **4:04:55 PM** Bissonette 4:05:24 PM Vice-Chair Atkinson **4:05:29 PM** Chair Bever **4:05:52 PM** Paul Woodin, Executive Director, Community Renewable Energy Association **4:11:18 PM** Chair Beyer 4:11:20 PM Andrea Salinas, Legislative Director, Oregon Environmental Council 4:11:54 PM Chair Bever 4:12:21 PM SB 863 - Public Hearing 4:12:34 PM {Exhibit} 5: Richard Berger, Committee Administrator 4:13:04 PM Chair Beyer **4:13:26 PM** Brendan McCarthy, Portland General Electric **4:15:23 PM** Jeff Bissonette, Citizens' Utility Board of Oregon **4:18:22 PM** Jess Kincaid, Energy Coordinator, Community Action Partnership of Oregon **4:20:00 PM** Berger **4:20:12 PM** McCarthy **4:20:32 PM** Chair Beyer 4:20:49 PM Berger **4:20:54 PM** The following written testimony was submitted for the record without public testimony: **4:20:54 PM** {Exhibit} 6: Wendy Gerlitz, Senior Policy Associate, NW Energy Coalition

4:20:57 PM {Exhibit} 7: Phil Donovan, Community Action Partnership

4:21:01 PM {Exhibit} 8: Jerralyn Ness, Executive Director, Community Action Washington County 4:21:02 PM {Exhibit} 9: Gary Miller, Aging Community Coordinated Enterprises & Supportive Services (ACCESS) 4:21:05 PM Chair Bever 4:21:13 PM SB 264 - Public Hearing **4:21:16 PM** {Exhibit} 10: Richard Berger, Committee Administrator **4:21:41 PM** The following written testimony was submitted for the record without public testimony: 4:21:42 PM {Exhibit} 11: Rep. Margaret Doherty, House District 35 **4:21:47 PM** Chair Beyer 4:22:12 PM {Exhibit} 12: Matthew Garrett, Director, Oregon Department of Transportation **4:25:40 PM** Chair Beyer 4:26:07 PM Sen. Betsy Johnson, Senate District 16 **4:29:43 PM** Chair Beyer 4:29:46 PM Vice-Chair Atkinson 4:29:59 PM Sen. Johnson **4:30:01 PM** Vice-Chair Atkinson 4:30:42 PM Bob Bryant, Region Manager, Oregon Department of Transportation **4:32:22 PM** Sen. Johnson **4:34:43 PM** Vice-Chair Atkinson 4:36:20 PM Sen. Johnson **4:37:35 PM** Vice-Chair Atkinson 4:38:03 PM Sen. Johnson 4:39:10 PM Chair Beyer **4:39:11 PM** Vice-Chair Atkinson 4:39:34 PM Garrett 4:40:35 PM Chair Beyer 4:40:42 PM Sen. Starr 4:40:45 PM Chair Beyer **4:41:39 PM** {Exhibit} 13: Del Huntington, Huntington Traffic Solutions 4:46:22 PM {Exhibit} 14: Mark Whitlow, International Council of Shopping Centers, Retail Task Force **4:48:40 PM** Chair Bever 4:48:51 PM Sen. Starr 4:48:56 PM Chair Bever 4:49:26 PM {Exhibit} 15: Craig Honeyman, Legislative Director, League of Oregon Cities **4:54:00 PM** Chair Beyer **4:54:02 PM** Honeyman 4:54:44 PM Chair Beyer

4:54:46 PM Jaimie Jeffrey, Traffic Engineer, City of Portland

4:57:12 PM Art Schlack, Association of Oregon Counties

4:57:09 PM Chair Beyer

- 4:58:50 PM Chair Beyer
- 4:58:59 PM Berger
- **4:59:02 PM** The following written testimony was submitted for the record without public testimony:
- **4:59:03 PM** {Exhibit} 16: Don Forrest, Senior Site Acquisition Manager, Fred Meyer Stores
- 4:59:06 PM Chair Beyer
- 4:59:35 PM Meeting Adjourned by Chair Beyer

Exhibit Summary

```
3:08:41 PM {Exhibit} 1: SB 967, written testimony, Marcy Putnam, 1p
3:13:03 PM {Exhibit} 2: SB 967, written testimony, Susan Ackerman, 3pp
3:34:16 PM {Exhibit} 3: SB 955, -1 amendments, staff, 1p
3:36:25 PM {Exhibit} 4: SB 955, written testimony, John DiLorenzo, 2pp
4:12:34 PM {Exhibit} 5: SB 863, -2 amendments, staff, 12pp
4:20:54 PM {Exhibit} 6: SB 863, written testimony, Wendy Gerlitz, 1p
4:20:57 PM {Exhibit} 7: SB 863, written testimony, Phil Donovan, 3pp
4:21:01 PM {Exhibit} 8: SB 863, written testimony, Jerralyn Ness, 1p
4:21:02 PM {Exhibit} 9: SB 863, written testimony, Gary Miller, 1p
4:21:16 PM {Exhibit} 10: SB 264, -1 amendment, staff, 39pp
4:21:42 PM {Exhibit} 11: SB 264, written testimony, Rep. Margaret Doherty, 1p
4:22:12 PM {Exhibit} 12: SB 264, written testimony, Matthew Garrett, 4pp
4:41:39 PM {Exhibit} 13: SB 264, written testimony, Del Huntington, 3pp
4:46:22 PM {Exhibit} 14: SB 264, written testimony, Mark Whitlow, 3pp
4:49:26 PM {Exhibit} 15: SB 264, written testimony, Craig Honeyman, 2pp
4:59:03 PM {Exhibit} 16: SB 264, written testimony, Don Forrest, 1p
```