## SENATE COMMITTEE ON ENVIRONMENTAL & NATURAL RESOURCES

February 15, 2011 Hearing Room C

3:00 PM

MEMBERS PRESENT: Sen. Jackie Dingfelder, Chair

Sen. Alan Olsen, Vice-Chair

Sen. Mark Hass Sen. Floyd Prozanski Sen. Chuck Thomsen

STAFF PRESENT: Beth Patrino, Committee Administrator

**Sue Hampton, Committee Assistant** 

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: Measure Introduction – Work Session

SB 82 – Public Hearing SB 529 – Public Hearing

## **Recording Log**

**3:05:57 PM** Meeting Called to Order by Chair Dingfelder

3:06:17 PM Introduction of Committee Measures - Work Session

3:06:36 PM Beth Patrino, Committee Administrator

3:06:37 PM {Exhibits} 1-2: Chair Dingfelder

3:06:54 PM MOTION: Sen. Thompson moves LC 1661 Be Introduced as a Committee

Bill

3:07:17 PM VOTE: 5-0-0

**3:07:20 PM** AYES: Dingfelder, Hass, Olsen, Prozanski, Thomsen

3:07:34 PM MOTION: Sen. Olsen moves LC 3604 Be Introduced as a Committee Bill

3:08:11 PM VOTE: 5-0-0

**3:08:12 PM** AYES: Dingfelder, Hass, Olsen, Prozanski, Thomsen

3:08:20 PM SB 82 - Public Hearing

3:08:25 PM Beth Patrino, Committee Administrator

3:08:47 PM Chair Dingfelder

**3:09:29 PM** [Exhibits] 3-4: Dick Pedersen, Director, Department of Environmental

Quality

**3:15:53 PM** Chair Dingfelder

3:15:58 PM Loretta Pickerall, Manager, Solid Waste Department, Department of

**Environmental Quality** 

3:16:00 PM Chair Dingfelder

- 3:16:51 PM Pickerall
- 3:16:59 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 3:17:14 PM Pedersen
- 3:17:36 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 3:18:01 PM Sen. Thomsen
- 3:18:31 PM Pickerall
- **3:19:34 PM** Pedersen
- 3:20:27 PM Sen. Thomsen
- 3:20:46 PM Pedersen
- 3:21:49 PM Chair Dingfelder
- **3:22:53 PM** Pedersen
- 3:23:03 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 3:23:05 PM Pickerall
- 3:23:31 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 3:23:40 PM Vice-Chair Olsen
- 3:23:44 PM Pickerall
- **3:24:49 PM** Pedersen
- 3:24:58 PM Vice-Chair Olsen
- 3:25:16 PM Pickerall
- 3:25:52 PM Vice-Chair Olsen
- 3:26:17 PM Pickerall
- 3:27:28 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 3:27:49 PM {Exhibits} 5-6: Beth Patrino, Committee Administrator
- 3:28:02 PM Chair Dingfelder
- **3:28:12 PM** {Exhibits} 7-8: Brent Young, E-Tech Recycling, Inc.
- **3:28:44 PM** Young
- 3:28:44 PM Danny Jones, E-Tech Recycling
- 3:35:54 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 3:35:56 PM Jones
- 3:35:59 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 3:36:02 PM Sen. Prozanski
- 3:36:06 PM Young
- **3:36:10 PM** Sen. Thomsen
- 3:36:20 PM Young
- 3:36:22 PM Sen. Thomsen
- 3:36:25 PM Young
- **3:38:18 PM** Sen. Thomsen
- **3:38:28 PM** Young
- **3:38:31 PM** Jones
- 3:38:41 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 3:38:46 PM Jones
- 3:38:46 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 3:38:59 PM Young
- 3:39:00 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 3:39:40 PM Jim Craven, Tech America
- 3:40:31 PM {Exhibit} 9: Dave Fiskum, Hewlett-Packard

**3:42:24 PM** Chair Dingfelder 3:42:31 PM Jonathan Eames, Eames Consulting, Dell 3:43:53 PM Chair Dingfelder 3:43:53 PM Vice-Chair Olsen 3:44:48 PM Craven 3:49:29 PM Vice-Chair Olsen 3:50:04 PM Craven 3:50:16 PM Eames 3:50:54 PM Vice-Chair Olsen 3:51:21 PM Eames **3:51:33 PM** Fiskum 3:53:06 PM Chair Dingfelder **3:53:07 PM** Craven 3:53:57 PM Eames **3:54:25 PM** Chair Dingfelder 3:56:37 PM Eames 3:57:12 PM Craven 3:57:35 PM Chair Dingfelder **3:57:41 PM** Craven 3:57:43 PM Chair Dingfelder 3:57:57 PM Fiskum 3:58:31 PM Chair Dingfelder 3:59:00 PM Holly Sears, Oregon Refuse and Recycling Association 4:00:15 PM Chair Dingfelder 4:00:17 PM Alex Cuyler, Inter-Governmental Relations Manager, Lane County 4:01:26 PM Chair Dingfelder 4:01:31 PM Craig Lorch, owner, Total Reclaim 4:03:22 PM Chair Dingfelder 4:03:24 PM Vice-Chair Olsen 4:03:34 PM Lorch 4:04:12 PM Chair Dingfelder 4:04:21 PM Lorch 4:05:02 PM SB 529 - Public Hearing 4:05:17 PM Chair Dingfelder 4:05:20 PM Beth Patrino. Committee Administrator 4:05:54 PM Chair Dingfelder 4:05:57 PM Patrino 4:06:03 PM {Exhibits} 10-11: Chair Dingfelder 4:09:09 PM Palmer Mason, Legislative Liaison, Department of Environmental Quality **4:12:59 PM** Chair Dingfelder 4:13:17 PM Mason **4:13:49 PM** Chair Dingfelder **4:13:50 PM** Mason

**4:14:05 PM** Chair Dingfelder

4:14:10 PM Sen. Hass

- 4:14:26 PM Mason 4:15:09 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 4:15:40 PM {Exhibit} 12: Scott Klag, Senior Planner, Metro
- 4:21:09 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 4:21:14 PM {Exhibit} 13: John Miller, President, Wildwood-Mahonia
- 4:24:12 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 4:24:15 PM {Exhibit} 14: Larry Tuttle, Director, Center for Environmental Equity
- 4:28:23 PM Chair Dingfelder
- **4:29:50 PM** {Exhibit} 15: Lewis Pitt Jr., Government Affairs and Planning Director, Confederated Tribes of the Warm Springs Reservation of Oregon
- 4:36:56 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 4:37:00 PM Chris Fich, League of Oregon Cities
- 4:38:06 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 4:38:20 PM Fich
- **4:38:25 PM** Chair Dingfelder
- 4:38:27 PM {Exhibit} 16: Mark Kohurst, Senior Manager, Environment Health and Safety, National Electrical Manufacturers Association
- 4:48:37 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 4:48:42 PM Sen. Hass
- **4:49:12 PM** Kohurst
- **4:50:10 PM** Chair Dingfelder
- **4:51:36 PM** Kohurst
- 4:52:45 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 4:52:56 PM Kohurst
- **4:54:16 PM** Sen. Hass
- 4:54:26 PM Vice-Chair Olsen
- 4:55:08 PM Fich
- 4:55:25 PM Vice-Chair Olsen
- 4:55:48 PM Chair Dingfelder
- 4:56:27 PM {Exhibit} 17: Craig Lorch, Ecolights North West
- **4:59:56 PM** Chair Dingfelder
- 5:00:05 PM Lorch
- **5:00:08 PM** The following written testimony was submitted for the record without public testimony:
- **5:00:08 PM** {Exhibit} 18: Maye Thompson, Registered Nurse, Doctor of Philosophy, Program Director, Environmental Health
- **5:00:08 PM** {Exhibit} 19: Paul Abernathy, Association of Lighting and Mercury Recyclers
- 5:00:08 PM {Exhibit} 20: Daniel Eisenbeis, City of Portland
- 5:00:08 PM {Exhibit} 21: Emily Ackland, Environmental Coordinator/Policy Manager. **Association of Oregon Counties**
- **5:00:08 PM** {Exhibit} 22: Andrea Salinas, Legislative Director, Oregon Environmental Council
- 5:00:08 PM Chair Dingfelder
- **5:00:32 PM** Meeting Adjourned by Chair Dingfelder

## **Exhibit Summary**

```
3:06:37 PM {Exhibit} 1: Introduction of Measures, LC 1661, staff, 4 pp
3:06:37 PM {Exhibit} 2: Introduction of Measures, LC 3604, staff, 2 pp
3:09:29 PM {Exhibit} 3: SB 82, written testimony, Dick Pedersen, 2 pp
3:09:29 PM {Exhibit} 4: SB 82, fact sheet, Oregon E-Cycles – Senate Bill 8.
             Dick Pedersen, 1 p
3:27:49 PM {Exhibit} 5: SB 82, written testimony of Erica Logan, staff, 1 p
3:27:49 PM {Exhibit} 6: SB 82, written testimony of Meghan Butler, staff, 1 p
3:28:12 PM {Exhibit} 7: SB 82, written testimony, Brent Young, 8 pp
3:28:12 PM {Exhibit} 8: SB 82, informational packet, Brent Young, 15 pp
3:40:31 PM {Exhibit} 9: SB 82, written testimony, Dave Fiskum, 6 pp
4:06:03 PM {Exhibit} 10: SB 529, fact sheet, Oregon needs safe and convenient
             recycling for lights containing mercury (SB 529), Jackie Dingfelder, 1 p
4:06:03 PM {Exhibit} 11: SB 529, article, Oregon Live.com, Bulbs: Home Depot, Metro
             offer disposal sites, Jackie Dingfelder, 2 pp
4:15:40 PM {Exhibit} 12: SB 529, written testimony, Scott Klag, 2 pp
4:21:14 PM {Exhibit} 13: SB 529, written testimony, John Miller, 3 pp
4:24:15 PM {Exhibit} 14: SB 529, written testimony, Larry Tuttle, 1 p
4:29:50 PM {Exhibit} 15: SB 529, written testimony, Lewis Pitt Jr., 2 pp
4:38:27 PM {Exhibit} 16: SB 529, written testimony, Mark Kohurst, 3 pp
4:56:27 PM {Exhibit} 17: SB 529, written testimony, Craig Lorch, 2 pp
5:00:08 PM {Exhibit} 18: SB 529, written testimony, Maye Thompson, 2 pp
5:00:08 PM {Exhibit} 19: SB 529, written testimony of Association of Lighting and
             Mercury Recyclers, Paul Abernathy, 4 pp.
5:00:08 PM {Exhibit} 20: SB 529, written testimony of the City if Portland, Daniel
             Eisenbeis, 2 pp
5:00:08 PM {Exhibit} 21: SB 529, written testimony of Tillamook County Public Works
             department, Emily Ackland, 2 pp
5:00:08 PM {Exhibit} 22: SB 529, written testimony, Andrea Salinas, 2 pp
```