## SENATE COMMITTEE ON ENVIRONMENT & NATURAL RESOURCES

April 05, 2011 Hearing Room C

3:00 PM

MEMBERS PRESENT: Sen. Jackie Dingfelder, Chair

Sen. Alan Olsen, Vice-Chair

Sen. Mark Hass Sen. Floyd Prozanski Sen. Chuck Thomsen

STAFF PRESENT: Beth Patrino, Committee Administrator

**Erika Herbert, Committee Assistant** 

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: SB 600 - Public Hearing

SB 946 - Public Hearing and Work Session

SB 119 – Work Session SB 849 – Public Hearing SB 862 – Public Hearing

## **Recording Log**

3:03:59 PM Meeting Called to Order by Chair Dingfelder

3:04:31 PM SB 600-Public Hearing

3:04:32 PM {Exhibit} 1: Beth Patrino, Committee Administrator

3:04:53 PM Sen. Johnson, Senate District 16

3:07:49 PM Chair Dingfelder

3:08:14 PM {Exhibit} 2: Louise Solliday, Director, Department of State Lands

3:17:16 PM Katie Fast, Oregon Farm Bureau

**3:19:59 PM** Dale Buck, retired Tillamook Dairy Farmer

3:29:26 PM Chair Dingfelder

3:29:41 PM Sue Marshall, Tualatin Riverkeeper

3:30:43 PM Chair Dingfelder

3:30:44 PM The following written testimony was submitted for the record without public

testimony:

3:30:45 PM {Exhibit} 3: Jim Myron, Native Fish Society

3:30:45 PM {Exhibit} 4: Tom Wolf, Chair, Oregon Council Trout Unlimited

3:31:02 PM SB 946- Public Hearing and Work Session

3:31:04 PM {Exhibit} 5: Beth Patrino, Committee Administrator

3:31:45 PM Sen. David Nelson, Senate District 29

3:32:17 PM Jana Jarvis, Oregon Wheat Growers

3:32:47 PM {Exhibit} 6: Tom Duvck, Chair, Oregon Wheat Commission

3:35:33 PM Jarvis 3:35:50 PM Chair Dingfelder 3:36:09 PM Roger Beyer, Oregon Seed Council 3:37:44 PM Chair Dingfelder 3:37:56 PM Sen. Prozanski 3:38:05 PM Chair Dingfelder 3:38:45 PM MOTION: Sen. Olsen moves the -1 amendments Be Adopted **3:39:05 PM** VOTE: 5-0-0 3:39:07 PM AYES: Hass, Prozanski, Thomsen, Olsen, Dingfelder 3:39:21 PM MOTION: Sen. Olsen moves SB 946 Do Pass as Amended 3:39:40 PM VOTE: 5-0-0 3:39:42 PM AYES: Hass, Prozanski, Thomsen, Olsen, Dingfelder 3:39:47 PM CARRIERS: SEN. NELSON and SEN. OLSEN will lead discussion on the floor **3:39:48 PM** The following written testimony was submitted for the record without public testimony: 3:39:49 PM {Exhibit} 7: John Stonebrink, Chairman, Oregon Grains Commission 3:39:50 PM {Exhibit} 8: Kevin Doerfler, Chair, Oregon Highland Bentgrass Commission 3:40:03 PM SB 119-Work Session 3:40:09 PM MOTION: Sen. Prozanski moves SB 119 Without Recommendation & Referred to the Joint Committee on Ways and Means 3:40:32 PM VOTE: 5-0-0 3:40:33 PM AYES: Hass, Prozanski, Thomsen, Olsen, Dingfelder 3:41:15 PM SB 849-Public Hearing 3:41:19 PM {Exhibit} 9: Beth Patrino, Committee Administrator 3:41:40 PM Chair Dingfelder 3:42:12 PM {Exhibit} 10: Josh Savey, Policy Advisor, Sen. Joanne Verger, Senate District 5 3:45:56 PM Chair Dingfelder **3:46:19 PM** Paul Bell, Chief of Fire Protection, Oregon Department of Forestry 3:46:36 PM Bell 3:47:29 PM Chair Dingfelder 3:47:45 PM Bell 3:47:54 PM Sen. Prozanski 3:47:57 PM Chair Dingfelder 3:48:03 PM Sen. Prozanski 3:48:10 PM Chair Dingfelder 3:48:20 PM {Exhibit} 11: Krsitina McNitt, Oregon Forest Industries Council 3:53:24 PM Roger Beyer, Oregon Small Woodlands Association 3:56:28 PM Chair Dingfelder 3:56:33 PM Sen. Prozanski **3:56:39 PM** Buyer

3:58:31 PM McNitt

```
3:59:24 PM Chair Dingfelder
```

```
3:59:44 PM SB 862-Public Hearing
3:59:50 PM Josh Savey, Policy Advisor, Sen. Joanne Verger, Senate District 5
4:00:47 PM {Exhibit} 12: Doug Decker, State Forester, Oregon Department of
            Forestry,
4:04:01 PM Chair Dingfelder
4:04:10 PM Decker
4:04:47 PM Chair Dingfelder
4:04:50 PM Decker
4:05:52 PM Chair Dingfelder
4:06:22 PM Decker
4:07:04 PM Chair Dingfelder
4:07:06 PM Decker
4:07:49 PM Chair Dingfelder
4:08:01 PM Decker
4:08:16 PM Sen. Thomsen
4:08:26 PM Decker
4:09:00 PM Chair Dingfelder
4:09:52 PM Meeting Adjourned by Chair Dingfelder
```

## **Exhibit Summary**

```
3:04:32 PM {Exhibit} 1: SB 600, -2 amendments, staff, 2 pp
3:08:14 PM {Exhibit} 2: SB 600, written testimony, Louise Solliday, 2 pp
3:30:45 PM {Exhibit} 3: SB 600, written testimony, Jim Myron, 1 p
3:30:45 PM {Exhibit} 4: SB 600, written testimony, Tom Wolf, 1 p
3:31:04 PM {Exhibit} 5: SB 946, -1 amendment, staff, 12 pp
3:32:47 PM {Exhibit} 6: SB 946, written testimony, Tom Duyck, 1 p
3:39:49 PM {Exhibit} 7: SB 946, written testimony, John Stonebrink, 1 p
3:39:50 PM {Exhibit} 8: SB 946, written testimony, Kevin Doerfler, 3 pp
3:41:19 PM {Exhibit} 9: SB 849, -1 amendment, staff, 3 pp
3:42:12 PM {Exhibit} 10: SB 849, written testimony of Sen. Joanne Verger, Josh Savey, 2 pp
3:48:20 PM {Exhibit} 11: SB 849, written testimony, Krsitina McNitt, 7 pp
4:00:47 PM {Exhibit} 12: SB 862, written testimony, Doug Decker, 2 pp
```