## SENATE COMMITTEE ON ENVIRONMENT & NATURAL RESOURCES

May 12, 2011 Hearing Room C 3:00 PM

MEMBERS PRESENT: Sen. Jackie Dingfelder, Chair

Sen. Alan Olsen, Vice-Chair

Sen. Mark Hass Sen. Floyd Prozanski Sen. Chuck Thomsen

STAFF PRESENT: Beth Patrino. Committee Administrator

**Erika Herbert, Committee Assistant** 

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: HB 3516 A - Public Hearing

HB 3538 A - Public Hearing

HCR 3 – Public Hearing and Work Session HB 3571 A – Public Hearing and Work Session HB 2827 – Public Hearing and Work Session

HB 2175 A - Work Session

\_\_\_\_\_

## **Recording Log**

**3:08:18 PM** Meeting Called to Order by Chair Dingfelder

3:08:42 PM HB 3516 A - Public Hearing

3:08:44 PM {Exhibit} 1: Beth Patrino, Committee Administrator

3:08:47 PM Chair Dingfelder

3:09:20 PM Rep. Ben Cannon, House District 46

3:11:59 PM Chair Dingfelder

3:12:02 PM Rep. Cannon

3:12:15 PM Chair Dingfelder

3:12:21 PM Rep. Cannon

3:12:33 PM Chair Dingfelder

3:12:43 PM Rep. Cannon

3:13:10 PM Chair Dingfelder

3:13:22 PM Vice-Chair Olsen

**3:13:27 PM** Rep. Cannon

3:14:29 PM Chair Dingfelder

3:15:26 PM {Exhibit} 2: Mark Pengilly, Energize Oregon LLC

3:22:17 PM Lisa Naito, Multnomah County

**3:25:07 PM** Shara Alexander, Multnomah County

3:29:11 PM Chair Dingfelder

3:29:27 PM Vice-Chair Olsen

**3:29:31 PM** Pengilly

3:29:43 PM Vice-Chair Olsen 3:30:17 PM Dan Eisenbeis, City of Portland 3:33:39 PM Chris Fick, League of Oregon Cities 3:35:32 PM Vice-Chair Olsen 3:36:54 PM Eisenbeis 3:38:30 PM Vice-Chair Olsen 3:39:24 PM Chair Dingfelder **3:39:26 PM** The following written testimony was submitted for the record without public testimony: **3:39:28 PM** {Exhibit} 3: Scott Bolton, Government Affairs Director 3:39:30 PM {Exhibit} 4: Bryan Wolfe, Chairman, Oregon Energy Facilities Siting Council 3:41:22 PM HB 3538 A - Public Hearing **3:41:25 PM** Beth Patrino, Committee Administrator 3:41:47 PM Rep. Chris Harker, House District 34 3:44:26 PM Chair Dingfelder 3:45:59 PM Bob Shiprack, Energy Facility Siting Council 3:49:13 PM Brendan McCarthy, Portland General Electric 3:51:17 PM Gary Bauer, NW Natural Gas 3:51:36 PM Chair Dingfelder 3:51:37 PM Sen. Thomsen **3:51:41 PM** Shiprack 3:52:45 PM Sen. Thomsen **3:52:47 PM** Shiprack 3:53:08 PM Chair Dingfelder **3:53:11 PM** McCarthy 3:54:07 PM Chair Dingfelder 3:54:29 PM {Exhibit} 5: David Ford, President & CEO, L & C Carbon LLC 3:59:28 PM {Exhibit} 6: John Ledger, Associated Oregon Industries 4:00:21 PM Chair Dingfelder 4:00:25 PM Vice-Chair Olsen **4:00:44 PM** Ford 4:01:37 PM Vice-Chair Olsen 4:02:26 PM Ford 4:03:14 PM Chair Dingfelder 4:03:32 PM The following written testimony was submitted for the record without public testimony: 4:03:36 PM {Exhibit} 7: Philip Mote, Director, Oregon Climate Change Research Institute **4:03:38 PM** {Exhibit} 8: Robert Sowdon, Cottage Grove, Oregon 4:03:39 PM {Exhibit} 9: R.E. Kinghorn, Stellar Cascade Energy, LLC 4:03:49 PM HCR 3 - Public Hearing 4:03:52 PM Rep. Mitch Greenlick, House District 33

4:04:34 PM Sen. Thomsen

4:04:37 PM Vice-Chair Olsen 4:04:41 PM Rep. Greenlick 4:06:03 PM Chair Dingfelder 4:06:18 PM Sen. Thomsen 4:06:48 PM Rep. Greenlick 4:07:00 PM Chair Dingfelder **4:07:02 PM** Scott Burns, Professor, Portland State University **4:10:13 PM** Jay Noller, Professor, Oregon State University **4:13:38 PM** Vice-Chair Olsen 4:13:45 PM Noller 4:13:50 PM Vice-Chair Olsen 4:13:52 PM Noller 4:13:59 PM Vice-Chair Olsen 4:14:02 PM Burns **4:14:26 PM** Vice-Chair Olsen 4:14:29 PM Chair Dingfelder 4:14:53 PM {Exhibit} 10: Brian Rabe, Certified Professional Soil Scientist 4:16:18 PM Chair Dingfelder 4:16:24 PM Kaelyn Rabe, Albany, Oregon 4:17:08 PM Brogan Rabe, Albany, Oregon 4:18:08 PM Brian Rabe 4:20:32 PM Chair Dingfelder 4:20:51 PM {Exhibit} 11: Richard Page, Salem, Oregon 4:25:40 PM Chair Dingfelder 4:25:54 PM Sen. Hass **4:26:10 PM** Chair Dingfelder 4:26:29 PM HCR 3 - Work Session 4:26:31 PM MOTION: Sen. Olsen moves HCR 3 BE ADOPTED **4:27:10 PM** VOTE: 5-0-0 4:27:12 PM AYES: Hass, Prozanski, Thomsen, Olsen, Dingfelder 4:27:14 PM CARRIER: SEN. OLSEN will lead the discussion on the floor 4:27:40 PM HB 3571 A - Public Hearing **4:27:42 PM** Beth Patrino, Committee Administrator 4:28:12 PM {Exhibit} 12: Garv Marcus, President, Falls Creek Hydroelectric Project 4:33:24 PM Ed Pugh, General Manager, Deschutes Valley Water District **4:34:54 PM** Marcus 4:36:29 PM {Exhibit} 13: Brent Stevenson, Manager, Santiam Water Control District 4:37:30 PM Marcus **4:39:45 PM** Chair Dingfelder 4:39:48 PM John Charles, Cascade Policy Institute 4:43:49 PM Chair Dingfelder **4:43:55 PM** The following written testimony was submitted for the record without public

testimony:

4:43:57 PM {Exhibit} 14: Rep. Brian Clem, House District 21

4:44:15 PM <u>HB 3571 A - Work Session</u> 4:44:28 PM MOTION: Sen. Olsen moves HB 3571A DO PASS **4:45:09 PM** VOTE: 5-0-0 4:45:11 PM AYES: Hass, Prozanski, Thomsen, Olsen, Dingfelder 4:45:13 PM CARRIER: SEN. THOMSEN will lead discussion on the floor 4:45:36 PM HB 2827 - Public Hearing **4:45:56 PM** Beth Patrino. Committee Administrator 4:46:16 PM Chair Dingfelder **4:46:29 PM** Paul Romain, Oregon Petroleum Association 4:48:36 PM Chair Dingfelder 4:48:43 PM Patrino 4:48:49 PM Sen. Prozanski **4:48:59 PM** Romain 4:49:06 PM Chair Dingfelder 4:49:26 PM Romain 4:49:41 PM Vice-Chair Olsen 4:49:44 PM Chair Dingfelder 4:49:57 PM Vice-Chair Olsen 4:50:00 PM Chair Dingfelder 4:50:06 PM Romain 4:50:28 PM Vice-Chair Olsen 4:50:33 PM Romain 4:50:50 PM Chair Dingfelder **4:50:52 PM** The following written testimony was submitted for the record without public testimony: 4:50:54 PM {Exhibit} 15: Rep. Gene Whisnant, House District 53 4:51:10 PM HB 2827 - Work Session 4:51:14 PM MOTION: Sen. Olsen moves HB 28727 DO PASS 4:51:49 PM VOTE: 5-0-0 4:51:51 PM AYES: Hass, Prozanski, Thomsen, Olsen, Dingfelder 4:51:53 PM CARRIER: SEN. PROZANSKI will lead the discussion on the floor 4:52:13 PM HB 2175 A-Work Session 4:52:18 PM {Exhibit} 13: Beth Patrino, Committee Administrator 4:52:53 PM MOTION: Sen. Olsen moves -5 amendments **4:53:33 PM** VOTE: 5-0-0 4:53:41 PM AYES: Hass, Prozanski, Thomsen, Olsen, Dingfelder 4:53:47 PM MOTION: Sen. Olsen moves HB 2175A a DO PASS as AMENDED **4:54:20 PM** VOTE: 5-0-0 4:54:22 PM AYES: Hass, Prozanski, Thomsen, Olsen, Dingfelder 4:54:25 PM CARRIER: SEN. HASS will lead discussion on the floor **4:55:11 PM** Meeting Adjourned by Chair Dingfelder

## **Exhibit Summary**

```
3:08:44 PM {Exhibit} 1: HB 3516A, -A6 amendments, staff, 1 p
3:15:26 PM {Exhibit} 2: HB 3516A, written testimony, Mark Pengilly, 6 pp
3:39:28 PM {Exhibit} 3: HB 3516A, written testimony, Scott Bolton, 1 p
3:39:30 PM {Exhibit} 4: HB 3516A, written testimony, Bryan Wolfe, 1 p
3:54:29 PM {Exhibit} 5: HB 3538A, written testimony, David Ford, 2 pp
3:59:28 PM {Exhibit} 6: HB 3538A, written testimony, John Ledger, 1 p
4:03:36 PM {Exhibit} 7: HB 3538A, written testimony, Philip Mote, 2 p
4:03:38 PM {Exhibit} 8: HB 3538A, written testimony, Robert Sowdon, 1 p
4:03:39 PM {Exhibit} 9: HB 3538A, written testimony, R.E. Kinghorn, 1 p
4:14:53 PM {Exhibit} 10: HCR 3, written testimony, Brian Rabe, 2 pp
4:20:51 PM {Exhibit} 11: HCR 3, written testimony, Richard Page, 1 p
4:28:12 PM {Exhibit} 12: HB 3571A, testimony packet, Gary Marcus, 17 pp
4:36:29 PM {Exhibit} 13: HB 3571A, written testimony, Brent Stevenson, 1 p
4:43:57 PM {Exhibit} 14: HB 3571A, written testimony, Rep. Clem, 2 pp
4:50:54 PM {Exhibit} 15: HB 2827, written testimony, Rep. Whisnant, 1 p
4:52:18 PM {Exhibit} 16: HB 2175A, -5 amendments, staff, 1 p
```