## SENATE COMMITTEE ON JUDICIARY

February 1, 2011 Hearing Room 343 8:30 AM

MEMBERS PRESENT: Sen. Floyd Prozanski, Chair Sen. Jeff Kruse, Vice-Chair Sen. Suzanne Bonamici Sen. Jackie Dingfelder

Sen. Doug Whitsett

STAFF PRESENT: Bill Taylor, Committee Counsel

**Cheyenne Ross, Committee Counsel Pam Marshall, Committee Assistant** 

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: Measure Introduction – Work Session

SB 353 – Public Hearing SB 75 – Public Hearing SB 76 – Public Hearing SB 78 – Public Hearing SB 423 – Public Hearing SB 77 – Public Hearing

**Recording Log** 

8:36:48 AM Meeting Called to Order by Chair Prozanski

**8:37:01 AM** Sen. Whitsett

8:37:10 AM Vice-Chair Kruse

8:37:27 AM Sen. Bonamici

8:37:41 AM Sen. Dingfelder

8:37:56 AM Chair Prozanski

8:40:05 AM Measure Introduction - Work Session

8:40:13 AM {Exhibits} 1-6: Cheyenne Ross, Committee Counsel

8:40:43 AM Chair Prozanski

8:40:47 AM MOTION: Vice Chair Kruse moves LC 2921, LC 3317, LC 3334, LC 3516.

LC 3517 and LC 3518 BE INTRODUCED as Committee Bills

8:41:21 AM Chair Prozanski

**8:41:43 AM** VOTE: 5-0-0

8:41:45 AM AYES: Bonamici, Dingfelder, Whitsett, Kruse, Prozanski

8:41:47 AM Chair Prozanski

8:42:06 AM SB 353 - Public Hearing

8:42:11 AM Cheyenne Ross, Committee Counsel

8:42:45 AM Ted Reutlinger, Legislative Counsel

8:44:19 AM Vice-Chair Kruse

8:45:31 AM Chair Prozanski

8:45:50 AM Reutlinger 8:48:05 AM Vice-Chair Kruse 8:48:58 AM Chair Prozanski 8:49:15 AM Sen. Dingfelder 8:50:06 AM Chair Prozanski 8:51:42 AM Sen. Dingfelder 8:52:20 AM Vice-Chair Kruse 8:53:08 AM Sen. Whitsett 8:53:35 AM Chair Prozanski 8:54:29 AM Vice-Chair Kruse 8:55:13 AM Ross 8:55:22 AM Chair Prozanski 8:56:23 AM SB 75 - Public Hearing 8:56:28 AM Bill Taylor, Committee Counsel 8:57:07 AM {Exhibit} 7: Mark Cadotte, Community Corrections Chief, Oregon **Department of Corrections** 8:57:49 AM Chair Prozanski 8:57:52 AM Sen. Whitsett 8:59:02 AM Cadotte **8:59:26 AM** Sen. Whitsett 8:59:47 AM Cadotte **9:00:18 AM** Sen. Whitsett 9:00:35 AM Taylor 9:01:32 AM Chair Prozanski **9:01:43 AM** Taylor 9:02:24 AM Sen. Whitsett 9:02:55 AM Taylor 9:03:28 AM Cadotte 9:03:49 AM Chair Prozanski 9:04:17 AM SB 76 - Public Hearing 9:04:20 AM Bill Taylor, Committee Counsel 9:04:37 AM Chair Prozanski 9:05:09 AM {Exhibit} 8: Michael Gower, Assistant Director, Oregon Department of 9:06:55 AM {Exhibit} 9: Marilyn Lorance, Manager, Department of Public Safety Standards and Training 9:07:40 AM Chair Prozanski 9:07:41 AM Sen. Whitsett **9:08:13 AM** Gower 9:08:24 AM Lorance 9:09:19 AM Sen. Whitsett **9:09:28 AM** Taylor 9:09:32 AM Lorance 9:09:39 AM Chair Prozanski

9:09:51 AM SB 78 - Public Hearing 9:10:14 AM Bill Taylor, Committee Counsel 9:10:58 AM Chair Prozanski 9:11:15 AM {Exhibit} 10: Bill Hoefel, Health Services Administrator, Oregon **Department of Corrections** 9:13:31 AM Chair Prozanski 9:13:34 AM Gail Meyer, Legislative Representative, Oregon Criminal Defense Lawyers' Association 9:14:30 AM Chair Prozanski 9:14:40 AM Meyer 9:15:27 AM Chair Prozanski 9:15:30 AM Sen. Whitsett 9:16:30 AM Michael Gower, Assistant Director, Oregon Department of Corrections **9:17:39 AM** Sen. Whitsett 9:18:19 AM Gower 9:18:42 AM Vice-Chair Kruse 9:19:39 AM Chair Prozanski **9:20:22 AM** Taylor 9:20:36 AM Gower **9:20:42 AM** Taylor 9:20:51 AM Gower 9:20:58 AM Chair Prozanski 9:21:10 AM SB 423 - Public Hearing 9:21:17 AM Bill Taylor, Committee Counsel 9:21:49 AM Chair Prozanski 9:22:17 AM {Exhibit} 11: Jana Russell, Administrator of Behavioral Health Services, **Oregon Department of Corrections** 9:27:06 AM {Exhibit} 12: Colette Peters, Director, Oregon Youth Authority 9:29:28 AM Chair Prozanski 9:29:37 AM Sen. Whitsett 9:31:21 AM Russell 9:32:55 AM Sen. Whitsett 9:33:20 AM Russell 9:33:27 AM Chair Prozanski 9:33:36 AM Peters 9:33:58 AM Vice-Chair Kruse 9:35:01 AM Chair Prozanski 9:35:13 AM SB 77 - Public Hearing 9:35:20 AM Bill Taylor, Committee Counsel 9:35:42 AM Chair Prozanski **9:35:59 AM** Taylor 9:36:15 AM Chair Prozanski

9:36:35 AM {Exhibit} 13: Max Williams, Director, Oregon Department of Corrections 9:44:55 AM Chair Prozanski 9:44:57 AM Sen. Bonamici **9:45:13 AM** Williams 9:45:33 AM Sen. Bonamici **9:45:38 AM** Williams 9:46:42 AM Taylor 9:47:23 AM Jef VanValkenburgh, Contact Counsel, Oregon Department of Corrections 9:48:34 AM Chair Prozanski 9:48:52 AM VanValkenburgh 9:48:59 AM Chair Prozanski 9:49:06 AM Williams 9:49:50 AM Chair Prozanski 9:50:13 AM Bruce Miller, Senior State Counsel, State Court Administrator 9:53:15 AM Chair Prozanski **9:53:20 AM** Taylor 9:53:28 AM Miller 9:53:35 AM Paul Snider, Association of Oregon Counties 9:54:20 AM Chair Prozanski 9:54:43 AM Snider 9:55:28 AM Chair Prozanski 9:56:44 AM Sen. Bonamici **9:57:22 AM** Taylor **9:57:23 AM** The following written testimony is submitted without public testimony: 9:57:24 AM {Exhibit} 14: Jeanne Woodford, California Department of Corrections and Chase Riveland, Washington State and Colorado Department of Corrections 9:57:25 AM {Exhibit} 15: Terry Ann Leggert, Retired Judge, Marion County Circuit Court 9:57:26 AM {Exhibit} 16: Andrea Meyer, Legislative Director/Counsel, American Civil Liberties Union of Oregon (ACLU) 9:57:27 AM {Exhibit} 17: Mark Royal, President, Association of Community Corrections Directors (OACCD) 9:57:28 AM Meeting Adjourned by Chair Prozanski

## **Exhibit Summary**

8:40:20 AM {Exhibit} 1: Introduction of Committee Measures, LC 2921, staff, 2 pp 8:40:23 AM {Exhibit} 2: Introduction of Committee Measures, LC 3317, staff, 5 pp 8:40:38 AM {Exhibit} 3: Introduction of Committee Measures, LC 3334, staff, 4 pp 8:40:34 AM {Exhibit} 4: Introduction of Committee Measures, LC 3516, staff, 17 pp 8:40:38 AM {Exhibit} 5: Introduction of Committee Measures, LC 3517, staff, 11 pp 8:40:38 AM {Exhibit} 6: Introduction of Committee Measures, LC 3518, staff, 32 pp 8:57:07 AM {Exhibit} 7: SB 75, written testimony, Mark Cadotte, 2 pp

```
9:05:20 AM {Exhibit} 8: SB 76, written testimony, Michael Gower, 2 pp
9:06:59 AM {Exhibit} 9: SB 76, written testimony, Marilyn Lorance, 1 p
9:11:56 AM {Exhibit} 10: SB 78, written testimony, Bill Hoefel, 2 pp
9:22:46 AM {Exhibit} 11: SB 423, written testimony, Jana Russell, 2 pp
9:27:17 AM {Exhibit} 12: SB 423, written testimony, Colette Peters, 2 pp
9:37:35 AM {Exhibit} 13: SB 77, written testimony, Max Williams, 2 pp
9:57:24 AM {Exhibit} 14: SB 77, written testimony, Jeanne Woodford and Chase Riveland, 2 pp
9:57:25 AM {Exhibit} 15: SB 77, written testimony, Terry Ann Leggert, 2 pp
9:57:26 AM {Exhibit} 16: SB 77, written testimony, Andrea Meyer, 5 pp
9:57:27 AM {Exhibit} 17: SB 75, written testimony, Mark Royal, 1 p
```