## **SENATE COMMITTEE ON RULES**

May 12, 2011 Hearing Room A 1:00 P.M.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Sen. Diane Rosenbaum, Chair

Sen. Ted Ferrioli, Vice-Chair

Sen. Jason Atkinson Sen. Lee Beyer Sen. Ginny Burdick

STAFF PRESENT: Erin Seiler, Committee Administrator

Mike Reiley, Committee Assistant

MEASURES/ISSUES HEARD: HCR 23 A – Public Hearing and Work Session

SCR 14 – Public Hearing and Work Session SCR 15 – Public Hearing and Work Session SCR 16 – Public Hearing and Work Session

SB 947 - Public Hearing

SB 976 - Public Hearing and Work Session

SB 926 A – Work Session SB 634 – Work Session

Introduction of Committee Measures – Work Session

## **Recording Log**

1:04:19 PM Meeting Called to Order by Chair Rosenbaum

1:04:54 PM HCR 23 A - Public Hearing

1:04:57 PM Erin Seiler, Committee Administrator

1:05:46 PM Sen. Alan Bates, Senate District 3

1:10:36 PM Louie Pitt, Jr., Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs

1:14:49 PM Chair Rosenbaum

**1:15:12 PM** Sen. Beyer

1:16:58 PM {Exhibit} 1: Chair Rosenbaum

1:17:40 PM HCR 23 A - Work Session

1:17:46 PM MOTION: Sen. Ferrioli moves HCR 23 A Be Adopted

**1:18:05 PM** VOTE: 5-0-0

**1:18:08 PM** AYES: Atkinson, Beyer, Burdick, Ferrioli, Rosenbaum

1:18:16 PM CARRIER: SEN. BATES & SEN. TELFER will lead discussion on the floor

1:18:31 PM SCR 14 - Public Hearing

1:18:37 PM Erin Seiler, Committee Administrator

1:19:10 PM Dave Barrows, Association of O&C Counties **1:19:32 PM** {Exhibit} 2: Jennifer Wheeler, Polk County Commissioner 1:20:05 PM Barrows 1:21:44 PM Lee Hazelwood, Stayton resident 1:22:58 PM {Exhibit} 3: Craig Pope, Polk County Commissioner 1:24:01 PM Chair Rosenbaum 1:24:32 PM SCR 14 - Work Session 1:24:35 PM MOTION: Sen. Ferrioli moves SCR 14 Be Adopted **1:24:48 PM** VOTE: 5-0-0 **1:24:52 PM** AYES: Atkinson, Beyer, Burdick, Ferrioli, Rosenbaum 1:24:54 PM CARRIER: SEN. BOQUIST & SEN. WINTERS will lead discussion on the floor 1:25:12 PM SCR 15 - Public Hearing 1:25:16 PM Erin Seiler, Committee Administrator 1:26:13 PM Matt Olsen, Chief of Staff, Office of Sen. Alan Olsen 1:27:07 PM {Exhibit} 4: Paul Tremblay, Lakeside resident 1:37:37 PM Linda Gibson, Gold Star mother 1:39:17 PM Terry Carrol, Chapter President, Blue Star Moms of Oregon 1:40:36 PM Chair Rosenbaum 1:41:06 PM SCR 15 - Work Session 1:41:17 PM Vice-Chair Ferrioli 1:41:57 PM MOTION: Sen. Ferrioli moves SCR 14 Be Adopted **1:42:39 PM** VOTE: 3-0-2 1:42:42 PM AYES: Beyer, Ferrioli, Rosenbaum; EXCUSED: Atkinson, Burdick 1:42:45 PM CARRIER: SEN. OLSEN will lead discussion on the floor 1:42:50 PM SCR 16 - Public Hearing 1:42:58 PM Erin Seiler, Committee Administrator 1:43:28 PM Jim Welsh, Oregon Cattlemen Association 1:48:14 PM Vice-Chair Ferrioli 1:51:03 PM Sen. Beyer 1:51:54 PM Vice-Chair Ferrioli 1:52:35 PM SCR 16 - Work Session 1:52:42 PM MOTION: Sen. Ferrioli moves SCR 16 Be Adopted **1:53:08 PM** VOTE: 3-0-2 1:53:09 PM AYES: Beyer, Ferrioli, Rosenbaum; EXCUSED: Atkinson, Burdick 1:53:12 PM CARRIER: SEN. FERRIOLI will lead discussion on the floor 1:53:50 PM SB 947 - Public Hearing

1:53:57 PM Erin Seiler, Committee Administrator

1:54:34 PM Vice-Chair Ferrioli

1:54:08 PM {Exhibit} 5: Erin Seiler, Committee Administrator

**1:54:57 PM** Phil Keisling, Chief Petitioner, Ballot Measure 65 (2008) 2:05:53 PM Greg Macpherson, former state legislator 2:10:30 PM Chair Rosenbaum 2:10:55 PM Keisling 2:11:48 PM Chair Rosenbaum 2:12:18 PM Keisling 2:12:20 PM Macpherson 2:13:07 PM Keisling 2:14:13 PM SB 976 - Public Hearing 2:14:24 PM Erin Seiler, Committee Administrator 2:14:59 PM {Exhibit} 6: Ken Johnson, Chief of Police, City of Fairview 2:17:40 PM Scott Russell, Chief of Police, City of Woodburn 2:19:10 PM Marvin Hoover, Chief of Police, City of Clatskanie 2:20:30 PM Chair Rosenbaum 2:21:07 PM Brenda Wilson, Intergovernmental Relations Manager, City of Eugene 2:26:26 PM Chair Rosenbaum 2:27:38 PM Walt Beglau, Marion County District Attorney; President, Oregon District Attornevs Association 2:28:53 PM Chair Rosenbaum **2:30:06 PM** {Exhibit} 7: Seiler 2:30:15 PM SB 976 - Work Session 2:30:23 PM MOTION: Sen. Ferrioli moves SB 976 Do Pass 2:30:36 PM VOTE: 5-0-0 2:30:40 PM AYES: Atkinson, Beyer, Burdick, Ferrioli, Rosenbaum 2:30:42 PM CARRIER: SEN. FERRIOLI will lead discussion on the floor 2:31:03 PM SB 926 A - Work Session 2:31:31 PM {Exhibit} 8: Erin Seiler, Committee Administrator 2:32:47 PM Chair Rosenbaum 2:33:33 PM {Exhibit} 9: Sybil Hebb, Oregon Law Center 2:35:49 PM {Exhibit} 10: Ken Sherman, Counsel, Oregon Bankers Association 2:36:52 PM Vice-Chair Ferrioli 2:37:17 PM MOTION: Sen. Ferrioli moves -A6 amendments 2:37:19 PM VOTE: 5-0-0 2:37:21 PM AYES: Atkinson, Beyer, Burdick, Ferrioli, Rosenbaum 2:37:24 PM MOTION: Sen. Ferrioli moves SB 926 A Do Pass as Amended **2:37:49 PM** VOTE: 5-0-0 2:37:50 PM AYES: Atkinson, Beyer, Burdick, Ferrioli, Rosenbaum 2:37:53 PM CARRIER: SEN. BONAMICI will lead discussion on the floor 2:38:01 PM SB 634 - Work Session 2:38:13 PM {Exhibit} 11: Erin Seiler, Committee Administrator 2:40:27 PM {Exhibit} 12: Marilyn Happold-Latham, Oregon Medical Association 2:45:26 PM {Exhibit} 13: Gwen Dayton, General Counsel, Oregon Medical Association 2:46:40 PM Vice-Chair Ferrioli **2:46:42 PM** Dayton 2:48:43 PM Elise Brown, America's Health Insurance Plans 2:49:58 PM Dave Fiskum, Jeld-Wen 2:51:53 PM Sen. Atkinson 2:52:18 PM MOTION: Sen. Atkinson moves -6 amendments 2:52:33 PM VOTE: 5-0-0 2:52:34 PM AYES: Atkinson, Beyer, Burdick, Ferrioli, Rosenbaum 2:52:37 PM MOTION: Sen. Atkinson moves SB 634 Do Pass as Amended 2:52:51 PM VOTE: 5-0-0 2:52:58 PM AYES: Atkinson, Beyer, Burdick, Ferrioli, Rosenbaum 2:53:00 PM CARRIER: SEN. ROSENBAUM will lead discussion on the floor 2:53:03 PM The following written testimony is submitted for the record without public testimony: 2:53:04 PM {Exhibit} 14: Ruth Bendl, Portland resident 2:53:13 PM Introduction of Committee Measures - Work Session 2:53:52 PM {Exhibit} 15 - 16: MOTION: Sen. Burdick moves LC 4174 & LC 4177 Be Introduced as committee measures **2:54:27 PM** VOTE: 5-0-0 2:54:31 PM AYES: Atkinson, Beyer, Burdick, Ferrioli, Rosenbaum

2:54:41 PM Meeting Adjourned by Chair Rosenbaum

## **Exhibit Summary**

1:16:58 PM {Exhibit} 1: HCR 23 A, written testimony of Dixie Hannon, staff, 1 p 1:19:32 PM {Exhibit} 2: SCR 14, written testimony, Jennifer Wheeler, 1 p 1:22:58 PM {Exhibit} 3: SCR 14, written testimony, Craig Pope, 1 p 1:27:07 PM {Exhibit} 4: SCR 15, written information, Paul Tremblay, 18 pp 1:54:08 PM {Exhibit} 5: SB 947, written testimony of Harvey Platt, staff, 1 p 2:14:59 PM {Exhibit} 6: SB 976, written testimony, Ken Johnson, 1 p 2:30:06 PM {Exhibit} 7: SB 926 A, written testimony of Marilyn Lorance, staff, 1 p 2:31:31 PM {Exhibit} 8: SB 926 A, -A6 amendments, staff, 5 pp 2:33:33 PM {Exhibit} 9: SB 926 A, written testimony, Sybil Hebb, 3 pp 2:35:49 PM {Exhibit} 10: SB 926 A, written testimony, Ken Sherman, 3 pp 2:38:13 PM {Exhibit} 11: SB 634, -6 amendments, staff, 2 pp 2:40:27 PM {Exhibit} 12: SB 634, written testimony, Marilyn Happold-Latham, 2 pp 2:45:26 PM {Exhibit} 13: SB 634, written testimony, Gwen Dayton, 2 pp 2:53:04 PM {Exhibit} 14: SB 634, written testimony, Ruth Bendl, 1 p 2:53:52 PM {Exhibit} 15: Introductions, LC 4174, staff, 1 p **2:53:52 PM** {Exhibit} 16: Introductions, LC 4177, staff, 1 p