COMMITTEE ON JUDICIARY
Room 14, State Capitol
Salem, Oregon

— o v —— - — — o w— w— —am s —

ARTICLE Ci . SERIQUS TRAFFIC OFFENSES -

Preliminary Draft No. 2; August 1974

Reporter: Donald L. Paillette Subcommittee on Adjudication

NOTE: If you attend any committee meeting
regarding this draft, please bring
your copy of the draft with you.



—_— - - w— o w— . — — s m— - ——

ARTICLE . SERIOUS TRAFFIC OFFENSES

Preliminary Draft No. 2

I

Section 1. (briving while under the influence of liquor or
drugs.) (1) A person commits the offense of driving while under the
influence of liquor or drugs if, while being under the influence of
intoxicating liquor, dangerous drugs oOr narcotic drugs, he drives a
vehicle upon a highway.

(2) As used in subsection (1} of this section:

(a) "Dangerous drugs" has the meaning provided for that term in
ORS 475.010.

(b) "Narco+ic drugs" has the meaning provided for that term in
ORS 474.010.

"(3) Driving while under the inflﬁence of liguor or drugs is a

Class A traffic infraction,

COMMENTARY

See Commentary under s. 2.
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Section 2. (Driving with .10 percent or more blood alcohol

content.) (1) A person commits the offense of driving with .10
percent or more blood alcohol content if he drives a vehicle upon
a highway wheﬁ he has .10 percent or more by weight of alcohol in
his blood as shown by chemical analysis of the person's breath,
blood, urine or saliva made under ORS 483.634 to 483.646.

(2) Driving with .10 percent or more blood alcohol content

is a Class A traffic infraction.

COMMENTARY TO SS 1 AND 2

These sections would repeal ORS 483.992 and 483.999.
The penalty classification for both offenses would be the
same, a Class A traffic infraction. (See, Classification of
Offenses; Disposition of Offenders; Preliminary Draft No. 4,
for further discussion.)

Although the offense defined in s. 2 would be a non-
criminal offense for a tirst offender, absent dangerous
driving, the percentage of blood alcohol content needed to
make the section operative is reduced from .15 to .10
percent.

By providing for two separate offenses, ss 1 and 2 are
in accord with the Oregon Court of Appeals decisions that
have construed the interrelationship between the two existing
crimes of DUIL and driving with .l5 or more blood alcohol
content.
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Oregon Cases:

In State v. Nelson, Wolfe, & Ehrhard, 96 Adv Sh 1843,
___Or app ___, 509 P2d 36 (1973), the defendants were each
charged in justice court with DUIL, ORS 483.992, and driving
with .15 percent or more alcohol in blood, ORS 483.999. The
state moved to consclidate the charges in each case. The
motion was granted and affirmed by the circuit court.

The Court of Appeals affirmed the trial court and held
that consolidation was proper.
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The court held that this case did not present a double
jeopardy problem. In State v. Welch, 96 Adv Sh 631, _  Or
. 505 P2d 910 (1973), the Supreme Court pointed out that
double jeopardy does not arise unless a defendant is subjected
to two different trials. There is nothing improper in
charging the defendant with two separate counts, This does
not present a double jeopardy problem such as was presented
in State v. Brown, 262 Or 442, 497 P24 1191 (1972), where
there were two separate trials.

The court did not rule on the guestion of cumulative
punishment because there had been no trial in the case and
thus there was no evidence that the two charges arose out of
a single transaction.

It should be noted that in State v. Welch, the Supreme
Court ruled that, while a defendant could be tried on two
counts of publishing forged checks, he could be subjected to
only one penalty, as the publication of two forged checks
constituted one transaction.

State v. Abbott, 97 Adv Sh 1735, _  Or App __ , 514 P2d
355 (1973), was a case in which the defendant was charged in
district court with DUIL, ORS 483,992, and driving with .15
percent or more alcohol in blood, ORS 483.999. The district
judge found the defendant not guilty of DUIL and guilty of
.15.

The defendant appealed and the circuit court dismissed
the .15 percent charge. The court ruled that .15 is not a
separate crime but rather an enhanced penalty provision of
the DUIL statute. PFurther, the legislature did not intend
that a defendant could be convicted and sentenced for both
crimes. The circuit court held that it was impossible for
one to be found not guilty of DUIL and guilty of .15.

The Court of Appeals reversed. The court first noted
that the state could consolidate both charges. State v.
Nelson, Wolfe, & Ehrhard, supra. There is no question in
this case as to whether the defendant can be convicted and
sentenced for both crimes because the defendant was found
not guilty of one.

The court held that ORS 482.430, which provides that for
revocation a .15 percent conviction will be treated as a DUIL
conviction, does not indicate that .15 is merely an enhanced
penalty provision. Revocation of a license is not intended
to be punishment. State v. Robinson, 235 Or 524 (1963).




Page 4 7
Serious Traffic Offenses
Preliminary Draft No. 2

Finally, the court held that a defendant could be found
not guilty of DUIL and yet be found guilty of .15 percent.
Although unlikely, it would be possible for one to conduct
himself so as to show few signs of intoxication and yet have
.15 percent alcohol in his blood. Thus, there could be a
finding of not guilty of DUIL and a finding of guilty of .15.

ORS 483.992 (2) (DUIL) and 483.999 (.15 percent) define
separate offenses, as they may require different proof in
some respects.

In State v. Rowe, 97 Adv Sh 2346, _ Or App ___, 515 P2d
1352 (1973), the defendant was found not guilty of DUIL and
guilty of .15 percent in district court. Upon appeal, the
circuit court found the defendant guilty of .15. The
defendant appealed, contending that one may not be found not
guilty of DUIL and guilty of .15 percent.

The Court of Appeals affirmed based on State v. Abbott,
supra.
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Section 3. (Dangerous driving in the second degree.) (1) A

person commits the crime of dangerous driving in the second degree
with criminal negligence, he drives a wvehicle in a manner that
endangers the safety of persons or property.

(2) Dangerous driving in the second degree is a Class B

misdemeanor.

COMMENTARY

See Commentary under s. 4.

if,
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Section 4. (Dangerous driving in the first degree.) (1) A

person commits the crime of dangerous driving in the first degree if
he recklessly drives a vehicle in a manner that endangers the safety
of persons or property.

(2) Dangerous driving in the first degree is a Class A

misdemeanor.

COMMENTARY TO SS 3 AND 4

These sections propose two degrees of a new traffic
crime, "dangerous driving," to replace the existing reckless
driving statute. This approach embodies two objectives:
Primarily, to eliminate the old crime which was frequently
used for plea negotiation purposes in DUIL cases; and,
secondly, to redefine the crime in the context of criminal
culpability.

The culpability definitions set forth in the Oregon:
Criminal Code of "criminal negligence" and "recklessly™
would be adopted by the proposed Vehicle Code.

ORS 161.085. "(9) 'Recklessly,' when used
with respect to a result or to a circumstance
described by a statute defining an offense, means
that a person is aware of and consciously dis-
regards a substantial and unjustifiable risk that
the result will occur or that the circumstance
exists. The risk must be of such nature and degree
that disregard thereof constitutes a gross devia-
tion from the standard of care that a reasonable
person would observe in the situation.

"(10) 'Criminal negligence' or 'criminally
negligent,' when used with respect to a result or
to a circumstance described by a statute defining
an offense, means that a person fails to be aware
of a substantial and unjustifiable risk that the
result will occur or that the circumstance exists.
The risk must be of such nature and degree that the
failure to be aware of it constitutes a gross
deviation from the standard ot care that a reason-
able person would observe in the situation.”

ORS 161.125 (2) would also have a significant bearing on
the reckless driver who is also intoxicated. It provides:
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"When recklessness establishes an element of
the offense, if the defendant, due to drug use,
dependence on drugs or voluntary intoxication, is
unaware of a risk of which he would have been aware
had he been not intoxicated, not using drugs, or
not drug dependent, such unawareness is immaterial."

"Reckless driving" is defined in existing law as driving
"any vehicle upon a highway carelessly and heedlessly in
wilful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others."
ORS 483.992 (1). The crime is punishable, for a first
conviction, by imprisonment for not more thar 90 days, or by
a fine of not more than $500, or both, A second or subsequent
conviction is punishable by imprisonment for not more than.six
months or by a fine of not more than $2,000, or both. These
provisions would he repealed.

A Class A misdemeanor is punishable by not more than
one year's imprisonment or $1,000 fine, or both. A Class B
misdemeanor has a penalty of not more than six month's
imprisonment or $500 fine, or both.

ORS 483.343 prohibits driving in "a careless manner,"
defined as meaning "in a manner that endangers or would be
likely to endanger any person or property." The penalty is
imprisonment for not more than 60 days or $250 fine, or both.
This statute would be repealed.

ORS 483.345 provides that the driver of any vehicle
exercise "reasonable control of the vehicle he is driving as
may be necessary to avoid colliding with any object." This
offense is a Class C misdemeanor and would be punishable by
a maximum fine of 30 day's imprisonment or $250 fine, or
both. The definition of the offense contains no culpability
element, and, therefore, is a “strict liability" type of
offense. Retention of this statute would not conflict with
any of the proposed sections, although some redefinition of
the offense might be desirable.

Adoption of the Criminal Code's culpability terms would
be consistent with the objectives of limiting criminal
culpability to four clearly defined types of culpability,
i.e., "intentional," "knowing," "reckless" or "criminally
negligent"” conduct.

Oregon Cases:

State v. Wilcox, 216 Or 110, 337 P24 797 (1959)

Defendant demurred to an indictment charging criminally
negligent homicide. The indictment charged the defendant
essentially in the language of the reckless driving statute.
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The defendant contended that the language of the reckless
driving statute, when used in a homicide indictment, is
unclear and could charge negligent homicide, manslaughter or
second degree murder. The circuit court sustained the
demurrer and the Supreme Court reversed.

Defendant contended that the term "wilful and wanton"
in the reckless statute described intentional conduct or at
least some degree of negligence highexr than gross negligence.
Thus the indictment actually charged him with a higher crime
than negligent homicide.

The court held that ORS 483.992 (1) "is descriptive of
grossly negligent conduct and nothing more nor less . . . .
The court agreed that in some contexts the term "wilful and
wanton" had a meaning different than that of "gross
negligence." llowever, the court held that it was not
unreascnable to locock upon wilful and wanton conduct short of
an intent to do a particular harm as an aggravated form of
negligence.

The court also pointed out that wilful and wanton, when
used together, have a different meaning than when used
separately., Thus reference to the definitions in the
Criminal Code are not helpful in interpreting the reckless
driving statute.

The court discussed some language in the statute which
has since been removed ("without due caution and circumspec-
tion . . . "). This language could be construed as applying
to simple negligence. However, the court regarded the
reckless driving statute as requiring more than mere
negligence to constitute a violation of the statute. The
statutes defining manslaughter, negligent homicide and
reckless driving are not violated where the motor vehicle is
operated in an ordinary negligent manner.

The court summarized by saying that (1) simple
negligence in operating a car is not subject to criminal
punishment, (2) reckless driving statute is viclated only by
acts of gross negligence which, however, may include wilful
and wanton misconduct as the term is used in civil cases
(e.g., something more than gross negligence), and (3) the
negligent homicide statute is the exclusive method of
punishing a person for killing another as a result of driving
a motor vehicle in a grossly negligent manner unless other
specified circumstances are present (such as intoxication as
provided in former ORS 483.992 (2) (b)).
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Justice Sloan dissented. The indictment charged the
defendant drove in a grossly negligent manner. It also
charged his action was wilful and wanton. He felt that there
is no such thing as "wilful negligence." Gross negligence
means nothing more nor less than "great negligence." Wilful
conduct, as used in the reckless statute, means advertent,
intentional, or quasi-intentional. Thus the indictment in
this case could charge either manslaughter or negligent
homicide.

State v. Leverich, 97 Adv Sh 850, Or App (1973), 511
p2d 1265

The defendant was tried and convicted in district court
of reckless driving. Prior to that trial he was charged by
indictment with negligent homicide. The circuit court
dismissed the indictment on the grounds of double jeopardy.
The Court of Appeals affirmed.

Based on State v. Brown, the court held that the two
charges arose out of the same transaction, the prosecutor
knew of the second charge, and both charges ccould have been
tried in circuit court.

With regard to both charges being tried in the same
court, the court held that (1) both charges could have been
initiated in circuit court or {2) the reckless driving charge
could have been consolidated with the homicide charge in
circuit court.

ORS 134.140 (2) provides that a dismissal of a charge
is a bar to a later misdemeanor prosecution for the same
crime. To consolidate the charges would require a dismissal
of the reckless charge in district court. Brown by implica-
tion says that ORS 134.140 (2) is not a bar to a subsequent
prosecution for the misdemeanor in circuit court if the
dismissal is for consolidation.
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Section 5. (Fleeing or attempting to elude a police officer,)

(1) A driver of a motor vehicle commits the crime of fleeing or
attempting to elude a police cofficer if, when given visual or audib;e
signal to bring the wvehicle to a stop, he knowingly flees or attempts
to elude a pursuing police wvehicle.

(2) The signal given by the pclice officer may be by hand, voice,
emergency light or siren.

(3} As used in this section, "police officer" means a sheriff,
municipal policeman or member of the Oregon State Police in uniform,
prominently displaying his badge of office and who is operating a
vehicle appropriately marked showing it to be an official police
vehicle.

(4) Fleeing o¥ attempting to elude a police ofticer is a Class A

misdemeanor.

COMMENTARY

This section defines the offense so as to follow UVC s
11-904 more closely. ORS 483.049 would be repealed. Exist-
ing Oregon law, the UVC and the proposed section are all
very similar, although the penalties differ considerably
among the three versions.
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Section §. (Conviction of traffic offenses as grounds for

mandatory revocation or suspension.) ORS 482.430 is amended to read:
i

482,430, (1) The divisioh forthwith shall revoke any person's

permit or license to operate motor vehicles upon receiving a record of
the conviction of such person of any of the following offenses:

(a) Manslaughter or criminally negligent homicide resulting from
the operation of a motor vehicle.

(b) Perjury or the making of a false affidavit to the division
under this chapter or any other law of this state requiring the
registration of motor vehicles or regulating their operation on
highways.

(c) Any crime punishable as a felony in the commission of which
a motor vehicle is used.

(d) Conviction or forfeiture of bail uéon three charges of
reckless driving all within the preceding 12 months.

(e) A conviction of a driver of a motor vehicle involvedlin an
accident resulting in the death or injury of another person, upon a
charge of failing to stop and disclose his identity at the scene of
the accident.

(2) The division forthwith shall suspend any person's permit or
license to operate motor vehicles upon receiving a record of the
conviction of such person for the folloﬁing offenses:

(a) Driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor,
dangerous drugs or narcotic drugs.

(b) Fleeing or attempting to elude a traffic or police officer.

(c) Driving with .10 percent or more by weight of alcohol in

driver's blood.

R
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(3) The period of suspension shall be:
(a) First conviction within a 1l0-year period, 30 days.
(b} Second conviction within a 1l0-year period, one year.

(c) Third or subsequent conviction within a l0-year period, three

years.

COMMENTARY

The statute is amended to specifically include
conviction of the crime of driving with .10 blood alcohol
content as a ground for mandatory suspension of driver's
license. This appears as subsection (5) of ORS 483.999
under existing law.
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Section 7, (Suspension for refusing breath test; notice of

suspension.) ORS 482.540 is amended to read:

482.540. (1) Upon receipt of the report of a police officer as
'required in subsection (2) of ORS 483.634, and in accordance with
subsection (2) of this section and subsection (1) of ORS 482.550, the
division shall suspend the reported person's license, permit or
privilege to drive a motor vehicle in this state for a period of [90]
180 days.

(2) Upon receipt of the report of the police officer, the
division shall notify the reported person by mail of the intention to
suspend and allow said person a 20-day period after the date of mailing
said notice to request in writing a hearing before a representative of
the division as provided in this section. If no request is filed
within the 20-day period, the division shall thereupon suspend the
license, permit or privilege of the person to drive a motor vehicle.

(3) Notice of intention to suspend or notice of an order of
suspension is presumed to have been received upon the expiratidn of
five days after it is deposited in the United States mail with postage
prepaid, addressed to the person at his last address as shown by his
application for briginal, renewal or duplicate license, which mailing
may be proved by the certificate of any officer or employe of the
division over 18 years of age specifying the time and place of giving
notice.

COMMENTARY

The statute is amended to increase the suspension period
for refusal to take the breath test from 20 to 180 days.
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Section 8, (Hearing on suspension under ORS 482.540.) ORS

482.550 is amended to read:

482,550, (1) 1If a request for a hearing is filed, the hearing
shall be before a representative of the division in the county where
the alleged offense occurred unless there is an agreement between the
person and the division that the hearing be conducted elsewhere. In
connection with such hearing, the division or its authorized repre-
sentative may administer oaths and'shall issue subpenas for the
attendance of witnesses requested by the person or the division and
the production of relevant documents. The hearing shall be recorded
by whatever means may be determined by the division and shall include
testimony and exhibits, if any. The record of the proceeding shall
nof be transcribed unless requested by a party to the proceeding.

Upon an affirmative finding on each matter listed in subsection (2) of
this section, the division shall issue an order suspending the license,
privilege or permit of the person to drive a motor vehicle, effective

as provided in ORS 482.560. Otherwise, no suspension shall be ordered.

(2) The scope of the hearing shall be limited to:

{a) Whether the person at the time he was requested to submit to
a test was under arrest for driving a motor vehicle while under the
influence of intoxicating liquor in violation of [subsection (2) of

ORS 483.992] section -- of this 1975 Act or of a municipal ordinance;

(b) Whether the police officer had reasonable grounds to believe,
at the time the request was made, that the person refusing to submit
to the test had been driving under the influence of intoxicating liquor

in violation of [subsection (2) of ORS 483.992] section -- of this 1975

Act or of a municipal ordinance;
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{c) Whether the person refused to submit to a test;
(d) Whether such person was informed of the consequences, under
ORS 482.540 to 482.560, of his refusal to submit to the test; and

(e) Whether such person was informed of his rights as provided

in ORS 483.638.

COMMENTARY

This is a housekeeping amendment to insert the new
statutory reference to driving while under the influence.
(See section 1, supra.)
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Section 9. (Notice of suspension, revocation or cancellation.)
ORS 482.570 is amended to read:

482,570. When the division, as authorized or required, suspehds,
revokes or cancels a licensé or the right to apply for a license to
operate motor vehicles, it shall give notice of such action to the

person whose license or right is affected. The notice shall state the

nature and reason for the action and, in the case of a suspension,

whether it was ordered by a court. Service of the notice is

accomplished either.by mailing the notice by certified mail, return

receipt requested, to the person's address as shown by division

records, or at the option of the division, by personal service in the
same manner as a summons is served in an action at lLaw. [When notice
sent by certified mail is returned, the receipt unsigned, service of
notice shall be accomplished by personal service in the same manner as
a summons is served in an action at law. Refusal of the service by
the person whose license or right is suspended is prima facie evidence

of receipt of the notice.]

COMMENTARY

See Commentary under s. 10.
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Section 10. (Driving while suspended or revoked.) (1) A

‘person commits the crime of driving while suspended or revoked if
he drives a motor vehicle upon a highway during a period when his
license or permit to drive a motor vehicle or his right to apply
for a license to drive a motor vehicle in this state has been sus-
pended by a court or by the division or revoked by the division.

(2) In a prosecution under subsection (1) of this section,
it is an affirmative defense that:

(2} 2An injury or immediate threat of injury to human or
animal life and the urgency of the circumstances made it necessary
for the defendant to drive a motor vehicle at the time and place in
gquestion; or

(b) The defendant had not received notice of his suspension
or revocation as required by ORS 482.570C.

{3) The affirmative defense under paragraph (b) of subsection
(2) of this section shall not be available to the defendant if:

(a) - The defendant refused to sign a receipt for the certified
mail containing the notice;

(b) The notice could not be delivered to the defendant because
he had not notified the division of a change in his residence as
required by subsection (2) of ORS 482.290; or

(c}) At. a previous court appearance, the defendant had been
informed by a trial judge that the judge was ordering a suspension
of the defendant's licenée, permit or right to apply.

(4) Driving while suspended or revoked is a Class A misdemeanor.



Page 18
Serious Traffic Offenses
Preliminary Draft No. 2

COMMENTARY TO SS 9 AND 10

Subsection (l) restates the crime of driving while
suspended or revoked. ORS 482.650 would be repealed.

Subsection (2} sets forth two affirmative defenses to
the charge. Paragraph (a) is cast under the existing sFatute
as an exception and has been restated in the draft section.

Paragraph (b) places the burden on the defendant to
prove by a preponderance of the evidence that he did not
receive the required notice of suspension or revocation.

The most vexatious problem that has plagued officials in
their attempts to enforce the prohibition against driving
while suspended has been their inability to locate the
licensee to notify him of the suspension or to prove at
trial that notice was received. The draft deals with this
dilemma by making the defense unavailable if the certified
mail containing the notice has been refused or if the
defendant has not kept the division advised of his residence
as required by statute. This approach to the notice problem
is consistent with State v. Buen, infra. ORS 482.570 is
amended to delete the provision for mandatory personal
service when the certified mail is returned, receipt
unsigned. (See section 9.) ‘
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Oregon Cases:

In State v. Buen, 97 Adv Sh 150, ___ Or App __ . 509 p2d
865 (1973), the defendant was convicted in three separate
trials of DWS. A certified copy of suspension was mailed to
his address, return receipt requested. The receipt was
returned, signed by another, with the defendant's name
written below the signature. In district court defendant was
sentenced to four days, eight days and sixteen days. In
circuit court the defendant was sentenced to thirty days, six
months and one year, to run consecutively. The Court of
Appeals affirmed.

The defendant first contended that he had not received
adequate notice of suspension. The court noted that prior to
1971 ORS 482.570 provided that notice by mailing is afforded
a disputable presumption of receipt. In 1971 the legislature
removed the disputable presumption language and said that
notice is given by mailing the notice by certified mail,
return receipt requested, or by personal service. Proof of
the following of this procedure by the MVD alone is sufficient
to support conviction. Further, ORS 482.290 (2} requires a
driver to notify the MVD of a change of address.

With regard to the sentence, the court relied on State
v. Madden, 10 Or App 643, 501 P24 71 (1972), in holding the
sentence legal.
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State v. Cesaro, 8 Or App 274, 494 P2d 256 (1972) , was
a case in which the defendant was cited for speeding in
Medford. The citation contained the statutory notice that
failure to appear could result in a warrant for arrest or
suspension or both. ORS 484.150 (7) (a). Defendant failed
to appear in municipal court. The court sent him notice to
appear on a certain date. Defendant claimed he never received
the notice. After the second date, the court sent notice to
MVD and defendant's license was suspended. Defendant was
convicted three times of driving while suspended. The Court
of Appeals affirmed.

Defendant contended the procedure violated due process
in that it did not give him notice and an opportunity to be
heard prior to suspension. The court held that the defendant
had been given notice and an opportunity to be heard through
the statutory notice on the citation. Defendant conceded
that an arrest warrant could issue without additional notice
and an opportunity to be heard. The same is true of
suspension. This is similar to forfeiture of bail, ORS
484.130, or a default judgment in a civil case, ORS 18.080.

In State v. Miles, 8 Or App 190, 492 P24 497 (1972) ,
the defendant was convicted of DUIL, driving while suspended
and driving with no operator's license in possession (discus-
sion of DUIL issues omitted). Defendant contended that he
could not be convicted of DWS and no operator's license based
on the same act of driving. The Court of Appeals reversed as
to this issue and vacated the no operator's license charge.

ORS 482.650 (DWS)} and 482.300 (2) (no operator's license)
are two separate offenses. One may not, however, be convicted
of both. No operator's license presumes the driver had a
valid license. DWS presumes the nonexistence of a valid
license to operate a motor vehicle. Thus the two- charges are
incompatible.

In City of Oakland v. Moore, 1 Or App 80, 457 P2d 659
(1969), the defendant was convicted of driving while his
right to apply was suspended. The officer checked "no
licensed operator™ and "suspended" boxes on the Uniform
Traffic Citation. The Court of Appeals affirmed.

The defendant alleged that the citation was sufficient
to charge only driving while suspended and not driving while
right to apply suspended. The court first noted that the
legislature, in adopting the Uniform Traffic Citation,
intended a minimum of formality. The citation is effective
even though the person must make reasonable inguiry of the
officer or another person to determine the crime charged.
State v. Waggoner, 228 Or 334, 365 P2d 291 (1961).

ORS 482.010 (7) (b) defines "license" to include "the
privilege of any person to drive a motor vehicle whether or
not such person holds a valid license." This broad definition
would include driving while right to apply is suspended.
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Section 11l. (Implied consent to chemical test; police report of

refusal: evidence of refusal inadmissible.)}) ORS 483.634 is amended to

read:

483.634. (1) Any person who operates a motor vehicle upon the
highways of this state shall be deemed to have given consent, subject
to ORS 483.634 to 483.646, to a chemical test of his breath for the
purpose of determining the alcoholic content of his blood if arrested
for driving a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating

ligquor in violation of [subsection (2) of ORS 483.992] section -- of

this 1975 Act or of a municipal ordinance. A test shall be administered

upon the request of a police officer having reasonable grounds to
believe the person arrested to have been driving while under the
influence of intoxicating liquor in violation of [subsection {(2) of

ORS 483.992] section -- of this 1975 Act or of a municipal ordinance.

(2) If a person under arrest for driving a motor vehicle while
under the influence of intoxicating liquor in violation of [subsection

(2) of ORS 483.992] section —-- of this 1975 aAct or of a municipal

ordinance, refuses the request of a police officer to submit to a
chemical test of his breath as provided in subsection (1) of this
section, and if the person has been informed of the consequences of
such refusal as provided by ORS 482.540 to 482.560 and of his rights
as provided in ORS 483.638, no test shall be given, but the police
officer shall prepare a sworn report of the refusal and cause it to be
delivered to the division. The report shall disclose:

(a) Whether the person at the time he was requested to submit to

a test was under arrest for driving a motor vehicle while under the
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influence of intoxicating liquor in violation of [subsection (2) of

ORS 483.992] section —-- of this 1975 Act or of a municipal ordinance;

(b} Whether the police officer had reasonable grounds to believe,
at the time the request was made, that the person refusing to submit to
the test had been driving under the influence of intoxicating liquor in

violation of [subsection (2) of ORS 483.992] section -- of this 1975

Act or of a municipal ordinance;

(c) Whether the person refused to submit to a test;

(d) Whether such person was informed of the consequences, under
ORS 482.540 to 482.560, of his refusal to submit to the test; and

(e) Whether such person was informed of his rights as provided
in ORS 483.638.

(3) If a person under arrest refuses to submit to a chemical test
of his breath under the provisions of subsection (2) of this section or
refuses to consent to chemical tests as provided by ORS 483.636,
evidence of his refusal shall not be admissible in any civil or
criminal action, suit or proceeding arising out of acts alleged to have
been committed while the person was driving a motor vehicle on the

highways while under the influence of intoxicating liquor.

COMMENTARY

The amendments are of a housekeeping nature to conform
to section 1 of the Article which would redefine and
reclassify the offense of driving under the influence.
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Section 12. (Use of chemical analyses to show intoxication.)

ORS 483.642 is amended to read:

483.642. (1) At the trial of any civil or criminal action, suit
or proceeding arising out of the acts committed by a person driving a
motor vehicle while under the influence.of intoxicating liquor, the
amount of alcohol in the person's blood at the time alleged as shown
by chemical analysis of the person's breath, blood, urine or saliva
shall give rise to the following presumptions:

(a) Not more than .05 percent by weight of alcohol in his blood,
supports a disputable presumption that he was not then under the
influence of intoxicating liquor.

(b) More than .05 percent but less than [.10] .08 percent by
weight of alcohol in his blood, is indirect evidence that may be used
to determine whether or not he was then under the influence of
intoxicating liquor. |

(c) Not less than [.10] .08 percent by weight of alcohol in his
blood, supports a disputable presumption that he was then under the
influence of intoxicating liquor.

(2) Percent by weight of alcohol in the blood shall be based upon
grams of alcohol per one hundred cubic centimeters of blood.

(3) Nothing in this section is intended to limit the introduction
of any competent evidence bearing upon the question of whether or not a
person has been under the influence of intoxicating liguor.

COMMENTARY

This is a companion amendment to s. 2 and reduces the
disputable presumption figure from .10 percent to .08,
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Section 13. (Definitions.) ORS 484.010 is amended to read:

484.010. 'As used in ORS 1.510 to 1.530 and 484.010 to 484,320,
unless the context otherwise requires:

(1) "Bail" means money or its equivalent deposited by a defendant
to secure his appearance for a traffic offense.

(2) T"City court" means a municipal court, whether or not it is
exercising authority under the charter or ordinances of a city or as a
justice court under the laws of this state.

(3) "City policeman" includes a city marshall or a member of the
police of a city, municipal or quasi-municipal corporation.

(4) "City tréffic offense" means any violation of a traffic
ordinance of a city, municipal or guasi-municipal corporation, except
ordinances governing parking of vehicles.

(5) "Major traftic offense" means a violation of any of the
following provisions of law or a city ordinance conforming thereto:

(a) [Reckless driving, as defined in subsection (1) of ORS

483.992.] Dangerous driving as defined in sections -- and -- of this

1975 Act.
(b) Driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor,
dangerous drugs or narcotic drugs, as defined in [subsection (2) of

ORS 483.992 or ORS 483.999] section -— of this 1975 Act.

(c) Driving with .10 percent or more bloocd alcchol coﬂtent, as

defined in section -- of this 1975 Act.

[(c)] (d) Failure to perform the duties of a driver inveolved in
an accident or collision, as defined in subsections (1) and (2) of ORS
483.602 and ORS 483.604 [, which would be punishable under subsection

(1) of ORS 483.9901}.
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[(d)] (e) Operating a motor vehicle while the operator's or

chauffeur's license is suspended or revoked, as defined in [ORS

482.650] section —-- of this 1975 Act.

[(e)] (f) Fleeing or attempting to elude a [traffic or] police

officer, as defined in [subsection (1) of ORS 483.049] section -- of

this 1975 Act.

(6) "Owner" means the person having all the incidents of
ownership in a vehicle or where the incidents of ownership are in
different persons, the person, other than a security interest holder
or lessor, entitled to the possession of a vehicle under a security
agreement, or a lease for a term of 10 or more successive days.

(7) "Police officer" includes a member of the Oregon State

Police, a sheriff or deputy sheriff and a city policeman.

(8) "State court" means a circuit, district or justice court or
magistrate.
(9) "State traffic offense" means a violation of any provision

of law for which a [misdemeanor] criminal or traffic infraction penalty

is provided in ORS chapter 481, 482, 483, ORS 485.010 to 485.420,
485.990 and ORS chapter 486 or 767.
(10} "Traffic offense" includes an offense mentioned in

subsections {(4), (5) and (9) of this section.

COMMENTARY

The amendments to this statute are to make the section
consistent with the Articles on Classification of Offenses;
Disposition of Offenders and Serious Traffic Offenses. The
most significant aspect of this section, however, 1is
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subsection (5) because by operation of ORS 133.310 a probable
cause warrantless arrest by a peace officer would be
anthorized for any "major traffic offense" listed.

ORS 484.100, authority of police officer to arrest or
jssue citation, is not amended by the draft. The statute
describes situations in which a police officer may arrest or
issue a citation for a "traffic offense."” Inasmuch as '
traffic offenses under the proposed code will include both
traffic crimes and traffic infractions, the statute cited is
left unchanged to permit arrests for all classes of infrac-
tions. Most traffic offenses under the proposed code would
be handled by Uniform Traffic Citation, as is presently the
case. _
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Section 14. (Traffic citation requirements; exceptions; uniform
citation.) ORS 484.150 is amended to read:
484.150. (1) Except for violation of laws governing parking of

vehicles, a tratfic citation conforming to the requirements of this
section shall be used fof all traffic offenses in this state.

(2) The citation shall consist of at least four parts. Addi-
tional parts may be inserted by law enforcement agencies for admini-
strative use. The required_parts are:

(a) The complaint.

{b) The abstract of record.

(c) The police record.

(d) The summons.

(3) Each of the parts shall contain the following information or
blanks in which such information shall be entered:

{a) The name of the court and the court's docket or file number,.

(b) The name of the person cited.

(¢) The oftense of which the person is charged, the date, time
and place at which the offense occurred, the date on which the citation
was issued and the name of the complainant.

(d) The time and place at which the person cited is to appear in
court.

{e) The bail fixed for the offense.

{(4) Each of the parts shall alsc contain such identifying and
additional information as may be necessary or appropriate for law

enforcement agencies in the state.
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(5) The complaint shall contain a form of certificate by the
complainant to the effect that he certifies, under the penalties
provided in ORS 484.990, that he has reasonable grounds to believe,
and does believe, that the person cited committed the offense contrary
to law. The certification if made by a police officer need not be
made before a magistrate or any other person. A private person shall
certify before é magistrate, clerk or deputy clerk of the court and
this action will be entered in the court record. The reverse side of
the éomplaint shall contain the substénce of the matters appearing on
the reverse side of the Uniform Traffic Ticket and Complaint promul-
gated by the American Bar Association, and set forth in the Model
Rules Governing Procedure in Traffic Cases, approved by the National
Conference of Commissioners on Uniform Laws, July 8-13, 1957. A
certificate conforming to this section shall be deemed equivalent of a
sworn complaint.

(6) The reverse side of the abstract of court record shall
contain such matters and shall be in such form as may be prescribed by
the Motor Vehicles Division for the purpose of carrying out the
requirements of subsection (1) of ORS 484,240.

(7) The summons shall also contain a notice to the person cited
that the complaint will be filed. The reverse side of the summons
shall contain the following:

(a) A form substantially as follows:

READ CAREFULLY
You must appear in court at the time mentioned in this citation

if you are charged with any of the following oftenses:
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1. [Reckless] Dangerous driving.
2. Driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor,
barbiturates or narcotic drug.
3. Leaving the scene of an accident.
4. Operating a motor vehicle while your driver's license was
suspended or revoked.
5. Attempting to flee or elude a [traffic or] police officer.
6. Driving with [a .ls.percent (or higher) level of alcohol in

blood] .10 percent or more blood alcohol content.

I1f you are charged with any OTHER offense, you MUST do ONE of the
following:

1. Appear in court at the time mentioned in this summons and
request a hearing. The court will then set a time for a hearing.

2. Mail to the court this summons, together with a check or
money order in the amount of the bail indicated on the other side of
this summons and tell the court you request a hearing. This summons
and the bail must reach the court before the time when this summons
requires you to appear in court. If you don't want a hearing, but
wish to explain your side, send your explanation with the summons and
bail. The cbﬁ:t will then consider your explanation and may forfeit
your bail, or part of it, on the basis of your explanation and what
the officer tells the court.

3. Sign the plea of guilty below and send this summons to the
court, together with check or money order in the amount of bail

indicated on the other side of this summons. If you wish to_.explain

your side, you may send vour explanation with the guilty plea, summons

and bail.
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This summons and the bail must reach the court before the time when
this summons requires you to appear in court.

NOTE: If you have already given bail or other security for your
appearance, proceed as mentioned above but do noﬁ send in any addi-
tional sum as bail.

IF YOU FAIL TO COMPLY WITH THESE INSTRUCTIONS, THE COURT IS
AUTHORIZED TO ISSUE A WARRANT FOR YOUR ARREST OR BY NOTICE TO THE
MOTOR VEHICLES DIVISION TO CAUSE YOUR OPERATOR'S LICENSE TO BE SUS-
PENDED, OR BOTH.

THE COURT MAY IN ANY CASE, AFTER NOTICE, REQUIRE YOU TO APPEAR

FOR A HEARING.

(b) A "Notice" and "Appearance, Plea of Guilty and Waiver"
substantially in the form appearing on the reverse side of the summons
in the form of Uniform Traffic Ticket and Complaint mentioned in
subsection (5) of this section.

(8) The complaint shall be set aside by the court upon the motion
of the defendant before plea when it does not conform to the require-
ments of this section. However, this section does not prohibit the
use of a uniform citation for other otfenses in addition to traffic
otfenses and containing other language in addition to that specitied

in this section.

COMMENTARY

The section amends the statute on Uniform Traffic
Citation requirements to conform to proposed changes in
offenses and to indicate that the person cited may make an
explanation along with a guilty plea.
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Section 15. (Appearance by defendant.) ORS 484.190 is amended to
read:

484.190. (1) The defendant shall appear in court at the time
mentioned in the summons if the citation is for:

(a) A major traffic offense.

(b) Any felony.

(2) In other cases, the defendant shall either appear in court
at the time indicated in the summons, or prior to such time shall
deliver to the court the summons, together with check or money order
in the amount of the bail set forth in the summons, and inclosing
therewith:

(a) A request for a hearing; or

(b) A statement of matters in explanation or mitigation of the
offense charged; or

(c) The executed appearance, waiver of hearing and plea of guilty

appearing on the summons. A statement in explanation or mitigation

also may be inclosed with the guilty plea.

(3) In any case in which the defendant personally appears in

court at the time indicated in the summons, if he desires to plead

guilty and the judge accepts the plea, the judge shall hear any

statement in explanation or mitigation that the defendant desires to

make.

COMMENTARY

The amendments provide for optional explanatory state-
ments by the defendant if he so desires when pleading guilty
either by mail or in person. The subcommittee believes that
a cited motorist should be given an opportunity to tell "his
side of the story" even though he wants to plead guilty.
This now may be the practice in most courts, but it is not
spelled out in the statutes.
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Section 16. (Impounding vehicles operated by driver convicted of

driving while license revoked or suspended; redemption; suspension of

registration; rights of security interest holders.) ORS 484,222 is

amended to read:
484.222, (1) (a) When a person is convicted for driving a motor

vehicle [in violation of ORS 482.650] while his license is suspended or

revoked, the court shall order impounded for not more than 120 days
from judgment any motor vehicle of which the convicted person is the
owner. and any motor vehicle which the convicted person is operating at

the time of arrest for violation of [ORS 482.650] section -- of this

1975 Act. He shall be liable for the expenses incurred in the removal
and storage of the vehicle under this subsection, whether or not the
avehicle is returned to him. The vehicle shall be retutrned to the
person convicted or the owner only upon payment of such expenses.

(b) If the vehicle is not reclaimed within 30 days after the
time set for the return of the vehicle in the impounding order, the
vehicle may be disposed of in accordance with ORS 483.380 to 483,396,

(2) (a) When a person is convicted for driving a motor vehicle

in violation of [ORS 482.650] section -- of this 1975 Act, the court,

instead of or in addition to impoundment under subsection (1) of this
section, may order the Motor Vehicles Division to suspend for not more
than 120 days the registration required under ORS chapter 481 of any
vehicle of which the convicted person is the owner or any vehicle which
the convicted person is operating at the time of his arrest [for viola-
tion of ORS 482.650]. The division shall forthwith suspend the

registration and require the owner to return the registration card and
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plates. If the vehicle has not been'impounded and the owner fails to
return the registration card and plates to the division within 10 days
after the date notice to do so is mailed to him, return receipt
requestéd, the division shall forthwith direct any peace officer to
secure possession thereof and return the registration card and plates
to the division.

(b) The division shall return the registration card and plates
to the owner upon expiration of the period specified by the court in
its order provided in paragraph (a) of this subsection upon payment by
the owner to the division of a restoration fee of §10.

(3) The court may order that a motor vehicle of which the
convicted person is not the owner be impounded or its registration
suspended under this section only if the court is satisfied by clear
and convincing evidence that the owner knew or had good reason to know
that the convicted person did not have a valid operator's license and
knowingly consented to the operation of the motor vehicle by the
convicted person.

(4) The authority of the court under this section to impound any
motor vehicle shall be subject to the rights of a holder of a security
interest under a-security agreement executed before an arrest for

violation of [ORS 482,650} section -- of this 1975 Act, and the vehicle

shall be released for the purpose of satisfying a security interest if:
(a) Request in writing is made to the court; and
(b) If the vehicle has been impounded, the security interest
holder pays the expenses incurred in removal and storage of the

vehicle; and
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(c) If the registration of the vehicle has been suspended, the
security interest holder takes possession of the vehicle subject to

the suspension of the registration remaining in effect against the

registered owner.

COMMENTARY

The housekeeping amendments are to conform with s. 10
of this Article.
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_Section 17. (Penalties.) ORS 484.990 is amended to read:
484,990. Any person who in connection with the issuance of a
citation, or the filing of a complaint, for a traffic offense, as
defined in subsection (10) of ORS 484.010, [wilfullyl] knowingly
certifies falsely to the matters set forth therein [is punishable upon
conviction by imprisonment in the county jail for a term not exceeding

one year or by a fine of not more than $5,000, or both] commits a

Class A misdemeanor.

COMMENTARY

The section amends the statute penalizing false
certification of a traffic citation or complaint to insert
the criminal culpability term of "knowingly" in place of
"wilfully," and to classify the crime as a Class A misde-
meanor. This would make the penalty range the same as that
provided under the Criminal Code for "false swearing," ORS
162.075.
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SUPPLEMENTARY COMMENTARY

The crime of "failure to perform the duties of a driver
involved in an accident or collision" (hit and run), ORS
483.602 (1), (2) and 483.604 (1), (2), would be continued as
a major traffic offense under s. 13 of this Article. The
existing penalties for this offense are set out in ORS
483.990 (1) and 483.991 (12). The new code would repeal
these general penalty statutes and classify crimes in ques-
tion as a Class A misdemeanor if property damage only were
involved and a Class C felony if injury or death of another
results from the accident.

Vehicular homicides are covered by the Criminal Code,
with the nature of the crime depending on the degree of
culpability of the offender. See, ORS 163.005 to 163.415,
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ARTICLE 1 X—SERIOUS TRAFFIC OFFENSEé
§ 11-901—Reckless driving

(2) Any person who drives any vehicle in willful or wanton
disregard for the safety of persons or property is guilty of reck-
less driving.

(b) Every person convicted of reckless driving shall be punished
upon a first conviction by imprisonment for a period of not less than
five days nor more than 90 days, or by fine of not less than $25 nor
more than ($500), or by both such fine and imprisonment, and on a
second or subsequent conviclion shall be punished by imprisonment
for not less than 10 days nor more than six months, or by a fine of not
less than $50 nor more than ($500) or by both such fine and imprison-
ment. (REVISED, 1971.)

§ 11-902—Driving while under influence of aleohol or drugs

(a) A person shall not drive or be in actual physical control of
any vehicle while:

1. There is 0.10 percent or more by weight of alcohol in his blood;
(NEw, 1971.)

2. Under the influence of aleohol ;Q’(REVISED, 1971.)

3. Under the influence of any drug to a degree which renders him
incapable of safely driving; or (FORMERLY § 11-902.1; REVISED, 1971.)

4. Under the combined influence of alcohol and any drug to a degree
which renders him incapable of safely driving. (NEW, 1971.)

(b) The fact that any person charged with violating this section is
or has been legally entitled to use alcohol or a drug shall not constitute
a defense against any charge of violating this section. (FORMERLY §
11-902.1; REVISED, 1971.)

(c) Except as otherwise provided in § 11-902.2, every person con-
victed of violating this section shall be punished by imprisonment for
not less than 10 days nor more than one year, or by fine of not less
than $100 nor more than $1,000, or by both such fine and imprison-
ment and, on a second or subsequent conviction, he shall be punished
by imprisonment for not less than 90 days nor more than one year,
and, in the discretion of the court, a fine of not more than $1,000,

(FORMERLY § 11-902.2; REVISED, 1971.)

§ This article covers what are generally regarded as relatively serious
offenses earrying significantly higher penaltics. All sections in this artj-
cle apply on and off the highways under § 11-101.

Z Enactment of subsection (a)2 is necessary to cover cases where no chemi-
cal test evidence is available to prosecute under subsection (a)1.
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§ 11-902.1—Chemical tests

(a) Upon the trial of any civil or criminal action or proceeding
arising out of acts alleged to have been committed by any person
while driving or in actual physical control of a vehicle while under the
influence of alcohol or drugs, evidence of the amount of alechol or
drug in a person’s blood at ihe alleged time, as determined by a
chemical analysis of the person’s blood, urine, breath or other bodily
subsiance, shall be admissible. Where such a chemical test is made
the following provisions shall apply : (NEw, 1971.)

1. Chemical analyses of the person's blood, urine, breath, or other
bodily subslance 1o be considered valid under the provisions of this
section shall have been performed according to methods approved by
the (State department of health) and by an individual possessing a
valid permit issued by the (State depariment of health) for this pur-
pose. The (State departmenti of health) is authorized to approve
salisfactory techniques or methods, to ascertain the qualifications and
compelence of individuals o conduet such analyses, and to issue per-
mits which shall be subject to termination or revoeation at the dis-
crelion of the (Stlate depariment of health). (FormERLY § 11-
902 (c¢).) ]

2. When a person shall submit Lo a blood test at the request of a
law enforcement officer under the provisions of § 6-205.1, only a
physician or a registered nurse (or other qualified person) may with-
draw blood Tor the purpose of determining the aleoholic content there-
in. This lHmitalion shall not apply to the taking of breath or urine
specimens, (FORMERLY § 11-902(d).)

3. The person tested may have a physician, or a qualified technician,
chemist, registered nurse, or olher qualified person of his own choos-
ing administer a chemieal test or tests in addition to any administered
at the direction of a law enforcement officer. The failure or inability
to obtain an additional test by a person shall not preclude the admis-
sion of evidence relating to the test or tests taken at the direction of a
law enforcement officer. (FORMERLY § 11-902 (e).)

4. Upon the request of the person who shall submit to 2 chemical
tost or tesls at the request of a law enforcement ofiicer, full informa-
tion concerning the test or tests shall be made available to him or his
attorney. (FORMERLY § 11-902(£).)

B. Percenl by weight of aleohol in the blood shall be based upon
grams of alcohol per 100 cubic centimeters of blood. (FORMERLY § 11-
902(h)41.)

(b) Upon the trial of any civil or criminal action or proceeding
arising out of acts alleged to have been committed by any person while
driving or in actual physical control of a vehicle while under the in-
fluence of alcohol, the anmount of alcohel in the person’s bleod at the
time allesred as shown by chemical analysis of the person’s blood,
urine, breath, or other bodily substance shall give rise to the following
presumptions:
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1. If there was at that time 0.05 percent or less by weight of aleohol
in the person's blood, it shall be presumed that the person was not
under the influence of alcohol.

2. If there was at thal time in excess of 0.05 percent but less than
0.10 pereent, by weight of aleohol in the person's blood, such fact shall
not give rise to any presumption that the person was or was not under
the influence of alceohol, but such faect may be considered with other
competent evidence in determining whether the person was under the
influcnce of alcohol.

3. If there was at that time 0.10 percent or more by weight of alco-
hol in the person’s blood, it shall be presumed that the person was
under the inlluence of aleohol.*

4. The foregoing provisions of this subsection shall not be con-
strued as limiting the introduction of any other competent evidence
bearing upon the question whether the person was under the influence
of alcohol. (FORMERLY § 11-902(Db).)

OrTioNAL (c¢) If a person under arrest refuses to submit to a
chemical test under the provisions of § 6-205.1, evidence of refusal
ghall be admissible in any civil or eriminal action or proceeding aris-
ing out of acts alleged to have been committed while the person was
driving or in actual physical control of a motor vehicle while under
the influence of alcohol or drugs. (FORMERLY § 11.902(g).)

§ 11-902.2——Post conviclion examination and remedies

(a) Before sentencing any person convicted for a first offense of
violating § 11-902, the court may, and upon a second or subsequent
conviction of such an offense committed within five years of a prior
offense the court shall, conduct or order an appropriate examination
or examinations to determine whether the person needs or would
"benefit from treatment for aleohol or drug abuse.

(b) After the examination, the court may impose penalties specified
in this act or, upon a hearing and determination that the person is
an habitual vser of alcohol or drugs, the court may order supervised
treatment on an outpatient basis, or upon additional determinations
that the person constitutes a danger to himself or others and that
adequate treatment facilities are available, the court may order him
commitled for treatment at a facility or institution approved by the
(Siale department of health).

) {c) Apy person subject to this section may be examined by a physi-
cian of his own choosing and the results of any such examination shall
be congidered by the court.

(d) No commitment or supervised treatment on an outpatient
basis ordered under subsection (b) shall exceed one year. Upon
motion duly made by the convicted person, an attorney, a relative or
an attending physician, the court at any time after an order of com-
mif_;ment shall review said order. After determining the progress of

* Subsection (b}3 need not be enacted in any state adopting § 11-902(a)1.
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§ 11-902.2

treatment, the court may order its continuation or the court may
order the person’s release, supervised treatment on an outpatient
basis, or il may impose penalties specified by this act giving credit
for the time of commilment,

(e} Upon application by any person under an order of commitment
or supervised lreatment for a driver’s license, the results of the exami-
nation referred to in subseclion (a) and a report of the progress of
the treaiment ordered shall be forwarded by the applicant to the
depariment for consideralion hy the medical advisory board (ap-
pointed under § 6-118).

(f) The department may after receiving the advice of the medical
advisory board issue a license to such person with conditions and
restrictions consistent with the person’s rehabilitation and with pro-
tection of the public notwithstanding the provisions of § 6-208. (New
SECTION, 1971.)

§ 11-903—ITomicide by vehicle

(a) Whoever shall unlawfully and unintentionally cause the
death of anolher person while engaged in the violation of any
state law or municipal ordinance applying to the operation or use
of a vehicle or to the regulation of traffie shall be guilty of homi-
cide when such violation is the proximate cauvse of said death.
(REVISED, 19G8.)

(b) Any person convicted of homicide by vehicle shall be fined
not less than $500 nor more than $2,000, or shall be imprisoned
in the county jail not less than three months nor more than one
year, or may be so fined and so imprisoned, or shall be imprisoned
in the penitentiary for a term not less than one year nor more
than five years. (REVISED, 1962.)

§ 11-904—T'lecing or attempting to elude a police officer

(a) Any driver of a motor vehicle who willfully fails or re-
fuses to bring his vehicle to a stop, or who otherwise flees or
attempts fo elude a pursuing police vehicle, when given visual
or audible signal to bring the vehicle to a stop, shall be guilty of
a misdemeanor. The signal given by the police officer may be
by hand, voice, emergeney light or siren. The officer giving such
signal shall be in uniform, prominently displaying his badge of
office, and his vehicle shall be appropriately marked showing it
to be an official police vehicle.

(b) Every person convicted of fleeing or attempting to elude
a police oflicer shall be punished by imprisonment for not less
than 30 days nor more than six months or by a fine of not less
‘than $100 nor more than $500, or by both such fine and impris-
onment. (NEwW SECTION, 1968.)



