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SUBJECT: SURVEY OF TRAFFIC OFFENSE CLASSIFICATION AND ADJUDICATION
SYSTEMS OF STATES WITH DECRIMINALIZED CODES OR SUMMARY
COURT PROCEDURES.

I. INTRODUCTION

At the present time only the State of New York employs an
"administrative adjudication" system for handling most moving traffic
offenses. Since the middle of 1970 the New York Department of Motor
Vehicles has had the responsibility for adjudicating "traffic infractions”
with that responsibility extended to the cities of Rochester and Buffalo
since early in 1973. (See Reference Paper, "The New York Administrative
Adjudication System" (November 1973).)

Six other states have traffic offense classification or procedural
innovations that are departures from the traditional criminal approach

used by most states. These six states, California, Minnesota, Wisconsin,

Pennsylvania, Ohio and Vermont, have not eliminated the court and judge

from the traffic case picture as has New York, but, nevertheless, have
vehicle systems that are worthy of examination in connection with the
vehicle code revision project. This memorandum is for that purpose.

II. CLASSIFICATION OF TRAFFIC OFFENSES

California

California has adopted a system, effective January 1, 1974,
whereby all violations of the vehicle code, unless otherwise specified,
" are "infractions". (Vehicle Code §40000.1). An infraction is not a
crime. (Penal Code §16), It is not punishable by imprisonment and the
lefendant is not entitled to a jury trial or a court appointed attorney.

(Penal Code §l19c), Penalties for infractions are set out in §42001 of
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the vehicle code; not more than $50 for first offense, $100 for second
offense within one year, and $250 for third offense within one year.

While the vehicle code has a general scheme of classification of
vicolations as infractions there are numerous exceptions. Sections
40000.5 to 40000.28 set out specific vioclations which are considered
to be misdemeanors. These include the Oregon "major traffic offenses",
i,e., DUIL and DWS, as well as crimes involving false statements to
police officers, various dealer violations, failure to obey cofficers,
speed contests, transportation of dangerous cargo, major overload
violations and others. Three or more violations, which otherwise
would be infractions, within 12 months are misdemeanors, if the prior
convictions are admitted by the defendant or alleged in the accusatory
pleading. (Vehicle Code §40000.28), If a person convicted of an
}nfraction fails to pay his fine, he may be held in contempt. (Vehicle
Code §42003). |
Minnesota

In 197]1 Minnesota adopted a system of classification similar to
California's whereby all violations of the vehicle code, unless other-
wise specified, are "petty misdemeanors". (M.S.A. §169.89(1)), Although
not specifically stated, it appears that a petty misdemeanor is a
crime. However, a defendant charged with a petty misdemeanor is'not
entitled to a jury trial and does not have the right to a court
appointed counsel. (M.S.A. §169.89(2), §611.07), There is no jail
sentence authorized for a petty misdemeanor. A defendant may be fined
not more than $100. (M.S.A. §169.89(2})).

Minnesota has substantially fewer exceptions to the petty misde-

wanor classification than does California to its infraction
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classifications. Generally, the counterpart of Oregon's major traffic
foenses are treated as misdemeanors rather than petty misdemeanors.

A third conviction within a 12 month period is a misdemeanor.

(M.S.A. §169.89(1) (b)), Finally, a violation, which would otherwise be
a petty misdemeanor, if "committed in a manner or under circumstances
so as to endanger or be likely to endanger any person or property”

is a misdemeanor. (M.S.A. §169.89(1) (a)}, One charged with a
misdemeanor is entitled to a jury. (M.S.A. §169.89(1)),

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania's system of classification of vehicle code viclations
differs substantially from that of either California or Minnesota.
With the exception of DUIL, driving without lights to avoid arrest
and speed contests, all violations of the vehicle code are "summary
offenses". (Vehicle Code §§1037, 1038 and 1041). Provisions for
both a fine and a jail sentence are provided for all offenses. The
most common penalty is a $10 fine and/or 5 days imprisonment.

There is no right to a jury for a summary offense. (Pa. Rules
of Crim. Pro., Rule 142)., There is a right to assigned counsel only
in those cases where "there is a likelihood that imprisonment will
be imposed." (Rule 318(b)).

Ohio

Generally, traffic violations are treated as "minor misdemeanors".
(ORC 4511.99(C&D))}. The penalty for a minor misdemeanor is a fine of
up to $100, No jail term is provided. (ORC 2929.21(D)). A second
violation within one year, certain speeding violations and speeding
in a school zone are treated as fourth degree misdemeanors.

(ORC 4511.99(C&D)). The penalty for a fourth degree misdemeanor is up
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"0 30 days in jail or $250 fine or both. (ORC 2929.21 (B} {4)&(C) (4)).
A third violation within one year is treated as a third degree
misdemeanor. (ORC 4511.99(D)). The penalty is up to 60 days and
$500. (ORC 2929.21(B) (3)&(C) (3)).

DUIL and driving under influence of drugs (ORC 4511.19), drag
racing (4511.251) and violation of time limits for commercial drivers
(4511.80) are considered first degree misdemeanors. (ORC 4511.99 (ASE) ).
The maximum penalty is six months in jail or $1000 fine or both.

(ORC 2929.21(B) (1)&(C) (1)). A three day jail sentence is nandatory for
DUIL and driving under influence of drugs. (ORC 4511.99(A)).

Driving while suspended is not classified but carries a fine of
up to $500 and imprisonment of not less than two days or more than
six months. (ORC 4507.99).

vermont

A "traffic offense" is a violation of the motor vehicle code
where no penalty is provided or where the penalty is less than $100.
(Vt. Stat. Ann. §2201). Most statutes provide for s?ecific fines of
less than $100. For example, the penalty for speed violations is up
to $50 for the first offense and $100 for subsequent offenses (the
statute merely states "subsequent offenses" and not offenses within
one year as in most other statutes). (§1144).

Majbr violations such as DUIL (§1183), failure to leave name
and address (§1005) and negligent operation (§1182) provide for both
fines and imprisonment.

Wisconsin

A "traffic regulation" is a provision of the vehicle code for

which the penalty for violation is a forfeiture. (Wisc. Stat. Ann.

345.20 (1973)). With a very few exceptions, Wisconsin has amended
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its vehicle code to provide for forfeitures rather than criminal fines
‘for vehicle code violations. The criminal definitions for felony and
misdemeanor specifically exclude motor vehicle offenses. (§939.62)

For a first offense, a jail sentence is authorized for driving
while suspended (§343.44), reckless driving, DUIL (§346.65), herding
animals with snowmobiles or permitting operation or operating a
snowmobile while under the influence (§350.11). For a second offense
within one year, a jail sentence is authorized for speeding (§346.60)
and failure to leave name and address (§346.74).

IIT. PROCEDURE FOR ADJUDICATION OF TRAFFIC OFFENSES

California

With regard to adjudication procedures, California appears to
follow a traditional approach for getting the case into court. With
the exception of an arrest for misdemeanor drunk driving or driving
under the influence of narcotics (Veh Code §§23102 and 23105) the
officer has the option of citing the person and releasing him.

(Veh Code §40302), A person cited is given a time to appear and
generally the option to forfeit bail. (Veh Code §§40500, 40511).

As noted before, the defendant has no right to a jury or court
appointed counsel when he is charged with an infraction. The California
Penal Code, §1042.5, makes special provisions when a defendant is
charged with both an infraction and a crime. Both charges may bé
tried to the jury, or the court may make the decision on the infraction
or the infraction may be separated from the crime and tried in a
separate proceeding.

California provides for the appointment of traffic referees for

«unicipal courts having more than three judges. If a court has more
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than three judges, it may appoint one referee. If it has more than

éo judges, it may appoint two. (Calif. Gov. Code §72400 et seq). A
traffic referee must be a member of the bar.or have five years experience
within the last eight years as a justice of the peace. (Gov.

Code §72400).

For any misdemeanor or infraction violation of the vehicle code
a referee may fix bail, grant continuances, arraign the defendént,
hear and recommend orders on motions and demurrers, take pleas and
set cases for trial. (Gov. Code §72401(a) and (b)), With four
misdemeanor statutes regarding vehicle inspections the referee may
also impose a fine on a guilty plea and order the defendant to attend
traffic school. (Gov. Code §72401(b)), He may not sentence the
defendant to jail although a jail sentence is provided in those
‘tatutes. For infractions the referee may impose a fine after a
guilty plea and order the defendant to attend traffic school. A
traffic referee may suspend payment of the fine but in no case may he
impose express conditions of probation. (Gov. Code §72401),

If the defendant pleads not guilty he apparently goes through a
trial before a municipal judge with the same procedures (with the
exception of no jury or court appointed counsel for infractions) as
any other criminal trial.

Minnesota

Minnesota follows a traditional approach with regard to
adjudication of traffic violations. When a person is charged with
most traffic violations, either misdemeanors or petty misdemeanors,
he is cited unless there is a reasonable ground for believing he will

.ot appear or he has refused to sign the citation. In a few serious
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cases (negligent homicide, DUIL, hit and run or an offense causing a
ﬁersonal injury accident) he must be brought before the magistrate.
(M.S.A. §169.91). The defendant may plead guilty by mail and forfeit
bail. (M.S.A. §169.99).

Courts having jurisdiction over misdemeanors have jurisdictioﬁ
over petty misdemeanors. (M.S.A. §169.891), As previously noted,
a defendant charged with a petty misdemeanor has no right to a jury
trial or appointed counsel. In all other respects the trial of a
petty misdemeanor appears to follow misdemeanor trial procedures.

Pennsylvania

The trial of summary offenses in Pennsylvania is considerably
less formal than the trial of other criminal actions. As in California
and Minnesota the procedure is begun with a citation. (Pa. Rules of
riminal Pro., Rule 131), The defendant is allowed to plead guilty
by mail. (Rule 137).

If there has been no plea as of the time of trial the defendant
shall be arraigned and plead immediately prior to trial; (Rule 142).
If the defendant pleads not guilty the trial is conducted as are
trials where the jury has been waived. (Rule 142),

At trial the defendant has a right to retained counsel, (Rule
141 (b)), and, if there is a likelihood of imprisonment, a right to
court appointed counsel (Rule 318(b)). The state is represented by
a prosecutor. (Rule 141(a)). If the defendant fails to appear at the
time of trial he is considered to have consented to trial in his
absence. The court then hears the evidence and makes its determination
of guilt. If the defendant is found guilty, his security is forfeited.

.Rules 135 and 136).
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Ohio

| Rule 44 (c) of the Ohio Rules of Criminal Procedure provides that
the court may assign counsel in petty cases. No sentence of confinement
"may be imposed unless counsel is assigned or waived.

Under Chio Traffic Rule (Supreme Court Rules for traffic cases
in inferior courts) a traffic case is initiated with the filing of a
Uniform Traffic Ticket. Arraignment is then conducted in open court.
(Rule 10, 19).

Chio Traffic Rule .18 provides that a court may create a traffic
viclation bureau and appoint a traffic referee. Except in certain
specified serious offenses the referee may accept a waiver of trial
and a plea of guilty and assess a fine in accordance with a fine
schedule provided by the court. (Rule .18(b) & (d) (2)).

If the volume of cases of a court exceeds 75 persons per day,
the court may assign a referee who has the qualifications of a judge
to take pleas, hear statements in explanation or mitigation and
recommend fines in traffic cases. This may be done only with the
consent of the defendant. (Rule .18(f)). In addition, if the burden
on the traffic court is great the court may allow a referee to take
evidence and make written reports and recommendations to the judge in
contested cases, {Rule .18(f)). This also is only with the consent
of the defendant.

Vermont

Prosecution for traffic offenses are commenced with the filing
of a Uniform Traffic Complaint. .(52203). A schedule of fines is
established (apparently statewide) by three district judges appointedi
2y the court administrator. (§2205(b)). The defendant may, with
consent of the prosecutor, waive perscnal appearance and trial and

plead guilty or nolo contendere and pay the fine in the schedule.
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§2205 (b)) . The defendant shall not be fined more than $100 and may
be subjected to a 30 day suspension by the commissioner. (§2205(c)).

Vermont provides that the Supreme Court may make additional
rules of procedure for traffic offenses (§2207), although none appear
to have been made. The Vermont Rules of Criminal Procedure are
applicable in traffic cases. (V.R.Cr.P. 54),

Wisconsin

When a defendant is charged with violation of a traffic regulation
he is subjected to a forfeiture proceeding. The procedure is set out
generally in the vehicle code. (§345.20 et seq) If the procedure is
not covered in the vehicle code the court is to follow the procédure
as set out in Chapter 299, Procedure in County Court in Small Claims
Type Actions.

When the defendant is arrested for violation of a traffic
regulation the officer may release him. AThe officer shall release the
defendant when the defendant (1) makes a deposit, (2) makes a stip-
ulation of no contest and deposit, or (3) deposits his license with
the officer. The officer then issues a temporary license good until
the appearance date. (§345.23). For a DUIL arrest the officer must
hold the defendant for four hours unless (1) the test shows less than
.05% alcohol, or (2) the defendant is released to parent, spouse,
attorney, or other responsible adult. (§345 .24).

A deposit is accomplished by the defendant, as directed bf the
officer, placing the scheduled amount in an envelope and mailing it
at a mail box near a place authorized to accept deposits or by taking

the amount in person to a place authorized to accept deposits. If the
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Tefendant does not appear, he is deemed to have pleaded no contest and
submitted to a forfeiture. (§345.26).

A stipulation of no contest may accompany a deposit as above.
The defendant may also mail the stipulation within five days to a
place designated by the officer. If the defendant does make a stipu-
lation, the officer must inform him of certain suspension or revocation
consegquences as provided in §343.27. The court may relieve any person
from a stipulation or subsequent judgment. {§345.27).

At arraignment the defendant is informed of his right to a
continuance and to a jury trial. He may plead guilty, not guilty
or no contest. If he pleads guilty, he may be immediately sentenced.
If he pleads not guilty, he may be tried immediately with his consent
and the consent of the plaintiff (state). (§345.34).

If the defendant fails to appear and has not made a deposit
a warrant may issue. If he has made deposit the court may (1) consider
that the defendant has pleaded no contest, accept the plea and forfeit
or (2) reject the plea of no contest and issue a summons. If the
defendant fails to apﬁear for the summons a warrant may issue. If the
defendant has deposited his license the court shall order his license
suspended for 30 days or until the completion of the case, whichever
is longer. The defendant may move to vacate the suspension within
10 days. (§345.37).

A plea of no contest is not admissible as an admission against
interest in any proceeding arising out of the same occurrence. (§345.38).

The defendant is entitled to a jury trial upon payment of jury

fees. (§§345.425, 345.43).
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If the defendant is found guilty he shall be ordered to pay an
amount up to the maximum amount of forfeiture. He may be imprisoned
for failure to pay. The defendant may be allowed work release and
apply his earnings to the forfeiture. When the forfeiture is paid

the defendant must immediately be released. (§§345.47, 345.49).



