

Oregon State Archives

Oregon Legislators and Staff Guide 1851 Regular Session (3rd Territorial): December 1, 1851 – January 21, 1852

1851

Territorial Government Legislators and Staff

Council

Legislator	County	District	Officers & Staff	Party ¹
Deady, M. P.	Yamhill	9		
Garrison, Joseph	Marion	5		
Hall, Lawrence	Washington	8		
Humphrey, A. L.	Benton, Lane,	1		
	Umpqua			
² Lancaster, Columbus	Clarke, Lewis,	3		
	Vancouver			
Lovejoy, A. L.	Clackamas	2		
Mealey, W.B.	Linn	4		
Parker, Samuel	Marion, Clackamas	6	President	
Waymire, Fred	Polk	7		
			Huelat, Septimus - Doorkeeper	
			Micou, Thomas B Enrolling	
			Clerk	
			Terry, Chester N - Assistant Clerk	
			White, Richard J. – Chief Clerk	
			Wiley, Richard E. – Sergeant-at-	
			Arms	

House

Legislator	County	District	Officers & Staff	Party ³
Allphine, William	Linn	8		
Anderson, John A	Clatsop, Pacific	6		D
Avery, J. C.	Benton	1		D
Bishop, Z. C.	Washington	19		

¹ No council party membership found

² Mr. Lancaster refused to meet with the council at Salem. He proceeded to Oregon City and declared himself president of the council; drew up a memorial to Congress and after a time, returned to his home.

³ D = Democrat; W = Whig

⁴ Brownfield, D. F.	Clatsop, Pacific	19		W
Chapman, Wilie	Marion	11		D
Cole, G. E.	Benton	2		
Curry, George L.	Clackamas	3		
Davidson, James	Marion	12		D
Drew, Joseph W.	Umpqua	16		
Ford, Nathaniel	Polk	15		D
Hembree, A. J.	Yamhill	20		D
Holman, J. S.	Polk	14		
King, William M.	Washington	18	Speaker	
Kinney, R. C.	Yamhill	22		
Matlock, W. T.4	Clackamas	5		
McSween, Samuel	Yamhill	21		
Risdon, D. M.	Lane	10		
Simpson, Benjamin	Marion	13		D
Wait, A. E.4	Clackamas	4		W
White, Luther	Linn	9		
Wilcox, Ralph	Washington	17		
			Frazer, William L Doorkeeper	
			Harding, Benjamin F Chief Clerk	
			Massey, E. L Ass't Clerk	
			McCormick, Benjamin - Sergeant-	
			at-Arms	

More information at http://sos.oregon.gov/archives/Pages/records/legislators_guide.aspx

On the 9th day of January, 1852, the house of the territorial legislature convened in joint assembly and Judge O. C. Pratt, associate justice of the supreme court, read to them his opinion sustaining their action in convening the legislature in Salem.

Chief justice Thomas Nelson and associate justice William Strong had opened a session of the supreme court at Oregon City but the legislative assembly did not recognize their rulings.

⁴ A. E. Wait, W. T. Matlock and D. F. Brownfield refused to go to Salem where the majority of the members had assembled. They met in the territorial library room at Oregon City, and, not having a quorum, adjourned from day to day for two weeks then disbanded.