

**1858** 

This is a list of legislators, officers and staff which convened July 5, 1858, prior to the time that Oregon was admitted as a state. Both branches of the legislature met at Salem on July 5, remaining in session four days. Because there were doubts as to whether Oregon had yet been admitted, due to the lack of direct and speedy communication with the national capital, it was decided to adjourn until September of the same year. On September 13 part of the members of both branches of the legislature assembled at the Capitol. It appeared the State had not yet been admitted again so they adjourned. The Territorial Legislature, as had been its usual custom, then convened in December 6, 1858, and transacted the business of the State as usual during the session, which lasted until January 22, 1859.

## House

Legislator	County	District	Officers & Staff	Party <sup>1</sup>
Bonham, B.F.	Marion	22		D
Bowlby, W.	Washington	31		R
Burch, B.F.	Polk	28		D
Cochran, R.B.	Lane	16		D
Cozad, J.M.	Umpqua	30		D
Craner, N.H.	Linn	18		D
Crooks, J. T.	Linn	19		D
Cruzan, A.J.	Lane	15		D
Dryer, T.J.	Multnomah	26		D
Hannah, Dolphus B	Clackamas	3		D
Harding, B. F.	Marion	23		D
Hedges, Absolom F.	Clackamas	4		D
Holton, D. B.	Josephine	14		D
Hoyt, Nelson	Columbia, Washington	7		D
Jennings, Berryman	Clackamas	5		D
Lansater, J. H.	Marion	24		D
McCully, John W.	Jackson	11		R
McGee, A. G.	Douglas	11		D
McIninch, E. E.	Linn	20		D
Morrison, Robert W.	Clatsop, Tillamook	6		D
Newcomb, Daniel	Jackson	12		D
Nichols, Henry B.	Benton	1		R
Norris, Thomas	Douglas	9		D
Patterson, A. S.	Lane	17		D
Shelby, A. D.	Multnomah	27		D
Shuck, A.	Yamhill	33		R

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> D = Democrat; R = Republican

Slater, James H.	Benton	2		R
Stevens, J. H.	Marion	25		D
T'Vault, William	Jackson	13	Speaker	D
Thomas, T. T.	Linn	21		D
Tichenor, William	Coos, Curry	8		D
Trevitt, Victor	Wasco	32		D
Wait, J. K.	Polk	29		D
			Terry, Chester N Chief Clerk	
			Burmester, Theodore - Asst. Chief	
			Clerk	
			Culbertson, William A	
			Doorkeeper	
			Franklin, J. O Sergeant-at-Arms	

## Senate

Legislator	County	District	Officers & Staff	Party <sup>2</sup>
Berry, A. M.	Jackson	3		D
Bristow, W.W.	Lane	6		D
Colby. E.F.	Marion	11		D
Cornelius,	Washington, Columbia, Clatsop,	15		R
Thomas	Tillamook			
Drain, Charles	Linn	8		D
Elkins, Luther	Linn	9	President	D
Florence, A. B.	Lane	7		D
Gazley, J. F.	Douglas	4		D
Grim, J.W.	Marion	10		D
Lamson, J.	Yamhill	16		D
McIteeny, J.S.	Benton	1		R
Ruckel, J.S.	Clackamas, Wasco	2		D
Scott, S.R.	Josephine	5		D
Waymire, F	Polk	13		D
Wells, D	Umpqua, Coos, Curry	14		D
Williams, J.A.	Multnomah	12		D
			Carpenter, George - Chief	
			Clerk	
			Harpole, M Sergeant-at-	
			Arms	

More information at <a href="http://sos.oregon.gov/archives/Pages/records/legislators\_guide.aspx">http://sos.oregon.gov/archives/Pages/records/legislators\_guide.aspx</a>

 $<sup>^{2}</sup>$  D = Democrat; R = Republican