

Oregon State Archives Oregon Legislators and Staff Guide 1870 Regular Session (6th): September 12 – October 20

1870

House

Legislator	Residence & County	District	Officers & Staff	Party ¹
Alexander, W. F.	Linn			D
Amis, L. F.	Lane			D
Apperson, J. T.	Clackamas			R
Burnett, A. J.	Jackson			D
Caldwell, C. M.	Douglas			D
Carson, J. C.	Multnomah			R
Clark, W. H.	Grant			D
Comegys, W.	Polk			D
Davenport, T. W.	Marion			R
Dorris, George B.	Eugene, Lane			D
Drain, J. C.	Douglas			D
Dunbar, W. R.	Marion			R
Dunn, W. J.	Benton			R
DuShiel, F. A.	Umatilla			D
Earhart, R. P.	Marion			R
Elkins, W. S.	Linn			D
Fulton, J.	Wasco			D
Grant, R. J.	Polk			D
Hare, W. D.	Washington			R
Harrison, J. M.	Marion			R
Hayden, B.	Polk		Speaker	D
Helm, George R.	Linn			D
Holman, George P.	Marion			R
Hunter J. T.	Union			D
Hussey, A.	Yamhill			R
Hutchinson, Joseph C.	Douglas			D
Kelly, W. J.	Benton			R
Lockhart, F. G.	Coos, Curry			D
Loughlin, L.	Yamhill			R
McCoy, J. M.	Grant			D
McLain, J. R.	Baker, Union			D
Mills, W. A.	Washington			R
Munkers, Thomas	Linn			D
O'Regan, D.	Multnomah			R
Olney, Cyrus	Clatsop			R

¹ D = Democrat; R = Republican

r	-		1
Ostrander, J.	Linn		D
Paquet, Peter	Clackamas		R
Porter, H.	Baker		D
Quimby, L. P. W.	Multnomah		R
Rader, J.	Jackson		D
Savage, O. S.	Wasco		D
Starkweather, W. A.	Clackamas		R
Thompson, J.	Umatilla		D
Waldron, A. L.	Josephine		D
Wells, J.	Jackson		D
Whalley, John W.	Multnomah		R
Whiteaker, John	Lane		D
		Costello, John - Ass't. Clerk	
		Crooks, John T Enrolling Clerk	
		McComas, E. S Chief Clerk	
		McConnell, Frank - Page	
		Smith, Thomas - Doorkeeper	
		Snyder, Albert M Sergeant-at-	
		Arms	
		White, W. L Engrossing Clerk	

Senate

Legislator	Residence & County	District	Officers & Staff	Party
Baldwin, J. W.	Grant	6		R
Brown, A. H.	Baker	1		D
Brown, Samuel	Marion	13		R
Burch, B. F.	Polk	17		D
Cochran, R. B.	Lane	10		D
Cornelius, T. R.	Washington, Columbia, Tillamook	21		R
Crawford, R. H.	Linn	12		D
Fay, James D.	Jackson	7	President	D
Hendershott, J.	Union	19		D
Herman, Binger2	Douglas			
Holtzclaw, B. F.	Josephine	8		D
Hoult, Enoch	Linn	11		D
Lieuallen, T. T.	Umatilla	18		D
Moores, John H.	Marion	14		R
² Mosher, L. F.	Douglas	4		R

² L. F. Mosher was seated four days into the session, unseating Binger Herman. Mr. Herman accepted a federal position as deputy collector of Internal Revenue making him ineligible to be a state senator.

Newby, W. T.	Yamhill	22		R
Patterson, A. W.	Lane	9		D
Pershbaker, C. M.	Douglas, Coos,Curry	15		R
Powell, David	Multnomah	15		R
Strahn, R. S.	Benton	2		R
Thompson, D. P.	Multnomah	16		D
Trevitt, Victor	Wasco	20		D
			Holton, John - Seargent-of-Arms	
			Moore, James M Doorkeeper	
			Packard, Orlando M Asst. Chief	
			Clerk	
			Simpson, Sylvester C Chief	
			Clerk	

More information at http://sos.oregon.gov/archives/Pages/records/legislators_guide.aspx