

Oregon State Archives Oregon Legislators and Staff Guide 1872 Regular Session (7th): September 9 – October 23

1872

House

Legislator	Residence & County	District	Officers & Staff	Party ¹
Allen, John C.	Polk			R
Andrews, O. D.	Union			D
Barin, L. T.	Clackamas			R
Biles, J. D.	Multnomah			R
Blakely, James	Linn			D
Burbank, A. R.	Yamhill			R
Bushey, D.	Douglas			R
Caples, J. F.	Multnomah			R
Clow, R.	Polk			D
Collier, George H.	Washington			R
Congle, J. B.	Multnomah			R
Cooper, James T.	Douglas			R
Corwin, Samuel	Clatsop, Columbia,			R
	Tillamook			
Craner, N. H.	Linn			D
Crawford, J. D.	Clackamas			R
Crooks, J. T.	Linn			D
Curran, James	Uamtilla			D
Darst, William	Marion			R
Downing, John	Marion			R
Engle, Joseph	Marion			R
Gingles, James	Benton			R
Grant, R.	Wasco			D
Harrison, T. R.	Yamhill			R
Hirsch, Sol	Multnomah			R
Hodgkins, Thomas	Columbia			D
Johnson, S. R.	Grant			R
LaDow, George A.	Umatilla			D
Langell, Nathaniel	Jackson			R
Mallory, Rufus	Marion		Speaker	R
Martin, N.	Lane			R
Mason, Eli C.	Jackson			D
Matlock, N. N.	Clackamas			R
Onstein, J. B.	Baker			D
Patton, T. M.	Marion			R
Powers, A. S.	Lane			R

¹ D = Democrat; R = Republican

Diddle C W	Douglas		R
Riddle, G. W.	Douglas		
Riley, M.	Coos, Curry		R
Shelton, H.	Linn		D
Simpson, Benjamin	Benton		D
Stephenson, T. J.	Wasco		D
Stott, Thomas A.	Washington		R
Thornbury, C. N.	Grant		R
Waldon, A. L.	Josephine		D
Walker, E.	Jackson		R
Washburn, C. W.	Lane		R
West, John	Clatsop		R
White, J. H.	Polk		R
Willoughby, R. B.	Linn		D
Wright, Dunham	Baker, Union		D
		Clarke, Samuel -	
		Chief Clerk	
		Hadaway, E. C	
		Sergeant-at-Arms	
		Simpson, Samuel L Asst. Clerk	
		Wagner, Andrew - Doorkeeper	

Senate

Legislator	Residence & County	District	Officers & Staff	Party
Baldwin, J. W.	Grant			D
Bristow, W. W.	Lane			R
Brown, Albert H.	Baker			D
Brown, Samuel	Marion			R
Cornelius, Thomas R.	Washington, Columbia, Clatsop, Tillamook			R
Cowles, J. W.	Yamhill			R
Crawford, R. H.	Linn			D
Crystal, R. S.	Polk			R
Dolph, J. N.	Multnomah			R
Fay, James D.	Jackson		President	D
Hannah, Samuel	Union			R
Hoult, Enoch	Linn			D
Lieuallen, T. T.	Umatilla			D
Meyers, John	Clackamas			D
Moores, J. H.	Marion			R
Munroe, William	Wasco			D
Patterson, A. W.	Lane			R
Powell, David	Multnomah			R

Strahan, R. S.	Benton		R
Tolen, E. N.	Josephine		D
Watson, J. F.	Douglas ² , Coos, Curry		R
Webster, G.	Douglas, Coos, Curry		R
		Allen, T. D Doorkeeper	
		Calloway, Martin - Page	
		Foudray, E. D Sergeant-at-	
		Arms	
		Hanna, H. K Judiciary Clerk	
		Holbrook, W. A Engrossing	
		Clerk	
		Packard, Orlando M Asst.	
		Chief Clerk	
		Simpson, Sylvester C Chief	
		Clerk	
		White, W. L Enrolling Clerk	

More information at http://sos.oregon.gov/archives/Pages/records/legislators_guide.aspx

² L. F. Mosher claimed his seat as a Senator from Douglas County because of his election in 1870 but since the Committee on Credentials had not reported him as entitled to a seat as a sitting member his claim was not granted.